We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Booking.comUS$77*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,488 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,416: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

So, room 309 has exactly the same problem as room 307. Surely you know you have no A/C, therefore portable ones are available or simply do not use the rooms when it's warm as guest are subjected to all night noise from bar and strip club across the road....street cleaning at 7am didn't help either.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LadyVandSirT
Prince Rupert
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 28 March 2017

I stayed here for a Seawork conference in South Hampton. The hotel is old and the rooms a little smaller then I'm used to. However Location, Location, Location. Its close to the Seawork Venue and some great pubs and sights. I would stay here again in a instant. Reasonable rates even during a conference like Seawork. I really liked it...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 546berniee
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Ed C, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear 546berniee, Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much last year, the conference is back in a few months - we hope we will see you again then. Kind Regards, Ed C

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Whilst I appreciate that this is a very old hotel our room (305) is dreadful. It is opposite the local strip-joint so very noisy at night time & on a busy corner so the traffic noise is very bad especially first thing in the morning. The ear plugs provided do little. The bed is very very soft & uncomfortable. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neil K
Hove
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Got married, had afternoon tea reception, and evening dancing and buffet, everything went very well, food yummy, staff lovely and helpful, all guests enjoyed their stay. Recommended by us! No request was too much staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bina737
Ed C, Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear bina737 Thank you so much for the fantastic review of the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel. I am delighted that you had a wonderful day, I have made my entire team aware of your feedback, and they are all genuinely touched by your comments. Wishing you all the very best for the future, and thank you for the recommendation,...

Paris, France
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is definitly NOT up to the standards of the Groupe Accor. The rooms are dirty. Not talking about the urgent need to be refurbished. Just dirt. Have the room been cleaned before we arrived ? Not acceptable at all. Never again. Terrible experience

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sziolo
Ed C, Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear sziolo Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. I’m so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience saying with us at the Mercure Dolphin Hotel in Southampton. I appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously. I would like to assure you that we do clean every bedroom...

Napa, California
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Dolphin was started in the 1500's, Jane Austen had her birthday there in 1795. We were on the second floor, and the hall floor creaked, but the room was clean, and the bath had been updated. Reviews mention the old windows, by law they can't change them. Only repair. There's a window in the hall where the wall is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CAwinediva
Ed C, Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear CAwinediva Thank you so much for your positive feedback following your recent stay at the Mercure Dolphin Hotel, Southampton. I am so pleased that you were able to experience at first-hand the historical importance of the building and you are indeed correct that as a consequence we are limited in what we can replace within the building. I do...

Llandudno, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a overnight stop prior to a cruise.Many other guests had also done this. What a contrast !! The hotel was in need of complete refurbishment,apparently it is a very ancient building and it looked as if hadn't been painted since it was built. Our room was pokey ,but clean. The public areas however need a good vacuuming,generally they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 454David
Ed C, Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear 454David Thank you for leaving your thoughts of the hotel following your recent visit to Southampton. The hotel building is indeed over 500 years old and we have to be considerate of that when making improvements to the building. We had all of the public areas and corridors painted around 6 months ago, however the colour of the walls...

Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is in a very good location, apart fron the very noisey club and pub across the road which kepted us awake a lot of the night. Very disapointed to have to pay for breakfast and for parking on there site after paying which I felt was quite enough for one nights stay. Staff were very helpful and friendly, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin J
Ed C, Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Kevin J Thank you for your review of the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel. I apologise that you were disturbed by the sounds of the City, we do everything possible to minimise any external disruption to our guests due to our central location. I am, however, pleased to read that you found my team to be friendly and helpful...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had booked the hotel for 2 night stays. The room was facing the front road with lot of noise. It had inadequate lighting and no phone line. On the morning of the checkout I had severely ill with abdominal pain. I went down for breakfast wearing a loose pyjama which was easy on my tummy. I was refused entry...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashu700
Ed C, Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Ashu700 Thank you for your review of the Mercure Dolphin Hotel, Southampton I was very disappointed to read your comments regarding your experience, and that the hotel did not meet your expectations. I can assure you that this is not reflective of our usual service standards and I have personally investigated your feedback with my team. None of my...

hereford
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Perfect location for a family birthday. The hotel is housed in a very old but lovely building and as such lacks the comforts of a modern building such as air-con and double glazing. A little noisy but we were in a busy city so shouldn't complain. Staff were lovely and the G & T on arrival was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank temerity
Ed C, Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear temerity Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback about the Mercure Dolphin Hotel, Southampton, I am delighted to read that you found us the perfect place for a family birthday. My team and I are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back as soon as possible for the...

366 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (336)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (77)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (167)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,695 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
1,640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
776 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
1,106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 24 in Southampton
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel is a stunning Grade II listed 4 star hotel located in the heart of Southampton - offering a modern and contemporary feel, while maintaining its traditional appeal. Perfectly located to explore the historic old town and walls, extensive shopping centre within walking distance and the perfect place to stay before and after your cruise with park and cruise packages available.Free Wifi available throughout the hotel.Privilege rooms now available. On site car parking available however there is a charge for this service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Address: The Dolphin 34-35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Price Range: £61 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel Southampton
Southampton Dolphin Hotel
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rear rooms quieter”
bina737, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“Refuse to get room #201”
  • Room 201 - inside the bathroom
sziolo, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Can't think of one”
454David, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Noisy with laundry being put outside room”
beckyreed7, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Don't choose a room that is situated outside of the main building - noisy.”
LailaC1, 4 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$77* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$153
MercureUS$77
Hotels.comUS$78
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates