We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The George in Rye

Show Prices
#1 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The George in Rye
The George in Rye
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,282 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The George in Rye
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,261: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2015

Generally a good hotel but the junior suite we had was surprisingly disappointing considering the tariff. We have stayed in much better for less. Attention to detail and improved customer care would make this an excellent hotel for the money.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mark d
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear 'mark d' We were sorry to hear you were disappointed with your Junior Suite. All of our rooms are very different. Room 41, with its round bed and huge bathroom is one of our most popular rooms but we appreciate sometimes it is just down to personal taste! We hope you come back to visit us again. With best...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2015

Amazing comfort, especially the sleeping experience, nice informal welcome and care, extra drinks/snacks topped up whilst we were at dinner, which was itself very good quality (though could do with more/better vegetarian options), and good bar and winter log fire too.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gaviota70
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear 'gaviota70' We were absolutely thrilled to see your review - the best accolade we could hope for! Thank you for leaving your feedback on Tripadvisor. Please come and stay with us again soon! With best wishes The George in Rye

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2015

We love visiting Rye and had noticed this hotel during one of our trips there in 2014. We decided to treat ourselves to an overnight stay to see in the New Year in style and comfort. Our package included, dinner, bed and breakfast and 2 cocktails, with champagne to welcome in 2015 at midnight. Communication with the hotel was clear...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bea_K186223
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear 'Bea_K186223' Thank you for choosing to spend New Year's Eve with us! We're delighted you had a great time and we've passed your kind comments on to Lucy. Please do come and stay with us again! With best wishes The George in Rye

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2015

Booked one night away, mid week , for my husband's birthday. I did mention this by email and requested a table for dinner. We were told, whilst we were having a pre dinner drink in the bar, that the restaurant was full and that we would be seated in the bar area. A very helpful member of staff (manager, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 688Thomas2013
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear '688Thomas2013' Thank you for your feedback and for choosing The George to celebrate your husband's birthday. We are pleased to hear that we were able to fulfil your wish to dine in The Grill rather than the bar. We look forward to welcoming you back with your friends in the spring! With best wishes The George in Rye

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2014

We had Room 9 for 3 days over Christmas, and what delight ...... we had read the hype and were looking forward to our first Christmas away from home. From the start, with the reception process being quick and seem-less; then the mountain climb to our room (with the young manager laden with all of our luggage) but it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GrumpyandDizzy
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear 'GrumpyandDizzy' Thank you for choosing to spend Christmas with us and for taking the time to leave your lovely feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The George soon! With best wishes The George in Rye

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2014

Hotel was in a great location, friendly staff and warm throughout. Well decorated and room was fantastic. Ask for room as high up as possible as we were on first floor and got a lot of noise from restaurant below. Good breakfast, but we ate out at different hotel for dinner.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nickwibb03
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear 'nickwibb03' Thank you for your lovely feedback, we hope to welcome you back to The George soon. With best wishes The George in Rye

East Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2014

I had seen this hotel advertised a few times, I think I saw it as a deal on Groupon or Travelzoo ages ago and looked at it and made a mental note that it would be a lovely place to go. I have given this review the highest rating possible and that is partly because emotionally this was such the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tweeklet
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear 'Tweeklet' Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your lengthy review! We are genuinely thrilled that you had such a lovely stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon. With best wishes The George in Rye

West Malling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2014

An excellent night away with my wife in this very friendly and efficient Hotel. We were in room 3 (Queen Room). It was smallish but plenty big and well furnished and exceptionally clean. The most had been made of the space available. Bed was very comfortable and on a cold evening we were plenty warm. Shower was good with plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 55GrahamS
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear '55GrahamS' Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor. We're so pleased you had a good stay with us. Please come and see us again soon. With best wishes The George in Rye

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2014

Stayed a single night at this hotel in Rye. Very simple elegance with old fashioned good manners displayed by all staff. I had phoned and asked for an early check in, as I was attending a wedding (check in is 3pm), they could not confirm whether they could do this or not, but wonderfully on the day, they let me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 8DianeW8
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear '8DianeW8' We were thrilled to read your feedback and so pleased that we were able to accommodate you with an early check-in. We hope you enjoyed the wedding and look forward to seeing you again soon! With best wishes The George in Rye

Brighton
Reviewed 29 December 2014

Originally I wrote a blinding review of this hotel 3 years ago upon our first stay here, the only small hiccup being a mistake with the figures upon checkout whereupon they almost overcharged us.The second stay we had here the same thing happened & this time we were very nearly charged for a bottle of champagne somebody had given us...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Bathdaddy

766 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (396)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (228)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (342)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Junior Suite (63)
Viewed
Luxury Room (51)
Viewed
Queen Room (42)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
Superior Room (56)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#3 of 9 in Rye
870 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,142 reviews
0.2 mi away
River Haven Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Lodge at Winchelsea
The Lodge at Winchelsea
#1 of 1 in Winchelsea
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service

Additional Information about The George in Rye

Address: 98 High Street, Rye TN31 7JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Price Range: £96 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George in Rye 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The George in Rye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George In Rye Hotel Rye
George Hotel Rye
The George Rye
George Rye
The George In Rye East Sussex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The George in Rye staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The George in Rye staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for one of the outside rooms...or better, a suite!”
 of 5 bubbles wittsy_64_13, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Junior Suite 41 which has amazing bathroom downstairs”
  • Suite 41
  • Bathroom in Suite 41
  • Suite 31
  • Suite 32 Bathroom
  • Suite 31
  • Suite 41 Bathroom
  • Suite 41
  • Suite 41
 of 5 bubbles lesleyh896, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Even though we were on the street side, it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles edenstudio, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 31 in the former hayloft at the back of the hotel is very quiet and very cosy.”
 of 5 bubbles Mumof4Kent, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Check the website because the rooms are all different!”
 of 5 bubbles 961alisona, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5