We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant

4 Malvern Road Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NA England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (90)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (153)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 40 hotels in Portsmouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel offers elegant accommodation just 2 minutes from the beach. This stylish property in Southsea, Portsmouth, features individually designed rooms with free parking and Wi-Fi. The hotel offers outdoor and indoor all dau dining.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Facial treatments
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Paid private parking on-site
Car park
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English
368Reviews4Q+A77Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 298
  • 46
  • 21
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
TEC67 wrote a review Feb 2024
Southwater, United Kingdom62 contributions69 helpful votes
Absolutely fabulous hotel, the room was spotlessly clean with a Super comfortable bed. Mirella on reception is an absolute joy. Would not hesitate in recommending this hotel. Its location is perfect and Breakfast was delicious with lots of choice
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sally W wrote a review Jan 2024
Poole67 contributions19 helpful votes
We were so lucky to find this lovely hotel just off the seafront. It is warm, welcoming and beautifully decorated. All the staff we met were friendly, polite and efficient. It was one of the coldest weekends of the year so we were happy to find a warm room with plenty of hot water in the bathroom! The bed was comfy and the hotel quiet so we slept well. A good choice of breakfast items- all delicious. My husband enjoyed the full Florence breakfast while I had scrambled eggs and bacon one day and the Greek yogurt and granola the next. We will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Nicole G wrote a review Jul 2023
4 contributions
So happily surprised by this lovely little group of hotels, pub and restaurant. Staff are all lovely, helpful and friendly. Restaurant food was excellent. And breakfast 5*. If I could find one tiny thing to balance a glowing review - the pillows were a bit flat! Every intention of visiting again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Some rooms are up quite a few stairs so check with the hotel before booking if you have mobility...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
James I wrote a review Jul 2023
16 contributions9 helpful votes
Our 3rd timw staying in this hotel, and 1st time since COVID. Stayed for 3 nights in superior double with shower. Room was immaculate, large and very comfortable. Nice touch with bay windows all opened and fan provided to ensure ventilation as it was very hot outside. However, one downside was lack of any water in the room (whether this be bottled or tap water in some form of container) - we had to purchase some from the pub across the road late one night, who very kindly offered this free of charge. Breakfast offered lots of choice, good quality and delicious. Eggs Benedict plate made it quite awkward to eat however. Garden was lovely for al-fresco dining. Waiting staff very friendly and check out quick/efficient.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Hels Bells wrote a review Jul 2023
Oxford, United Kingdom54 contributions24 helpful votes
+1
From the initials booking and call to ask if dogs were welcome (which they so very warmly are) through to arrival, Ellie was helpful, attentive and hugely efficient. Emailing to double check if I wanted to reserve parking or not through to assisting me on arrival with directions and offers of help with luggage and my little frenchie in tow. Baton was then handed to Charlotte who was also extremely friendly and helpful with my check in. Must add here that Although I booked the Clarence annexe due to availability at the Florence (which I’ve stayed in 3 times before) being fully booked Ellie offered me the Florence as a free exchange due to a cancellation. For which I was very grateful. Moving on to the room itself, very spacious, clean with modern and fresh decor. Bed was comfy as was the sofa and the shower was spacious and strong. Having eaten here 3 times last year, having had the “surf and turf”, fish food pizza (which I fully admit shouldn’t be a “thing” as fish food doesn’t belong on pizza but was the best ever with salmon and king prawns and garlic butter drizzle) I decided to take my boy to the Garden restaurant and eat here. The hotel has undergone refurbishment since my last visit and I can’t lie, I was disappointed to see the menu had changed and the new offering on BBQ base with prawn didn’t appeal so much. So, I went for the honey bacon pizza and WOW! It was out of this world! The chefs here keep it simple with an outdoor oven but boy do they nail it! I mentioned chilli would be good with the pizza to add a little heat and they gave me chilli flakes but the pizza was THAT good I didn’t want to risk ruining it! However I scattered chilli flakes on a few bites and it was indeed a fabulous contrast! But likewise as it came was equally as good! I also opted for dessert and wanted to go for something the chefs had created rather than a cake slice that had been bought in. I went for apple crisp and “oh my word” that was equally delicious! Top all this off with how welcome they made not only me but also my dog I really couldn’t ask for me! Previous visits have been personal but this was for business and either which way, I’ll be staying here for a 5th,6th,7th and more times! I’ve mentioned Ellie and Charlotte but also a huge shout out to Chloe and Tim who went above and beyond to make sure both myself and Winston were happy. What a fabulous place to stay and a marvellous team 👏🏼
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Pre book parking as street parking is a nightmare and mainly residents only
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
furks wrote a review Jun 2023
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom51 contributions20 helpful votes
The hotel overall was great. The staff are excellent. On arriving we were upgraded to a suite, which was a nice surprise. There is no air-con which made it a little uncomfortable as it was really hot at the end of June. I would have expected a fridge in the room but not really a problem. Breakfast was great on two of our three days there. The scrambled eggs on the last day was poor. We did eat just the one time in the evening. My burger was good but my wife's pizza was not great. If you have a wood fired pizza oven I would expect the dough to be fresh and the cheese to be mozzarella. Neither was the case. Overall tough I would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
stewW4 wrote a review May 2023
London, United Kingdom190 contributions88 helpful votes
Very comfortable and spacious room with good quality bed linen. The bathroom was large with a good sized bath. The staff was welcoming and helpful. The breakfast menu is good - the smashed avocado is very good and our friends seemed pleased with their choices. There was, however, no fresh fruit readily on offer- we asked and got a few strawberries and a banana was found. One friend threw a spanner in the works by asking for a boiled egg. This request was declined on the grounds that they had no egg cups. It’s those small things that one remembers rather than the other generally good things.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Take an egg cup.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
njshore07 wrote a review Apr 2023
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania21 contributions21 helpful votes
Our travel plans were thrown off track earlier in the day which resulted in us arriving at the hotel much later than we had planned and hoped. We called ahead and they assured us someone would stay until we arrived to check in; they were courteous and helpful. We had two rooms in the Florence Suite which were clean, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. They weren't directly attached to the main check-in area but very close by and easily accessible. Because our travel plans were foiled the day prior and we had plans to depart early the morning after our arrival, we didn't get a chance to enjoy many of the amenities or surrounding area but we very much appreciated the hospitality and comfortable accommodations while we were there. We'd go back and try it again and would recommend to others based on our (somewhat limited) experiences.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
blueandwhitehoops wrote a review Apr 2023
reading, berkshire, UK924 contributions740 helpful votes
+1
We stayed at this amazing hotel recently. The service was superb and the rooms are of a very high standard. Very convenient and there's a great pub opposite too. The hotel is dog friendly and the staff really liked our dog. The breakfast menu was comprehensive and very delicious would definitely recommend this hotel don't miss it you won't be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Saz wrote a review Apr 2023
49 contributions14 helpful votes
Regrettably I had to give 2 stars mainly because of health safety and well-being - they gave no bottle water in the room despite booking a king room and told at checkin we had been upgraded. the tap on the shower fell off when turning temperature to hot (anti clockwise) it’s very heavy metal nearly hit my foot. There was no mixer taps old school hot and cold. The vinyl flooring in the shower room had white stain marks. Visually the place appeared somewhat tired overall. The breakfast I felt was lacking. The Breakfast included in the room price had so many hidden add ons. These are not clearly shown on the menu but told when ordering. We couldn’t have fruit, cereal, crossiant, juice or yogurt or any other coffee unless it was filter as part of a cooked breakfast. The sausage tasted budget sort and bacon not cooked long enough served very pink. I’ve never come across such a rigid breakfast system in all my hotel stays. Our room faced the Main Street which was noisy for a Saturday morning. The plug socket by the mirror was half covered by a wardrobe. Made it difficult to use for the hairdryer. We did like something and happy to point these out - there is on-site free parking, good selection of teas and coffee in the room, vibrant wall paper and effort with the furnishings is great touch which helped the overall tired look along. For what we paid £119. Despite the hotels positives. We wouldn’t come again purely down to those little touches, having a complimentary bottle water in the room, modern mixer taps, better breakfast choices available to guest makes a difference to us
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception H, General Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Responded 11 Apr 2023
Thank you for taking the time to leave this detailed full review. We are naturally very sad to see the hotel reviewed with such a low rating. We are extremly surprised that, given the level of concern you mention over the tap, it was not raised at any point during the stay with our staff - or post stay - to ensure we could look at this and swiftly rectify it to avoid any further issues. Thank you for drawing our attention to it some weeks after the stay in your review so we can check this out today without delay as it has not been mentioned by any other guests. It's disappointing to read you did not enjoy the generous included breakfast. Our menu has just changed for summer but at the time of your stay all elements of breakfast were included aside from specialty coffees which are shown on a priced menu board. Guests are also told before ordering incase they have not seen the board. We are confused as to what other hidden extras you could be referring to when other mentioned items i.e. juice, and cereal are all included. Our meat products are from a local butcher who we have used for the past 16 years. Guests generally enjoy their excellent quality meat whether it's at breakfast or in our evening restaurant. I'm sorry your bacon was undercooked - the team would have been glad to rectify this had we known at the time. Bacon is quite hard to undercook (as it's so thin) but if you are someone who prefers well done/crispy bacon a quick request when placing your order could have ensured this was made to your liking. We appreciate you noting that some adjustment is needed to make the plug near the large mirror more accessible. We assumed guests would use the dressing table mirror to dry their hair but following your comments we'll certainly ask the lady who arranges the room to rethink the furniture placement in here. Thank you again for your comments and feedback and we are sorry that you felt the stay (priced at £99 plus vat) was not of the value expected despite the good number of positive elements you mention. We can't help but also notice of your 32 contributions on TripAdvisor only 9 are positive. As a small business we would encourage you to speak to the businesses reviewed about your concerns at the time - most I'm sure would be willing and delighted to try and put things right to turn an unhappy customer into a returning happy one as we would have been had we been given the opportunity.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Portsmouth area.
PRICE RANGE
£81 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Number Five Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshirePortsmouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FLORENCE GARDENS BOUTIQUE HOTEL AND RESTAURANT - Updated 2024 (Portsmouth)

Frequently Asked Questions about Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Which popular attractions are close to Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant?
Nearby attractions include The D-Day Story (0.3 miles), Southsea Beach (0.2 miles), and Strong Island Clothing Co (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Florence Arms, The Briny, and Marmion House.
Are pets allowed at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Portsmouth Historic Dockyard (1.8 miles), Little Woodham Living History Village (3.8 miles), and Portsdown Hill (4.3 miles).
Does Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.