We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Ibis Budget Southampton Centre Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (251)
Room & Suite (141)
Dining (25)

View prices for your travel dates

£49
£49
£44
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#26 of 30 hotels in Southampton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
The Ibis Budget Southampton is easily accessible from the M27, conveniently located in the centre of Southampton, opposite the West Quay shopping centre and close to the Cruise terminals and Mayflower Theatre. The hotel offers 124 non-smoking contemporary guest rooms with en-suite shower, air cooling, flat-screen TV with freeview channels and free Wifi throughout. Our Reception is available 24/7, offering snacks, refreshments and serving a varied and balanced continental breakfast buffet at £5.95. On-site outdoor car park is also available at £10 for 24 hours. Our team looks forward to welcoming you soon. Come and discover the Ibis Budget Southampton. Essential comfort at a budget price.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Paid private parking on-site
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Vending machine
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Green
Languages Spoken
English
1,794Review30Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 334
  • 554
  • 433
  • 226
  • 247
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
WalesWest wrote a review Mar 2024
Wales28 contributions47 helpful votes
We frequently stay here prior to our cruise. It's basic but the room is clean and the staff are always friendly. The location is ideal and car parking is available at a cost of £10. We wouldn't hesitate in booking again. I don't think you can beat £62 for a double room.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Bela Szabo wrote a review Jun 2022
Southampton, United Kingdom2 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
A budget hotel in the city centre. Nothing more, nothing less than its name says. Cheap, clean, simple, close to everywhere in the city centre. Very friendly and helpful staff. If someone travels on budget it's perfect for a couple of nights.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ibis Budget Southampton, General Manager at Ibis Budget Southampton Centre Hotel
Responded 3 Sept 2022
Hi CiaoBelloTaxiSoton, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis budget Southampton Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind Regards, Samuel Viegas Front Office Team Leader
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nikki F wrote a review Mar 2024
Southampton, United Kingdom8 contributions15 helpful votes
The receptionist at the Ibis Southampton City Centre recognised me and called my husband to inform him that I was checking into a hotel room with another man. She wasn't to know that my husband and I are polyamorous and that he was well aware of the situation, but that doesn't excuse the total violation of privacy, confidence and trust in what should have been a private matter. Disgusting behaviour and totally unprofessional.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Patina Farnham, General Manager at Ibis Budget Southampton Centre Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Nikkifoxrobot, Thank you for taking to the time to post a review on the ibis Budget Southampton site. I can see that you had also posted the same review on the Ibis Southampton site a few months ago, and still to this date we have not been provided any evidence of this taking place, or any evidence of you staying at the ibis Budget Southampton. I again encourage you to contact me directly via email, h6209-gm@accor.com to discuss. Sincerely, Patina Farnham General Manager Novotel, ibis and ibis Budget Southampton
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Craig C wrote a review Mar 2024
31 contributions19 helpful votes
+1
This has to be the worst hotel I have ever stayed in Dirty rooms Bed was uncomfortable the pillows are like breeze blocks Also drug adicts everywhere I have slept in many hotels including formular 1 in France and even that was better this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Patina Farnham, General Manager at Ibis Budget Southampton Centre Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear craigcT4625CP, thank you for sharing your comments with us. I am sorry to see that you were disappointed with your stay. I could not see any reports in our duty log of when you asked the team for different pillows or bedding (assuming this was bought to our attention during your stay) to help during your stay so have simply addressed with all of the team to ensure that we are always accommodating this when the guest requests it. I am not sure about your comment regarding drug addicts as I have not personally noticed this and again cannot see where your concerns were raised with the team so we could support you during your stay. If you would like to discuss your feedback directly please feel free to contact me via email, h6209-gm@accor.com. Sincerely, Patina Farnham General Manager Novotel, ibis and ibis Budget Southampton
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dave S wrote a review Feb 2024
Lymington, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Great value ! Great room and views, easy friendly checkin - lots of snacks and drinks in reception .. 24/7 reception … 12 noon checkout - east parking and great location! I recommend a stay here if visiting town or going in a cruise. Really convenient and super cheap !
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: £10 parking 24 hours / £10 deposit for kettle
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
810jessica wrote a review Feb 2024
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel is being used as emergency accommodation felt uneasy during night as very loud noises from groups of people drunk in corridors Room was clean but mould around window and top corner of the room More staff needed during the late shift would not book here again
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Swedishtomcat wrote a review Jan 2024
Diss, United Kingdom3593 contributions1016 helpful votes
Chose to stay at the Ibis Budget because of its affordable late room rates plus it is close enough to walk to the cruise ship terminal. Received a warm welcome on arrival. The room was basic but comfortable while breakfast was basic but plentiful.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Ten minute walk to the cruise ship terminal
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Cassie S wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel was very clean and tidy and staff were really polite and helpful. We were able to ask for a late check out in the morning with little notice. Brilliant price for the stay also :) no complaints at all, thank you!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
northbaychris wrote a review Dec 2023
North Bay, Canada111 contributions103 helpful votes
Nice location and inexpensive yet very clean and has what you need. This is an ideal place to stay if you are going on a cruise. It is about 5 minutes walk from the train station and about a 15 minute straight and easy walk to the Cruise port. If you have one large suitcase and one carry on (all with wheels) it is no problem. Easy walking distance to mall, restaurants and some local attractions. Beware though all the hotels in the area jack up their prices for cruise dates and special occasions (not always) but often enough, so it might help to book early.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book early, as all hotels in area frequently jack up prices (over double) for cruise dates and...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
MauraEastbourne wrote a review Dec 2023
Eastbourne42 contributions34 helpful votes
Dreadful place. We payed nearly £100 for one night.tiny room, tinier shower with see through door. Sink not in toilet but in room so no privacy for a wash. Almost knocked myself out by banging my head on bunk bed which was over the main double bed. HORRIBLE. Downstairs there were quite a few people using the place as emergency accommodation (we heard them discussing this) very noisy during the night. Never again!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t stay there
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Southampton area.
PRICE RANGE
£46 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
etap southampton
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Etap Hotel Southampton Centre
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireSouthampton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
124
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

IBIS BUDGET SOUTHAMPTON CENTRE HOTEL - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Ibis Budget Southampton Centre Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Ibis Budget Southampton Centre Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Elusion Escape Rooms (0.2 miles), Mayflower Theatre (0.3 miles), and Big Sara (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ibis Budget Southampton Centre Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast buffet, and reduced mobility rooms.
What food & drink options are available at Ibis Budget Southampton Centre Hotel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Ibis Budget Southampton Centre Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ibis Budget Southampton Centre Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Mayflower Village, The Real Greek - Southampton, and Marco's Bar-Ristorante-Cicchetti.
Are there any historical sites close to Ibis Budget Southampton Centre Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tudor House and Garden (0.5 miles), Eling Tide Mill Experience (3.0 miles), and Holy Rood Church (0.6 miles).
Is Ibis Budget Southampton Centre Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.