Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel

Traveller (41)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

£66
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#13 of 26 hotels in Cheltenham
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
At Premier Inn Hotel Cheltenham Central, you're close to the legendary Cheltenham Racecourse, with the picture-perfect playground of the Cotswolds on your doorstep. Have a flutter on the horses, admire the Regency architecture in the town centre or take a stroll through the chic Montpellier district with its individual shops, wine bars and restaurants. You're also ideally situated for Dean Close School and the University of Gloucestershire. Whatever you do, our spacious room, comfy bed and restaurant next to us will be your home from home.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Highchairs available
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Parking
Wifi
Paid internet
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Modern
Languages Spoken
English

Location

374 Gloucester Road, Cheltenham GL51 7AY England
1,030Review17Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 397
  • 383
  • 165
  • 54
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Brenda P wrote a review Jan 2024
Carshalton, United Kingdom32 contributions9 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very friendly. Great service. Lovely breakfast. Thats all i have to say but i have to write a minimum of 200 characters so im just filling space. Even after sayibg that i still have anotger 81 characters to write. Just 24 more now... oh 7 6 5 4 3 2 1
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gemma R wrote a review Jul 2020
7 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were moved to this hotel when the hotel in Tewkesbury could not accommodate us after restrictions were lifted. This was not an issue as I knew the area anyway. Check in was competed in a socially distanced manner, the reception staff were behind screens. The room was your standard family room and we always find them very comfortable. Did not hear any noise from the railway at all, there was a little noise from TGI Fridays in the evening but the children were asleep so I was the only one that heard it. Due to new guidelines the room was not serviced during our stay, but we requested clean towels and additional tea bags without any hassle. Check out was straightforward and the key was deposited in the key slot so no physical contact with the staff. All in all a pleasant experience despite the new ways of doing things.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emerald37 wrote a review Oct 2021
Cheshire, United Kingdom23 contributions28 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cant fault Premier Inn. As always the beds are comfy, rooms are clean, check in and out efficient, friendly staff.
The good thing about this particular hotel is that the windows open. This doesnt always seem to be the case with other Premier Inns and the rooms can get very warm even with air con.
Great location for Cheltenham, 20 minute walk or there is a bus across the road which takes 10 mins.
Loved Cheltenham itself, first visit but will definitely go back again and stay in the same hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debbie L wrote a review Jun 2022
Watford, United Kingdom54 contributions23 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in many a Premier Inn over the years(in fact used to work for Whitbread so know the brand really well!) I must say I believe you have reduced the level of service I once knew and relied on. , We were there for two nights and upon check out I mentioned that our room had not been cleaned and beverages were unreplenished, only to be told I (the customer) had to request it!
Asked if we wanted breakfast we said yes, we made our way on Sunday morning to the tiniest breakfast room I have ever seen, only to be told we had to pay for our breakfast prior to being seated at reception, we traipsed out to reception where we duly paid and then returned to the cafeteria, to be seated on high stools to eat it, (one of our group has mobility issues and found this most awkward).

The room-rate is not exactly cheap and we paid for two nights approx £85 per night and received the service of a low budget hotel.
Very disappointed with a brand we thought we could rely upon and quite surprised how some changes have demoted the brand to that former mentioned group of low budget hotels. Sad very Sad.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel
Responded 15 Jul 2022
Hi, Thank you for your review. We’re very sorry that you were left disappointed by the cleanliness standards in your room on arrival. This certainly isn't the experience we would expect for you. The safety and wellbeing of our guests and teams has always been incredibly important to us and everyone in our hotels should rightly expect a safe, clean and protected environment. The Coronavirus crisis has brought this into sharp focus, which is why we have launched a new rigorous, daily cleaning regime across all our hotels. We apologise you found your room to not be up to the high standard we would expect. We have ensured this feedback has been logged to the Hotel Management team so that they can look into these issues with our Housekeeping teams to prevent this experience from being repeated again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to contact us and we hope we can welcome you for a more enjoyable stay in the future. Kind regards, James
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
4smalleys wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
As a regular user of Premier Inns (for work and pleasure) I use you because I can expect a good standard of room wherever I go. Despite pre-booking (and pre-paying), on arrival I was given a part converted disabled room, smelling strongly of urine. when I asked for another room I was told there were none available.
As an essential worker, I have travelled and stayed throughout the COVID shutdown period and now it is ended I am rewarded with this treatment! Premier Inn is now at the very bottom of my list for future stays.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tamworth_Traveler wrote a review Mar 2022
Tamworth46 contributions76 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Good sized room which was very clean and tidy. Bathroom was fine with a very powerful shower or a full bath if you wanted one.
All areas of hotel were will decorated and well maintained.
This hotel has a breakfast room only so you do need to go out for evening meal. Could not recommend the TGI Fridays which the hotel shares a car park so would suggest you venture further afield for dinner.
Staff are friendly and helpful a credit to Premier Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Traffic a bit heavy at the moment due to road works.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Beck wrote a review Nov 2020
Scotland, United Kingdom85 contributions66 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I refrained from writing this review until Premier inn had a chance to reimburse me for cleaning supplies I was forced to purchase, unfortunately this was not reimbursed so I was left no choice but to show how unclean my rooms were. The first room I was assigned had what looked like blood on toilet and under seat, the second room I was moved to was not much better. Unfortunately the photos don't show it properly as I was eager to get out the room ASAP. The 2nd room I had no choice but to stay in, but ended up buying all my own cleaning supplies to ensure it was cleaned properly. Really unacceptable cleaning standards during a pandemic or anytime for that matter. I've stayed in other Premier inns which have been fantastic but have lost faith now in their customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel
Responded 11 Nov 2020
Hello Rebecca, Thanks for your review. We're really sorry to hear you were disappointed with the cleanliness of your room and you had purchased your own cleaning products. This certainly isn't the service we aim to deliver to our guests and can assure you this isn't up to our usual standards. We'll make sure your comments are shared with the team so we can do our best to make sure this doesn't happen again. Again, we do apologise for your experience and do hope we can welcome you back in the future for a much better stay. Kind Regards, Tayler Guest Relations Advisor
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
King02 wrote a review Jul 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom238 contributions122 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We’ve stayed here a few times and would recommend. Staff on reception are friendly and helpful. Housekeeping staff are excellent. The weather was hot so we were glad of the room’s air conditioning which worked efficiently, and you could open the window. You’re about a 10 min walk from the railway station, where there’s a Tesco convenience store and a good cafe. Plus, there are service stations with small convenience stores nearby. It’s about a 25 min walk into town, but there are plenty of buses with cheap ticket options. A really good and value for money base for Cheltenham. The hotel was quiet and we slept well.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
robsuttling wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Was visiting family and just wanted a reasonably inexpensive place to stay. The hotel location is good with lots of car parking and very well served by busses so for a day or evening out in the city you can leave your car behind.

The hotel is generally very tired looking and in need of refurbishment in my opinion. Room ok and bed comfortable plus we were never disturbed by noise at night.

Small breakfast room necessitating a time slot to be booked the day before to ensure you can be accommodated. This wasn’t very convenient and on two of the four days we were there my wife slept in past the time we thought would be ok the evening before so the pre-paid breakfast was wasted. We weren’t made aware of this when booking and paying for the meals and had we known we wouldn’t have bothered. On one day I hadn’t booked and thought I would try my luck but received a ticking off by the chef in the kitchen. Also for three of the four days of our stay the coffee machine was out of order awaiting a spare part.

Overall our stay was ok but we won’t use it again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HipFunk wrote a review Nov 2020
London, United Kingdom127 contributions157 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Without a doubt the worst Premier Inn experience. We had just come from another location (Leamington) where we received exceptional welcome and service. However, this Premier Inn (Cheltenham Central West/A40) was a shoddy comparison, and you will be disappointed if you have stayed at others.

The noise from the trains outside, a Freeview TV that could not show many channels, and our breakfast table booking being messed up so that I could not sit with my children in the tiny breakfast room.

Also, the non-existent wi-fi signal (as well as a mobile signal blackspot) made it impossible to do any work – so definitely a hotel to avoid if staying on business.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the back - constant train noise from the adjoining railway tracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel
Responded 11 Nov 2020
Hello, Thanks for your review. We're really sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay due to the issues with noise from outside, the WiFi and your breakfast booking. We can imagine this would have been frustrating and isn't the service we aim to deliver to our guests. Please be assured your comments will be shared with the team internally and will do our best to make sure this doesn't happen again. Again, we do apologise for your experience and do hope you'll give us another chance in the future. Kind Regards, Tayler Guest Relations Advisor
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Brian James
Christchurch, United Kingdom63 contributions60 helpful votes
May have some but the room I had had a shower over the bath. Pretty basic hotel with a TFI Friday next door. It's an 'OK' not a Wow.
Roy R asked a question Mar 2022
Cardigan, United Kingdom1 contribution
can i change dates for stay
Roy R asked a question Mar 2022
Cardigan, United Kingdom1 contribution
can i change dates for my stay.
Don W wrote a tip 18 Apr
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Amazing Triumph motorbike shop opposite and a TJI Friday next door. 10 mins from the racecourse."
Read full review
Henry wrote a tip 9 Apr
Cranleigh, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy breakfast"
Read full review
RICHARD607 wrote a tip Feb 2024
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lovely breakfast!"
Read full review
Paul j morgan wrote a tip Nov 2023
Swansea, United Kingdom21 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"amazing place to stay with great staff "
Read full review
High-R0ller wrote a tip Nov 2023
Cardiff, United Kingdom13 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Would definitely recommend the "Little Breakfast Room" 10/10."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cheltenham area.
PRICE RANGE
£36 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
premier inn cheltenham central hotel cheltenham
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCotswoldsCheltenham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
64
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PREMIER INN CHELTENHAM CENTRAL (WEST/A40) HOTEL - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escape Rooms Cheltenham (0.7 miles), The Bacon Theatre (0.1 miles), and The Honeybourne Line (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include TGI Fridays - Cheltenham, Lakeside Takeaway, and The Hatherley.
Are there any historical sites close to Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cheltenham Town Hall (1.2 miles) and Boer War Memorial (3.0 miles).
Is Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Cheltenham HotelsCheltenham Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CheltenhamHotels near Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire