We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Colchester

Visit hotel website
Traveller (83)
360
Panoramas (18)
Video

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Holiday Inn Express Colchester has 101 air-conditioned bedrooms all with free wireless internet access, invigorating power showers, and tea & coffee making facilities. Complimentary Hot and cold Buffet Breakfast sets you up for a day exploring Colchester sights. Children under 18 stay free when sharing parents’ family room. This modern Colchester hotel is located just off A12 north off the Colchester Town Centre, with excellent links to Ipswich and Chelmsford. On the edge of the Dedham Vale, a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, the hotel it is the perfect place to explore the countryside that inspired many of John Constable's world famous paintings.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Free parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Electric vehicle charging station
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Save More on Your Rate
Hotel deals
689Reviews
323Photos
7Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 212
  • 280
  • 119
  • 57
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The bed appeared too soft for us but we ended up having a very comfortable nights sleep. The room was clean and more than adequate. However, we made the mistake of staying at the hotel and eating there. Long journey, tired...no excuse. Stupid mistake. Food was poor, lasagne
Read more
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Responded 1 week ago
Hello Quiet_n_Warm, Thank you for leaving us your review and for making us a part your visit here in Colchester. We are grateful that you've chosen the Holiday Inn Express to host you. As always, we wanted nothing more but to ensure your experience turn as positive as possible. Though it made me smile that you had a comfortable night sleep, I'm sorry that yours didn't turn out well when you dined in at our restaurant. I regard your thoughts that the actual item didn't look as appetizing as it was on the menu and waiting time taking longer than anticipated. I understand that it didn't please your palate and the service during breakfast was the same too. I'm sorry that this stay didn't go as perfectly as planned, Quiet_n_Warm. Don't worry, I took the necessary steps to ensure our management gets to read your post and be discussed amongst all concerned staff. We are always on the lookout for ways to make your experience memorable. Reviews such as this goes a long way in identifying areas where we can improve. We may not have gotten off the right foot but I'm positive to make it better for your next stay. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. Best regards, Frank A. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Stayed here the other night . Hotel is clean with modern rooms . Shower lovely and bed comfortable . Didn’t like the pillows but that’s just my preference . The main gripe was the noise . Noisy guests outside our room messing about at 2am and then again an argument going off at
Read more
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Responded 1 week ago
Hello ianbB298SE, Thank you for providing feedback on your experience. I am very glad that you found our hotel to be clean and rooms to be modern. I am sorry that the noise disturbance from our other guests and the lack of some breakfast items prevented you from fully enjoying your stay. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you. As a valued guest, I will share your comments with our management to consider in order to improve in order to accommodate you better in the future. I will share your comments with our management to consider in order to improve in order to accommodate you better in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back and ensuring a positive stay experience on your future visit. Kind Regards, Dianne L. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
What a pleasant experience! Quiet, friendly, efficient, comfortable, excellent breakfast, great value for money. The only thing I woukd like is Blankets instead of duvets. Easy to find, accessible. Staff really helpful. Dining room lovely with view of field.
Read more
Right on the A12 between Ipswich and Colchester this hotel was nice. Clean and convenient and plenty of rooms. We had some friends join us and all had dinner in the restaurant and drinks in the bar area.
Read more
This was the second time that I have used this hotel and I was not disappointed. The location suited me well as it was on the A12. It was easy for me to get away in the morning. The room was spotless. Bathroom was in a contemporary style with white towels. Shower facilities was
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Business Centre & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementHoliday Inn Express Colchester
Guest room
Photo provided by managementHoliday Inn Express Colchester
Meeting room
Photo provided by managementHoliday Inn Express Colchester
Guest room amenity
Photo provided by managementHoliday Inn Express Colchester
Guest room
Photo provided by managementHoliday Inn Express Colchester
Guest room amenity
PreviousNext
12345633
No not that I'm aware
0 votes
Show all answers
Rims are very comfortable and nicely decorated
0 votes
Show all answers
hello yes, they are card for the doors - but keep it away form your mobile phone - it will wipe it clean - the lift will take a wheel chair - but ask for a ground floor room at the back for quiet times - regards Mel
0 votes
Show all answers
Only the hotel can answer this question. I do not have any knowledge about dates.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi how many people does a double room with sofa bed sleep?
Hiya Chelsea P, A double room can easily sleep four. The double beds are very comfy and the sofa bed is as good a quality as you will find. The spotlessly clean rooms are air conditioned and the walk in showers are a godsend. Great value for money; highly recommended. Enjoy your stay.
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"choose 1st floor rooms - far more quiet"
"For quietness choose room at back"
"Ground floor is easier for older clientele"
"if have more than one child, book two rooms."
"room tip , if u stay in room 42 take some earplugs as its bang outside the main entrance"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$52 - US$110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express colchester hotel dedham
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandColchesterDedham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
101
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing