We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Lansdowne

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Lansdowne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

212 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 205: English reviews
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed in this excellent B&B for 2 nights. We were given one of the refurbished room (room 4) which was lovely. In particular, the room has a Cotswolds Stone wall which really added character. Our room faced the road, but traffic noise isn't a problem in Jan. Good location to explore other towns/villages in Cotswolds. Toiletries provided are of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mattsz
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a weekend break from this lovely B&B. Cheryle and Anthony were great hosts, offering a welcoming cup of tea/coffee when we arrived and letting us know the good places to eat and drink. Great size room and ensuite. Breakfast is really the highlight of staying here. The food is really fresh and Anthony was so helpful. Great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Red wine girl x
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a couple of nights in this B&B. It is a lovely place with friendly & helpful management / owners. The breakfast room, hallway and residents lounge appear to have been recently refurbished to a high standard. The breakfast menu was very varied and the food was of high quality. My wife had a special dietary request which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first visit since the change of ownership. It was my 'special' birthday weekend and the very first time without the kids, so we chose to stay in one of the refurbished rooms (double superior) It was delightful. Nice big comfortable bed, immaculate furnishings and a spacious and modern bathroom. The heating wasn't on during the day which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Famlee4
Midrand
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at The Strathmore for 3 nights in early January and found everything to be of a very high standard and would rate them more as a boutique hotel rather than just a B&B. On arrival we had tea and biscuits whilst Anthony told us about the area, recommended places to visit, gave us a route that we could...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank TaffyMidrand
Lansdownevilla, Owner at The Lansdowne, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review which is always appreciated. Just to correct you on the name we are called The Lansdowne easily done. Many Thanks Anthopny and Cheryle

Evesham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Where shall I start? If it were just a 3 star I wouldn't have expected much, but I do expect more if you are going to display 4 stars on your sign. The rooms: very basic, mattresses are cheap, you can feel the massive springs even through the thin pillow top. Both beds in my room and also in my...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank zgillit
Lansdownevilla, Owner at The Lansdowne, responded to this review

Yes you're right where should I start? I will reply so that our good readers can absorb with interest. Most of your comments are false as you well know...... apart from the misunderstanding about our lounge area. When you booked the rooms you mislead me to think that you were a group of regular guys getting together to plan a...

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in early December, greeted by Cheryl who was friendly and helpful. Lansdowne is ideally located 300 yards from the centre. Room was clean, bed was comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, nothing was too much trouble for Anthony. Would liked to have given 5 stars but for 2 minor niggles....the ceiling above room 2 creaks quite badly ( either that or...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank happychap01
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had read very good reviews about this place and was excited to arrive at the Lansdowne! Anthony was a very warm host from minute one! Couldn't do enough for us! We had an excellent room (10) with a huge bed and all the necessary amenities. Breakfast was very well run considering it was full for the two nights we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James G
Lansdownevilla, Owner at The Lansdowne, responded to this review

Thank you for you comments which are always appreciated, and we are pleased that everything was satisfactory. We look forward to having you again, just give us a call. We wish you both a happy new year too. Thankyou Anthony and cheryle The Lansdowne

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

made very welcome, the breakfast was excellant. just a few minutes walk from village centre. our room had been updated to a high standard, although for some reason the bathroom floor always felt cold.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lescarter2014
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

..because the shower is not electric you have to wait until about 6pm for the heating to kick in and heat the water. Also, was smaller than expected and I did not feel very welcomed by the owners, they didn't seem warm or genuinely friendly..

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ruganema
Lansdownevilla, Owner at The Lansdowne, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back which is always appreciated. We were disappointed to read your comments regarding no hot water and heating, we do try to conserve energy during the day for various reasons, however we will look at our timings and make some adjustments to accommodate those that take showers during the daytime, I can assure you that...

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.4 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
645 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
493 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
995 reviews
2.7 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
927 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Red House East B&B
The Red House East B&B
#4 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lansdowne (formerly known as Lansdowne Villa) is family owned and is run by Anthony & Cheryle. It is situated at the quiet end of the main street and is a 3 minute level walk to the centre of the village of Bourton on the Water. All 12 rooms are en-suite and offer either superking, kingsize, double or twin beds, we also have 2 single rooms. They all have tea/coffee making facilities, TV, hair drier and are centrally heated, most of the rooms have baths as well as showers. Some rooms have space for travel cots but please check with us before making a booking. A full English breakfast is served in the relaxing atmosphere of our dining room and includes a range of cereals, yoghurts, fruit teas & coffees. We also offer a continental selection which includes pastries and fresh fruit. All guests have a key to come and go as they please, there is plenty of off-road parking and Wi-fi is available throughout the building. Check-in is available between 2 & 6pm (contact us if you wish to check-in outside of these hours and we will do our best to accommodate). Check-out is by 10am but we do our best to be flexible with prior arrangement. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lansdowne

Address: Lansdown House Lansdowne, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2AR, England (Formerly Lansdowne Villa Guesthouse)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range: £47 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lansdowne 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Travelocity so you can book your The Lansdowne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Villa Guesthouse Hotel Bourton-On-The-Water
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lansdowne staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
7 months ago
North West England, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Lansdowne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Chose a refurbished room. Gorgeous”
 of 5 bubbles Famlee4, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 2 - it has a four poster bed and a full en suite bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles TaffyMidrand, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you book Room 2 ensure the room above is empty”
 of 5 bubbles happychap01, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Off street parking is available”
 of 5 bubbles aj082015, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask to stay in one of the refurbished rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Wheelers30, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay