We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Town or Country Serviced Accommodation

avatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (61)
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 10 apartments in Southampton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Space, Privacy and Independence – you don’t get that with a hotel. Whether you are coming to the area for business or pleasure, Town or Country's serviced accommodation provides a cost-effective alternative, a real home from home! We provide luxury furnished properties to 3 and 4 star standards.Properties range from compact modern one bed studios to luxurious five bed town houses, penthouse suites and waterside apartments. Whatever your requirements, we will always endeavour to provide the best accommodation in the most convenient location, to suit your needs. Over the last 20 years we have tailored our service to meet our customer’s requests. As a result you will receive the benefits of a weekly maid service, kitchen and laundry services, on-site parking, free broadband and extended TV channels, and a 24-hour reception. Our aim is to make your stay perfect, providing the comfort and convenience of a hotel with the freedom of your own home.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Room features
Additional bathroom
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
70Reviews0Q+A8Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 55
  • 8
  • 0
  • 4
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Choco C wrote a review Oct 2022
6 contributions
I have had a great experience at 23 Canute Road (a flat belongs to a company called Town or Country). The flat itself is super clean which is amazing, the interior is simple, but because everything is white it gives an elegant vibe to the flat.The bed is comfortable and I felt safe during my stay plus I loved the shower gel and shampoos, they smell divine. They provide you with 4 towels, a complimentary tea and instant coffee selection, and a nice biscuit. Fast wi fi which is super important. Great location, easy access to the city center. Cons: You cannot open the windows without being seen, but the good thing is that they have 3 different lights (desk lamp, main lamp, lamp above your bed) so you don’t need natural daylight and the room is not dark anyways. Highly recommended, much better than any franchise budget hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
1992ADW wrote a review Jun 2022
78 contributions65 helpful votes
Would strongly advise to avoid like the plague. We stayed with this company in April we provided our passports for ID two weeks before our stay we received a message saying we look forward to welcoming you. On arrival to the apartment we found no key in the lock box after calling the out of hours line we were told that the property had been sold! We were travelling with our severely disabled child and couldn’t believe this had occurred. We were offered two alternative properties one was totally unsuitable as it was a three story house and the other was a one bedroom flat. Reluctantly we had to accept the one bed flat as we had nowhere else to go. The area the flat was in was lovely however there was three of us and only one bed! My 6’2 husband had to sleep on the sofa which was far too small and uncomfortable the apartment was also dirty! The carpets were absolutely foul stains everywhere and our socks were filthy from walking round on them. After two nights we left early (should’ve stayed 4 nights) and paid a supplement to the airline to change our tickets. The main issue we’ve had though with this company is their absolute refusal to take any kind of responsibility for their actions in the first place allowing bookings to be made in a property that had been sold we also had one booked for august in the same property! We have waited three entire months for some correspondence from them after putting in a complaint and requesting at least a partial refund and they have ignored all phone calls and emails from the third party we booked through which we also have a record of. Absolutely disgusting and incompetent company!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Daryl M wrote a review Feb 2022
St Peter Port, United Kingdom60 contributions34 helpful votes
Stayed here for 10 nights, nice and clean apartment with good hob, oven and fridge, desk. We were comfortable, two great restaurants and a small Tesco directly opposite, nice walks and cafes around the nearby marina. Easy walk to main town centre too. All for a very good price.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
markdriscoll22 wrote a review Jun 2021
Southampton, United Kingdom239 contributions205 helpful votes
Was only informed on the day. Two apartments South Western House. Pretty poor, office in Oxford Street deserted. . Refunded very quickly hence two stars. Had to book Dolphin Hotel instead last minute. Won't use again, looks like staff are still working from home which was useless for us. . Wasted a lot of time.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mihai wrote a review Aug 2020
London, United Kingdom23 contributions21 helpful votes
I booked a 2 bedroom apartment in the Charter House building - Southampton, in August 2020, at a very competitive price, cheaper than a hotel with far less amenities. The apartment had everything we needed ( fully fitted kitchen, two bathrooms, balcony, tv, iron, vacuum, washing machine, wifi, etc) and was very clean. Conveniently close to Red Funnel Ferries (which allowed us a great trip to Isle of Wight) and Ocean Village Marina. The instructions to access the property were a bit confusing, as a recommendation to the owner, I suggest simplifying them by adding a few pictures (picture of the building, entrance and door lock), which will help a lot with the initial confusion. I recommend this service and would book again if I'll find myself in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
LC, Victoria BC Canada wrote a review Mar 2020
213 contributions63 helpful votes
Service and staff are top-notch. I stayed one week in a studio facing Canute Road. It was very clean and had a well-equipped kitchenette, clothes-drying rack, excellent rain-shower, desk with good steno chair, microwave combination oven, TV and great WiFi. Four washing machines are in a structure out back. Grocery shops are a few steps away, Solent Sky Museum is around the corner, and it’s a short walk to the High Street and medieval walls.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Units facing Canute Road may hear road noise.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Globetrotter-Diary wrote a review Sept 2019
Offenbach, Germany17 contributions40 helpful votes
I stayed in Southampton Canute Studios for 6 days. The flat was a nice one room apartment with a kitchen and a separate private bathroom. All seemed very new and recently renovated. Very private place. Washing available on site. Tesco and Co-Op just opposite. The flat is located just next to Ocean Village which is a great location and within walking distance to many restaurants and pubs. Short walk to get into the town center.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Stephen F wrote a review Jun 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
very spacious apartment and clean. stayed here three nights for the cricket world cup and easy ferry links to the isle of wight. secure parking at £15 for three nights. also had a discount card for several of the local restaurants . would stay here again if in the area
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
carriejeffries wrote a review Aug 2018
Norfolk, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
The room was lovely brilliant place to stay if your wanting your own space away from a hotel. The only fault I had with them was they expected you to pay £150 for damage cost when our room was damaged badly before we got there, they should have only held the money not took it out. I’m expecting that money back as we only slept their we wasn’t even in the room during the day. I will inform any one who stays to take photos before you get comfortable. £150 is not cheap for a damaged cost when you was only their for 3 nights, when we left the room and gave the keys back to the reception they hasn’t told us anything about the money back they quite happily took the money from us. Other than that the stay was perfect for what we wanted.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from TOCSACCOMMODATION, Front Office Manager at Town or Country Serviced Accommodation
Responded 10 Aug 2018
Dear Carrie, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am glad that you enjoyed your room and your visit to Southampton. With regards to the damage deposit, I am required to mentioned that this is advised at the time of booking, and also upon your check in. We take a deposit to ensure any further damage to the property or the items inside are covered, and then we refund it upon check out. I am sorry to hear that you found damages upon your arrival, were these reported to the front of house team? As we action such reports as soon as we can, and aim to rectify any issues raised during your stay when possible. I have checked your booking and the £150 was refunded on the 7th of August, and also an email confirming this was sent at 12.50 the same day. I do hope that the money has reached your bank account by now, if not already. With regards to Reception not advising you of this when you returned the keys, I do apologise, and I will relay this feedback to them. We hope to welcome you back in the near future, Kind Regards Hayley Marshall Sales Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Laura A wrote a review Aug 2018
2 contributions
Modern, bright, spacious apartment. Spotlessly clean and nice touches such as tea, coffee, milk and toiletries. Use of private parking was very handy. A great stay and in a great location with plenty to see and do for a family. Including a trip to Peppa Pig World. A great company, would definitely use again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from TOCSACCOMMODATION, Front Office Manager at Town or Country Serviced Accommodation
Responded 10 Aug 2018
Dear Laura, Thank you so much for your kind review, I am really pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. I will ensure all of your feedback will be passed to the relevant apartments. We hope to welcome you back soon, Kind Regards Hayley Marshall Sales Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Southampton area.
PRICE RANGE
£160 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireSouthampton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
75
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TOWN OR COUNTRY SERVICED ACCOMMODATION - Updated 2024 Prices (Southampton)

Frequently Asked Questions about Town or Country Serviced Accommodation
Which popular attractions are close to Town or Country Serviced Accommodation?
Nearby attractions include 1st Base - Batting Cage And Sports Bar (0.3 miles), Solent Sky Museum (0.3 miles), and Tudor House and Garden (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Town or Country Serviced Accommodation?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, self serve laundry, and a washing machine.
Which room amenities are available at Town or Country Serviced Accommodation?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What are some restaurants close to Town or Country Serviced Accommodation?
Conveniently located restaurants include Késarum, Mexifun, and Porters Wine & Charcuterie.
Are any cleaning services offered at Town or Country Serviced Accommodation?
Yes, self serve laundry and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Town or Country Serviced Accommodation?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tudor House and Garden (0.3 miles), Eling Tide Mill Experience (3.7 miles), and Holy Rood Church (0.2 miles).