Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Malmaison Cheltenham

Traveller (327)
Our room
Room & Suite (132)
Lounge
Dining (51)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

£239
Get rewarded with One Key
£240
No booking fees
£216
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#16 of 26 hotels in Cheltenham
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Experience the extraordinary. The majestic white building of Malmaison Cheltenham looks right at home just around the corner from the serene Montpellier Gardens, with the restaurant boasting a glass conservatory 'Garden Room' and beautiful terrace. Although the hotel rests in the very heart of Cheltenham, you'll instantly feel the calm and privacy of this sensitively-converted but utterly modern villa and surrounding grounds. Full of little touches and interesting nooks, our hotel is full of charm and character. Enjoy Malmaison's famous menus in our Brassiere, or cocktails and spirits in the unique ambiance of our bar. Underneath the charm and calm of our Cheltenham hotel bubbles a restrained energy, with modern bedrooms and unique meeting rooms with free WiFi.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TheAA: The Automobile Association.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
1,530Review5Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 659
  • 421
  • 221
  • 149
  • 80
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
CarolineWrites wrote a review Sept 2020
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom88 contributions65 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Liked - Staff were polite, the hotel was situated a short walk from Cheltenham. The room was spacious. The bathroom was nice. One member of bar staff was exceptionally friendly. I know it must be difficult during Covid times. They were very conscious of covid and you had to wear your mask in the hotel unless you sat down to eat or drink. Breakfast was OK.
Disliked · When I booked the hotel it said breakfast was included but I discovered you had to pay £4 extra for cooked food. Continental breakfast was OK, it's difficult as I know they can't do buffet now. I had the veggie breakfast one day and it was lovely. Bar food was good. My biggest disappointment was the room. It was our joint 50th birthday and as our holiday to Mexico was cancelled we came to Cheltenham for a few days instead. As a special treat, I booked an executive king room. But I had expected something much nicer. It was disappointing. The room was discounted but even then I felt it was way too expensive for what it was. The windows were half size, with half size curtains. The floor was marked and creaky. The bed was very low to the ground. The robes were nice though. When we checked in we were told the cleaners would not be cleaning our room but they would check in to ask if we needed anything. Nobody checked in with us. I don't want this to sound like a moan, I know it's hard in Covid times but it would have been nice to have been offered clean towels, we were in the hotel lots so it's not as if we were out all day. The previous hotel we stayed in nearby kept the rooms spotless. It would have been nice to have the coffee replenished at least. I loved my time in Cheltenham but while the staff did their best, I felt this hotel was expensive for what it was.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Management Team, Other at Malmaison Cheltenham
Responded 25 Sept 2020
Dear CarolineWrites, Thank-you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we are pleased to hear you found your room spacious and comfortable during your stay. It is great to hear you had a really positive experience at the bar and you found our new Coronavirus measures ensured you felt safe throughout your stay. We are sorry to hear you missed the daily phone call to check-in for fresh supplies you may need, however our team are available 24/7 so had you requested some new coffee, tea etc. this would have been provided to you with no problems. We have a range of Executive Suites available at the hotel, if you stay with us again please do not hesitate to request a certain style of room if you have a preference, all our rooms can be viewed online. We hope to be welcoming you back again soon for another enjoyable stay with us! Kind regards, Management Team | Cheltenham
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul S wrote a review Sept 2020
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom51 contributions53 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at this hotel for three nice in an Executive King room. There were a number of things not in operation due to Covid restrictions but these did not affect our stay too much. There is a one way system for moving around the hotel with some amusing signs informing you of what to do and where to go. The other restriction due to Covid is your room is not cleaned during your stay, however, reception will supply any tea, coffee etc you need or provide fresh towels if you request them.

The hotel is perfectly situation very close to the town centre but in a quiet street so not bothered by too much traffic noise. There is a small onsite car park but this cost an extra £5 per night.

The room was nice and clean when we arrived. It was very spacious if unusual as the bath and shower are actually in the room, thankfully the toilet was in it own little room to the side. Plenty of wardrobe space and all the usual items you would expect to find in a hotel of this quality. Bed was large and comfortable leading to a good nights sleep. Just a few gripes which were the room was slightly too cold and we could not get the air conditioning turned up it looked as if the temperature was fixed. Another thing we both noticed was how dim the room look, there were three settings for the lighting of the room but even on the highest level it appeared very dark which made it difficult for putting makeup on.

Breakfast was a excellent and smoothly run with plenty of choice. The staff were polite and helpful throughout our stay and had the breakfast operation down to an art form.

We did eat in the restaurant on the first night and the food was delicious and well cooked. Exactly what we needed after a long drive down.

Would recommend staying at this hotel if you are visiting Cheltenham.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Management Team, Other at Malmaison Cheltenham
Responded 1 Oct 2020
Dear Paul S, Thank-you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Malmaison Cheltenham. We are really pleased to hear you had an enjoyable time with us despite the new Coronavirus measures in place. We are pleased to hear you found your room spacious and liked the unique open plan design; it is a shame to hear you struggled with the temperature controls however. The white screen near your bedroom's door controls the climate control system, and you have a temperature range of 19 to 30 degrees to choose from. We are sorry to hear you found the mood lighting in the bedroom too dark, we thank-you for this feedback and will ensure it is fed back to the relevant people. We are pleased to hear however you enjoyed the hotel's convenient location and was able to explore the local area! We hope to be welcoming you back again in the near future, or perhaps you will check out one of our other Malmaison and Hotel du Vin properties across the UK should you be visiting an alternative location. Kind regards, Management Team | Cheltenham
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travel Bug wrote a review Aug 2020
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom674 contributions319 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A great hotel only a stone's throw from The Ivy and some of the best nightlife in Cheltenham. Despite Covid-19 our stay felt safe. The service was excellent and the food in the restaurant was also very good. The hotel has an underground car park with about 10 spaces that you can reserve at only £5 a night which is less than half other nearby car parks. Ifyou are having dinner I would also recommend booking an outside table if the weather is warm as the restaurant can get hot inside. Our only reservation compared to other Malmaison hotels is that the rooms are on the small side and don't have the cool quirky feel that you get elsewhere. However, the service and location made up for this.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Antonio Sanchez, General Manager at Malmaison Cheltenham
Responded 11 Aug 2020
Dear boysinc3, Thank-you for taking the time to publish your feedback further to your recent stay with us here at Malmaison Cheltenham. We are so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable visit, finding the location convenient, the service excellent, the car parking good value for money and our food a great standard! Our outdoor courtyard and terrace areas are a fantastic location to enjoy drinks or dinner, especially in the warmer weather we are experiencing at the moment! We hope to be welcoming you back again in the future for another enjoyable stay with us! Kind regards, Management Team | Cheltenham
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Plymtree wrote a review Feb 2020
Plymouth, United Kingdom73 contributions66 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
There is much to commend this hotel, but there are some niggles which let it down. In the bedroom, the bed was supremely comfortable and had the most wonderful plump pillows. However, the room was small with a narrow corridor at the foot of the bed, which was on a wooden base which had sharp corners and I defy you you to pass it without banging your ankle at least once. Another reviewer commented on how dark it was and I like mood lighting most of the time, but my wife struggled to put on her makeup in the poor light. The bathroom had attractive, dramatic black tiles, but the bath was high and with my arthritic hips not easy to get into. The WC was low and squeezed in between the bath and the wall, with the toilet rolls on the wall at the back and they were difficult to reach. There were no handrails. The shower was OK in the evening but in the morning there were problems and the shower ran cold for a long time before it became luke warm.

The public areas are pleasant but sometimes cold when in February the two double front doors were left open and we had to close them on three occasions. There are three beautiful Georgian fireplaces and not one was lit.The dining room is nicely decorated and we found the food to be excellent. (The cottage pie was the best ever). It was a shame that the restaurant was not better patronised by guests as it deserves to attract more. A special mention here for the restaurant manager. One of our party was unwell and he was kind and understanding and could not have been more helpful. Breakfast was a different matter. A cooked breakfast is £17 and quite frankly you would do better at a greasy spoon for half the price. The breakfast is served on luke warm plates and the food is luke warm when it arrives at the table and it quickly turns to cold. The single sausage was tasteless and not of the best quality. Coffee was weak and by the end of our meal, cold. On day 2 we simply asked for stronger coffee which the server was quite happy to do and we ordered it after we had eaten, so we were able to enjoy strong, hot coffee.

Some of the problems are easily fixable ie. breakfast and bathroom handrails. Would I stay there again? probably.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MALCHM, Manager at Malmaison Cheltenham
Responded 1 Mar 2020
Dear Stephen D, Thank-you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback in your review here, we are pleased to hear you found many aspects of the hotel commendable, we thank-you providing us with your insight on the areas you feel could be to a better standard. It is great to hear you found the bed to be comfortable, the striking bathroom design attractive. We are sorry to hear however that you felt the general design of the room made it somewhat inaccessible and that you found the shower inefficient at heating up in the morning; we'll be sure to pass your comments onto our in-house maintenance team to investigate possible corrective measures we can put in place to correct these downfalls. We are pleased to hear you found the public areas to be well appointed and pleasant, but we are sorry to hear you found them to be too cold for your liking at times. The fireplaces within the public areas are fully functional and so should be lit when the weather is colder as it has been recently, we'll be sure to rebrief teams accordingly. We believe our Chez Mal Brasserie is a bespoke experience, where dining is to be savored. It is fantastic to hear you agree, finding the service provided to be attentive and personable, and the food tasty! We are disappointed to hear you did not find the breakfast service to be as impressive however, we'll ensure your comments here are fed back to our food and beverage manager to investigate as this is certainly not the standard we aim for. We definitely hope to be welcoming you back again soon, or perhaps at one of our other Malmaison or Hotel du Vin properties across the UK should you be travelling elsewhere. Kind regards, Management Team | Cheltenham
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sam wrote a review Aug 2020
London, United Kingdom87 contributions21 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Compared to other Malmaison hotels, I felt disappointed by the room, the scratchy cheap bedding and lumpy foam pillows. Where’s the soft luxurious bedding that we have seen in other Malmaison hotels?
AC was extremely weak, the room was hot and stuffy. Food quality really poor at dinner and breakfast. We sent back the calamari starter as chewy and tasteless, my partner couldn’t eat it. The mozzarella salad comes with a teaspoonful of mozzarella and is mainly a plate of tomatoes. The tiger/king prawn curry had about 4 tiny prawns not a tiger/king prawn in sight. Steak and fries came without the fries which then appeared when my partner had already finished his steak. Also his other sides appeared at the end when he had finished.
What is the point of that?!
We noticed other guests sending food back at dinner too. Meals sat on the passé for a long time before being served to guests, long wait times even though due to social distancing there were not many tables. Poor choice for dessert as some items were not available so I had nothing for dessert and left a 2 hour dinner still hungry.
The bacon served with the English breakfast was near enough raw so I sent it back to the kitchen again to be cooked. Just a really bad dining experience altogether for dinner and breakfast.

My biggest complaint is being told off at breakfast for not wearing our masks walking in the corridors saying we also needed to wear them walking around the restaurant for the breakfast buffet to get hot drinks or juice. We had no problem with this so went back to our room to get our masks. Whilst sat down eating breakfast, another guest came in for breakfast without a mask and NOTHING was said to him by the lady serving the breakfast buffet. Come on Malmaison where is the consistency!!

Felt really disappointed by all these things, I really didn’t enjoy my stay here and if we visit Cheltenham again, we would book into the Hotel Du Vin. Not what I expect from a Malmaison really. Such a shame...
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Management Team, Other at Malmaison Cheltenham
Responded 21 Aug 2020
Dear samthereviewer123, Thank-you for taking the time to provide your detailed feedback further to your recent stay with us at Malmaison Cheltenham, all comments are important to us as it helps us to understand what we are doing well, and where improvements could be made. We are sorry to hear you found the bedding to be uncomfortable, we are surprised to hear this as we have not recently changed our linen and so therefore will be looking into this further with our supplier to identify if the wrong standard could have potentially been mixed up with our order. At Malmaison Cheltenham, we employ a climate control system which our guests usually find more than sufficient at cooling and heating our rooms - however we believe the recent extreme heat during your stay may have affected the efficiency of this system. We are pleased to confirm that fans can be requested at any time from our 24/7 reception team should you encounter this problem again. Our guests usually find the Chez Mal Brasserie to be serving top quality food in an upbeat atmosphere, we are very disappointed to hear that on this occasion you did not find this to be the case on this occasion. We will be looking into this specific dinner service to understand why these issues occurred, and to put in place corrective actions to prevent this from happening again. We understand you expect a certain standard with Malmaison, and we are very sorry it was clearly not delivered on this evening. Face coverings are required in all public areas when you are not eating or dining with us, this is to ensure a safe environment is in place for all of our guests and staff and prevent the spread of COVID-19. We understand however that some guests have medical conditions which mean they are unable to use face coverings, whilst our staff will politely remind anyone without a covering that one is required - on this occasion the member of staff serving breakfast had previously been made aware of a medical condition with the guests in question. We are disappointed that overall you found your recent stay with us at Malmaison Cheltenham to be underwhelming, and generally unsatisfactory. We certainly hope you found there to be positive parts of your stay also however. We hope you'll choose to give us another chance to show you how a stay with us really should be. Kind regards, Management Team | Cheltenham
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Louise H wrote a review Jan 2020
Chester, United Kingdom35 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Everything was as expected upon arrival. The room was clean, modern and fully equipped. When we arrived reception were very helpful regarding parking, the car park was full but we were advised to park on the road and a permit was issued. Sophie in reception was lovely.
This would have been a 5 star review however the breakfast the next day was awful! We had to wait 40 mins for food which when it arrived was stone cold, the poached eggs were overcooked and the bacon on the plate was covered in bean juice but there were no beans on the plate. This leads me to believe the bacon was from another plate. There were no spoons and both the waitress and the waiter were very quite distracted. We didn’t complain as it was very busy would advise the hotel to look at the standards in the restaurant as it really lets a fabulous hotel down.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ASanchez919, Manager at Malmaison Cheltenham
Responded 3 Jan 2020
Dear R2506ASlouiseh, Thank-you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we're pleased you chose Malmaison Cheltenham based upon your expectations of a good quality hotel. We are really pleased to hear you found check-in friendly, with Sophie on reception being particularly helpful in arranging the car parking for you upon your arrival. Furthermore, it is great to hear you liked the room - finding it clean, modern and well equipped. Of course, we are very disappointed to hear your so-far excellent stay with us was let down by an underwhelming breakfast service in our Chez Mal Brasserie. The points you raise are unacceptable, and by no means should feature in the normal high standard breakfast we provide at Malmaison. We're sorry that you felt unable to raise these issues with a member of the team on the day, but we are pleased to have received your feedback now. We will liaise with the Brasserie management team to identify the issues which lead to this being a disappointing aspect of your stay, and make positive changes moving forward to ensure this never happens again. We are pleased that overall your stay was very good, and we hope you'll stay with us again here. We hope that should you stay with us again you'll be able to experience the proper Malmaison breakfast experience we are usually so proud to deliver. Kind regards, Management Team | Cheltenham
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mrs K-S wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Room was lovely and very clean. Very nice building. Food was good. We paid for a room with a free standing bath but weren’t able to use the bath on the second night as we had no hot water. Took the deputy general manager an hour to restart the boiler, by which point we’d had cold showers and had to rush to get ready for the New Year meal we’d booked at the brasserie. The next morning the water was freezing cold so we had cold showers again.
The hotel was very busy, and for the first time ever we had to wait in the lobby for a breakfast table to be ready. The waitress was clearly very stressed and took this out on us and other customers, complaining about how busy they were. We had to ask for milk for our tea and couldn’t have a cooked breakfast as we’d waited so long to be seated and served, and had to leave.
We’d made it clear to the hotel that we were newlyweds but didn’t receive so much as a congratulatory drink or a few chocolates in the room.
We’d pre paid and booked an afternoon tea and evening meal and the deputy general manager tried to bill us for it at the end, claiming their systems hadn’t updated. Not a very good system for such a large chain of hotels!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ASanchez919, Manager at Malmaison Cheltenham
Responded 2 Jan 2020
Dear MrsAKS, Thank-you for taking the time to reflect and review on your most recent stay with us here. We're really sorry to hear you felt that overall your stay with us was disappointing. We are pleased to read you felt upon arrival that your room was lovely and very clean, and felt that the hotel itself was well appointed. Additionally, it is great to hear you were able to experience tasty food from our Chez Mal Brasserie! We are very sorry to hear you were affected by some unexpected boiler issues during your stay with us. Our duty manager certainly did immediately attend to this but was required to restart the whole system meaning it did take some time to heat back up again. We understand this certainly would have been frustrating for you, hence we did discount your room rate to compensate for this issue. Furthermore, we are disappointed to hear you did experience some wait times for breakfast in our Chez Mal Brasserie. The morning in question we were particularly busy and unfortunately most of our guests chose to visit breakfast at the same time which did disrupt service somewhat, we are pleased to see however we managed to find you a table and seat you within 3 minutes. It is a great shame to hear that on this occasion there were aspects of your stay you felt were underwhelming, and we thoroughly apologise that we did not get everything right. We really hope you give Malmaison a second chance so we can show you how a stay with us really should be. Kind regards, Management Team | Cheltenham
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sars560 wrote a review Feb 2020
Tamworth, United Kingdom140 contributions38 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here as part of a hen party this weekend and have to say I found the hotel lovely. It was, as most malmaison hotels are, tastefully decorated with clean sleek rooms and lounges. We had a double room with balcony which was a nice little extra. Bathroom was a little dark for doing make up and provided the only large mirror. Another mirror in the room near a plug socket would have been welcomed for getting ready but this was a minor niggle.
Staff were accommodating and welcoming throughout, even taking all our luggage to our prospective rooms for us. Very quiet here on this occasion, toom very comfortable. The continental breakfast was tasty albeit not as well stocked as it could have been and we were offered an upgraded cooked breakfast for £2 which was a great deal.
A lovely stay and would definitely return if I was ever to visit cheltenham again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MALCHM, Manager at Malmaison Cheltenham
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Dear Sars560, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your hen party celebrations with us - finding the hotel tastefully decorated, the staff friendly and the breakfast good value for money. We are sorry to hear you found the bathroom too dark for your liking, we will ensure this feedback is passed onto our design team for further review. We’re pleased to hear you would return should you be visiting Cheltenham again, if you’re visiting an alternative city why not check out our other Malmaison and Hotel du Vin properties across the UK? We hope to be welcoming you back again soon! Kind regards, Management Team | Cheltenham
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jayne B wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I would like to first preface this review with it being in comparison to their Oxford and Birmingham branches, In sum, I would recommend those over Malmaison Cheltenham but will go into further detail below. Worth noting if you book directly through their website, rather than a third party site such as Booking.com you will not be asked for your review more than a quick question at check-out.

Checked in during late June for an overnight stay. Seemingly there were no issues to start; I informed the member of staff we would like to request late check out at midday the following day. Was told that wouldn't be an issue and the extra fee would be payable in the morning. Great start.

Room was on third floor, near the stairs and the lift. Stocked with the normal amenities you'd expect from a Malmaison branch. On later reflection my partner realized the room slippers were missing. Didn't have time to bring this up with reception as we were on our way out for a reservation at The Ivy next door.
Found the furniture to be scuffed, mesh curtains stained behind the desk and the shower attachment in the free standing bath to be broken. Constantly kept finding long black hair in amidst towels, sheets and in corners of the carpet. We both have short hair, so neither of us.

All of this was negligible as the bed was comfy, A/C working during the hot night and was a great location. Until housekeeping walked in unannounced at 9:30am the following morning, My partner had stepped out to retrieve a food delivery and came back to me completely flabbergasted. No call from reception to explain what had happened and this put me on edge for the remainder of the morning.

Went down to reception just before midday to checkout. Same member of staff as who checked us in to note. Was quite rudely told checkout was at 11am, which I replied I asked for midday checkout when we checked in with yourself. Quickly brushed off and gave a below par reason for housekeeping barging in. Apparently another guest had given the wrong room number when they checked out. Again, not very happy. Nothing else given in regards to a refund bar than the 1-hour check out time honored so was better off £15.

For a room costing shy of £200 for one night, I would've expected better, with no add-ons. Wouldn't visit this branch again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from George Hatton, Other at Malmaison Cheltenham
Responded 29 Jun 2022
Dear jayne_bllgn, Thank-you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and provide your valuable feedback. It is disappointing to hear on this occasion the stay did not meet your expectations and felt the visit was only worthy of a 2/5 score. We are sorry to hear you experienced some issues with the room, finding some damage present and some shortfalls in housekeeping. I will be sure to personally urgently raise these issues with our maintenance and housekeeping management to put corrective action in place and have the room restored to the high standards we are usually proud to provide. I can see from our logs that indeed another guest with a similar last name checked out of a nearby room to yourselves but did provide your room number. Due to this our reception team had incorrectly updated our system accordingly hence housekeeping were under the impression the room was already vacant, I can only apologise for the disturbance which this caused you and will re-iterate with the housekeeping teams that no door should be opened without alerting potential guests inside first. Myself and the team would be thankful if you could give Malmaison another chance in the future to renew your faith in us, and show you how a stay with us really should be. Kind regards, George Hatton Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DaveT-Cong wrote a review Jan 2020
Congleton, United Kingdom90 contributions76 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Tasteful conversion, stylish inside, standard bedrooms are quite small, lighting is 'moody' aka dim, ladies, you'll need a torch to apply makeup. Continental breakfast is ok, upgrade to cooked for £2 is a great deal if you can eat after enjoying Cheltenham's fine choice of eateries.
Underground car park is tight but worthwhile.
Great location.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ASanchez919, Manager at Malmaison Cheltenham
Responded 23 Jan 2020
Dear DaveT-Cong, Thank-you for providing your kind review and lovely comments further to your recent stay with us here at Malmaison Cheltenham. We are really pleased to hear you liked the overall decoration at the hotel, finding it tasteful and stylish. Furthermore, it is great to hear you found the Chez Mal Brasserie's breakfast to be of good value for money, and the car parking convenient. We are sorry to hear the mood lighting featured in your room was not to your liking on this occasion. We are currently having our heating/lighting systems upgraded throughout the hotel so we are confident this will resolve the issues you mention here. We certainly hope to be welcoming you back again soon to Malmaison Cheltenham, for another enjoyable stay with us! Remember to keep an eye on all our latest deals and offers when booking to get the best price! Kind regards, Management Team | Cheltenham
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from michelle s
Warwickshire, United Kingdom58 contributions36 helpful votes
We did the offer of Dinner, Bed and Breakfast. Pretty good menu in the evening with quite a lot of choice. It shows you which options are included or which ones you can add in for additional cost. We found the food and service brilliant
1 helpful vote
No, keycards are not required to access the lifts.
Answer from 99PSB
Bristol, United Kingdom797 contributions238 helpful votes
They do.
CharDar asked a question Apr 2017
Edinburgh, United Kingdom28 contributions3 helpful votes
Any rooms that are interconnecting for 2 adults and 2 children?
Answer from Jeremy B
Bristol, United Kingdom483 contributions79 helpful votes
Not sure I'd call them because their customer service was excellent at our visit
barbaraR583YU asked a question Feb 2017
Darlington, United Kingdom
Hi, Is Malmaison Cheltenham pet friendly?
Answer from alex5133
22 contributions9 helpful votes
Hi, I believe they are allowed but you maybe charged additional fees for them. Hope this helps.
jonah140873 wrote a tip 2 Apr
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam39 contributions15 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t stay here!"
Read full review
allan c wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great restaurants within a few paces "
Read full review
Kings_ransom786 wrote a tip Feb 2024
Birmingham, United Kingdom10 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plenty on parking on the side street and you don’t have to use the machines on the street as the hotel can sort the parking out for you"
Read full review
Charles B wrote a tip Jan 2024
Oxford, United Kingdom406 contributions218 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"avoid room 325"
Read full review
vaughandavies wrote a tip Dec 2023
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom10 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It is worth upgrading the room if offered. Helpful staff will help you with luggage if required."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cheltenham area.
PRICE RANGE
£81 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Montpellier Chapter Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCotswoldsCheltenham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
61
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MALMAISON CHELTENHAM - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Malmaison Cheltenham
Which popular attractions are close to Malmaison Cheltenham?
Nearby attractions include Montpellier District (0.10 miles), Cheltenham Town Hall (0.3 miles), and Montpellier Gardens (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Malmaison Cheltenham?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Malmaison Cheltenham?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Malmaison Cheltenham?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Malmaison Cheltenham?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Malmaison Cheltenham?
Conveniently located restaurants include East India Cafe, Suffolk Rock, and Chelsea Brasserie.
Is Malmaison Cheltenham located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the centre of Cheltenham.
Are any cleaning services offered at Malmaison Cheltenham?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Malmaison Cheltenham?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Malmaison Cheltenham offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Malmaison Cheltenham?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cheltenham Town Hall (0.3 miles), Whittington Court (4.4 miles), and Boer War Memorial (2.1 miles).
All Cheltenham HotelsCheltenham Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CheltenhamHotels near Malmaison Cheltenham
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire