We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Swan Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (690)
360
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (240)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 1 hotels in Bibury
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in the heart of Bibury, often known as the prettiest village in England; the dog-friendly Swan Hotel has 22 bedrooms, including 4 stunning cottage suites, a lively bar, cosy writing room and stylish Brasserie. The hotel is ideally located for exploring not only Bibury but surrounding countryside too.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Lithuanian, Romanian, Slovak
1,422Review20Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 748
  • 344
  • 164
  • 97
  • 69
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Peter B wrote a review Mar 2024
Cambridge, United Kingdom59 contributions25 helpful votes
Average restaurant but very slow service, room OK but windows that do not open very noisy pumbing in the middle of the night- and a service charge added to the bar and restaurnt bill without option- breakfast service so slow almosy had to leave before it arrived, then wrong order and bacon so overcooked could not eat will not be useing again
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bryan Williams, General Manager at The Swan Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip adivsor and sorry to hear that you felt the Swan Hotel was overpriced and very average We appreciate your feedback about breakfast and I have already discussed the breakfast standards with our head chef and and restaurant manager and I am sorry you had a poor experience this is not up to our high standards, In terms of service charge like most restaurant and hotel companies a discretionary service charge is putting on all bills and our team are permitted to remove this if guests are not happy. This service charge is distributed weekly to the whole of our hard working team I am sorry you had issues opening your windows and noisy plumbing in your room We thank you for your feedback Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mobile46228758597 wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Went to The Swan in Mother’s Day . The hotel was very busy but the food and restaurant was very lovely and tasty . But me and my family have witnessed a very horrible situation. Old man in a suit wearing glasses who was at the bar we think he was someone important as he was thinking it was okay to be shouting at a young waitress. The food is great but a male should not shout at a woman at all.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bryan Williams, General Manager at The Swan Hotel
Responded 13 Mar 2024
Dear Mobile Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I am glad that your enjoyed the food and service. I am sorry to hear that you experience poor behaviour from out duty manger, please accept my apologies about this I will speak with him about this matter. The hotel was extremely busy and we had a couple of key staff away and had less experience team members helping on Mother day lunch. I will check with both the duty manager and waitress to discuss this matter with them I am glad you enjoyed your lunch and sorry you had to experience this behaviour from our duty manager Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Roberto wrote a review Mar 2024
Province of Verona, Italy173 contributions92 helpful votes
The location is perfect, situated in one of the most characteristic village in the Cotswolds. The Hotel is nice, with fantastic view and fascinating rooms with fireplace. Our room was nice with a sofa, a walk- in wardrobe and a large bathroom.The breakfast and dinner were good. Staff very professional. Very satisfied.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bryan Williams, General Manager at The Swan Hotel
Responded 13 Mar 2024
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I am glad you found the hotel perfect and you enjoyed a good breakfast and dinner with us and found the staff very professional We do hope to see you again in the future Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Susan G wrote a review Mar 2024
London, United Kingdom326 contributions113 helpful votes
Only stopped in for coffee. The staff were so friendly and efficient. Coffee was excellent and the bar area was tastefully decorated. Would definitely book to stay next time. The loos were clean and well staffed. Perfect setting for a peaceful weekend break.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bryan Williams, General Manager at The Swan Hotel
Responded 13 Mar 2024
Dear Susan Thank you for taking the time to post a review the Swan Hotel and glad to hear you found the staff friendly and efficient and that you enjoyed your coffee We look forward to welcoming you back in the future Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jayes2812 wrote a review Feb 2024
Cotswolds, United Kingdom77 contributions53 helpful votes
Positives:- Lovely location, fairly quiet, nice room and en suite with decent coffee facilities with a nice touch of accompanying chocolates, comfortable public areas and open fires. Negatives:- a window that barely opens, hard pillows, smart TV that has no internet connectivity, poor room wi fi, a barman that has little knowledge of the beer he serves and a waitress that knows less about food availability. Menu choice is limited, fairly basic and even that cannot be relied upon to be available. Good breakfast. A happy stay that is assisted by pleasant staff despite professional failings. Could easily be better and the bedrooms must be unbearably hot in summer months.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bryan Williams, General Manager at The Swan Hotel
Responded 19 Feb 2024
Dear Jayes thank you for your feedback and sorry you have a problem opening your windows and had issues with hard pillows and found our team had a lack of knowledge of the beer we served and also the waitress, we do have a few students training in the restaurant area at the moment. Also sorry you felt a lack of choice on the menu we are currently addressing this to increase the size of the menu Glad you loved our location and had decent coffee with chocolates in your rooms and enjoyed our public areas with open fires I am glad that you felt our team where pleasant and happy to assist and we do hope to see you in the future Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
regman84 wrote a review Feb 2024
London, United Kingdom47 contributions54 helpful votes
My wife and I had a wonderful one night stay at the Swan Hotel. We had a lovely four poster room with windows on both sides. The bathroom was a great size with a fantastic shower. There was plenty of room to park in one of the two car parks either side of the hotel. We ate dinner at the restaurant in the evening which was great. Very nice to have the trout from the farm across the road. The bar area is nice with the fire on and they had a good choice of drinks. Breakfast (also in the restaurant) was great with a good selection of hot and cold. We’d recommend going to the Catherine Wheel for a drink which is a 5 minute walk from hotel. Nice locals pub (in a good way!) which does good food and the staff are friendly. Would definitely recommend staying at the Swan Hotel, we’ll definitely return!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bryan Williams, General Manager at The Swan Hotel
Responded 8 Feb 2024
Dear Regman84 Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review and we are glad you had such a fantastic stay at the hotel Glad you and your wife enjoyed one of our lovely four poster rooms with a nice bathroom with great shower and managed to find suitable parking. Great to hear you had a fantastic dining experience for both breakfast and dinner and enjoyed drinks in the bar We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jules P wrote a review Jan 2024
Northampton, United Kingdom7 contributions12 helpful votes
What a great little hotel Their attention to detail is phenomenal. The staff were friendly, efficient and knowledgeable. The food choices and quality were amazing. The bedroom was fabulous. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Couldn’t fault our stay
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Bryan Williams, General Manager at The Swan Hotel
Responded 4 Feb 2024
Dear Jules Thank you very much for posting a review on Trip Advisor I am glad you found our Hotel fabulous. It is great to get such positive feedback from our guests and I am glad that you found our attention to detail phenomenal and the staff friendly, efficient and knowledgeable and that you found the food choices and quality amazing. Also your found your bedroom fabulous We do hope to see you in the future at either The Swan Hotel in Bibury or one of our 6 sister hotels in the Cotswolds Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
golfr32 wrote a review Jan 2024
6 contributions4 helpful votes
bedroom very tired windows not able to open restaurant food very average asked for fish to be filleted and was told chef said it was to thin to be filleted as i have been catering for over 45 years never come across that one breakfast bowls the size of a small sugar bowl would I visit again on if they got a proper chef and rooms were upgrade a bit the place has a fantastic setting pity the bits let it down
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bryan Williams, General Manager at The Swan Hotel
Responded 4 Feb 2024
Dear Golfr32 Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor and i am sorry you let unhappy I am sorry you found your bedroom very tired and your windows would not open. The hotel are currently undergoing some redecoration work after a busy summer period last year. I am sorry to hear the chef would not fillet your fish I have been away on annual leave and would raise this with him now I have returned Thank you for the comment about our breakfast bowls for cereals, we will review this when we look at making changes to our breakfast buffet service which is an on going thing Again thank you for giving us feedback so we can make improvements for our guests for the future Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
EmmaAvon wrote a review Jan 2024
Bath, United Kingdom151 contributions52 helpful votes
+1
We had an amazing experience in the hot tub cottage, which I recommend everyone thinking about staying here to try It is a beautiful and spacious cottage that we felt was incredible value for money. I've read some negative reviews about this place and really can't understand it. The cottage is beautifully decorated and incredibly clean. There is a huge lounge with TV and blu ray player, a beautiful bedroom with a massive, comfy bed and TV, a gorgeous bathroom with two sinks and a bath with a shower attachment, a downstairs wet room and a hallway that houses the nespresso style coffee machine/kettle etc. They provide quality tea etc (Teapigs). It's really lovely to be able to come downstairs and have coffee and shut the door so that you don't disturb your still sleeping partner! There is parking right beside the cottages. The hot tub was fantastic.. so clean and hot hot hot. Very easy to uncover and operate.. temperature button, lights and bubble button! We wore the slippers provided that were wrapped up in the fluffy bathrobes We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed both meals. The staff are really friendly and super helpful (I can't eat dairy). Nothing was too much trouble. We had the chateaubriand, which we loved. There was plenty of it! He had the duck parfait and was raving about that. Lots of options at breakfast that included coconut yoghurt, dairy free spread and milk options. They really have a variety of options. We also did the walk to Coln St Aldwyns, which was lovely and recommended. We ended up getting a taxi back and used Coln Valley Cabs, who was cheaper than the others we called. He was local so was really friendly knowledgeable about the area. Recommend him if you need a cab. Keep an open mind when reading some of those negative reviews....
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bryan Williams, General Manager at The Swan Hotel
Responded 4 Feb 2024
Dear Emma Thank you for posting such a positive review about the hotel and glad you had such an amazing time in Whooper Cottage its a lovely cottage and glad everything went so well for you and you had a great dinner and breakfast We look forward to welcoming you and your friends and family back to the hotel in the future Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Capman68 wrote a review Dec 2023
Cheltenham, United Kingdom7 contributions11 helpful votes
A group of 4 of us visited the Swan Hotel over Christmas and we had such a lovely time. The setting is beautiful and had a lovely Christmas feel. We had food which was absolutely delicious, crab starters, pork belly and strawberry pavlova. All were made to perfection, compliments to the Chef. Despite being busy all the staff were very polite, helpful and full of the Christmas spirit. They really went out of their way to ensure we had a great time. There was a jazz band playing in the main room which was just perfect. Definitely worth visiting.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Bryan Williams, General Manager at The Swan Hotel
Responded 4 Feb 2024
Dear Capman68 Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review and I am glad you had a fantastic time over our Christmas period and enjoyed a lovely time as a party of 4, and enjoyed the Jazz band on Boxing day, I will pass one our comments to the chef and the rest of the team who looked after you. We look forward to welcoming back to the hotel in the future Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bibury area.
PRICE RANGE
£205 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
swan hotel bibury
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCotswoldsBibury
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE SWAN HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Bibury)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Swan Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Swan Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Arlington Row (0.2 miles), St. Mary's Church (4.2 miles), and River Coln (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Swan Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Swan Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at The Swan Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Swan Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Falcon, Colosseo Ristorante Fairford, and Masons Arms.
Is The Swan Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Bibury.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Swan Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Swan Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Swan Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Swan Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Romanian, Slovak, and Lithuanian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Swan Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Mary's Church (0.3 miles), Lodge Park and Sherborne Estate (3.8 miles), and Fairford War Memorial (4.3 miles).