Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hastings House

Traveller (218)
Superior Sea View Room
Room & Suite (91)
Dining (28)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Wed, 24 Apr
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
£120
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
£120
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
£120
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#3 of 21 B&Bs in Hastings
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Travellers' Choice
Hastings House a gorgeous seaside Boutique Hotel it is a beautifully designed Bed & Breakfast … one thing is for certain … it is truly an unexpected pocket of style and "5 star" luxury with a character all of its own that guarantees a completely relaxed and indulgently comfortable stay in St. Leonards-on-Sea.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Beach
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Street parking
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English
1,079Review7Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 925
  • 122
  • 17
  • 4
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Trevor E wrote a review Jul 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Communications prior to arrival was great. The arrival was warm and welcoming, whilst very professional. Sitting in the bar/breakfast room with a welcome drink (wine), we found the view from the window was pleasant and calming, looking out over the gardens and seeing the sea. Creating a nice marker as the start of our 2 night break. Room was excellent, and everything we wanted. Local advise was superb, especially where to eat. Both restaurants were only a few minutes walk away. During the day we found the hotel a good location for walking out from to St Leonards and Hastings, and was a minutes walk to the beach and several cafes. Breakfast had some limitations as you would expect from a smaller hotel, but everything was of great quality and very fresh, which made this a notable experience. We are planning on going back to this superb find, and experiencing the delights offered by the great couple running this very pleasant, nicely presented little hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
clp1981 wrote a review Aug 2020
Ipswich, United Kingdom172 contributions75 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Room 3 was our home for a couple of nights whilst we explored Hastings.

Checking in on a hot and sunny afternoon, being greeted with a friendly welcome and cool drink got our stay off to the best possible start. Ian took time to chat with us, offering advice on local parking, attractions and restaurants and even provided us with a map of the area.

The hotel itself had a relaxed atmosphere and was quiet considering its seafront location. The lounge/bar/breakfast room was beautifully decorated with a welcoming seating area within the bay window.

Room 3 has an amazing view of Hastings beach and pier and wonderful sash windows. The bed was large and exceptionally comfortable. The room was very well equipped with the welcome addition of a digital radio. The provision of proper glasses (inc wine glasses) as well as a respectably priced mini-bar was a pleasing addition. The pocket guide to Hastings and St Leonards that was provided in the room was an interesting resource.

The bathroom had everything you would expect plus some nice extra touches and the shower was powerful and easy to operate. There was no noise from other rooms for the entirety of our stay allowing for a relaxed break and a good night's sleep.

Breakfast was amazing, cooked to our preference using great quality ingredients. The blackboards placed on the tables meant that we only ordered the components we would like thus reducing waste. The smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were the best I'd ever had and my husband was delighted to be allowed fried bread!

Our hosts throughout our stay were fantastic. Always on-hand if ever we needed anything, friendly and chatty but never invasive. Pepper and Pickle (the dogs) were incredibly well behaved and friendly (although never present during breakfast).

Would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tony A wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stylish boutique B&B; definitely!
Could not fault a thing.
Bev and Ian certainly ensure your stay is special; nothing too much.
Rooms beautifully decorated and very clean (we had a sea view room which was very spacious/lovely) with additional touches including a drinks fridge with reasonably priced soft and alcoholic drinks and snacks, lovely toiletries also included, as well as other additional little extras such as makeup mirror, cotton wool pads etc. etc.
Upon arrival, a complimentary drink offered; a very nice welcoming touch and much appreciated.
Breakfast choices were varied and the cooked breakfast so plentiful/tasty, that we did not get around to sampling the smoked salmon option!
Would not hesitate to recommend, as exceptional value for money.
Tony and Jackie
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
max c wrote a review Jan 2020
Brighton, United Kingdom2 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a room and brought my girlfriend down for her birthday, along with 2 close friends who were planning to spend the day with us then return home at the end. We assured the host that they were not staying with us just spending the day together. It was dark and cold outside by this point so we went to spend time in the room, having a laugh and conversation at 5pm we were then confronted by the hostess who came with an unnecessary rude and confrontational attitude telling our friends they had to leave and we needed to be quiet. After confirming again that they were simply spending time with us not staying the night we now felt uncomfortable and rather unwelcome. This was again brought up by the host informing us about noise and our friends being here which for a third time we assured them only me and my girlfriend were staying and that we were just talking in the room I had paid for. This had now made us feel so unwelcome after only being here for under two hours we decided to leave the room how we found it and leave calmly informing them we felt too unwelcome to stay and wanted a refund. The host was more relaxed about this however the hostess again came with a rude and hostile attitude, offering no apology and excuses that she was not being rude it was just how she was. It was also confirmed from them after I asked if we had actually had a noise complaint from any other guests that this was not the case, making the earlier confrontation even more unnecessary. After some calm talk from me and some overdramatic hand gestures and raised voice from the hostess she snatched the keys and I was given a full refund. Nice place but the service was unpleasant and just straight up rude.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ian J, Owner at Hastings House
Responded 5 Jan 2020
i Was disappointed to read your review having refunded you in full and having to change bedding in room today and clean bathroom after you , your girlfriend and 2 other girls spent a few hours in room . Usually when 2 people book a room with us that is the number that use the room, when you arrived with your entourage you never bothered to ask if you could all decamp to the room you just assumed it was ok Had you asked I would of politely declined as we are a small hotel and guests enjoy spending quiet time in their rooms, when my wife went up to your room and asked you to keep the noise down it was because we have guests below and adjacent to your room who don’t want to hear you being loud at 5 in the afternoon!! Maybe if you intend to spend the evening with a group of 4 friends may I suggest in future you book an air B and B
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charlotte W wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My boyfriend reserved a room for the night for just the two of us as a birthday getaway. We came down to Hastings with two close friends to spend the day together and assured the owners it was just me and him staying the night, but just wanted to relax in the room for a little before dinner as it was getting quite dark and cold outside.

We were just chatting in the room and got a knock at the door at 5pm. The hostess of the man who checked us in told us we were being too loud and our friends HAD to leave as we were apparently not allowed to have more than 2 people in the room at a time... her tone and attitude was rude and unwelcoming and after assuring them twice they weren’t staying the night we felt rather uncomfortable. We also didn’t understand that chatting in the room at 5pm on a Saturday afternoon would cause that much of a disruption.

We went outside for a cigarette and once returning inside, the man who checked us in had spoken to us again saying our friends were not allowed to stay in the room, where we assured them for a THIRD time they were not staying the night and we just wanted to relax after a long day together before dinner.

Once returning to the room we felt like we didn’t want to stay somewhere we felt unwelcome.We packed our bags, left the room as we found it and explained to them the room was lovely! We just felt so unwelcomed and the attitude this woman had was appalling and unnecessary, we didn’t feel comfortable staying the night.

This woman raised her voice at us, waving her arms about everywhere, saying she wasn’t rude, claiming that’s just the way she is! There was no apology for our discomfort, just attempted justification for her actions. My boyfriend calmly explained that the excessive hand gestures and unnecessary yelling was the reason why we just really didn’t want to stay.

My boyfriend asked if there was a noise complaint from another guest to cause the confrontation, to which she replied no, making the rude encounter even more unnecessary and unwelcoming.

She snatched the keys from his hands, slammed them on the table and yelled at her husband FINE, fair enough they gave us a full refund. But what a horrible attitude and unwelcoming environment.

Poor hospitality, poor attitude. It’s a shame as the place is so lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Beverley J, Owner at Hastings House
Responded 6 Jan 2020
Maybe it would of been considerate of you if you asked if your friends could go up to your room . You were all more than welcome to sit and chill ( as you put it ) in our bar area . It is very difficult for us to police our hotel when there are non guests trudging up and down the stairs . Our hotel is also our home and it is imperative to us that we know how many guests we have and who is in each room for emergencies and safety aspect . We have other guests to think about not just you and your friends who were not staying with us . We gave you a full refund even after you had been in the room with your entourage for hours .
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Melanie C wrote a review Jan 2020
Dartford, United Kingdom174 contributions45 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the welcome to the goodbye the host were friendly and generous. We both had a delicious glass of wine on arrival. We got great advice on the local area and stayed in lovely room where we were very comfortable with everything we could have possibly wanted. Our stay was topped with a delicious breakfast again with a warm greeting
Would recommend whole heartedly a wonderful place to stay
Thank you xx
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joc wrote a review 1 Apr
62 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Staying in Hastings for a couple of days, this Victorian beachside B&B was easy to find and is just a short walk from Hastings train station and the main town. The beds were comfy, fluffy dressing gowns were hanging in the wardrobe, and the room we had was mostly very clean (just a used spoon by the kettle and a couple of items left under the bed). There is free WiFi available, and great water pressure in the shower, which was quick to heat up. The staff were friendly and the breakfast served is made to order, with a variety of dishes available, along with fresh tea and coffee. If you're staying over a weekend, the street behind the hotel can be noisy as there is a bar nearby, so perhaps take earplugs if you're a light sleeper.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nathan S wrote a review Jan 2023
18 contributions24 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I phone this establishment to express an interest in booking. After not having visited the area before I did have a couple of questions. My partner also being disabled, I had a few questions regarding accessibility of the property. I spoke with the male proprietor of the property who was very rude, short and abrupt.
After unwillingly answering my questions he ended the call with “ can you just ring back when you actually want to book a room”.
The sort of people that are willing to falsify a friendly facade once you have handed over the money. Reality is have no interest in trying to assist potential customers book the correct room and perfect holiday.
Will not be staying here
When asking about the linen quality and towel quality there seemed to be an underlying air of annoyance. It isn’t our fault we have sensitive skin.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Beverley Jarvie, Owner at Hastings House
Responded 29 Jan 2023
Your comments are complete nonsense , you have never stayed at our beautiful hotel and after the television show 4 in a bed was aired you feel that you have the right to completely lie and be nasty ! As the owner of this business I can’t tell you how hard we work to ensure our guests have a lovely stay and are looked after , we are a small family business and my husband would never speak to a potential guest as you have stated . We received so many malicious sarcastic and awfull phone calls after we won 4 in a bed channel 4 . It beggars belief how the power of the internet allows sad people to leave reviews that are totally fictional. I really hope that you are satisfied with your comments . I feel very sorry for you .
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Des wrote a review Jun 2020
Redhill, United Kingdom2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked 2 rooms at the upper most level which were a seaview king suite and a luxury double with a bath. Everything, from check in to check out was smooth. Ian and Beverly were wonderful hosts and made sure that our stay was comfortable and memorable. Seaview room was spacious and the beds were very comfy. My partner and I chose the room with the bath and 2 people can fit in. It was that big! A delicious Full english breakfast was served every morning but you can also choose in their menu. Strawberry banana juice was superb, btw. There is an underground car park and youll get your access thru Ian but there are nearby private parking spaces in the area as well. To top it all off, they have 2 adorable dogs name Pepper and Pickle who would greet you every morning. Overall experience was a 5 star.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: luxury double at the top most floor has a big bath if you want to relax after a day's travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kerry V wrote a review Sept 2020
Richmond upon Thames, England, United Kingdom5 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for one night , Ian the owner could not be more welcoming.
The decor on arrival was a pleasant one, they have a very good eye on furnishings ,so tasteful ,unique, modern. Room was so comfortable and it is obvious that they have put time and consideration into the room , which were tastefully crafted.Breakfast was so fresh and beautifuly cooked ,WISH all breakfasts were like this x
Staff really friendly and approachable.
If I stay in Hastings again would only stay here as a Real find xxx
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Terry B
36 contributions26 helpful votes
Ours never but I didn't see any of the other rooms
Richard T asked a question Jan 2020
Lake Macquarie, Australia728 contributions394 helpful votes
What car parking facilities area available?
Answer from Jarvie
Hastings, United Kingdom3 contributions
We have 2 secure underground parking bays that are available for £5 per night , there is also plenty of free parking around warrior square depending upon what time of year you are looking at . Regards Ian
Philip P asked a question Aug 2018
Los Angeles, California71 contributions62 helpful votes
Hello there! Do all rooms have a private shower?
Answer from Alexandra P
Hastings, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
Hello Phillip, Yes, all our rooms are en suite Hope this helps Kind regards, Alex
lcastle87 asked a question May 2018
London, United Kingdom2 contributions
Hi, can you tell me if room 6 has a sea view?
msambridge43 asked a question Feb 2017
Northampton, United Kingdom13 contributions4 helpful votes
Hi please can you tell me which rooms have a bath. Maurice.
Answer from msambridge43
Northampton, United Kingdom13 contributions4 helpful votes
Hi Alexandra thanks very much for your help. Regards Maurice.
Richie B wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It's a victorian building so obviously no lift and rooms slightly smaller than new builds today. "
Read full review
Sarah wrote a tip Jan 2024
Barmouth, United Kingdom9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It’s worth paying the extra for a private parking space as parking is hard to find close by."
Read full review
AG M wrote a tip Jun 2023
Twickenham, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Their is a very good bus service from close to the hotel to the Old Town. Pay on the bus. "
Read full review
Wendy wrote a tip Apr 2023
Chatham, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You have to try the cooked breakfast. All locally sourced food. Fabulous. "
Read full review
Tressy2014 wrote a tip Apr 2023
Northampton, United Kingdom114 contributions33 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be aware, there isn’t a lift. If you’ve mobility issues around flights of stairs then request a low level room. Amazing sea views!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hastings area.
PRICE RANGE
£115 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hastings house hotel st. leonards-on-sea
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast SussexHastings
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HASTINGS HOUSE - Updated 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison

Frequently Asked Questions about Hastings House
Which popular attractions are close to Hastings House?
Nearby attractions include Lucy Bell Fine Art (0.1 miles), Twisted Bunny Bar and Cocktails (0.3 miles), and Warrior Square Gardens (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hastings House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and baggage storage.
Which room amenities are available at Hastings House?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hastings House?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Hastings House?
Yes, free public parking nearby, paid private parking nearby, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hastings House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Remy's Cafe Kulinarya, Liban Coast, and Fortes Pizzeria.
Is Hastings House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the centre of Hastings.
Are there any historical sites close to Hastings House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Smugglers Adventure (1.3 miles), Hastings Castle (1.0 miles), and Burton St Leonards (0.4 miles).
Does Hastings House have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Hastings HotelsHastings Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HastingsHotels near Hastings House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire