Beach Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Beach Hotel

Traveller (155)
Room & Suite (40)
Regency Restaurant
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

£73
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.0
#33 of 46 hotels in Brighton
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Beach Hotel is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Brighton, offering a budget friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay. As your “home away from home,” the hotel rooms offer a TV, a desk, seating area and getting online is easy, with free internet access available in Reception area. Guests have access to a 24 hour front desk/24 hour check-in while staying at Beach Hotel. In addition, Beach Hotel offers free breakfast (full english breakfast alongside toasts, jams, cereals, fruits & yogurts), which will help make your Brighton trip additionally gratifying. Nearby landmarks such as North Laine (0.7 mi) and St Bartholomews (0.9 mi) make Beach Hotel a great place to stay when visiting Brighton. Travelers looking to enjoy some food can head to Kambis Lebanese. Otherwise, you may want to check out an Italian restaurant such as Very Italian Pizza, Donatello, or Purezza Brighton. Looking to explore? Then look no further than The Lanes (0.5 mi), British Airways i360 (0.0 mi), and Royal Pavilion (0.5 mi), which are some popular Brighton attractions – all conveniently located within walking distance of the hotel. Enjoy your stay in Brighton!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free internet
Free breakfast
Beach
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
Public wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor dining area
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Private bathrooms
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Harbour View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Greek and 3 more

Location

1-4 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FG England
366Reviews7Q+A84Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 63
  • 96
  • 87
  • 56
  • 64
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
PaulJacqueline wrote a review Aug 2020
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom180 contributions74 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
There is a NCP car park in the same street so chargeable parking was easy.

We checked in early and found the receptionist very polite and helpful.

Our double room was very big with huge windows giving us a sea view. Good size bathroom with a full size bath and shower. The bed was fine, good storage and a fan for guests use as the hotel doesn't have air conditioning.

The hotel is a ten minute walk to the pier and town and the nearest pub was just two minutes away.

We chose this hotel for it's value for money as the price included breakfast. There was plenty of choice, cereals, yogurts, hot buffet and endless toast. The room is small however and social distancing was not observed at all. Staff wore masks and were attentive but residents pushed in to help themselves.

Overall we liked the hotel and will be happy to return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Toumi Hafed, General Manager at Beach Hotel
Responded 9 Sept 2020
Dear Paul, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and hope to have you stay with us again in the future. We take our reviews very seriously therefore we are grateful for each review that is written.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Londontravels wrote a review Oct 2021
London, United Kingdom277 contributions142 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is very close to the i360, with sea views and rooms that are competitively priced. With a comfy bed all very positive.

However the hotel could do with a make over as it is very very tired, with magnolia painted walls, narrow corridors formed from long partitioned grand rooms, and a maze of a journey to get to your room.

Our room was a journey up in the ancient lift littered in DIY signs telling you to close the gate (15 in total), a stop on the floor below then thankfully avoiding the foot wide staircase, a walk along the corridor to a second staircase to the floor above.

Our room was very tired, with old furniture, missing window lock, 4'6" headboard on a queen size bed, and a heavily damaged bath panel. But although old, our room was clean, with very fresh bedding, towels, free toiletries and a very comfortable bed. The hotel is staffed 24/7 so feels safe and you don't have to worry about carrying the clunky key.

Being late risers we didn't have the opportunity to try breakfast.

All in all, as a base it's okay, but needs some TLC.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: V narrow staircases and steps here and there
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
bsquaddie wrote a review Oct 2020
Croydon, United Kingdom5 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Wash yourselves on the way out
Pubic hair in plug hole of shower
Sheets have evident stainage with body fluid

During breakfast the cleaner trawled dirty water through the area where visitors were consuming foods .

Breakfast
Waited for 20 minutes to receive a sheet of paper with my order.
Upon receipt of what we ordered, it transpires that smoked bacon is only on offer. This should be an option as not all like smoked.
Packaged cheese on table, this was taken and is now a rubber on our desk as completely inedible

Review on behalf of
Stanway secret shoppers
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from H Toumi, General Manager at Beach Hotel
Responded 19 Oct 2020
Dear Mr Pumfrey, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are sorry to hear that you didn't have a pleasant stay with us. We do not serve smoked bacon every day; our breakfast is freshly cooked and comes straight up from the kitchen, however as we were fully booked we had to serve the bacon from an electric hot plate. Our housekeepers only bring empty buckets through the breakfast room to access certain rooms however they keep well away from any food/guests when doing so. We apologise if there were any problems with the cleanliness of the room. Please do let reception know of any issues like this in the future straight away as we can ask our housekeepers to do an extra check of your room, if needed! After moving you into a bigger/better room we assumed all was ok, apologies again. We take our reviews very seriously therefore we are grateful for each review that is written. Kind regards The Beach Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
maisiewongx wrote a review Aug 2020
3 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
If you don't want to regret choosing to go on holiday to Brighton, do NOT pick this hotel!! Can't have imagined a worse hotel myself; the conditions were almost laughable. When we checked in we had some heavy luggage and were very disappointed to find that the very old fashioned lift supports only the weight of two, so we had to take the stairs up, which narrowed as you got to the top. The most disappointing thing was that there was no air con, being stuck in a stuffy room with only a sub par fan was the biggest nightmare ever and made me dread sleeping for the next few days of my trip. There was no extractor fan in the bathroom so it was very stuffy after using the shower, which added to the overall humidity of the room, making it very uncomfortable. The wifi was 'free' but did not work, the tables were sticky and the bathtub was creaky and slippery. The breakfast was the only thing I cannot fault them for; it was enjoyable and had lovely seating area. However, poor attention was paid with regards to social distancing and staff did not show concern for hygiene given the COVID-19 situation; staff were serving toast without gloves then touching their masks a minute later. The reception staff were all exceptionally nice, excluding the cleaning staff, who were very very rude to me. In particular, one teenage boy on housekeeping was very hostile and refused to clean my room or hand me new towels when I requested - until I had left the hotel. He was by far the rudest staff member. Do not pick this hotel - their definition of 'traditional' is just a nicer way to say filthy and outdated.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Only second floor rooms have a balcony
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Toumi Hafed, General Manager at Beach Hotel
Responded 21 Aug 2020
Dear Maisie, We are sorry to hear about your experience at the hotel. The lift is small but is perfectly fine to go up and down to your room in, with it stopping on each floor. We do not advertise air conditioning in the hotel as we are 2 stars however we offer fans and heaters for the different weather. If the fan wasn't working please let reception know and we can change it. There are extractor fans in every bathroom as it is regulation. The safety switch is above the bathroom door. The Wifi, as advertised is in the reception area only, which is in the description online, as well as on the password sign in reception. All tables have been thoroughly sanitised with cleaning liquid, this may have left residue on the table. We do offer bath mats on request if there is a problem, which is clearly stated in the folder in the rooms. We have hand sanitiser in the breakfast room as well as reception as well as frequent hand washing, and our staff are now wearing gloves as well as masks. In regards to the cleaning, we do a full service in the rooms on the 3rd day, this is also stated in the welcome book. After the first day the housekeepers check the cups, bathroom, change the bins and check the towels. We can of course provide new towels if needed on the 2nd day on request and we are aware you asked for them and our housekeeper went to get new ones and found them missing, as well as after cleaning the room finding extra towels. Some of the problems such as the ones you have mentioned, can be solved at reception if you make them aware during your stay. Kind regards, Reception
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Colette S wrote a review Jun 2022
Preston, England, United Kingdom26 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The location was the only good thing. That was literally the only thing. WiFi (it turns out) was only available in the public areas and you couldn't even pay to get it in your room.

It was truly awful. The carpets down to the basement were filthy, giving a very poor impression from the second I entered the Harry Potter door.
The bed sheets were just thrown onto the bed, not tucked in. The bed was too far from any plug sockets and they refused to give me an extension lead. Told me to buy it myself even though they must be asked for one numerous times for that room. The TV was so far away and so small, it just wasn't possible to watch it from the bed. The furniture was dilapidated and in the case of one chest of drawers, literally falling apart (2 of three drawers completely unusable). The room was horrible. The furnishings were all stained and there was a very small amount of black mould in the shower. The bathroom was generally clean but I did wonder why they hadn't cleaned the mould or removed the plastic seal from an old shampoo bottle that someone ( a previous guest) had stuck to the tiles.....
The windows were only huge openers so because I was in the basement I couldn't get any air at night for fear that someone could easily come through the window. To be fair, this may be down to some conservation status or listing, that they cannot change the windows, but it did make the room uncomfortable.
But more than any of this, the attitude of the male receptionist STANK. He clearly didn't care that I needed assistance and in fact I felt a little threatened. I'm not sure if he intended to threaten me but the result was that I did not dare complain about any of the other numerous problems for the rest of the stay.
I went for breakfast on one day only. They hadn't got me my soya milk which I'd requested, although one woman did very kindly run to the restaurant next door to get me some for my tea. The breakfast was such poor quality though, I never went back again and just bought food at the Caffe Nero round the corner.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from H Toumi, General Manager at Beach Hotel
Responded 21 Jun 2022
Dear Colette, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are sorry to hear that this was your experience staying with us. We apologise if there were any issues with cleanliness. The day before you checked in at the hotel we had a group from a stag party staying with us. After an adventurous trip, they returned to the hotel with muddy and dirty shoes. At that time we took action against these guests. We then contacted our contractor to arrange for someone to come and clean the carpet throughout the hotel, which you are aware of as this was done while you were still staying at the hotel. Regarding your room, you booked a room in the basement so there is nothing we can do as we had no vacant rooms upstairs to offer you. Regarding the Wi-Fi, on the Booking.com website, we say that the internet only works in the lobby so you should have known this before you booked the room. Breakfast is complimentary and the choices are varied: English-cooked breakfast of bacon, sausages, baked beans, scrambled eggs and mushrooms. There is also a choice of fruit: Banana, tinned peach and tinned pineapple. We also offer yoghurts in a variety of flavours, three different types of cereal, as well as orange or apple juice and water. We invite our guests to bring additional food or milk for their breakfast which we are happy to store in the fridge. We take our reviews very seriously therefore we are grateful for each review that is written. Your constructive notes will be passed on to management.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pat wrote a review Nov 2021
Royston, null, United Kingdom12 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
spent the weekend with friends and had very good experience. although decor is tired beds were spotless and comfortable, spotless towels, the 'complimentary' breakfast is amazing and nothing is too much trouble for the very friendly staff. would highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
Room Tip: high floor is good
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
George wrote a review Jul 2020
Nuneaton, United Kingdom32 contributions49 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We likes the room, it was comfy, clean and we had a great view. Sadly, it didn’t have free WiFi in the room so whenever we wanted WiFi with went down to reception or a place near by with WiFi. But overal, it was a okay stay
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Margaret K wrote a review Oct 2021
London, United Kingdom103 contributions43 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Seven of us stayed for the weekend .The Ritz it is not but is is clean , cheap on the front in Brighton .
Our rooms were clean along with bedding towels and bathroom.The room is tired and dated but if honest fir what you pay its well worth the money.
There is also breakfast included in the price which was fresh and hot .You had a tick box for any items you wanted and were able to ask for a refill of your breakfast.
The staff were lovely .Will definitely use again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: There is a car park opposite and it is expensive maybe book car parking before you go or leave...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Noodle92X wrote a review Sept 2022
14 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked to stay for 2 nights, for my 30th birthday weekend. Reviews looked ok, and the pictures on the website looked fine.

Our room was filthy dirty. Carpet coming up in the room, what looked liked faeces on the bedding, coffee stains and dirt all over the wall. There was what looked like pubic hairs in the bathroom.

No hot water came through in the shower, so my partner had to shower in cold water.

We stayed for one night as a couple, (as we had no other option for the night at that point) and we were supposed to stay for a second night, with our 8 month old as well.

We decided we didn’t want to bring the baby there as it was so filthy. We were genuinely worried about him touching anything, or crawling about on the filthy carpet in the room.

When we checked out on the Saturday morning, we expressed our concerns to the woman on the reception desk. All she said was “ok” and rolled her eyes at us. No offer to have someone go in and clean, no asking for further detail of the problems. Just said ok and took our key back.

What should have been a brilliant weekend away for my 30th was unfortunately cut short because it really was a disgusting place to sleep.

Terrible customer service, disgusting hotel.
Avoid like the plague.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Just avoid it full stop
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
5weet5tuff wrote a review Feb 2020
Hertfordshire21 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great gem of a place to stay. The room was clean, comfy, and had a sea view. Breakfast was basic but very tasty Would recommend the scramble eggs and mushrooms. Location was excellent Close to sea and the shops
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maureen D asked a question Mar 2022
What time is breakfast
Answer from KarenSp2014
London, United Kingdom42 contributions33 helpful votes
8-10 am
Answer from Toumi H
Brighton, United Kingdom
Good evening, our hotel haven't got bar. There is a restaurant next door, which belongs to us. You can either attend for dinner in there or order room service from menu of restaurant. Kind regards Reception
Gizelle-72 asked a question Feb 2018
Fleet, United Kingdom1 contribution
do you have an email address to contact you on please?
Answer from Toumi H
Brighton, United Kingdom
Hi, yes our email address is infoatbeachotelcouk
Answer from Toumi H
Brighton, United Kingdom
Good evening Nick, babies under 3 years old can stay free of charge. The travel cot will be also provided in your room, so please do not forget to request it when making your booking. Kind regards, Reception
adele130 wrote a tip Feb 2024
Watford, United Kingdom52 contributions19 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking nearby is expensive, so would not staff if we were driving."
Read full review
Shirley C wrote a tip Dec 2023
Hedge End, United Kingdom65 contributions19 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We were in Room 15 had a good view of the sea. "
Read full review
Lawrence38 wrote a tip Dec 2023
Wallington, United Kingdom89 contributions33 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"used a company called just park which worked out cheap for 24hr stay . If frosted glass doors are not your thing take some sellotape and white paper to block out the glass"
Read full review
val166 wrote a tip Nov 2023
London, United Kingdom31 contributions34 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not great for parking "
Read full review
Nicola H wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The ONLY good thing about this hotel is where it is located, still not worth booking though. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Brighton area.
PRICE RANGE
£74 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
beach hotel brighton
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast SussexBrighton and HoveBrighton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BEACH HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Beach Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Beach Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Pier Pressure Brighton Escape Rooms (0.3 miles), Brighton i360 (0.06 miles), and Maggie Mae’s (0.07 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Beach Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Beach Hotel?
Top room amenities include a desk, a view of a nearby landmark, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Beach Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Beach Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Beach Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Baqueano, Etci Kitchen, and Pamukkale Turkish Restaurant Brighton.
Is Beach Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the centre of Brighton.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Beach Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Polish, Greek, and Romanian.
Are there any historical sites close to Beach Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Royal Pavilion (0.6 miles), Brighton and Hove Museum (0.6 miles), and St Bartholomews (0.9 miles).
Does Beach Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Brighton HotelsBrighton Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BrightonHotels near Beach Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire