We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Ellenborough Park

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1496)
360
Panoramas (5)
Room & Suite (201)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#12 of 26 hotels in Cheltenham
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Ellenborough Park, nestled within rolling hills on the gateway to the Cotswolds, where history, elegance and nature combine. Steeped in history and boasting 5 stars with a 90-acre estate, Ellenborough Park is settled between the Cotswolds’ highest point and the gallops of Cheltenham Racecourse. A sumptuous Cotswold manor house with 61 unique rooms and suites, the main house of the estate dates back to the 15th Century. Ellenborough Park has been restored to contemporary glory in recent years, elevated to five-star appeal with casual & contemporary restaurants, including our stylish Horse Box Brasserie, and historic Restaurant. The Spa is a capsule of serenity and wellbeing, complete with enticing treatments, a sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi, outdoor heated pool and gym. The finishing touch is a private track leading from Ellenborough Park to Cheltenham Racecourse, offering luxurious and convenient transfers during racing seasons.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Shallow end in pool
Kids' meals
Bicycles available
Hiking
Books, DVDs, music for children
Highchairs available
Manicure
Outdoor dining area
Board games / puzzles
Pedicure
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Private bathrooms
Hair dryer
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Green
2,223Reviews32Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,436
  • 370
  • 230
  • 108
  • 80
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
PennyBirmingham wrote a review Yesterday
Birmingham51 contributions23 helpful votes
Had a wonderful one night stay here with an evening meal (food was lovely) and breakfast. Staff are lovely and cannot do enough to help. Rooms are well equipped, grounds are lovely and building is beautiful
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
tg22wa wrote a review 13 Apr
Seattle, Washington56 contributions85 helpful votes
Ellenborough Park Cheltenham My reservation canceled weeks before visit to make way for a large group that wanted to 'extend.' 946439920 Ellenborough Park Cheltenham Ellenborough Park canceled my reservation weeks away from my arrival to allow a large group to extend their stay. Ellenborough Park Cheltenham My reservation canceled weeks before visit to make way for a large group that wanted to 'extend.' 946333470 On short notice a few days ago, the hotel canceled my reservation to allow a large group that had suddenlly decided to extend their stay at the hotel. So two red flags: 1. large groups and they get priority 2. hotel may cancel your reservation at will. The hotel reservation manager, in his email of April 9, 2024, said that in the same week I have a booking, a large group booking staying at the hotel needed to extend their stay by several days. He further said that due to the size of the group booking, a commercial decision was made to cancel my reservation to accommodate this large group's unplanned extension. I was offered an upgrade if I could change the days of my stay. The full email is more revealing but under Trip Advisor policy it cannot be copied here.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ellenborough Park, Guest Services / Front Office at Ellenborough Park
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Tom, There was an unprecedented situation which resulted in the hotel becoming overbooked. It is due to this that we made the decision to find alternative arrangements for us our guests which were affected on these dates. Please be assured that out-booking guests is a rare occurrence for us. However, despite our best efforts, unforeseen circumstances sometimes arise, leading to situations such as this. We understand the frustration and disappointment that accompanies such an unexpected turn of events, especially when you had made arrangements. We can only apologise that we were unable to accommodate you as planned, we made sure to give as much notice as possible, and to offer you every alternative option that we could. Our Reservations Manager offered the option to change the dates of your stay with us, with additional upgrades and extras to enhance your stay as a token of our apology for the inconvenience caused. It was during this conversation that you asked for a cancellation and refused an amendment. You then demanded that you were given additional compensation for your stay as a personal benefit to you, otherwise you stated that you intended to write a negative public review. Every following attempt that was made to accommodate you and reduce any inconvenience was met with hostility and these somewhat threatening intentions. We do apologise again for the inconvenience caused; however we have tried to accommodate you as much as possible, but these options were all deemed as unacceptable by you. Kind Regards, Veronica Noble, Guest Relations Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jools983 wrote a review 12 Apr
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom2 contributions
Wonderful and luxurious, dog friendly hotel. Great food, accommodation and lovely staff. Also a great location for attractions in the local area, and Cheltenham, which is lovely town to visit. The doggo loved it too! We’re not horse racing goers ourselves, but a perfect location for visitors to Cheltenham Race Course. Will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Great base for visiting this area of the Cotswolds, and lovely walks nearby (if it ever stops...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ellenborough Park, Guest Services / Front Office at Ellenborough Park
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Jools, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. We are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your visit, and we hope to welcome you again in the future for another delightful experience with us. Kind Regards, Veronica Noble, Guest Relations Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
alan c wrote a review 10 Apr
Warrington, United Kingdom50 contributions43 helpful votes
Beautiful hotel in great setting. We stayed 3 nights in room 40. What a fabulous experience. Everything about the room was wonderful. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The breakfast was fantastic. We did not dine or use the bar as we were visiting friends, so can’t comment on these. Thank you for making our stay so memorable. Excellent. Keep up the good work.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ellenborough Park, Guest Services / Front Office at Ellenborough Park
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Alan, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. We are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your visit, and we hope to welcome you again in the future for another delightful experience with us. Kind Regards, Veronica Noble, Guest Relations Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sophie323 wrote a review 7 Apr
Cheltenham, United Kingdom51 contributions15 helpful votes
I booked Sunday dinner with our 2 dogs via email for our Wedding Anniversary after previously getting married there. On arrival we were wished Happy Anniversary by the waiter which was kind. The Horse Box is a lovely Restaurant, we were asked about allergies and given water for our dogs. The Sunday Roast was excellent can’t fault the food or service, and the dogs also had a Woodchester meal. All the staff were very friendly, everything as you would expect from a 5 star hotel. Minor criticism, was the football on the tv really necessary!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ellenborough Park, Guest Services / Front Office at Ellenborough Park
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Sophie, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. We are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your visit, and we hope to welcome you again in the future for another delightful experience with us. Kind Regards, Veronica Noble, Guest Relations Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Vivienne T wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions
My husband and I spent an afternoon in the spa in February. We enjoyed our stay but found that the detail was missing. We had a delicious two course meal in the restaurant, however the room was very cold and the lovely large open fire was unlit - a must on a cold winters day. The spa facilities are very limited, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna - there is an outdoor pool which is heated though several minutes walk away. The Elemis treatment was excellent. The biggest surprise was the lack of attention to detail in the Ladies changing room. Through the entire afternoon no member of staff attended the room. There was empty toilet rolls, dirty drinking glasses were never moved and several towels were on the floor. Given that the reception area was constantly manned we were surprised by this. Fussy you might think - however, I thought that this place would be all about detail and it was the opposite.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ellenborough Park, Guest Services / Front Office at Ellenborough Park
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Vivienne, thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate your comments and have taken your feedback on board. We hope to welcome you for another visit in the future, and provide a more enjoyable experience. Kind Regards, Veronica Noble, Guest Relations Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
DDwilltravel2 wrote a review Mar 2024
57 contributions24 helpful votes
We arrived to a long queue of people waiting to check in. With just two people on Reception it took ages. Furthermore it became clear as we were all checking in that they were not going to release any of the Rooms until 3pm and so all guests had to go off around the Hotel and wait until 3pm and then re-join another long queue to get our room keys. Having got our keys we were then directed to our Junior Suite which was in an outbuilding. The Junior Suite was clearly mis-sold to us when we first booked. It says on their website that the Junior Suites are in the main Hotel building, ours was not. Also pictures of our Room appear in the Deluxe Room section on the Website. The Website cannot be relied upon as is used clearly to confuse and mis-sell grades of Rooms. We waited 40 minutes for our luggage and when it didn’t arrive I only managed to actually get it by phoning twice and finally saying that if it didn’t arrive within 10 minutes I would come over to the main Hotel and collect it myself. At Dinner time we walked over to the Hotel to have a bottle of Champagne with our friends before we sat down to Dinner. I asked where we could sit to do this and was told the main Lounge was being used for a private function and we should not use it. We were offered uncomfortable cold dark seating areas in another part of the Building which I refused. At this point we went into the Main Lounge anyway to have our Champagne. We asked twice if the fire could be lit as it was quite cold. Eventually a staff member came to us and said that none of the fires in the Hotel would be lit as the maintenance chap had not left any kindling out. Fifteen minutes after the Champagne was brought to us a small bowl of Olives arrived and were given to us. We assumed these came as a nibble with our pre-dinner drinks as part of our Champagne. Some five minutes later a Waiter from the Restaurant marched up to our table and quite literally grabbed the Olives off our Table and started to march off with them. I asked him what was going on and he said the Olives were not meant for us and that he was taking them to give to the people who had ordered them. I said to him that we had started eating them and that we had touched and prodded them and he said that he didn’t care, they were not for us and so would be put in the bin instead. Quite extraordinary! We ventured into the Restaurant for Dinner. It became clear as we did so that all was not well. Other Guests were moaning that there food had not arrived, orders were being brought into the Restaurant and being taken to the wrong Tables. Just a complete farce. We gave our order to the Restaurant Manager who is also Head Sommelier (David) but were not asked when doing so if we had allergies or food issues and so my Wife who is Muslim ordered the Duck which when it arrived I thought that I spotted bacon on it so queried it with David the Restaurant Manager who said quite arrogantly that there was “no bacon as it was Duck.” My Wife started to eat and five minutes later another member of Staff came to our Table and said there was bacon on the plate! They took the plate away and we waited another thirty five minutes whilst they re-cooked her whole dish. I could go on with further detail but I’ve said enough already I think. This Hotel is a joke. It’s truly appalling to see how they treat customers. It’s clear from the Restaurant Manager’s attitude and demeanour that things won’t be improving any time soon. There are bright young staff in the Hotel who clearly do their best but there is no obvious training happening, no sense of leadership present and it just translates into one of the worst Hotel experiences a guest can have. Meanwhile expensive prices are being charged. It’s unacceptable on so many levels. To end the Hotel owners do themselves no favours as there is that many items being not charged for and given away as freebies to make up for poor guest experiences that the Hotel is haemorrhaging bottom line from what we all witnessed during our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ellenborough Park, Guest Services / Front Office at Ellenborough Park
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear David, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are sorry to hear that your visit did not meet your expectations. We take your feedback, and our guests experiences very seriously. We do however need to refute several areas of your complaint. During your dining experience a member of your party ordered a duck dish which very clearly stated on the menu that bacon accompanied as part of the dish. No allergies or dietary requirements were provided to our team upon being asked when you were seated in the Restaurant. Upon this dish being delivered the member of your party realised their mistake and apologised. An offer was made by our Restaurant Manager to replace the dish, however your response and the condescending attitude that followed made any attempts to rectify the issue extremely difficult, leading to you promptly deciding to leave the table and the other members of your party. Every following attempt that was made to accommodate you and reduce any inconvenience, as well as avoiding an awkward situation were met with a rude attitude which was very unpleasant for our staff. In terms of you feeling your room was mis-sold to you, our rooms are clearly represented on website, with each one being unique. The room you were allocated is listed under the correct category on the website and nowhere is it listed that our Junior Suites are only located in the Main House. We do also clearly communicate on our website and prior to arrival that check in is from 3pm. We are sorry that Ellenborough Park is clearly not the right place for you, however I will be reaching out over email to personally address these issues further. Kind Regards, Veronica Noble, Guest Relations Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jill R wrote a review Mar 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed for just one night, what a gorgeous country house the drive is huge and the house looks stunning. Inside is a knockout, a large lounge with a lit fire and flag stone floors. Our room was snug and so fantastic, very comfy, both of us slept well. Left after a full breakfast and a wonderful stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ellenborough Park, Guest Services / Front Office at Ellenborough Park
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Jill, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. We are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your visit, and we hope to welcome you again in the future for another delightful experience with us. Kind Regards, Veronica Noble, Guest Relations Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
FlorenceJohn wrote a review Mar 2024
Harrogate, United Kingdom9 contributions14 helpful votes
+1
Just back from a fantastic stay here and I’ll definitely be back. Wonderful food (dining menu was delicious and we had bar snacks and it may just be the nicest Eggs Benedict with PERFECT Hollandaise I’ve ever had!! Had fabulous service - staff are cheery, fun and can’t do enough for you! Jack was a delight at check-in and throughout our stay, Laura informative and jolly on check-out, Emily and Max were both brilliant servers - so charming. Rooms were immaculate so clearly the Housekeeping team work very hard. Had a great Spa treatment with Flo and was even surprised by how warm the outdoor pool was. Truly a gorgeous find! Amazing standards and an exquisite building. Well done to all and a huge THANK YOU!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Go - you won’t be disappointed in ANY way….
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ellenborough Park, Guest Services / Front Office at Ellenborough Park
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Florence, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. We are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your visit, and we hope to welcome you again in the future for another delightful experience with us. Kind Regards, Veronica Noble, Guest Relations Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Andrew B wrote a review Mar 2024
4 contributions
Incredible stay. Incredible staff. Fantastic food. The staff from start to finish could not be more helpful. Sarah looking after us at b fast and Kay with check in. Kevin retrieving the car in terrible weather with a lovely smile! Wonderful simply wonderful. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book it quick….
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ellenborough Park, Guest Services / Front Office at Ellenborough Park
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Andrew, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. We are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your visit, and we hope to welcome you again in the future for another delightful experience with us. Kind Regards, Veronica Noble, Guest Relations Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cheltenham area.
PRICE RANGE
£205 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ellenborough park hotel cheltenham
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCotswoldsCheltenham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
61
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ELLENBOROUGH PARK - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Ellenborough Park
Which popular attractions are close to Ellenborough Park?
Nearby attractions include Walks With Hawks (3.5 miles), Escape Rooms Cheltenham (3.5 miles), and Ian Coley Shooting School (4.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ellenborough Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include bicycles available for guest use, books, DVDs and music available for children, and express check-in and check-out.
What food & drink options are available at Ellenborough Park?
Guests can enjoy an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Ellenborough Park?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ellenborough Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Journey, The Mahal, and L'Artisan.
Are there any historical sites close to Ellenborough Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Belas Knap (3.0 miles), Cheltenham Town Hall (2.6 miles), and Whittington Court (3.9 miles).
Does Ellenborough Park have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.