We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Southampton

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Southampton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,062 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Southampton
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,029: English reviews
East Yorkshire
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Had one night stay here before Princess Cruise and were very impressed. The lady on the check in desk was so friendly and very informative. Even finding out for us that our ships docking terminal had changed. The room was much more spacious than we had expected with a fantastic floor to ceiling window giving wonderful view of our ship...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank susan b
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We arrived in business at 2130, the reception staff were great. The bar staff looked like they were ready to quit. No smile, huffed an puffed when we asked for food and were very disengaged. You could run a great training course on a terrible customer experience. The reception staff were the complete opposition so there must be a departmental...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Windy2010
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review

Dear scranny, I appreciate that you took the time to leave our property a review. It is pleasing to know that you had a good check-in experienced. However, it is regretful that the ambiance of the rooms and Wifi connection being slow was a disappointment. We take all reviews seriously and we will use your feedback to improve on what...

Cardiff
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed here for a night prior to a P&O cruise. The reception staff were friendly and we were told we had been upgraded to an Executive Double - although you wouldn't know it, the room, which was minimalist/spartan and was fairly small - a light over the bed wasn't working. The hotel is near the docks and beside an...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Clive Y
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review

Dear mhmgfouy, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We truly value your comments, all the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve, as these give...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Good location, close to shops, docks etc. However, very old, very tired hotel. Old furniture in rooms, old fittings, bathroom covered in much silicone in places, holes in tiles badly filled, paintwork chipped/falling off. Breakfast OK. Only stay here if you have no other choice.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank john11670
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review

Dear john11670, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with...

Varazdin, Croatia
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I have choose this hotel because its close to the cruise port terminal, and not to far from the center. Atbthe reception they are very kind and they know to do their job. The check in was fast, Imgot my room in less then 5 minutes. I had a room with window to the port and parking lot of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kristian K
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2014

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AKGonTOUR
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2014

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David A
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review

Midlands
Reviewed 11 August 2014

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank suesMidlands
Reviewed 10 August 2014

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Martha P
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review

Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2014

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Allison P
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review

300 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (224)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
670 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
0.5 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#9 of 24 in Southampton
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Southampton staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Southampton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor at the front.”
 of 5 bubbles normandy08, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a top floor room no trouble at all, no noise at all .”
 of 5 bubbles davidbutler2016, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay Somewhere Else”
 of 5 bubbles Pintofcider, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Think most rooms overlook estuary from either side.”
 of 5 bubbles 258jennyf, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Just ask for info and tell booking person what you require”
 of 5 bubbles 373bevj, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5