We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
See the most recent reviews
Showing 253: English reviews
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we stayed here for 1 night. The location is fine assuming you do not want shops, pubs etc outside the front door The rooms were large and quite in spite of being close to a main road. Check in was quick and friendly as was check out. The breakfast was a standard Holiday Inn express breakfast. Showers were fine and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
carolinesanders2016, Nights Guest Service Supervisor at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, responded to this review

Dear Ian, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our large & quite modern rooms, It also pleases me to read that check-in and check-out went fast and smoothly for yourself. I am thrilled to read that our team here at The Holiday Inn Express are working with our guests for the best possible stay. I would like to...

Dunstable, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights as I was in Porstmouth for work. The hotel was fine, nothing to complain about and plenty to compliment. The staff were all very friendly, helpful and good at their jobs. Arrived just before 6pm, check in was very quick and easy, everything explained to me (room location, breakfast and bar times). The room itself...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LorrdFalcon
carolinesanders2016, Supervisor at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, responded to this review

Dear LorrdFalcon, I am very pleased to read such a fantastic review, even more pleased to see how well our team is working together pleasing our guests to have a wonderful comfortable stay with us here at The Holiday Inn Express. Im glad check-in and check-out went very smoothly for yourself as well as a detailed explanation of where breakfast...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After reading all the good reviews of this hotel, we were looking forward to our stay at the weekend. On arrival we found the hotel looked clean and modern. We have never stayed in a Holiday Inn or HIE before. Unfortunately the location wasn't great to get to the Harbour, but we wanted to make the best of it even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula L
carolinesanders2016, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, responded to this review

Dear Paula, Thank you for leaving such an extensive review of our hotel. We appreciate every piece of feedback we receive, as it helps to improve our services for all our guests. It is disappointing to read that we were unable to provide you with our usual high levels of service. We strive to deliver a consistent and exemplary guest...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Dear hotel manager. As much as we like the hotel a couple of things put us off. 1 - we booked a family room which 3 of us stay in. but we had to chase up a 3rd towel and cup. both nights of the stay. 2 - the hot breckfast food was cold both days of our stay. 3-...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
carolinesanders2016, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Davies, Thank you for leaving us with your feedback again. We regret that you experienced difficulties during your stay, we did send correspondence to your personal email following the feedback you provided directly to us on 05.05.2016. If we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us directly. Kind regards, D.Brown - Guest Service...

Milton Keynes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived at the hotel (having battled Storm Doris) in good spirits and unsure of what to expect. We were not disappointed. Sam the receptionist on duty was very friendly and helpful providing information regarding shopping and leisure activities and tips for driving into Town. Our allocated room was excellent with a huge bed, choice of pillows (two soft two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BernieJ W
carolinesanders2016, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, responded to this review

Dear Bernie, Thank you for leaving us with such an extensive review of your stay. We value all feedback, whether it be positive or negative. It's great to read just how much you enjoyed your time spent here with us. We do strive to provide the highest levels of guest satisfaction, so we're thrilled that you'll consider us as your...

Hitchin
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express last night en route to our holiday destination. Our score for this hotel would be a big fat 10 out of 10. It was superb. Wherever we go, we always look for a Premier Inn. Not anymore. We have twice used Holiday Inn at Exeter and now Portsmouth. If you are looking for excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra R
carolinesanders2016, Sharon Graham at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, responded to this review

Dear Sandra, Thank you very much for your complimentary review. I am delighted you would rate us 10/10. I am pleased to read you like our comfy and stylish new rooms. Your kind comments about the team make me very proud, I will pass these on. It's fantastic to read also that you would choose us over our competitors and...

Salford, UK
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed one night on business. This is one of the newly refurbished HIE hotels and the new look is excellent. Reception and bar area really nicely furnished and comfortable, and the rooms are both big and well-decorated. Bed was very comfortable and air con ran super-quiet (once I'd played with the settings) to keep the room cool at night. Finally,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MancDubya
carolinesanders2016, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, responded to this review

Good morning. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Portsmouth North. I'm happy to read that you liked our refurbished hotel, reception, rooms & air con, as well as our USB points. The shower is my personal favourite thing about the hotel. I'm happy to hear that you also enjoyed our inclusive breakfast & the staff...

Hay-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here on a weekend away in Portsmouth. We weren't sure what to expect from this hotel as it didn't seem particularly expensive but we were pleasantly surprised by it! the lobby was clean and had a restaurant and bar area, and the room was lovely. It was spacious with a big bed and large en-suite. Everything was clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Labrg
carolinesanders2016, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, responded to this review

Dear Labrg, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for giving us an amazing 5 out of 5, we value all guest feedback. We are very pleased to read that your stay with us was enjoyable and that you found everything you needed for your stay within the hotel. We are happy that you took advantage...

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for three nights to explore the delights of the Portsmouth dock yards. Room very clean and spacious and bed very comfy. Late check out always a welcome change. Staff polite and accommodating. Only downside arrived on Friday and no vodka in the bar! Still not replenished by Monday when we left. Other than that would recommend and stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theresaedmonds
carolinesanders2016, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, responded to this review

Dear theresaedmonds, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience wit us, we appreciate and value all guest feedback. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us we will pass on your comments about the staff. Should you come back and visit us in the future we will make sure to have a supply...

St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There is a good sized car park, although it is hidden behind a petrol station. The check-in was quick and easy. The room was a big room with two double beds.There are plug and USB sockets by the bedsides. The wifi is free and simple to access; it was fine for simple internet browsing. The room was dark, although there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eddie M
carolinesanders2016, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, responded to this review

Dear Eddie, We're thrilled you now consider out hotel one of the best Holiday Inn Express properties that you've visited. It's great to see that you were able to take advantage of our breakfast, wi-fi and car parking. All three of which are always included in our room rates. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the...

103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
2.4 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,132 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
3.9 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
4.3 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
811 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, offering contemporary accommodation just a ten minute drive from the Historic Dockyard, home to the Lord Nelson's HMS Victory, and Portsmouth's thriving city centre. Gunwharf Quays is a fantastic location to enjoy great shopping and dining and the famous Spinnaker Tower can be seen from miles around. Southampton Airport is just 30 minutes away by car. Paulton's Park, home to Peppa Pig World, is just 30 minutes away. This Portsmouth hotel has recently been extensively refurbished and is now a proud member of the Holiday Inn Express family. We are proud to offer a friendly welcome, comfortable accommodation and a convenient location for business and leisure guests. Our guests can enjoy great facilities including evening meals and a licensed bar. All of our rates include breakfast so our guests wake up from a great night's sleep and enjoy a tasty and filling start to their day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North

Address: Eastern Road, Portsmouth PO6 1UN, England (Formerly Hilton Portsmouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: £67 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Hilton International Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hilton International
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Greater London, United Kingdom
Twickenham, United Kingdom
9 months ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would think that most rooms are the same for quietness and amenities but I believe some are larger than others.”
 of 5 bubbles Stewart100, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“You are offered a choice of room on arrival.”
 of 5 bubbles BernieJW, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a quieter room which doesn't face the motorway - there are plenty.”
 of 5 bubbles MancDubya, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“book direct”
 of 5 bubbles 607desk, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room close to reception to cut out the possibility of a long walk.”
 of 5 bubbles PedroMendestheSecond, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5