Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Moxy Southampton

Traveller (163)
Room & Suite (44)
Menu
Dining (11)

View prices for your travel dates

£80
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#11 of 30 hotels in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Contemporary design hotel featuring well-appointed chic bedrooms. The stylish, spacious lobby with free Wifi is the place to meet, greet and retreat.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
24-hour security
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Snack bar
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn 1,000 Bonus Points & 1 Bonus Elite Night Credit Each Night.
222Reviews14Q+A49Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 97
  • 55
  • 38
  • 17
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mohd H wrote a review Jan 2020
Bahrain160 contributions80 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently stayed in Moxy (December 2019) for 4 nights and it had just opened 3 days before we checked in. We were also told we were the first “long stay” customers/guests in the hotel.

Pros:
• Staff are excellent and very friendly and would always try to help in anyway. I can’t thank them enough when I had an incident at night when my son wasn’t feeling well and vomited. They quickly came to the room and the changed the sofa bed sheets and provided new pillows. Thank you again.
• Staff again. They gave valuable advice how to reach our destinations and even went out of their way to give us several options including printouts and how much it would cost.
• Location is right next to West Quay and city center area and is also close to the train station.
• Rooms are small but very well laid out room.
• Wifi was very fast (am a Marriott Bonvoy member)

Cons:
• I think the hotel needs to look into including phones in the rooms (if you want anything, either have to call, which in my case would be an international call or go downstairs to the lobby) and a mini fridge. They also didn’t have an in room safe (but to their credit, they did accept to keep our passports in the hotel’s safe).
• Limited breakfast including only a black coffee option (no latte, cappuccino, etc..).
• A Nespresso machine is available at the room and tea bags are also there but there was no kettle. Further, this was the first hotel where they offered complimentary coffee and tea but did not include water (was told to use tap water as it is drinkable).

Overall , was very impressed with the hotel and their hospitality and would recommend the hotel to anyone staying in Southampton.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
carrie13x wrote a review Jan 2020
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom195 contributions32 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We normally stay at the Premier Inn due to location and price. I was excited to see a new hotel had opened and thought we would give it a try.
We were given a welcome drink on arrival...naughty (alcoholic) or nice.
There was an issue with the system upon check in which meant there was a delay in issuing our room key. The staff were very helpful and opened our room to let us in until they could issue the key.
We loved the style and decor of the hotel. There were alot of interesting things to see around the hotel. There was a lovely games area on the ground floor and we played scrabble after returning from a meal.
The location was perfect and we parked in the multistory car park which is only £5 for 24hrs.
We will definitely be returning the next time we stay in Southampton.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joshua B wrote a review Jul 2022
Bromley, United Kingdom24 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed on the way to a cruise from Southampton. The location (right next to the West Quay shopping center, bars and restaurants as well as close to the port) was perfect for our needs. The hotel was kind enough to allow us to check in early after arriving by train. Staff were very friendly and helpful throughout.

Rooms are not large, but there is plenty of space, the bathrooms are quite small but the shower was a deccent size. All rooms were simply appointed, but had tea and coffee making facilities, shower gel etc.

The food and drinks offerd in the bar were suprisingly good, and great value. 3 of us ate flatbreads, wings, nachos and onion rings, with drinks for less than £50.

Breakfast was a great selection, something for everyone from fruit, bread and cheese, pastries and some cooked items, Coffee isn't great but is drinkable.

We would absolutely stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jamjar1234 wrote a review Jan 2020
Pontypridd, United Kingdom124 contributions57 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Loved my stay here at the Moxy hotel the concept and design of the hotel is unique and colorful looking which I loved, the room itself very comfy with some cool innovative quirks I'd only previously seen in Japanese accommodations and the breakfast was wide ranging and delicious, in addition the location is perfect for exploring Southampton.

But the main aspect was how friendly and helpful the staff were especially Christine who is a real credit to the hotel as mentioned in other reviews she's a lovely lady who went out of her way to explain the concept of the hotel and provided a fantastic service.

1000% recommend keep your good work up guys!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cherryplumUk wrote a review Jan 2020
uk220 contributions85 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Do a simple cost/benefit ratio and it will always be positive at most Moxy locations and this is no exception.Good staff attitudes, informal approach to hosting and great beds and shower; breakfast a good continental selection if a jot chaotic restocking seemed to be an issue. As a Bonvoy Gold and I suspect a much older guest I had no problems at all and the bonus of a £5 parking fee made me very happy. We stayed an extra night due to the good location and hopefully shall return. One night was spent in 736 and the other 735 as I found the rear room to be noisy due to building works.If there was one complaint it was the cleanliness of floor around the bar and tables - a simple brush and pan is all that is needed!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
th0mas02 wrote a review May 2022
Ferndown, United Kingdom89 contributions51 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for one night and was very happy. Location was great next to shopping Center and short walk to town Check in was quick and reception staff friendly. Room was clean bathroom with shower only with a few toiletries We had a room on the 5th floor at the back so was nice and quiet Breakfast was very good plenty of choices for everyone including Americans who were cruising. This hotel is ideal for the cruise terminal Checkout quick and easy paid 5£ for overnight parking a bargain Would definitely use this hotel again A couple of small negatives are it is difficult to get a table for breakfast when restaurant is busy they need to fit extra tables in dining area and also you needed to use your room key to operate the lift this was a bit hit and miss Nice stay well done Moxy 😎😎
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: High up and at rear 512
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katie S wrote a review Feb 2020
11 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is definitely trying to be modern, but it’s quirky decor and trendy image cannot hide the fact that this hotel is average at best.

Staff are genuinely very helpful and pleasant, but could do with a lot more training. I had to Google what time we needed to check out and it took three and a half hours and three trips to reception (there’s no in-room telephone) to get two extra pillows.

The rooms are clean and adequately appointed for a short break. However, there are no cupboards or anywhere to store clothes so you’ll be living out of a suitcase. The bed wasn’t the best and neither were the pillows. Also, I tried but failed to master the thermostat. Consequently our room was never quite the right temperature.

I’ve seen some reviews which say that there isn’t tea and coffee in the room; there is. It’s not the best, but we did have a kettle and a couple of sachets of coffee and tea (photo attached). There is free tea and coffee available downstairs in the reception/bar area too.

My biggest criticism of the hotel is the breakfast which is pretty terrible and absolutely not worth £10. Given that Wetherspoons can offer a full English for £4.99, I’d expect to see at least some sausages and bacon, but no. You’ve got a choice of cereal in a tiny bowl or tiny pastries on a tiny plate. There was some yoghurt, cold meat and fruit as well, but they need to fit on your teeny, tiny Borrower sized plate as well. They did have baked beans and rather sad looking plain omelettes (straight out of any NHS hospital’s freezer), but that was it. I genuinely feel robbed. £40 for two days worth of breakfast is horrendously overpriced. I’ve never felt so disappointed by a breakfast before!!!

Overall; staff are great, but need a lot more training, room is functional, breakfast is dire. For the same money, I’d recommend the Premier Inn next door; better beds, better breakfast and their focus is firmly on providing a good customer experience. Moxy’s focus seems to be, I’m sorry to say, style over substance.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charlotte O, General Manager at Moxy Southampton
Responded 24 Feb 2020
Dear 497Katie, Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel and I am sorry that you did not find our team very forthcoming with information, we will certainly work on this and get a lot better! We do offer a substantial continental breakfast but sadly we do not have a full English breakfast offering. I do wish you the best when you next travel to Southampton. Peace, Love & Moxy Charlotte O'Connell Captain
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amanda B wrote a review Jun 2021
Fareham, United Kingdom9 contributions12 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I really wanted to love this hotel, something a little different from the usual. Start with the good the rooms are clean with great tv’s. The rooms are to hot, we got very little sleep for being so uncomfortable with the heat even with air con on and in desperation the window wide open . No kettles in the rooms not even a small bottle of water. No dressing table area,the mirrors are in the bathroom or hallway so not easy to do hair and makeup.There aren’t any hooks to hang used towels. The breakfast is poor value for £12 with one hot drink per breakfast which only had a teaspoon amount of baked beans in a cardboard tray and it was messy getting the beans out all served on tiny plates. The staff are polite but inattentive ie not asking how food was etc and do not offer any information about the hotel.

Go to a travel lodge or premier inn at least your get a kettle and feel that you have had better value for money
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charlotte O'connell, General Manager at Moxy Southampton
Responded 28 Jun 2021
Dear Amandab, Thank you for your review and I am sorry that we did not blow you away on your most recent stay. Our rooms are small and minimalistic and I am sorry that they did not suit your requirements. I am sorry that you were not able to ask us for another room or extra for breakfast as we would have been more than happy to assist you! Due to our covid restrictions our regular buffet is not open but we hope to have this soon. Please feel free to reach out to me directly if you wish to discuss anything further. I wish you a pleasant day! Charlotte O'Connell Captain charlotte.oconnell@hotelco51.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lydi-Marie G wrote a review Aug 2022
Peterborough, United Kingdom58 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is in a great location, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful with our check-in process. The bed was very comfortable and they had a good-sized TV in the room with decent channels too. There was also no noise pollution from the city so our sleep was undisturbed. The aircon was a great addition as my husband and I like to have the room very cold when we go to bed.

The bed was only provided with one pretty flat pillow which let the bed down. A better pillow would have been great. The room itself was pretty small, and there was nowhere to put anything. A chair was placed in the room but was placed right next to one side of the bed so it was just in the way. The breakfast was a bit of a shambles, people were just taking stuff here, there and everywhere without a proper structure. There was also nowhere for us to sit so we had to stand at the bar and eat our breakfast until a table became available. It was a good selection of food though.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mr C wrote a review Jun 2021
Manchester, United Kingdom70 contributions61 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Super comfortable bed, clean, modern, well designed rooms with very friendly staff and would definitely stay again.

We had originally booked the Ibis but after I factored in parking the Moxy was slightly more expensive but definitely the better option. Parking info isn't listed on the Marriott website so I had to phone the hotel the day before arrival to get info - park in the West Quay Multi Storey for £5 per 24 hours.

Only issues were the pillows were too soft and squishy. We didn't realise till we were going to bed so would recommend others check them before it's too late at night so you can get more.

The drinks in the bar aren't the cheapest - £18 for a double gin and tonic and single rum and coke is London prices!

We didn't stay for breakfast as we had an early morning ferry but if I was in Southampton again I'd definitely stay at Moxy again but we would ask for extra pillows and drink elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Mat B
Plymouth, United Kingdom49 contributions11 helpful votes
They were able to order us a taxi, but that was for a very local journey.
Answer from alidalts
22 contributions17 helpful votes
Hi. Yes short taxi ride from station and the bar staff ordered us a taxi the evening before for 12.30 on embarkation day and it arrived promptly. Just a 5 min journey to ship. Moxi has a very laid back relaxed vibe, serves good choice of drinks and bar snacks. There are plenty of restaurants close by if you’re wanting full seat down meal. Hot buffet style breakfast included. We’ll definitely stay again. Hope this helps. Have a good cruise.
Answer from Tanya B
Guildford, United Kingdom30 contributions15 helpful votes
Ubers are really easy to get, very cheap and there are loads in Southampton, you rarely wait more than a couple of minutes. I would recommend an Uber over a cab provided by the hotel.
Kpatton19 asked a question Mar 2023
Florida67 contributions79 helpful votes
Is it walkable from the Moxy to Berth 46?
Maldon, United Kingdom533 contributions7 helpful votes
It is about 0.9 miles to Ocean Cruise terminal from the Moxy and I have seen people doing the walk before. It's definitely walkable, but you must consider whether your luggage is manageable over that distance.
antheabaker wrote a tip Feb 2024
Loughborough, United Kingdom23 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It is a boutique hotel and it has a young vibe but it is suitable for all ages. We are in our 50’s."
Read full review
rachelle g wrote a tip Feb 2024
Ashford, United Kingdom19 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just don’t book"
Read full review
Ms.Yee wrote a tip Feb 2024
Georgia29 contributions9 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking available, mall close by , lots of place to eat , pharmacy too ."
Read full review
Jackie E wrote a tip Jan 2024
Swindon, United Kingdom27 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t come down to breakfast too late as it does get very busy but still didn’t spoil our stay at all"
Read full review
theajw2021 wrote a tip Dec 2023
Tavistock, United Kingdom28 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking available at a reasonable rate just remember to register your vehicle at check in"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Southampton area.
PRICE RANGE
£80 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireSouthampton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
208
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MOXY SOUTHAMPTON - Updated 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison

Frequently Asked Questions about Moxy Southampton
What are some of the property amenities at Moxy Southampton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Moxy Southampton?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, blackout curtains, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at Moxy Southampton?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Moxy Southampton?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
Are pets allowed at Moxy Southampton?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Moxy Southampton accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Southampton HotelsSouthampton Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SouthamptonHotels near Moxy Southampton
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire