We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Somerset House Boutique Hotel & Restaurant

10 Florence Road Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NE England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (132)
360
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (254)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#6 of 40 hotels in Portsmouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Somerset House Hotel has been restored to the original splendour of its Edwardian roots. It offers boutique rooms with free Wi-FI, just a 5-minute walk from Southsea Beach. The stylish bedrooms all feature satellite TVs and comfortable beds are adorned with Egyptian cotton sheets. The hotel is close to Southsea Common and Southsea Castle. Southsea Hovercraft Port is about 1 mile away, and is a quick way to reach the Isle of Wight. The very popular restaurant "The Garden" is just opposite offering all day indoor and outdoor dining.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Full body massage
24-hour security
Paid private parking nearby
Car park
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Seating area
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English, Polish
483Reviews0Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 342
  • 93
  • 33
  • 13
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Daryl D wrote a review Jan 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Great Location. Great room. Fabulous generous breakfast. Staff excellent. Great shower. Very comfortable bed. Great decor. Excellent cleanliness. Free parking which is a great bonus. We would both recommend this hotel for a stay to visit Portsmouth. We would return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
FrankieG wrote a review Oct 2023
Atherstone, United Kingdom15 contributions4 helpful votes
Friendly welcome, lovely comfortable& spacey bedroom, breakfast was really nice quality food! All the staff were friendly& attentive. Very good value for money. The hotel is situated in a very handy area for walks on the sea front& parks, we ate in the Florence pub over the road from the hotel is really quality food& service, I believe is owned by hotel, highly recommend homemade cooking!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking isn’t great,having to pay for off road parking is only down side..
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Terry B wrote a review Oct 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We only stayed 1 night. Cannot praise this hotel enough. Arrived early to be told our room was ready. Super room. Cooked breakfast was just enough. Most of all the staff, of which there seemed to be lots, were friendly and attentive. Would not hesitate to book again and recommend to anyone travelling to Portsmouth.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
plb113 wrote a review Oct 2023
Gosport, United Kingdom76 contributions53 helpful votes
We had a lovely stay here for our Anniversary. My husband advises me that Mia was very helpful with the room booking. The room was gorgeous and comfortable with a lovely big bath. The area was very quiet, which we didn’t really expect, and it was a a couple of minutes from the sea front. Breakfast was delicious, and staff were very friendly and helpful, whilst being very busy. A parking space was booked, so there was no problem with parking. We will definitely be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book parking if you need it
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Alison K wrote a review Aug 2023
5 contributions
Wardrobe doesn't shut properly, marks in bathroom, mire annoying didn't realise what a pain parking was going to be and also restaurant across the road. £100 happy breakfast was lovely but had to ask for toast and in the conservatory so would get extremely hot. Just paid £81 for lovely hotel in Bristol, breakfast wasn't included but £12 each so still much better value and bathroom stunning.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception H, General Manager at Somerset House Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Responded 3 Oct 2023
Hello again Alison, this review was left, and responded to, from another of your tripadvisor profiles back in May. We're sorry you felt the need to post again. Best wishes, Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Andrea and Duane wrote a review Jul 2023
Washington, United Kingdom10 contributions9 helpful votes
Our stay here was ok but we feel there are just a couple of things where it falls short of the 'Luxury Boutique' label and makes it a wee bit overpriced. We were able to park fairly near to the hotel in one of the residential streets and were given a resident's parking permit, which is good for city accommodation. The breakfast menu is wide and varied. The food is good and the staff friendly. Breakfast is not served on site but is literally just across the road. The room was ok, but it is here that the Somerset does not quite reach the 'luxury boutique' claim. The room isn't massive but is clean and has enough space to not feel cramped. The bed is comfortable and the linen clean. The towels could do with replacing as they are not the thick, soft luxury you would expect for a £165 a night room. The coffee would benefit from an upgrade and the television is on the small side for a luxury room. The bathroom is small but nicely done and has a large, powerful shower - tick. Unfortunately, the toiletries were so watery that they just didn't do the job and we had to buy our own - not what you expect from luxury boutique accommodation. Our stay here wasn't 'bad' by any means but we feel that charging 'luxury boutique' prices, then everything in the room should meet 'luxury boutique' standards. We are fully aware that Portsmouth is a city and tourist destination so hotels might be more expensive, but so is Edinburgh guests pay a lot less for a lot more. We would pay £120 -130 for this room but £165 has left us feeling a bit short-changed to be honest.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception H, General Manager at Somerset House Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Responded 3 Oct 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review us and your excellent comments about parking, breakfast and the staff. We're sorry you didn't like your room. As you didn't feed anything back during the stay we aren't quite sure which you stayed in or indeed when but we'll certainly address what we can from these comments. We are moving to in-house laundering of towels in the coming weeks to ensure our offering is thick and fluffy as we like them to be and will certainly review the toiletries. Regarding the coffee we had moved to Clipper coffee but following feedback have returned to a standard, more common brand people seem to recognise and rate! We're sorry you felt the price was just slightly above what you wished to pay. Of course we can't be sure as we can't locate your booking but we would hazard a guess this was a stay booked via a third party which is always more expensive. A directly booked room with the hotel often offers a saving on the room rate plus more flexible terms and upgrade options. We hope you'll try us again sometime.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sallyscb275 wrote a review Jul 2023
3 contributions
+1
University Graduation & Border Terrier Seaside Holiday (20 & 21 July). Firstly, we need to thank the brilliant reception staff who were SO kind and helpful when 3 of my trains from Yorkshire were cancelled one after another, I faffed around with the dates not knowing if I would make it to my MRes graduation at Portsmouth University. Not only helping me, the staff were brilliant with my parents who had to cancel because I really didn’t think I’d make it down (train strikes). Eventually, my husband managed to finish work early enough to drive me down, we also added the boys (two Border Terriers) at the last minute as there was nobody at home to look after them. What was fast becoming a ‘Carry on Carrying on’ disaster was saved by all the staff at Somerset House Boutique Hotel. Lovely room, we were greeted and shown to parking and room on check in. At this point I was very unwell and the next morning unable to go to breakfast due to an enormous face swelling from an autoimmune reaction to the stressful events before we travelled. Restaurant staff arranged for my breakfast to come to room. Again at lunchtime after I was back from ceremony, food delivered to me. The Dogs had an amazing time (they told me), they were so relaxed because the hotel was so pet friendly, it gives off a happy vibe to the animals. Really close to the seafront and 2 parks, across main road a huge park for morning walks. I couldn’t fault a single moment , it was perfect. I will remember it for the lovely time we had at the hotel , more than anything else. Next time we stay, I will ask for à downstairs or accessible room as it would mean we would be quieter walking up and down stairs with many paws. It was lovely. Thank you all !
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception H, General Manager at Somerset House Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Responded 3 Oct 2023
Thank you for your extremely kind review. We are so sorry you had such a stressful time in advance of your stay but we are glad you made it to us in the end! It was wonderful to meet you and we hope you can join us again at a more relaxing time. Very best wishes, Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rebecca P wrote a review Jun 2023
Champaign, Illinois1 contribution
My husband and I stayed at the Somerset House which is part of the Mercer Collection. Our check-in process was smooth and we went right back to the beautiful restaurant to have a bite to eat. The room was pretty, comfortable, and quiet-- we stayed on the first floor. As it was our first night off the airplane and we were exhausted, the quiet was greatly appreciated. We only stayed for one night, but due to the location we had plenty of time to explore the area and to enjoy a couple of meals at the Garden Restaurant. In the morning, the staff was kind enough to store our bags so that we could go to the naval museum and come back for them later. We had only come to town to see the Mary Rose, but I would be more than happy to return to enjoy the town again, and a large part of that was our hotel experience.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception H, General Manager at Somerset House Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Responded 3 Oct 2023
Thank you for your kind review - we hope we can welcome you again if back in the UK.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Neil S wrote a review Jun 2023
1 contribution
Friendly helpful smiling staff. Nothing was too much trouble. You are made to feel welcome , taken to your room and the staff do exactly what they say they will do. Comfortable clean bedrooms and the food is excellent. Such a change to receive such a level of service. 8 people in our group and each of us agreed it was excellent. Thank you all.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception H, General Manager at Somerset House Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Responded 3 Oct 2023
Thank you so much for your wonderful review - we very much appreciate it!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
George Day wrote a review Jun 2023
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
Very cute boutique right next to the sea side! Mella was fantastic! I added notes for the reason for our stay & we had a nice conversation about it, I had a very happy lady with me on the way home because of Mella. Everyone on the team we met was great and accommodating. Parking was perfect, right outside & space was name reserved. Breakfast was outstanding, I'm now cooking Ham-hock rarebit crumpets at home. The room was a great size, the bathroom was modern & stylish. I see no reason to stay anywhere else in Portsmouth the next time I visit.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception H, General Manager at Somerset House Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Responded 3 Oct 2023
Thank you for your lovely review and feedback about Mirella - she was thrilled to see your review! We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Portsmouth area.
PRICE RANGE
£79 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
somerset hotel portsmouth
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshirePortsmouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SOMERSET HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL & RESTAURANT - Updated 2024 (Portsmouth)

Frequently Asked Questions about Somerset House Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Which popular attractions are close to Somerset House Boutique Hotel & Restaurant?
Nearby attractions include Southsea Beach (0.2 miles), Strong Island Clothing Co (0.3 miles), and Exploria (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Somerset House Boutique Hotel & Restaurant?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Somerset House Boutique Hotel & Restaurant?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Somerset House Boutique Hotel & Restaurant?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Somerset House Boutique Hotel & Restaurant?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Florence Arms, Marmion House, and The Briny.
Are pets allowed at Somerset House Boutique Hotel & Restaurant?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Somerset House Boutique Hotel & Restaurant?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Somerset House Boutique Hotel & Restaurant?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Little Woodham Living History Village (3.9 miles), Portsmouth Historic Dockyard (1.8 miles), and Portsdown Hill (4.3 miles).
Does Somerset House Boutique Hotel & Restaurant have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.