We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The George in Rye

Show Prices
#1 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The George in Rye
The George in Rye
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,284 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The George in Rye
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,263: English reviews
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2014

Stayed a single night at this hotel in Rye. Very simple elegance with old fashioned good manners displayed by all staff. I had phoned and asked for an early check in, as I was attending a wedding (check in is 3pm), they could not confirm whether they could do this or not, but wonderfully on the day, they let me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 8DianeW8
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear '8DianeW8' We were thrilled to read your feedback and so pleased that we were able to accommodate you with an early check-in. We hope you enjoyed the wedding and look forward to seeing you again soon! With best wishes The George in Rye

Brighton
Reviewed 29 December 2014

Originally I wrote a blinding review of this hotel 3 years ago upon our first stay here, the only small hiccup being a mistake with the figures upon checkout whereupon they almost overcharged us.The second stay we had here the same thing happened & this time we were very nearly charged for a bottle of champagne somebody had given us...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Bathdaddy
Ticehurst, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2014

The George Hotel is perfectly placed for exploring Rye. Our room was superb with all the facilities including a lovely old style bath in the bedroom. On this occasion did not eat in the Hotel but if dinner was as good as the breakfast it will be very good. Staff very helpful. One negative comment, there is no parking at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bassett104
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear 'Bassett104' Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We're delighted you enjoyed your room and that you had great service. Please come and see us again soon. With best wishes The George in Rye

Reviewed 27 December 2014 via mobile

Although this hotel came with excellent recommendations, I was disappointed with our room, which had a cold bathroom with a very old-fashioned heater. Not quite the luxury I was expecting. The restaurant food was good, but the service was surly. I would choose another hotel if I return to Rye.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lucia G
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear 'Lucia G' Thank you for your feedback. We were very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your room and with the service you received in The Grill. Please let us know if you reconsider returning to The George - we will ensure you have a much better experience next time. With best wishes The George in Rye

Brighton
Reviewed 26 December 2014 via mobile

Lovely staff, great atmosphere and great food... We have stayed here four times now and it's always been a great experience!!! The staff are attentive and clearly a great class to the hotel. Stayed here with our kids twice as well and they love being in this hotel as well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ibrown2009
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear 'lbrown2009' Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor. We were so pleased to read your review and look forward to your next visit! With best wishes for the New Year. The George in Rye

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 December 2014

Our recent stay in Rye was complimented by a fantastic stay at The George. Rye is itself a lovely place to explore and to stay at The George completes the visit. The rooms were spotless and all aspects of our stay were without fault. Bright and cheery reception, excellent evening restaurant, one of the most comprehensive breakfast choices I have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear 'Tim S' Thank you for your lovely feedback. We very much enjoyed having you to stay and we hope you'll come and see us again soon! With best wishes The George in Rye

Sutton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 December 2014

The George is a hotel of great quality and is perfect for anyone seeking a comfortable, luxurious and uncomplicated hotel. The rooms and facilities are superb, cosy, welcoming to the point where it becomes hard to actually justify leaving the rooms beyond the warm open-fires and soft furnishings of the bar and George Grill. We stayed as a couple in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lils B
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear 'LilsB' Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor. We're delighted you found the room and facilities superb and welcoming. We're sorry to hear you weren't keen on Room 6 - all of our rooms are individual, so as you say sometimes it is down to personal taste. However we would like to apologise for...

Reviewed 22 December 2014

We had the most amazing time here. The room was incredible-junior suite. The bath was magnificent and the bed was so comfortable. Luxury! We also ate in the restaurant. Chateaubriand and it was delicious with equally delightful accompaniments. We did not want to leave this place. An ideal place for a romantic getaway, especially in the beautiful town of Rye.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EllouiseFeatherstone
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear 'EllouiseFeatherstone' Thank you for your glowing review! We were very pleased to have you stay with us and very much hope you'll come and see us again during 2015. With best wishes The George in Rye

Chard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 December 2014

Hotel has been renovated to a very high standard but still retains its old world charm. The staff and service were friendly and first class. Our room was cosy and charming the only complaint was the double bed was too small. The dinner we had in the Grill Restaurant was superb and we will definitely eat there again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Liz N
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear 'LizN' Thank you for your kind review. We're so pleased you had a good stay with us to celebrate your birthday and delighted to hear that you found the staff and the service first class. Our smallest rooms have Queen-size beds but many have King-size beds and Super-kings. We very much hope that you'll come and stay with us...

Redhill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2014

Celebrated my birthday on the 19th staying in a superior room at the George. Enjoyed a lovely meal in the grill. The hotel in really cosy. Crackling open fire, great beer.! What made the stay for us is the fantastic attitude of the staff. In particular the service we received in the grill which was just spot on , as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bob R
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear 'Bob R' We were absolutely thrilled to read your review of your stay with us; In particular we were pleased to hear that you received great service from our staff. Please let us know when you'd like to return for your wife's birthday - we look forward to welcoming you back. In the meantime, please accept our best wishes...

766 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (396)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (228)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (342)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Junior Suite (63)
Viewed
Luxury Room (51)
Viewed
Queen Room (42)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
Superior Room (56)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#3 of 9 in Rye
871 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,144 reviews
0.2 mi away
River Haven Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Lodge at Winchelsea
The Lodge at Winchelsea
#1 of 1 in Winchelsea
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service

Additional Information about The George in Rye

Address: 98 High Street, Rye TN31 7JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Price Range: £96 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George in Rye 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The George in Rye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George In Rye Hotel Rye
George Hotel Rye
The George Rye
George Rye
The George In Rye East Sussex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The George in Rye staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The George in Rye staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a lovely sunny room which looked out at the clock at the back of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 123sunseeker, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one of the outside rooms...or better, a suite!”
 of 5 bubbles wittsy_64_13, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Junior Suite 41 which has amazing bathroom downstairs”
  • Suite 41
  • Bathroom in Suite 41
  • Suite 31
  • Suite 32 Bathroom
  • Suite 31
  • Suite 41 Bathroom
  • Suite 41
  • Suite 41
 of 5 bubbles lesleyh896, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Even though we were on the street side, it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles edenstudio, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 31 in the former hayloft at the back of the hotel is very quiet and very cosy.”
 of 5 bubbles Mumof4Kent, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5