We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Sheep on Sheep Street

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 98: English reviews
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We visitors The Sheep for my birthday in November. We have been to stow many times and tried a few hotels. This one is lovely - good mix of modern and traditional. Lovely cosy rooms with excellent furniture and facilities. The bar is lively and the only one like it in Stow. We had drinks in the afternoon and an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
Management response:

Dear Helen T Thank you for your lovely comments. I am delighted to see that you had a fabulous birthday with us and I am looking forward to welcoming back very soon. Warm Regards Anna General Manager

Bristol
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Cushions and candles and Moroccan style lighting add to the very special ambience of this pub/restaurant. Super friendly and efficient staff. Large bar. Pizza menu in particular is excellent with some unusual toppings. The Iman is really tasty. There is a separate bar area and there is accommodation too. Parking on the street outside or the nearby market square. Outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
Management response:

Dear Caroline B Thank you for your great comments. I am glad to see that you enjoyed our ambience, service and food. We are all looking forward to welcoming back very soon. Warm Regards Anna General Manager

London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very pleasant place to stay right in the centre of town. Lovely old building has had a sympathic makeover but retained its character. In the standard double room we had everything we needed, coffee machine, selection of teas, bottled water etc, large wardrobe and chest of drawers, comfy bed, modern bathroom and shower and nice toiletries. Very helpful and friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MorrisCandS
Management response:

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments. I am sorry about the shortfall in our housekeeping service however I am delighted to see that overall you had a lovely stay and appreciated the effort the team is putting together to make our guests happy. Warm Regards Anna General Manager

leicester
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the Sheep Hotel November 21st for one night . Standard room in the main hotel facing the rear of the hotel The room was excellent very clean, quiet and the bed was very comfortable . There was a good selection of options for breakfast ...full English was very good Must give Ashton a mention who served us very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimcatLeicester
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are all delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm Regards Anna General Manager

London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was probably bad luck. It was my wife's big birthday earlier in the week and after the festivities I planned a Saturday night stay at Stow, one of the prettiest towns in England. I was recommended The Sheep, a pretty looking hotel, and booked one of their best premium rooms. We arrived after lunch and it was no problem...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NigelFranklin
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments and I am sorry to see that you had a disappointing experience. Please rest assured that I will discuss your feedback with my team. Should you wish to discuss further your experience please contact me directly at the hotel. Warm Regards Anna General Manager

Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

this is a really nice pub and restaurant very cosy and still retaining authentic feel of a Cotswold coaching Inn . as a single female traveller I felt very comfortable dining and was looked after in great style by the attentive staff. A nice experience

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 362Prydderch
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. I am happy to see that you appreciated our design and customer service. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back very soon. Warm Regards Anna General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our room was a Superior Room in the main building on the second floor. We overlooked the front and had a great view of Sheep Street and a little green area. The hotel was very old and it was nice to see some original features had been well incorporated into a comfortable modern room. It was spacious, beautifully clean, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OverLH
Management response:

Dear OverLH Thank you for your lovely comments. I am glad to see that you had a great time and appreciated our faboulous design. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back very soon. Warm Regards Anna General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived at the bar to have a drink and decided we would eat at the sheep that evening after being given a menu. We asked for a table and the gentleman behind the bar explained that we would have to ask the manager. The restaurant was completely empty and so we assumed there would be no problem. Instead we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniellatrip94
Management response:

Dear Daniellatrip94 Thank you for your comments and I am sorry to see that you felt that the manager on duty treated you with out respect, please rest assured that we treat all our guests with courtesy regardless their age. I believe that you requested a specific table and had no reservation on a night that our restaurant was fully...

Warwick
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location and great renovation, however the feel of the atmosphere appears to have something missing, maybe the high ceilings, I'm not sure, or lack of background music. Food is average but cannot help feeling it's more like a high street chain like Ask, but more expensive. Staff were a bit grumpy when we went, we are local but sadly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bj02vak
Management response:

Dear bj02vac Thank you for your comments and I am sorry to see that you did not feel our positive vibe and great atmosphere. Perhaps you will give us another chance to better serve you in the near future. Warm Regards Anna General Manager

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a very enjoyable stay.Breakfast was very good ,especially enjoyed the pancakes.Room was clean and comfortable but on the second floor stairs a bit steep for two oldies!Off road parking was a bonus.The staff were friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia Y
Management response:

Dear Patricia Y Thank you for your comments and thank you for choosing the Sheep to celebrate your wedding anniversary. I am glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay and I am looking forward to welcoming back soon. Warm Regards Anna General Manager

184 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (152)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Cosy Double Room (18)
Viewed
Premium Honeymoon Suite (26)
Viewed
Premiun Room (31)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Superior Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
250 reviews
0.8 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
923 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Unicorn Hotel
The Unicorn Hotel
#6 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
267 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
961 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sheep on Sheet Street revealed its new look, along with its new name in July 2016. The Sheep brings a new dimension to eating and drinking in the Cotswolds, as well as a little Soho style too. Located in the heart of Stow on the Wold, stay in one of our wonderfully comfortable twenty-two en suite rooms. All the rooms are decorated to a high standard, offering a comfy place to stay. Their sophisticated simplicity gives them a luxurious feel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sheep on Sheep Street

Address: Stow-on-the-Wold GL45 1AG, England (Formerly Grapevine Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: £76 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheep on Sheep Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Sheep on Sheep Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheep On Sheep Street Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sheep on Sheep Street staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Sheep on Sheep Street staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 12 at the front had a good view. Although overlooking the street, it was not noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles OverLH, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Quiet room at the back .”
 of 5 bubbles patriciay856, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Phone to check what you are getting room wise.”
 of 5 bubbles gablegirl, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“rooms away from main building that are located above bar/restuarant”
 of 5 bubbles 561keithl, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“First floor rooms have little more privacy perhaps”
 of 5 bubbles jamesmY7382UA, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay