We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rye Lodge Hotel

Save
Share
Hilders Cliff, Rye TN31 7LD England
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$157
View deal
Official Site
US$155
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/06/21
Expedia.comUS$157
Priceline
eDreamsUS$157
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (279)
360
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (264)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#5 of 9 hotels in Rye
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Rye Lodge Hotel is an award winning 20 bedroom hotel situated within the heart of the ancient town of Rye. Rye Lodge is the only hotel in Rye with Spa facilities and free off street parking for all its guests.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Taxi service
Facial treatments
Baggage storage
Car park
Wifi
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Wine / champagne
Windsurfing
Fishing
Patio
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French
1193Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 567
  • 399
  • 143
  • 62
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Allen M wrote a review Yesterday
16 contributions
We went at rye Lodge Francesco for a pizza. My wife had a very good mushroom truffle and me a simple Margherita pizza and they were both fantastic. The staff are Italian, friendly and helpful and The place was also busy, but we still felt at home. We will return for a night when the hotel is fully open. Hopefully soon
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Suechapeltwo wrote a review Apr 2021
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom3 contributions
Checked the website regarding their afternoon tea. Clearly states that it will be commencing with effect from 17th May. Telephoned to book table and was told to call back later. Did so and was told in no uncertain terms that they had no idea when afternoon teas were starting, despite their website saying otherwise. This information was delivered to me in a most unfriendly manner. Was extremely glad then not to be booking my Golden Wedding celebration with them and have done so elsewhere in Rye, with extremely helpful and friendly people. Very disappointing that in these times, after having been closed for so long, you would have thought they would have welcomed customers.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Miles Shuttleworth, General Manager at Rye Lodge Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Suechapeltwo - Thank you for your feedback, I apologise for your experience on the phone, but we have only opened and the reception team are only working limited hours until the hotel opens on the 17th May, and they take the bookings. The Francesco's pizza team have been informed on how to deal with bookings for afternoon team so the procedure will be smoother for the future. Thank you and kind regards, Miles S
Read more
Teabush wrote a review Apr 2021
London, United Kingdom51 contributions27 helpful votes
We were shown to a table at about 13.30. Eating outside because of Covid restrictions. Ordered pizzas in order to be quick as we had two young children with us. After waiting 30 minutes we asked where our food was. It arrived after another 30 minutes. The table service was poor although friendly. The staff didn’t seem to be able to remember what we had ordered, and it turned up at various times, i.e. not all at the same time. Drinks were wrong when delivered. Cutlery was all disposal plastic which was not suitable for pizzas, which themselves were best described as ordinary. The staff knocked something off the bill, which went some of the way towards compensating for a poor meal. I could not recommend a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Jo P wrote a review Dec 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia5 contributions
We had a deluxe room on the ground floor overlooking the carpark. I am sure there must be better views from the front of the hotel. The room was well-appointed, the bed huge and they were very generous with tea and coffee in the room. Breakfast was very good too.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: ask for a view over the front
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Miles Shuttleworth, General Manager at Rye Lodge Hotel
Responded 13 Feb 2021
Dear joannaparfitt - Thank you for your lovely review and the positive feedback about the staff, they are a large asset to the hotel. We hope to see you return soon and we will allocate you a front facing bedroom. Thank you, Miles s
Read more
Ken L wrote a review Dec 2020
Orpington, United Kingdom27 contributions11 helpful votes
We stayed here few years ago when they were having Refurb with new owners so was looking forwards to our stay . But not so lucky! Firstly we must say the staff were excellent and helpful especially in these strange times ( Covid-19) Breakfast excellent and enjoyable . But the room was tiny and we can only describe the bathroom as a cupboard it was so small !!! Broken cheap toilet seat and again broken and cheap shower curtains ! Also the old fashioned tap in the shower was dangerous as when using you only had to touch or knock it and it scalded you ? So unless they step up to the mark we definitely not returning back which is a shame as Rye is our favourite please for over 20yrs
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Miles Shuttleworth, General Manager at Rye Lodge Hotel
Responded 13 Feb 2021
Dear keep-it-cool - Thank you for taking time in giving us a review. I'm sorry there were issues with the room, we are reviewing them now and we hope to do a full refurb in the near future. Thank you for you loyalty. Kind regards, Miles S
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$93 - US$168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rye hotel rye
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast SussexRye
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Rye Lodge Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Rye Lodge Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Storymaster's Tales Interactive Theatre (0.3 miles), St. Mary's Parish Church (0.2 miles), and Kino Rye (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Rye Lodge Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and laundry service.
What food & drink options are available at Rye Lodge Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Rye Lodge Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rye Lodge Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rye Waterworks Micropub, Knoops, and The Grapevine Champagne & Piano Lounge.
Is Rye Lodge Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Rye.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Rye Lodge Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Rye Lodge Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Mary's Parish Church (0.2 miles), Mermaid Street (0.2 miles), and Lamb House (0.2 miles).
Is Rye Lodge Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.