The Snooty Fox Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Snooty Fox Hotel

Beautfort Suite
Traveller (240)
Panorama at the Snooty Fox Hotel
360
Panoramas (10)
Four Poster Bedroom
Room & Suite (136)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#4 of 6 hotels in Tetbury
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
‘Famous coaching inn at the heart of Tetbury’ ‘The Snooty’ is all that a quintessential English inn should be. Its 12 bedrooms are intimate and stylish, while its ground floor boasts a very popular bar and restaurant. British food and an excellent wine list complete the picture. Feel free to make a fuss of Fred, the resident Great Dane as you pass by. Tetbury with its royal heritage, is ideal for browsing for antiques and exploring the local area. ‘The Snooty’ is located at the heart of this bustling market town and is a popular destination for many locals and day visitors to the area. The bar offers a tempting range of real ales, local ciders and a selection of Ports, Cognacs, Calvados and Armagnac’s all personally selected by the manager. The hotel is renowned locally for the quality and variety of its food offer, from coffee and cakes in the morning, leisurely lunches, traditional afternoon teas to candlelit dinners and wholesome bar snacks. The Grafton Room located towards the rear of the hotel is an ideal venue for private dining, family celebrations and small discreet meetings.Yet one reason why The Snooty Fox is a great favourite with visitors to this most Royal part of Gloucestershire is the intimacy and style of the bedrooms. All different in shape and size they have been dedicatedly refurbished to allow you to be refreshed from a good night’s sleep and enjoy another great day in the Cotswolds.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Polish

Location

Market Place, Tetbury GL8 8DD England
930Reviews13Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 459
  • 268
  • 101
  • 52
  • 50
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
m281811 wrote a review Jun 2021
United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently stayed here for a few days away with family. We had a warm welcome and the staff were accommodating and provided excellent service throughout our stay. The breakfasts were varied in quality depending on what was ordered, but generally good. Sometimes the service at breakfast was a little hit or miss, but any issues were addressed promptly. We ate here in the evenings and found the meals were hearty and good quality.
Our rooms were clean and comfortable. One of the bathrooms was looking a bit tired and could benefit from a new over bath shower screen, as the one fitted allowed an overspill of water onto the floor every time we used it.
As mentioned in previous reviews, the hotel is situated on the main intersection in the town, so traffic noise from early in the mornings is unavoidable, especially if bedroom windows are left open during warm weather.
COVID safety seemed to be observed as far as we could see. Hand sanitisers are accessible in all public areas, and for non-residents at the hotel, there is a signing in book to support “track and trace”.
For those who have pet hair allergy or may even have a fear of dogs, be aware that this is a dog friendly hotel. The pets that we came across during our stay were very placid and were of no bother at all.
The public car park “Chippings car park” is very conveniently situated, just 2 minutes walk away, behind the hotel. It can be paid for up to 3 hours at a time via the car park app, and is quite reasonably priced. Chargeable between 08:00 - 18:00, (free outside these hours).
I would recommend this hotel for its value, central location in the town itself and for sightseeing in the surrounding area of the Cotswolds.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chris G wrote a review Feb 2020
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked this hotel for a 2 night surprise for my husbands 70th birthday. From the moment we checked in until the moment we checked out we couldn't find fault with anything, We had a superior double room with jacuzzi bath and king sized bed which was extremely comfortable. We had arranged afternoon tea for 4.30pm on the day of arrival (Sunday) everything was extremely fresh and the service was excellent. Dinner was taken at the hotel both evenings and although the service was a little slow on the Monday evening we could not fault the food. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful and we would definitely stay here again if we were in the area. The only negative is a lack of car park, it was quite a trek to the car and back/
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pippa B wrote a review Oct 2020
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
So this weekend I took my partner away for his birthday. I had booked the snooty fox for the weekend as it looked smart and quirky.
Check in was easy though parking was a nightmare! You have to park about a 5 minute walk away and pay by 8 o’clock every morning so if you don’t have a phone which holds the app you have to get up early and go and walk to put the ticket on.
I paid for an upgrade to a superior room and very mixed review. The bathroom was nice, the jucuzzi bath was a nice touch and the water pressure was fab! The room was a nice size but very tired. The paint was falling off the walls, the knobs on the taps were broken and the bed was so creaky your couldn’t roll over with feeling like it was going to collapse! Very disappointed not worth the money at all!
The plus side was breakfast! 5 stars couldn’t fault it! The pouched eggs were to die for and the little jams were a cute touch.
On the second night we had a meal there and I have never felt so belittled in all my life! So we come downstairs and 8 and have to wait 10 minutes to be seated. Next to the waiting area was a lounge where some older gentlemen were sat. Now I know it’s not the snotty foxs fault, however, they made me feel so uncomfortable that I asked my partner to block my view from them. They even kept asking for me to sit by them. The 10 minute wait to be seated only made it worse.
When we sat down it was a nice enough table and the waiter seemed nice enough. Upon ordering the food I asked for my steak to be “rare”. Now I know that a ribeye should be served medium-medium/rare I have eaten steaks all over the world and am not stupid to it. However, I still prefer it rare. When I ordered it the waiters look of horror was like I asked for it to be served on his naked body it was so over dramatic! He then told me it’s best medium-medium/rare to which I explained I know but I would still prefer it rare personal preference. He then told me again to which I AGAIN said no thank you I’ll have it rare. He then said “you don’t understand...” then continued to explain to me how a steak works like I was stupid. He talked down to me and made me feel so uncomfortable and belittled! After a good 5 minutes of this I gave in and said fine I’ll have it medium/rare and guess what...it was too well done for me. The steak was smothered in pepper I had to scrap it off and there was no blood it was awful!
It put a really sour taste in our mouths unfortunately. Will not be recommending.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2111Cathy wrote a review Aug 2020
Coventry, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This outing had been delayed for many months because of Covid-19 having been given a voucher for afternoon tea as a Christmas present. However this wasn’t a problem and we planned our trip to Tetbury to allow time for a wander followed by our afternoon tea. The Snooty Fox hotel is rather tired looking and certainly needs a little updating and a little more care with cleaning and I only saw the staircase, toilets and small ante room off the entrance hall where we sat for tea. I imagine afternoon tea to be served on a nice white table cloth already set out with tea cups, plates, serviettes etc, but we were seated at a bare wooden table which did not feel overly clean. So even before the food arrived I was disappointed. When will afternoon tea providers realise that most people would prefer more sandwiches or savoury items to cakes, 3 minute triangle sandwiches ( with crusts cut off do not even make up one round). And there was enough mustard on the ham triangle to make me think it was a mustard sandwich with a touch of ham! Likewise the cheese and pickle triangle was heavy on the pickle. I like neither mustard or pickle. Could chef not be a little more adventurous with filling choice? Tuna, coronation chicken, prawn, Brie? And please at least serve four triangles if it’s impossible to ask the customer if they’d like more sandwiches than cake. The scones however were delicious but served with enough jam and cream for half a dozen which I imagine has to be thrown away once it has been put in a dish and served, who on Earth is doing quality control here? Cakes, 2 each all slightly different, but nothing to get too excited about either. Staff were friendly enough though very casual. Overall it was disappointing and the Snooty Fox needs to improve though sadly I for one will not be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John w wrote a review Feb 2020
Southampton, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 2 nights,had a evening meal on the 1st night and an afternoon tea on the 2nd afternoon.
The place itself has a lot of character.
It does need some TLC in places,but it is a very old building and adds to the character.
The food was excellent,really really good,the staff were great.
I would come back.
We had a problem with the cleanliness in the bathroom,which we reported to reception & it was sorted straight away without any fuss and you cannot ask more than that.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Victoria C wrote a review Sept 2021
Maidstone, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a break at the Snooty Fox for my husband’s 40th birthday. Our deal included champagne, cream tea, 3 course dinner each for two nights, standard room and breakfast for both of us each morning we were there. We also took our little dog Barney along with us.

The hotel, pub & restaurant looks inviting from the outside and the staff are honestly so friendly and accommodating and couldn’t do enough for us. The hotel room was clean and comfortable if not extremely modern with TV with digital, Netflix, YouTube etc. There were tea and coffe making facilities in the room. The room was cleaned everyday. We enjoyed the breakfast which has a large choice of cooked items (french toast, pancakes, full English etc). The staff always reserved a table for us in a dog friendly area of the restaurant. We enjoyed the food, cream tea and drinks offering too.

Overall, we had a lovely time and the break was good value. The staff are lovely and our dog was welcomed and fussed over by all the staff. Hopefully we will be back one day!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rogersonaj wrote a review Feb 2020
Leeds, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited the Snooty Fox on a prepaid package deal which made the stay great value for money. No hotel parking but a good, inexpensive, public car park near by. Good location in the town centre for an easy walk to the shops.

The room was large spacious and well decorated.

Hotel food was good, not great but the cooked breakfasts were excellent. We had one problem in the restaurant but this was resolved by management which is, for us, the sign of a good establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Clare B wrote a review Nov 2021
Birmingham, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a two night deal with dinner and afternoon tea and visited Westonbirt Arboretum whilst there. We really had a lovely time. The room was comfortable and very clean with a drench shower in a huge beautifully tiled bathroom. The room also had a small sitting room. Although on the Main Street the windows were double glazed and thus we enjoyed peace and quiet. All the staff were attentive and friendly at booking in and in the restaurant. Meals were gorgeous! Good quality food and nicely cooked. Breakfast was especially delicious! Well done, Snooty Fox! We can’t wait to visit again!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Steve Rackham, General Manager at The Snooty Fox Hotel
Responded 29 Jan 2022
Dear ClareBirmingham, Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review. We were so pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed your dinning experiences with us. The team will be pleased to hear that the service provided was also attentive. Thank you once again for your positive review and hopefully we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Steve
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MrsFoodie42 wrote a review Apr 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were staying in Tetbury and called in for lunch after a walk.
The Butcombe beers were in excellent condition and we ordered the Corned Beef Hash and the Chicken Burger. The Hash was delicious, and came with a broccoli and blue cheese croquette and pickled onions. The chicken burger came with salad and fries, and both dishes were freshly cooked.
We sat in the front bar room which was comfortable and beautifully decorated, and the staff were all friendly and welcoming.
Would definitely go back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Antiques1 wrote a review Oct 2023
London, United Kingdom
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We were booked as a luxury break in a 'Superior' Room. It most certainly was not. Whilst the bar and the staff were nice, the room was a complete let down!
The carpeted corridor to the bedrooms was dirty and had a number of large dark stains on it.
The 'Superior' room had three pieces of mis-matched, cheap looking furniture. No bottled water or glasses on the hospitality tray.
Window frames and sills were dirty and looked like they had been for quite some time.
Bathroom tiles had mildew on the grouting and there were signs of mould on the bathroom floor.
Toiletries provided consisted of a small bar of soap, single bottle of shampoo and one of shower gel, allegedly from The White Company, though the labels had begun to fade.
Toilet had some large scratches in the bowl, caused by I don't know what.
We had originally booked for four nights but left after just one.
We would have left immediately but could not find anywhere else to stay. Spoke with the staff member on duty and advised him of our concerns and that we were leaving. He replied he was not aware of any issues but declined when I offered to show him.
Have sent multiple emails and made calls to the company during the last month but have only had an email back from someone saying they were on holiday, but no response now they have allegedly returned.
There are far nicer places within a 2 minute walk to stay at when in Tetbury. Don't stay at the Snooty Fox.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Steve Rackham, General Manager at The Snooty Fox Hotel
Responded 1 Dec 2023
Dear Antiques1, Thank you for taking the time to review us. The team will be pleased that you enjoyed the service. We take all feedback seriously and have addressed your comments and concerns with the necessary departments. The room that you were allocated for your stay was a recently refurbished room and have had many great comments on the style. We are sorry that you did not enjoy it. We are however pleased that we managed to resolve your issues through communications. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to see you again so that you can see us at our usual high standard. Kind Regards, Steve
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Clare E asked a question Nov 2017
Bath, United Kingdom137 contributions54 helpful votes
Hi do you allow dog's in the bedrooms??
Answer from Tetbury-food-lover
Tetbury2 helpful votes
Hi Clare, yes we do allow dogs to stay in bedrooms.
Answer from Tetbury-food-lover
Tetbury2 helpful votes
Hi Carlos, dogs are more than welcome!
hshdjjcjkfkdmcnc asked a question Mar 2017
Swindon, United Kingdom1 contribution
Hi, what size is the swimming pool at the snooty fox?
Answer from Tetbury-food-lover
Tetbury2 helpful votes
Hi there, the snooty fox does not have a swimming pool. Sorry. Best Chris
Answer from Tetbury-food-lover
Tetbury2 helpful votes
Hi Lisa, we have no Saturday availability for vouchers until September and the only limited, plenty Sunday to Friday! Hope this helps best Chris.
Andrew M wrote a tip 10 Jun
Nantwich, United Kingdom3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Kick back and watch the world go by outside with a long cold drink!!"
Read full review
RAN wrote a tip May 2024
Stockport, United Kingdom31 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It doesn't have a car park but there was adequate on-street parking"
Read full review
Marco G wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Eat there! "
Read full review
Hendrix wrote a tip Mar 2024
Chorleywood, United Kingdom23 contributions33 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"No parking"
Read full review
carolyndonoghue38 wrote a tip Feb 2024
Bristol, United Kingdom8 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check out parking before you go as Tetbury can get very busy. We had no issues using the recommendation Steve provided before hand."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tetbury area.
PRICE RANGE
£79 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCotswoldsTetbury
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE SNOOTY FOX HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Snooty Fox Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Snooty Fox Hotel?
Nearby attractions include St Mary The Virgin Church (0.07 miles), Highgrove Shop Tetbury (0.05 miles), and Tetbury Police Museum & Courtroom (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Snooty Fox Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Snooty Fox Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Snooty Fox Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Snooty Fox Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Casa La Cucina Italiana, The Priory Inn Restaurant, Tetbury, and Cafe 53.
Is The Snooty Fox Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.10 miles away from the centre of Tetbury.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Snooty Fox Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Snooty Fox Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chavenage House (1.7 miles), Malmesbury Market Cross (4.6 miles), and Rodmarton Manor (4.3 miles).
All Tetbury HotelsTetbury Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in TetburyHotels near The Snooty Fox Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire