We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1 Lansdowne, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BH England
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (85)
Room & Suite (20)
Videos (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 13/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Lansdowne Guest House
Updated 13/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Lansdowne is a family owned guest house and is run by Gemma Elizabeth . It is situated just a 3 minute walk to the centre of Bourton on the Water the 'Venice of the Cotswolds'. All 14 bedrooms are en-suite and have been stylishly decorated with bespoke wall paper dressing tables. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, with the Superior rooms boasting a NESPRESSO machine. Flat Screen TV’s, hair drier and are centrally heated, most of the rooms have baths as well as showers. Our award winning breakfast is served in the relaxing atmosphere of our dining room and includes a range of cereals, yoghurts, fruit teas & coffees. We also offer a continental selection which includes pastries and fresh fruit. There is free off-road parking and Wi-fi is available throughout the building. Check-in is available between 3 & 6pm Check-out is by 10am but we do our best to be flexible with prior arrangement.
Read more
Room & Suite (20)20
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Breakfast available
Walking tours
Non-smoking hotel
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Desk
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
434Reviews13Q+A74Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 352
  • 57
  • 17
  • 4
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Back2Baulk wrote a review Dec 2020
Manchester12 contributions1 helpful vote
What a lovely experience our stay at the Lansdowne was! Arrived for late check in and were greeted by the owner, shown to our gorgeous room which was already heated on a cold winters evening. They really have thought of everything with all the little touches other places may have overlooked. Staff were always happy and helpful and I would not hesitate In recommending this beautiful hidden gem. Thank you 🙏🏼
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Izabela Kosobucka, Guest Services / Front Office at The Lansdowne Guest House
Responded 13 Dec 2020
Thank you for such a lovely review. I’m so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and really look forward to seeing you again soon
Read more
mrseds040812 wrote a review Oct 2020
Bedford, United Kingdom33 contributions25 helpful votes
Property's Favourite Review
Thank you to all at the landsdowne, we enjoyed 2 nights at this amazing b&b this weekend and can not fault it! We were greeted by a lovely lady who was warm, welcoming & even helped with our luggage. The Covid precautions were well met and sanitiser available through out. We were shown to our room which was immaculate, modern, welcoming and very cosy. We both slept very well, and enjoyed breakfast. Lots to choose from, cooked to perfection and attention to detail was fab! Located just 5 mins walk to the main point in bourton, a lovely stroll to take in the sights. This is my 3rd visit to the town and I would now not stay any where else. Highly recommend :) x
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Gemma Elizabeth Conway, General Manager at The Lansdowne Guest House
Responded 8 Oct 2020
Thank you very much for your sparkling review. It makes all the hard work worth it
Read more
Kimberly G wrote a review Nov 2020
5 contributions
There is quality customer service, and then there is THE LANSDOWNE! Every single member of the staff has made us feel welcome and safe! We are traveling for business during these uncertain times, never once were we treated as a burden or felt unsafe! I would expect that because of lock down our experience would somehow feel “less”..quite the opposite! Somehow Gemma and her team have managed to comply completely with government standards while making our stay more,more,MORE! There simply is not enough words of praise for me to write here for this property and this team!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable and well maintained!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Izabela Kosobucka, Guest Services / Front Office at The Lansdowne Guest House
Responded 19 Nov 2020
Dear P4145QKklmberlyg Thank you so much for your lovely review of The Lansdowne. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Izabela
Read more
karisethi98 wrote a review Nov 2020
High Wycombe, United Kingdom5 contributions5 helpful votes
Me and my partner have just got home from staying two nights, in the double four poster room - and we have not stopped raving about it to everyone. Firstly, with COVID about, the building felt extremely clean and safe with their precautions and measures, without feeling clinical and uptight - a nice relaxed safe atmosphere. We were greeted by a lovely lady who made us feel at home, gave us recommendations etc. Our room was amazing, clean, bed was comfy, bathroom was great - again cant fault anything. There was also private parking which was an added plus. The location is so ideal, about 3 mins into the main village centre, and we did a nice walk which led straight back to the hotel after going through fields. The reviews of breakfast were one of the reasons we chose this place, and it did not disappoint - great variety to choose from and of an extremely high standard. The lady who was running breakfast (sorry didnt catch name) was so lovely and really made you feel comfortable and that she cares. I will definitely be recommending this place to everyone - my parents have already said they will come and stay post lockdown. I will definitely be back soon!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gemma Elizabeth Conway, General Manager at The Lansdowne Guest House
Responded 5 Nov 2020
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. They have been tricky times with the onset of Covid and we are so thrilled that our guests are still having enjoyable staycations.
Read more
barry_stanley21a wrote a review Nov 2020
London, United Kingdom34 contributions21 helpful votes
We stayed at the Lansdowne for two nights in half term. We had a disappointing start to our break as having booked the 4 Poster Room, we was taken to a twin room on the top floor without being consulted about the change of room. This room itself has a few issues not least the fact that the shower pressure is virtually non-existent of a morning when having a shower and the bath you shower in is very narrow. I would say that Gemma, the owner of the property did give us a discount for their error and also offered us the option of switching rooms, but this was after we had spent one night out of two in the room and there wasn’t any point in moving when we was going home the following day. The breakfast at the Lansdown is exceptional and the Chef was even happy with my request to have fried bread with my full English, which I was very grateful for, and the staff at breakfast were also excellent with one member of staff running to the shops to buy honey for my wife to have on her toast as they had run out. The Lansdowne is run to a very high standard, much like you would expect from a hotel, and the plans that Gemma has for it should only add to the offering. Whilst we were disappointed with the change of room, we wasn’t disappointed with our overall stay, apart from the weather which is even out of Gemma’s control. The Lansdowne is situated a couple of minutes’ walk into the Village which is perfect and the surrounding villages are in touching distance with a short car journey. We would not hesitate to visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Don't be frightened to ask for additional food options at breakfast as the Chef and staff are...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Gemma Elizabeth Conway, General Manager at The Lansdowne Guest House
Responded 5 Nov 2020
Hi Barry Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. My apologies again that we couldn't rectify the room options entirely for you but I'm so glad that you still enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you both back in the future.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$109 - US$162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lansdowne villa guesthouse hotel bourton-on-the-water
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Lansdowne Villa Guesthouse
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCotswoldsBourton-on-the-Water
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Lansdowne Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to The Lansdowne Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Cotswold Motoring Museum (0.2 miles), Bourton on the Water (0.2 miles), and Bourton on the Water Visitor Information Centre (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Lansdowne Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Lansdowne Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Lansdowne Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Lansdowne Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Smiths, Bakery on the Water, and Rose Tree Restaurant.
Is The Lansdowne Guest House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.02 miles away from the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water.
Are there any historical sites close to The Lansdowne Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Stow-on-the-Wold Market Square (3.4 miles) and Historic Village Stocks (3.5 miles).