Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Swan Inn

219 Portsmouth Road, Southampton SO19 9BG England
Traveller (3)
Guest Room
Room & Suite (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
£80
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
Get rewarded with One Key
£80
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
£70
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#3 of 5 inns in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
11Reviews0Q+A1Room tip

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 7
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Giovanni A wrote a review Sept 2023
Lausanne, Switzerland106 contributions34 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
While all the other hotels at Southampton were very expensive during our stay, The Swan Inn was only 90£ for a room with an on suite shower. We usually stay at big chain hotels so weren’t sure what we’ll get, but decided to give it a shot and don’t regret it! The rooms have everything you need and a great TV, very quiet (especially considering the location), and the owner is absolutely lovely. Thanks a lot to her. We’ll come back if we are in Southampton again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jacqueline Gordon, Owner at The Swan Inn
Responded 26 Oct 2023
Thank you for your fab review, much appreciated ! We hope to welcome you again sometime.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
M&MPW wrote a review Jun 2021
London, United Kingdom20 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here as a stop over for one night and was pleasantly surprised.
The manager Jacqui was so lovely and showed us to our room which was spotless.
Comfy beds and the softest bedding

Rooms were very quiet and couldn't hear anyone else who stayed there

Would 100% stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jacqueline Gordon, Owner at The Swan Inn
Responded 17 Jun 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review ! We are happy that you enjoyed your visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jen s wrote a review Oct 2021
Blackburn, United Kingdom11 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Spotless , friendly, value for money. Staff were very helpful give us information as the local area room only suited our purpose. It is a new business and I was pleasantly surprised on my arrival, only stayed one night as we were travelling the next day. Do you not serve food however will allow you to get food delivered and give you plates and cutlery to eat with
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jacqueline Gordon, Owner at The Swan Inn
Responded 5 Nov 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sheri S wrote a review Oct 2023
Regina, Canada1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jacqueline is wonderful! Family feel, treated terrifically during our two night stay. Pub was a great place to wind down after a day of travel and touring.
Arrived in advance of taking a cruise from the port in Southampton and were pleasantly surprised. Easy to take the bus to downtown for 2 pound per trip, 13 pound taxi ride from the bus port, Highly Recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Just a pub, no food available. Take away in the area, delivery available. Gas station with store...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jacqueline Gordon, Owner at The Swan Inn
Responded 26 Oct 2023
Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review, we appreciate your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope that you call in to if you visit Southampton again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicole R wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just checked out of this lovely gem. Absolutely brilliant stay, there is a few rooms with shared bathroom and rooms with ensuite which we stayed in where the cleanliness was top standard and very spacious with a nice size TV with apps for Netflix ect. The bar downstairs is lovely and very welcoming. To top it off the lady we met was so helpful and friendly, could not fault any service. Thank you hope to see you again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jacqueline Gordon, Owner at The Swan Inn
Responded 26 Oct 2023
Thank you for leaving such a great review, we value your comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jane M wrote a review Jun 2022
Leeds, United Kingdom36 contributions44 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here overnight prior to cruising from Southampton. We were welcomed by Jacqui who was so lovely . En suite room was spotless . No food at the pub but Jacqui recommended a lovely Indian . If we needed accommodation in the Southampton area again would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jacqueline Gordon, Owner at The Swan Inn
Responded 26 Oct 2023
Thank you for your lovely review, we hope to welcome you again sometime !
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The_Coach55 wrote a review Jun 2023
Ruislip, United Kingdom975 contributions539 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Swan Inn is located in Sholing and is a short downhill walk away from Sholing station.

Woolston station is around three quarters of a mile distant on foot.

The rooms are located in a block adjacent to the pub and I was able to acquire the room with en suite facilities.

It contained a large double bed, a decent shower and tea & coffee making facilities.

I spent a comfortable night here although there is no facility for breakfast.

I had a complimentary night courtesy of hotels.com so only paid £14 for tax for one night.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jacqueline Gordon, Owner at The Swan Inn
Responded 26 Oct 2023
Your comments are valuable to us, thank you for taking the time to leave a helpful review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leesa R wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for one night with my 4 children all was well until we were leaving, as we were loading our stuff into the car the cleaners who had already entered our room stole my sons necklace from out of my handbag. This chain is worth £3000 and very sentimental to him
I have involved the police as when we phoned the police the lady said she saw my son leave with it around his neck which is a blatant lie, we have photos of us in the nature reserve taken straight after leaving the B&B with him not wearing it. We told the owner we are sending the police to her and 3 mins after that conversation I called her back and she said the police had arrived and taken a statement and the CCTV footage so contact them, when asked what the officers name was she said I'll go and get it as he is still out in the car park and cut me off. I tried to call back many times and no answer or was told she wasnt there. I them called her mobile and she said she lied that the police had been out and she hasnt got the necklace. Why would she lie ? My sons necklace was STOLEN.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jacqueline Gordon, Owner at The Swan Inn
Responded 5 Nov 2021
Completely untrue !!!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ria D wrote a review Oct 2019
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Really really pleased with our stay. My friend booked this as we were in the area for a day festival and it exceeded all expectations. Free parking next to the inn. Greeted and given our keys to the room a couple of hours before check in which was great. Even given umbrella’s to use as it was raining! Very new and modern room, we had an en-suite which was great. Softest bed and pillows! Live music from downstairs wasn’t a problem as we had our music on when we got back anyway so it was great to not have to worry about waking the neighbours! A shop over the road and was close to the centre too. Even had Netflix on the TV too! Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from jacquigordon, Owner at The Swan Inn
Responded 2 Oct 2019
Hi Ria Thank you very much for leaving a great review! We pleased that your stay was an enjoyable one.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Freya A wrote a review Sept 2019
Birmingham, United Kingdom11 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
One night stay for a wedding near by. Cheap rate, shared bathroom and rooms immaculate-just the job. Live music downstairs in the pub which we weren't informed of, however music off by midnight and no other noise from pub downstairs. Although if you wanted an early night when a live band was on unfortunately you would not be able to sleep. Otherwise a good find and would use again if in area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from jacquigordon, Owner at The Swan Inn
Responded 2 Oct 2019
Hello Freya Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate this as will other travellers. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Sheri S wrote a tip Oct 2023
Regina, Canada1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just a pub, no food available. Take away in the area, delivery available. Gas station with store across the street for snacks / drinks. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Southampton area.
PRICE RANGE
£51 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireSouthampton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE SWAN INN - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews, and Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Swan Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Swan Inn?
Nearby attractions include Mayfield Garden Centre And Cafe (0.3 miles), Mayfield Park (0.2 miles), and Bunky Park (0.2 miles).
What are some restaurants close to The Swan Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Becketts At The Mansion, Greeko Restaurant Southampton, and Sravs Kitchen.
Is The Swan Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Southampton.
Are there any historical sites close to The Swan Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tudor House and Garden (1.9 miles), Holy Rood Church (1.8 miles), and Bargate (1.8 miles).
All Southampton HotelsSouthampton Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SouthamptonHotels near The Swan Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire