We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (57)
Room & Suite (48)
Dining (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#16 of 30 hotels in Southampton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Finding an ideal quiet hotel in Southampton does not have to be difficult. Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton, a nice option for travellers like you.

Nearby landmarks such as University of Southampton (1.6 mi) and Southampton Old Cemetery (2.3 mi) make Hilton Southampton a great place to stay when visiting Southampton.

The rooms offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

Hilton Southampton Hotel features 24 hour front desk, room service, and express check-in and check-out. In addition, as a valued Hilton Southampton guest, you can enjoy breakfast that is available on-site. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to parking.

While visiting Southampton, you may want to try some burritos at one of the nearby restaurants, such as La Baronia, The Art House, or Mexigo.

If you’re looking for something to do, Childrens Pleasure Park (0.4 mi) and Daisy Dip (1.0 mi) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton.

DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to Southampton.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Italian, Polish
169Reviews60Q+A41Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 73
  • 38
  • 29
  • 16
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
tommytittlemouse wrote a review 16 Apr
11 contributions2 helpful votes
This is a great place to stay, close enough to the city and very accessible from all local motorways. The setting is nice and quiet the only drawback is that there’s very little other amenities around. Excellent front of house team all very welcoming and efficient, special mention goes to Celia. Bedrooms are nicely appointed, fresh linen, spacious bathrooms and extremely comfortable beds.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Dicks, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
Responded today
Dear Plummy Jam Thank you so much for your recent review and for highlighting the front of house team overall and of course Celia who is such a consummate professional and exudes warmth to all of our guests. We very much look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
christinap123 wrote a review Apr 2023
Leicestershire, United Kingdom5 contributions8 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Hotel was perfect. So clean and loved the little touches like robes slippers and wall mounted shampoo and conditioner. Celia was fantastic sorting out a delivery of balloons I had ordered for my partners birthday. Went the extra mile and deserves lots of credit, thanks for a great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Peter Bartlett, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
Responded 3 May 2023
Dear Christinap123 Thank you so much for your Perfect review. Celia was thrilled with her fantastic label and we are glad that we were able to make it a great stay for your partner's Birthday. We hope to see you for your Birthday too! Warm regards Peter
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Asha R wrote a review 14 Apr
1 contribution1 helpful vote
No food after 9.30pm (Saturday) !! We went straight after a swim competition, my daughter was super hungry and tired after a long event. 9.30 is too early to close the kitchen in hotel !! we went to bed starving . Mind you it's 50£ extra for dog. Never going back to Doubletree hilton 🙏
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Dicks, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
Responded today
Dear Ashar Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us and I was sorry to read that there had been elements of your stay that had not met with your expectations. We will of course take these into consideration when looking at the services we offer.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
wriggy2017 wrote a review 14 Apr
Rugby, United Kingdom10 contributions2 helpful votes
My husband and I have just spent three nights at the Double Tree in Southampton. Everything was very good, our room and bathroom were spotless, the bed was very comfortable. All the staff that we encountered were friendly and helpful. We will have no hesitation in using a Hilton hotel in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Dicks, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
Responded 3 days ago
Dear wriggy2017 Thank you for such a positive review and im pleased the room and the team were a highlight of your stay. We very much look forward to welcoming you back at some point.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rich wrote a review 12 Apr
Liverpool, United Kingdom9 contributions11 helpful votes
We reached out to the hotel before arrival as we were bringing our own bed for our daughter and they were incredibly accommodating and we were pleased to find the check-in that our request had been actioned. Staff are incredibly polite and the quality of the breakfast was excellent. We were staying here for our daughter’s fourth birthday and the host noticed badge and without prompting brought some happy birthday brownies on a plate with a beautifully written happy birthday, our daughter was unbelievably impressed by. All staff would we come into contact with have been polite, helpful and pleasant. This is a truly exceptional example of what hospitality should look like .
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Dicks, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Richard Thank you for you glowing review and I am so pleased that you and your family enjoyed their time with us. It is always especially pleasing to read such positive comments about the team. They work very hard and are always trying to delight our guest.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stu H wrote a review 12 Apr
Stockport, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
Amazingly clean room and facilities! Restaurant menu could do with a little more range - I've stayed a number of times in the last 12 months and it's a little repetitive now, although food is cooked well and staff are very courteous and attentive. Celia on reception was lovely this morning, extremely friendly and a great farewell smile to get back on the road!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Restaurant menu gets repetitive on long or multiple stays - cooked well though.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Dicks, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
Responded 3 days ago
Dear 785stuh Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay and for your loyalty over the last year. It really is appreciated. We do have a new chef on board now and the menu is being looked at for some changes so hopefully when you are next with us we will be able to show you what we are working on.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Patrick W wrote a review 10 Apr
4 contributions1 helpful vote
New £50 fee for your dog! Ridiculous and out of step with other Hiltons I use. Worse still not included in price when I booked DESPITE mentioning dog with us when I booked. Receptionist mentioned cleaning costs - they should seek advice from Corby or Doncaster where Hiltons charge £10 or nothing .AVOID
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid if you have a dog
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Dicks, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Patrick Thank you for leaving your review following your recent stay with us here in Southampton. I am sorry that you had not been made aware of the charge for your dog. I will certainly discuss this with the team and look into the policy other properties have adopted.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JK and MK wrote a review Mar 2024
Jersey, United Kingdom4 contributions3 helpful votes
The hotel is well situated just outside Southampton and close to the motorways. We stay here on trips before and after taking the ferry to and from Portsmouth or Poole. The rooms are always clean and quiet. The breakfast and dinner have gone down in our estimation over the past couple of stays - food quality just isn't there.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Skip the breakfast, just not worth it.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Dicks, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Kush Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay and thank you for your continued support of us here at the Doubletree. I will ensure that we look into your comments with our kitchen team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Richard W wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
I book Hilton group as I expect to be able to work. Wireless network was simply broken outside of the reception area. “We are negotiating with our WiFi provider” is not a good enough excuse in 2024. The WiFi was worse than a dial up modem! Breakfast was cooked but choice was limited. More effort required Doubletree.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Get a room above floor 3 if you want mobile data. Don’t rely on the hotel unless you know it’s...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Dicks, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
Responded 2 weeks ago
Richard Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us and please accept my apology that we had trouble with our Wifi during your stay. This has been rectified now and we continue to work with our supplier to identify what caused the issue in the first instance.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
KLondonK wrote a review Mar 2024
London598 contributions156 helpful votes
I was here for work and thought it was pleasant enough. The room was comfortable and I was v pleased to have a bath. Jacob on reception was particularly helpful. I arrived bedraggled and late and he kindly lent me an iphone charger which he went to some lengths to find. I saw two different people on reception and in both cases they were fielding calls and a queue of guests. I'm not sure why there weren't more staff to help them but they did a really good job of looking calm and being efficient yet warm.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Southampton area.
PRICE RANGE
£67 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hilton southampton hotel southampton, hilton international southampton, southampton hilton international, hilton hotel southampton
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hilton Southampton
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireSouthampton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
135
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DOUBLETREE BY HILTON SOUTHAMPTON - Updated 2024 Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
Which popular attractions are close to DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton?
Nearby attractions include Elusion Escape Rooms (3.1 miles), Exciting Escapes (2.5 miles), and Sneaky Dog Escapes (4.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Késarum, What A Pizza! Shirley, and 5 Rivers Sports Bar.
Are any cleaning services offered at DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Italian, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tudor House and Garden (3.7 miles), King John's House & Heritage Centre (5.0 miles), and Eling Tide Mill Experience (4.5 miles).
Is DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.