We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (17)
Room & Suite (7)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Abbey Lodge Guest House is a large Victorian town house situated in the heart of Southsea. We have a comprehensive selection of rooms, both en-suite and with shared facilities. We offer our rooms on a fully flexible basis either as room only or with breakfast included. Single occupancy of all our double rooms is available, as is a discount for a non refundable booking. We are just a ten minute stroll from the beach and Common, which makes us ideally situated for the Victorious Festival, the Great South Run and events at the Pyramids. We are also within easy reach of the Historic Dockyard, Heritage Museums, Portsmouth University campus, Gunwarf Quays shopping and entertainment complex, Spinnaker Tower, Kings Theatre and the Wedgewood rooms. Ferries to France, Spain and the Isle of Wight are easy to reach, as is the cruise terminal. Accommodation is provided in eight comfortably furnished rooms, where a cosy and welcoming atmosphere is combined with individual attention.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
82Good for walkers
Grade: 82 out of 100
35Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
10Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
87Reviews
17Photos
1Q+A
16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 20
  • 22
  • 11
  • 13
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I’ll start with the positives, the tea and coffee supply in the room was plentiful with bottled mineral water supplied daily, the toiletries well stocked and the hot water was HOT, god was it hot!! If you were a traveller back in the 1970s you’ll get the idea of what we have
Read more
This place is good for a one night stay ,They dont do food at all so you have to go out for thisn,not good if you have mobility issues as steps up to door and then stairs to rooms .Rooms are O K bathroom was very small but adiquate .Staff were helpfull and pleasent ,
Read more
Response from AbbeyLodge, Owner at Abbey Lodge
Responded 19 Sep 2018
We are glad that you found us OK and the staff helpful and pleasant: We do offer an award winning breakfast but you booked room only. We have found that this option is very popular and helps keep the costs down. We buy all our ingredients fresh and locally but now carry little stock because it goes out of date so quickly. This means that if you want breakfast you need to include it in your booking. This is also one reason why we have a check-in of 4pm so that new can do the shopping after making up the beds and cleaning throughout. We are fully flexible in our our pricing and offer not only room-only but also a reduction for single occupancy and advance non-refundable bookings. We do have a ramp up to the front door with just one step but all our accommodation is upstairs. The en-suite the that you booked has a shower. We do have a full size spacious en-suite with a bath in the attic room - but it is at the top of the house. We also offer shared facility rooms for the more cost conscious guest. These rooms are fitted to the same high standard with 2 metre comfy beds and have their own wash hand basin. Many of our guests stop over for more than one night as they find their stay with us very enjoyable.
Read more
I have to admit I read the reviews and still booked, it was the only place that had availability with en-suite. We arrived 18 minutes before the suggested check in time and was met at the door by both proprietors, the lady who I presume was Linda barged past us muttering it was
Read more
I stayed at this B&B this weekend for one night and when I say that this hotel has the rudest members of staff I haven’t ever met in my life I mean it. When booking the website allowed me to select that I would be arriving at the B&B between 12:00 and 13:00 (I can provide proof
Read more
Sounds and smells like battersea dogs home. The owner has clearly gone nose blind. His dogs are constantly barking. Very dated interior. If you have to stay here don’t forget the insect repellent as the bed bugs can get a little bitey.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & Suite
PreviousNext
12
Our parking is on street but it is free and plentiful. We are one of the few areas in Portsmouth that does not have residents parking so there are no restrictions.
0 votes
"somewhere else"
"Find somewhere with car parking."
"Front rooms overlook noisy street."
"Front room was brighter"
"Ask for a room at the back. Dont arrive after 9pm"
PreviousNext
1234
PRICE RANGE
US$64 - US$65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandPortsmouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing