We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Charlton Boutique Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (25)
Room & Suite (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#24 of 26 hotels in Cheltenham
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A 13 bedroom contactless boutique hotel located in Charlton kings Cheltenham. Only moments away from the Cotswold towns and heart of Cheltenham
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Additional bathroom
Desk
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English
23Reviews0Q+A8Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 16
  • 3
  • 1
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Sue L wrote a review 5 Apr
4 contributions
Our second time staying here while visiting mum in law really like this place great decor and atmosphere with nice staff. Large bedrooms so well equiped plenty of storage very comfortable bed great breakfast lovely peaceful place with great view yet minutes into the centre of Cheltenham and all at an amazing price booked through booking.com. Highly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't let the contact less worry you its really is so simple and always someone there anyway.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
CeciliaO wrote a review Mar 2024
Buenos Aires, Argentina22 contributions22 helpful votes
We booked a "superior doble room" but the shower didnt work. We asked for assistant through an emergency telephone but nobody could be reach or nobody called us(the hotel has not people in reception and it is 100% contacless). After leaving the hotel we send an email letting them know the situation and also we include a video to probe that the shower was not working. However, the hotel reply to us with a 0% customer orientation attitud!!!!! " My colleagues checked the shower upon housekeeping and have sent me the evidence of working order shower. I will forward by seperate email the evidence  I am not sure why your were not receiving any water I can only think it took a few minutes to run the water as maybe the same time many guests were having showers so it a little longer to come through  We have not had any complaints which is why I was rather suprised and the evidence supplied to me shows shower in working order. For this reason there is no discount or reimbursement. 
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Not to go to this hotel!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
MRSJP21 wrote a review Mar 2024
Ipswich, United Kingdom32 contributions20 helpful votes
Great location chosen to visit friends in the area. Easy access to hotel and room with contactless. Fantastic restaurant staff and food. However, problems with a wet carpet in the room which was raised at the time by the only contact method available and this was not resolved. This highlights the negatives of contactless and no reception and visible staff available when there is a problem. This will prevent us from returning.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
tony s wrote a review Feb 2024
Cheltenham, United Kingdom31 contributions34 helpful votes
Our first visit for lunch and it won't be our last. Good food, reasonably priced and really friendly and attentive service. Moon and the team are doing a great job. We sat in the Conservatory on a bright, sunny February day and the whole experience felt quite special.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Katy_emma_unsworth wrote a review Nov 2023
Stoke Fleming, United Kingdom12 contributions8 helpful votes
We had a 25th wedding anniversary party for 121 people. The staff couldn’t have been more helpful and accommodating, the venue was stunning with covered outdoor and indoor space, the food was delicious and beautifully presented.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Bentley877 wrote a review Oct 2023
Witney, United Kingdom1 contribution
Avoid at all cost Horrific experience with a very loud generator noise which kept me awake all night, Had no sleep what so ever. I could tolerate the traffic noise being on a busy road. But the generator noise was horrific. Management/ owner in total denial. No apology and no discount offered
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sumaiyah Badat, Owner at The Charlton Boutique Hotel
Responded 8 Oct 2023
Here we go … another keyboard warrior. Hiding but not wanting to speak to management except via text Just to note you have changed your tune. You said the noise was from another room bathroom fan. Now it’s a generator make your mind up You have changed your story because I said to you the rooms in question where you said the noise was coming from we’re all occupied but the guests have not complained themselves so how can I take your complaint on board. So you changed to a generator theory instead …. What a load of tosh ….. Bottom line I won’t refund you when the rooms occupied did not complain so how can you complain regarding a noise coming from another room ??!!! And be refunded ! We checked all the rooms and we can’t find any sound that could possible keep you up all night. Your words not mine. You said you are like a drunk person this morning Again your words not mine. All very dramatic in my view Anyway we won’t see you again in the future so all is well then !
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
yarwell2016 wrote a review Oct 2023
Peterborough, United Kingdom18 contributions8 helpful votes
The hotel and restaurant were first class, lovely room and bathroom all very clean. The bed and bedding were very comfortable. Particularly liked all the information in the room about The area. The oncore dinning was superb.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Roger B wrote a review Oct 2023
2 contributions
We were in Room 2 which is supposedly designed for disabled people. Unfortunately although the room has a very large walkin shower the floor of the shower is lethal. If we hadn't used one of the hand towels on the shower floor we couldn't have stood up in it. Also the "bath" towels provided are nowhere near large enough. Didn't use the restaurant so can't comment on that. One other comment is someone kept locking the catch back on the front door which means anybody could walk in.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Need to improve security. Also need security catches on Room 2 windows.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
fionamgraves wrote a review Sept 2023
Maidstone, United Kingdom46 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Ten members of our family stayed here for one night and we all had a good experience. I will write a separate review for Oncore Dining, the adjoined restaurant, which was fantastic! Mine and my partner's room was very spacious and it was lovely to have a bath too. There were some great old trees on the hotel's small grounds, tomato varieties growing for the chef, cows in the next field etc. Parking was on site and all three of our cars managed to fit in. This is a gorgeous area with lots of beautiful walks around. The contactless check in was simple too. Each floor has a hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Overall, I would recommend this hotel. It's not luxurious but it's also not overpriced. Just what we needed and no issues. Would stay here again to make use of the restaurant too.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Definitely. Definitely. Eat at the restaurant, even for breakfast.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Tour743177 wrote a review Sept 2023
76 contributions86 helpful votes
Pre arrival emails and texts were easy to follow and told you everything you needed to access the hotel and room. Good parking right outside the door. Room was a good size, unusual not to have a hairdryer, but we had taken a travel one anyway. Some road noise but we stayed at a weekend so not too bad. The highlight was the evening meal and complimentary bottle of wine. The staff were amazingly friendly and the food was excellent. Great choice and beautifully presented.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cheltenham area.
PRICE RANGE
£44 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCotswoldsCheltenham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE CHARLTON BOUTIQUE HOTEL - Updated 2024 (Cheltenham)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Charlton Boutique Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Charlton Boutique Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Watts Chapel (3.6 miles), The Sculpture Park (4.4 miles), and Watts Gallery - Artists' Village (3.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Charlton Boutique Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Charlton Boutique Hotel?
Top room amenities include an additional bathroom, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at The Charlton Boutique Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Charlton Boutique Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Charlton Boutique Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Charterhouse Pub, Cyder House Inn, and The Donkey.
Are there any historical sites close to The Charlton Boutique Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Waverley Abbey (4.9 miles), Loseley Park (4.0 miles), and Henley Fort (4.1 miles).