We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,436 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,367: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
 Click to rate
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Only 1 breakfast included with a double room. Apparently this is something we should have known about booking through booking.com.It has never happened to us before. We did not discover this until part way through breakfast. Nobody pointed this out to us at check-in.breakfast that was available was cold, even the coffee which was served in a used cup with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saladwilliams
Belfast, United Kingdom
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

i read some reviews before i went and was little worried. well these people need to wise up this is one great hotel. when we got there we were a bit early and the girl on the check in checked and said our room was ready and i have to say the room was beautiful and lovely and warm. the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gerard m
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Ed C, Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear gerard m Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel. My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and there is definitely no need for a thank you, all part of our usual service!. We’re very glad to have been a part of your visit for your Birthday....

Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

So lovely reception nice staff room very very tired! Wobbly taps shower that sprays every direction than the one you want. Decor is tired and needs touching up and get the general feeling the rooms are all in need of a big makeover and a fee £££ spending on them.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dennirm
Ed C, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Dennirm, Many Thanks for your recent review. I happy there were some aspects of your stay that you were pleased with such as our helpful staff and welcoming reception area. I am however disappointed to read you weren't completely satisfied with the decor in your bedroom and the wobbly taps & shower. We will certainly get these checked. Kind...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I'm a Southampton resident of many years but my friend isn't so we stayed here for a couple of nights while we did a ghost hunt at the nearby Tudor House Museum followed by a tour of Soton's historic pubs next day. For such an old building it didn't feel tired at all, very nicely refurbished but without spoiling the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markdriscoll22
Ed C, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear markdriscoll2, As we are part of Southampton's Haunted History you chose a great hotel to stay in! I hope we added to your historic few days. I'm pleased that you were able to appreciate our character even after past refurbishments, we're delighted that we still have the feel of an Old Coaching Inn. I am sorry you weren't able...

North Walsham Norfolk UK
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have been staying here for 3 weeks now for work and it has been very good! The food is excellent, and well done Tara in the restaurant for coping with 5 or 6 of us all coming in for dinner at once! Very helpful and always pleasant! The only small gripe is the noise out in the lane very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nxdriver
Ed C, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear nxdriver, I am so glad to read you're enjoying your current stay with us. It is hard to be away from home for work for such long periods so I do hope my team are making your stay as comfortable as possible and its great to hear that Tara has stood out, we will ensure your kind feedback is...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

After eventually finding the car park, our check in was quick and easy. Our room was very nice, spacious and very clean. Lovely modern bathroom and basic toiletries. Breakfast in the morning was in a lovely dining room and was self service. All the food was hot and coffee was brought promptly on request. We had a drink in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helenvc
Ed C, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear helenvc, Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel. We so pleased to read you found your bedroom to spacious and very clean with a modern bathroom. I'm glad you encountered our helpful staff at breakfast and whilst in our Oak Bar. I'm sorry you were unable to adjust the heating in your bedroom,...

Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We always use this hotel when cruising out of Southampton port with location being key. It's only a short distance from the train station AND within walking distance of the cruise terminal. Further, it's also within an easy stroll of pubs and other eateries in the area as well as shops and stores for any emergency provisions. The hotel also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
Ed C, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Steve T, Thank you very much for your lovely review of our hotel. I was pleased to read you made good use of our perfect City Centre location and found yourself to be within easy reach of everything you needed. Our chefs will be delighted to hear they do a "mean" evening meal. We look forward to welcoming you...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Found this hotel very nice and comfortable. Did not eat there just had a few drinks at the bar and found the atmosphere really chilled. Room was good and bed so soft. Would definitely recommend Ideal location to discover Southampton.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank louoliver
Ed C, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear louoliver, Thank you very much for your 5* review of the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel. I was very pleased to read that you have a comfortable stay with us and that you would recommend us. We hope we will see you again soon. Kind Regards, Ed C

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Today I booked to stay at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin - I have used the Mercure hotel chain often and have had a great experience - not so with the reservation staff at Southampton. Using Booking.Com I searched for best deal for September the 14th 2017. A list of options came up regarding room sizes and I booked a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
Ed C, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Sue M, Thank you for posting your feedback onto Trip Advisor. We are sorry to read that after your mix up with an online travel agent that you now feel our in house Reservations Team have been unwilling to help you. It clearly states on the website you made your booking with 'This special discounted rate is non-refundable. If...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

One of the best members of staff I have ever came across nothing was to small always smiling well almost all the time she deserves a bit of recognition credit to the hotel.food was also great and the rooms were clean and very well presented

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karl P
Ed C, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Karl P, Thank you very much for your 5* Review of the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel. I am delighted to hear Tara demonstrated such wonderful customer service, something we pride ourselves on greatly here at The Dolphin. Thank you also for the positive feedback on your meal and bedroom. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel...

359 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (329)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (77)
Viewed
Bathroom (37)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (161)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#18 of 24 in Southampton
1,568 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
604 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
1,049 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#9 of 24 in Southampton
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel is a stunning Grade II listed 4 star hotel located in the heart of Southampton - offering a modern and contemporary feel, while maintaining its traditional appeal. Perfectly located to explore the historic old town and walls, extensive shopping centre within walking distance and the perfect place to stay before and after your cruise with park and cruise packages available.Free Wifi available throughout the hotel.Privilege rooms now available. On site car parking available however there is a charge for this service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Address: 34 - 35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Price Range: £54 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel Southampton
Southampton Dolphin Hotel
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms that overlook the lane can be noisy due to people walking through the lane.”
 of 5 bubbles nxdriver, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you are a blue badge disability holder - refuse to pay the £5 car park charge”
 of 5 bubbles 161janel, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the courtyard facing rooms, don't know about the others”
 of 5 bubbles Daftlad1962, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front can be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles andrewfromhitchin, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Downstairs was quiet although the windows open on to public space so you couldn't have it open in hot weather”
 of 5 bubbles HonitonSaint, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5