We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Alice Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Alice Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 61: English reviews
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for a night in one of the log cabins. The cabin was decorated nicely and was clean and warm. Its a good location (110 min walk to the town centre) and our host was very helpful and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dom1874
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Myself and my husband have travelled widely, I can honestly say this is the worst place we have ever stayed at. From the moment we arrived we were met with unfriendly, unwelcoming faces. The room was middle of the road (over priced for what it was) and the shared bathroom was smelly and dirty. However the main reason for this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
JeanElHachemi, Owner at Alice Guest House, responded to this review

It is with regret that we had to call the police out to this party of guests due to wilful damage to property together with drunk and disorderly behaviour which caused a disturbance to other guests also staying at Alice Guest House. We therefore have no choice but to refuse any future bookings with them.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed here with my friend for a weekend of Christmas shopping. The Alice Guest House is tucked away behind an ordinary terraced Street which made it feel very cosy. My room was the Moroccan themed wooden cabin in the courtyard which which was beautifully decorated and really comfortable with an en-suite shower room. Breakfast was served in the conservatory...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
Lincoln
Reviewed 11 November 2016

This is a lovely guest house with kind helpful hosts and a homely friendly atmosphere. Room was spacious and bed extremely comfortable. Tea etc & kettle in room, and plenty of sockets for phone chargers etc. Everywhere clean and with some very interesting furniture. A light breakfast was included, perfectly adequate & nicely prepared. House is quietly located a short...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LincolnVeteran
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Very nice place to stay. We had the four poster bed . If you really want it just text them and if it is available you will get it for free. You can notice that the lady owner has exquisite taste in decoratind. Everything in our room was old and rustic that made me feel like living in a castle

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorena G
Cleobury Mortimer, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016

It is unfortunate -but I would not be staying here again either. There was a real potential, had it been a better experience for regular business bookings as well, but i won't be recommending it. I agree that 'Jean' does seem to have a bit of a temper/problem (?) He knocked my door at 8.20pm to ask my visitor to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MyTwoCents121
JeanElHachemi, Owner at Alice Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Victoria, Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry you were not happy with your stay for 3 days. We did not mean any offence to you. We had to put this rule in place about visitors as we have had guests who have had visitors, family, friends, (boyfriends girlfriends) until the early hours of the morning or...

Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Stayed here prior to a Spa break the following day, technically the absence of dedicated parking and rooms that share a bathroom should be a real issue. Despite this the service, the rooms, cleanliness and the pricing including Breakfast still make the Alice Guest house a more than pleasant place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
Reviewed 24 July 2016

The service was spot on, with two very helpful hosts. Our room was above the front door, and had great decorations. Both the room and the guest house gave us a 'home feeling', with its wonderful atmosphere. Location was perfect for us, as it was only a short walk from the centre. The breakfast was even better than expected, with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thea K
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2016

I really did like this place. We stayed for one night on a Friday for £65 before travelling to the Royal International Air Tattoo at RAF Fairford the next day. We arrived late, however after ringing the door bell, a gentleman came and showed us to our room. He explained the facilities in the room and was friendly. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Padraig Joseph G
Leigh-on-Sea
Reviewed 17 July 2016

The accommodation does indeed comprise a glorified summer-house in the garden but it's beautifully appointed and has everything you need. The garden is beautifully maintained and some tame white doves enhance its appeal. The breakfast is adequate and the hosts are friendly and helpful: the master of the house is a very interesting character, half Moroccan, who speaks several languages...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HappyFlyer88

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
2.7 mi away
Cheltenham Regency Hotel
Cheltenham Regency Hotel
#1 of 1 in Staverton
441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham North West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
435 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bentons Guest House
Bentons Guest House
#28 of 70 in Cheltenham
42 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Little Manor
The Little Manor
#11 of 70 in Cheltenham
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Alice Guest House

Address: 141 Swindon Road, Cheltenham GL51 9EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Price Range: £66 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alice Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Alice Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alice Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Alice Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Garden rooms have en-suite facilities”
 of 5 bubbles 903ChrisB, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The picture show exactly what you are getting.”
 of 5 bubbles A4326ANnicolac, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Only wooden huts have bathrooms - don't use the house unless your not fussed about sharing an 'ornamental' bath which doesn't work!”
 of 5 bubbles 350ronniek, 14 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Don't choose the bedrooms beside the bathroom if you have a choice.”
 of 5 bubbles 730rakeshs, 16 Aug 2015 | Read review
“I don't think the wi-fi worked in the room we were in next to the bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles EJCBodrum, 14 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5