We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The George in Rye

Show Prices
#2 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The George in Rye
The George in Rye
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,284 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The George in Rye
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,263: English reviews
Storrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2014

Individual and wonderfully attractive room, spectacular bathroom. Quality toiletries, lovely fluffy towels. Great supper and wonderful choice at breakfast. Really well thought out and run hotel - if they will have us we will be back

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jenniegSussex
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear 'jenniegSussex' Thank you so much for your concise review of your stay. Of course we'd love to have you back! Let us know when you'd like to come and stay again. In the meantime please accept our best wishes for the New Year! The George in Rye

Rye, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2014

Friday the 12th of December we held this years charity event in the George Hotel ballroom..wow !!! how beautiful is this room...stunning !!!! The event went so well and its all down to the hard work of all the staff involved..they jus couldn't do enough to help the quests and make sure it went with out a hitch.The food was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mingecake
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear Danielle Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback here on Tripadvisor! We were so happy to be able to support this worthy local cause. Congratulations on raising those much-needed funds for the charity and we look forward to seeing you soon. With best wishes The George in Rye

Reviewed 14 December 2014

We got an amazing deal from Travelzoo for a celebratory weekend away which included one nights stay, dinner and breakfast. The room was lovely - a little chilly - but the thoughtful addition of a hot water bottle helped! The dinner was very good, the desserts in particular being delicious. Breakfast was also good with plenty of choice. Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RGRV
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear 'RGRV' Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback here on Tripadvisor. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your Travelzoo deal. Please come and stay with us again soon. With best wishes The George in Rye

Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2014

We only stayed one night but we were very pleased with the accommodation. The room was quirky and very cosy, just one slight 'moan' the room was chilly but we found an extra radiator in the wardrobe which made it lovely and warm. The shower was to die for, the tea and coffee supplies were great, all round very enjoyable...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeannette H
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear 'Jeanette H' We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your first stay with us. We're sorry the room was a little chilly on arrival but glad that this was easily rectified. Please come and see us again! With best wishes The George in Rye

Reviewed 8 December 2014

Another glorious stay at The George. Wonderful staff who allowed us to change our booking date, fantastic food and luxurious rooms. We also had to bring our 4 month old at late notice but the hotel provided us with a travel cot, however this was charged for- the only niggle of our stay. This was our second visit and is...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank CassieDale
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear 'CassieDale' Thank you for your feedback. We're glad we were able to help with the change of date and we're genuinely thrilled to hear that we are your favourite hotel! We look forward to your next visit. With best wishes The George in Rye

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2014

We are just back from our third time staying at this lovely hotel, and as before, it didn't disappoint. We had requested the room we stayed in on our second visit as we absolutely loved it for it's quirkiness and character, and we were so happy that the hotel was able to accommodate this request. The hotel itself is cosy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GTM817
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear 'GTM817' Thank you so much for choosing The George in Rye again. We're delighted that we were able to accommodate your room request but sorry that you weren't well during your stay. We look forward to your fourth visit when we hope you will both be on fine form! With best wishes for the New Year! The George in...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend for two nights and really enjoyed it. We stayed in room 4 for one night which was very nice, but pretty small (Anyone over 6ft would struggle to be comfortable in this room with the small bed and shower. It was fine for us though). The second night we spent in room 20 which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Finch23
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear 'Finch23' We were delighted to have you and your girlfriend to stay with us and we appreciate your candid review. Please do come and see us again soon! With best wishes The George in Rye

Reviewed 3 December 2014

We stayed here on Sunday Nov 30th for one night as a treat from our daughter and son-in law. We have stayed in many places worldwide up to seven star accommodation. Our night here was everything we wanted it to be. Cosy, relaxed and friendly. Our room was spot-on. The food was perfect ( Chataubriand) with a good choice of...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Graham H
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear 'GrahamH' We were so pleased to have you and your wife to stay with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your lovely feedback. We look forward to seeing you again! With best wishes The George in Rye.

Reviewed 2 December 2014

This hotel came recommended by a friend so I booked 2 nights for my husband's birthday - got a great deal via E-bay. Chose room I wanted from their website and booking over the phone was quick and efficient - check in on arrival was fast and we were taken to our room which was just as good as the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie N
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear 'JackieN' We were delighted to read your complimentary review and are so pleased you had a good stay for your husband's birthday. Please come and stay with us again soon. With best wishes The George in Rye

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2014

This is the second time staying at this gorgeous hotel. Got a deal from Travelzoo which was excellent, £140 for two with breakfast and dinner. The staff are lovely and the atmosphere is superb. The breakfast has got to be one of the best I have ever had. The evening meal is lovely, although I struggled with the choices, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerryann08
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear 'Kerryann08' We were so pleased to read your feedback and delighted that you had a good time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back some time soon! With best wishes The George in Rye

766 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (396)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (228)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (342)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Junior Suite (63)
Viewed
Luxury Room (51)
Viewed
Queen Room (42)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
Superior Room (56)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#3 of 9 in Rye
872 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,143 reviews
0.2 mi away
River Haven Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Lodge at Winchelsea
The Lodge at Winchelsea
#1 of 1 in Winchelsea
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service

Additional Information about The George in Rye

Address: 98 High Street, Rye TN31 7JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Price Range: £96 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George in Rye 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The George in Rye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George In Rye Hotel Rye
George Hotel Rye
The George Rye
George Rye
The George In Rye East Sussex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The George in Rye staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The George in Rye staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a lovely sunny room which looked out at the clock at the back of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 123sunseeker, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one of the outside rooms...or better, a suite!”
 of 5 bubbles wittsy_64_13, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Junior Suite 41 which has amazing bathroom downstairs”
  • Suite 41
  • Bathroom in Suite 41
  • Suite 31
  • Suite 32 Bathroom
  • Suite 31
  • Suite 41 Bathroom
  • Suite 41
  • Suite 41
 of 5 bubbles lesleyh896, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Even though we were on the street side, it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles edenstudio, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 31 in the former hayloft at the back of the hotel is very quiet and very cosy.”
 of 5 bubbles Mumof4Kent, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5