Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Premier Inn Southampton City Centre hotel

Traveller (176)
Premier Inn bedroom
Room & Suite (79)
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre hotel
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

£56
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#14 of 30 hotels in Southampton
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Premier Inn Hotel Southampton City Centre puts you right at the heart of the city. From one of Europe's biggest shopping centres, to some magical entertainment for the little ones, there's lots to see and do on your doorstep. Whether you're spending quality time with the family, or you're travelling on business, we'll make sure you enjoy your stay. The fun comes in all shapes and sizes in Southampton. Live it large at West Quay shopping centre, with over 100 stylish shops to enjoy. Enjoy a taste of the Middle Ages, with the medieval defensive walls and the Old Town. Or take a little stroll down the QE2 Mile, a pedestrian route that runs through the heart of the city and links the parks, shops and waterfront. Scrumptious food awaits you at our restaurant, and a sumptuous bed in your room.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Parking
Wifi
Paid internet
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
2,506Reviews60Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,085
  • 760
  • 306
  • 171
  • 184
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Sussan-108 wrote a review Feb 2024
Liverpool, United Kingdom77 contributions74 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Have stayed at this Premier Inn a number of times prior to going on a cruise from Southampton. Value for money, clean comfortable beds and great customer service.

We arrived today (29th February 2024) and were greeted by the lovely Sara who checked us in. We witnessed Sara providing everyone arriving, with the same warm, friendly, courteous, welcoming manner… readily answering numerous questions and queries. Also ensuring restaurant reservations were booked, and everyone knew the procedure for paying car park fees etc etc etc. This warm welcome gave us a positive start to our hotel stay.

Sara is a true asset to this hotel and a fantastic ambassador for Premier Inn UK.

This hotel is great value for money and it’s meal deal offer of 2 course dinner and breakfast is great value for money. Rooms are not luxurious but they are clean and contain the usual Premier Inn hotel facilities and amenities

We had pre-paid our neal deal at time of booking. Welcomed to the restaurant on 4th floor by waitress Shirley (another great ambassador for Premier Inn UK) Shirley was our waitress on previous visits here. She quickly took us to our table and explained our options for the meal deal dinner. Throughout our meal Shirley was continually ensuring dinner guests food orders were taken, drinks ordered, food served and everything was ok. We ordered tomato soup and chicken coujons for starters and fish (haddock) with fries and garden peas for mains. All were delicious 👍 We were too full for any desserts. Tea is served in a cup, or teapot if you request a pot of tea.

There is a bar area alongside the restaurant but we didn’t use it this visit.

This hotel is an excellent hotel in the (budget hotel category) but from our experience today… has a 5* customer service from its staff, especially from receptionist Sara and waitress Shirley.

We have booked another stay at this hotel for 20th June 2024 and are hoping we are fortunate that Sara and Shirley are working at the hotel that day 🤞🤞🤞🤞
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Front facing rooms are quieter Restaurant is on 5th floor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claire S wrote a review Sept 2020
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom14 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
If you stay for more than one night you have to request a room clean before 10 am or it won’t get cleaned

Only one sachet of tea and coffee per person. If you want more you have to call reception then go and collect. Same for pillows and towels.

Location is on a busy road and therefore noisy and I would say it was average on cleanliness levels.

Beware the toilet paper is like sandpaper!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wings149 wrote a review Aug 2022
London52 contributions42 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this hotel as it was my sons 18th birthday and had booked an experience close by.
The location was perfect and if you’re lucky enough to park at the hotel car park, then most things are walking distance which provides a relief.
The hotel itself was well maintained, looked smart and everywhere was spotlessly clean.
The common areas were always clean and fresh smelling, and all staff I interacted with were friendly and happy to help.
The room was a nice size and spotlessly clean. A large tv on the wall and the beds were super comfortable. I have to say the shower was perfect too.
We stayed on a warm day with outside temperatures getting to 28 degrees. I don’t mind the heat but the room was sweltering. The windows only open a little due to regulations and there is no air conditioning. I showered and within 20 mins was hot and sweaty again. Consequently, didn’t sleep well. There was a desk top fan in the room but this provides little relief and could barely be felt. It also just blew around hot air as you’d expect. This wasn’t the staff members fault and if it wasn’t for this I would have felt my stay was perfect.
In the car park, I did see a fair few rats running around after dark but this is a problem in Southampton rather than the hotel itself, so don’t be alarmed.
The breakfast was OK. We had the full breakfast and there was choice but not as much as other places we’ve stayed. There was plenty and we didn’t go hungry. Staff were again, amazing.
Great location, clean, friendly and rooms a great size it was just the hot temperature at night that caused us problems.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Askey wrote a review Aug 2020
East Grinstead, United Kingdom190 contributions129 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We appreciate the Covid difficulties however
On arrival we found that there was nowhere to park the car and ended up being given directions to a public car park, we had to walk through a subway which was dirty, intemidating with homeless people taking shelter.
The receptionist's were very unhelpful we ordered breakfast when booked only to be told we hadnt booked a time and the y only offered 7am or a refund.
The restaurant was closed and was given a takeaway menu which was very limited.
We found out that the rooms are not cleaned unless you request it, so upon return from a day out we found all our wet towels still in the bath "very unplesent"
This is not service i have recieved from other Premier Inn's i have experienced.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Go to another Hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RyanR462 wrote a review Jan 2020
Belfast, United Kingdom14 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here with my wife in November. They had cancelled our original booking, and assuring us we would be automatically refunded we had to pay at reception for a new booking. Still waiting for our refund two months later. Have tried calling Premier Inn Southampton City Centre’s reception desk no fewer now than an appalling 18 times in two weeks and there is never ever an answer. Messaged Premier Inn on Facebook and no reply to that either. So as it stands I paid double the cost of a one night stay and will need to go through the bank to try and get any money back. Abysmal.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from WhitbreadHotels, Guest Relations at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre hotel
Responded 6 Feb 2020
Good afternoon Ryan, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We're so sorry to hear that you are still awaiting your refund. If you could please contact our guest relations directly through the contact us page on our website and they will be able to take a look into this for you. Please accept our sincere apologies and we do hope that this hasn't deterred you from booking with us in the future. Kind regards, James
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Simon C wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked for 23 September and called to cancel on 20th September as we live in Manchester which was going into tier 3 lockdown. We were told that we could not cancel as we had booked under non cancellable terms and refused to provide a refund. I asked if they would therefore be happy for us to attend the hotel despite coming from a tier 3 lockdown area to which they replied yes. Clearly we would not do this as it would be against the law. Im shocked having spent thousands of pounds at premier inn over the last 20+ years that they are absolutely happy to end that relation ship with an otherwise happy customer for the price of £29
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre hotel
Responded 18 Nov 2020
Hello there, thanks for taking the time to share your review. Whilst we're happy to hear you booked to stay with us, we're sorry we couldn't welcome you on this occasion. We understand these are very uncertain times and we'd encourage considering this when reserving a room as we offer a range of rate's with more flexibility. Sadly we can only offer a cancellation/refund when the hotel is closed and we're not able to accommodate you. It sounds like you had in Standard rate and in this case, you're not restricted to the date and you would've had until 1pm on the day of arrival to amend to a later date. You can amend up to a year in advance and as long as you stay within 18 month's of the original arrival date, you can amend as many times as you need. We're if we couldn't offer the outcome you were hoping for but we hope to have the chance to welcome you another time. Ricky
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dr C wrote a review Feb 2020
28 contributions43 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I am a regular guest at this Premier Inn and on 15 May 2019 I supplied Premier Inn with full details of the extremely unsatisfactory experience I had with "Sam", who seriously lacks the appropriate level of respect for guests. When I arrived for my stay during the evening of 12 February he ("Samuel" was the staff member on duty. His attitude has not improved. He did not look up, smile or greet me. He simply continued to look at his screen and uttered the words "Name?".

Does Premier Inn really believe this is the way you want your guests to experience your hospitality?

Note that I received no feedback from my comments following my stay on 15 May 2019.

The rest of the staff here are helpful and courteous. Staff in the restaurant and bar are especially good, and a tribute to the hotel. The hotel itself is well-located and most of the rooms I have stayed in have been quiet.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Patinessex wrote a review Mar 2022
London, United Kingdom17 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 1 night at February half term before spending a few days on the Isle of Wight We occupied 4 rooms and at £35 per room it was terrific value. The rooms are well sized, clean and comfortable with even hand soap and shower gel supplied as well as the usual amenities. I' d love to know why though, the bed was so high in room 203 that at 5 ft 3 in I had to use the desk chair to assist me in getting on and off the bed!
This Premier Inn has an onsite bar and restaurant and at breakfast (only meal we had in) we were served promptly by friendly and helpful staff.
The only downside is the cost of parking, a change since we visited some 11 years ago. The car park is now managed by a private company and was £10 per car for an overnight stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MattHansonAbbott wrote a review Aug 2020
Loughborough, United Kingdom37 contributions16 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for four nights on a stay cation. The location if you drive is good because it is possible with a short drive to get to New forest, Bournemouth, Portsmouth, Peppa pig world and various other sights. It is also a typically reliable quality and standard as with most premier inn. The hotel is comfortable and has the usual on sight breakfast facilities. However on the negative side... Parking is very limited as advertised and it literally was a fight for a space. If you don't park early enough you will not get a space and so we had to walk everywhere in the evening or lose our space. One night there were about 10 cars illegal parking and blocking people in which were asked to move. The location is next to a park and short walk from some shops. It is a little further from the marina or anywhere else. During our stay covid was a factor so the hotel had put measures in place. They didn't always enforce them though and guests often walked around near breakfast without masks omand ignoring social distancing. We had to clean our own room as the hotel were not doing so for safety.

Back to a positive to finish.. The staff were helpful and would run up and down several floors getting spare pillows, towels, coffee and other things people needed as the cleaners werent in replacing it all the time. One poor man looked like he was on a break and trying to eat dinner when he kept being interrupted to help guests.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tessa A wrote a review Jul 2021
11 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I wasn’t expecting much from this last minute booking but I always use Premier Inn because they’re consistent. This is the first time I’ve been disappointed by them.

The hotel is in a decidedly dodgy looking area and appears quite rundown to look at. There is no where near enough parking and it’s classed as off site and chargeable despite being located on the property.

The rooms themselves were as expected, nothing fancy but they do the job. But we didn’t realise that the hotel was literally right next to a train track. The trains going by were not only noisy but make the building vibrate. There is also noisy heavy traffic and despite it being a week night you could hear drunk people walking by and someone was letting off fireworks until 10:30 which sounded like they were right outside. Internally soundproofing was also non-existent. People were walking around, slamming doors and talking loudly in the corridors late into the night.

The restaurant which is on the 5th floor is extremely worn down. Dirty walls, broken decor and features like lamps falling apart. The food itself was warm and the staff were pleasant, but the restaurant was extremely understaffed and the staff there were seemed to spend half their time going back to tables to tell they they were out of the tings they had ordered.

In the rooms we had one pillow each, no spares as are usually available. Not a big deal but I have a hard time sleeping with one pillow and woke with pain in my neck. Also when I went to close the curtains I found they were torn and dirty.

All in all I would avoid this hotel in future. It was not a pleasant experience. I was kept up most of the night by the noise and I worried about the safety of my car overnight due to the location.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom G asked a question Jul 2021
London, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi, could I ask whether the hotel has a speedy check-in kisosk? Many thanks, Tom
hayleyandoniou asked a question Jul 2021
Bristol, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
Hi will you be playing England football match on Saturday? (3rd July 2021)
Answer from Mouse114
Reading, United Kingdom69 contributions38 helpful votes
Only in your room, or nearby pub
Billie S asked a question Apr 2021
London, United Kingdom5 contributions
Is there disabled parking parking available?
Answer from Mouse114
Reading, United Kingdom69 contributions38 helpful votes
Yes
Harry P asked a question Sept 2020
Where is the best place to park
Answer from KathyE
Lisburn, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
We parked onsite for £5 per 24hrs the car park is small but we had no problem parking during our 2 night stay! May get busier at weekends though
Dee B asked a question Sept 2019
London, United Kingdom8 contributions8 helpful votes
How far is west quay shopping centre?
Answer from KathyE
Lisburn, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
About 10-15 minutes walk
PETER C wrote a tip 20 Apr
Weymouth, United Kingdom56 contributions47 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room away from the railway side. "
Read full review
Katelyn M wrote a tip 14 Apr
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"They have vending machines "
Read full review
NorthStar44376989046 wrote a tip 13 Apr
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try getting a room Round back of hotel might be quieter no free parking for disabled "
Read full review
Sussan-108 wrote a tip Feb 2024
Liverpool, United Kingdom77 contributions74 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Front facing rooms are quieter Restaurant is on 5th floor"
Read full review
Rachelle S wrote a tip Feb 2024
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay elsewhere "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Southampton area.
PRICE RANGE
£36 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
premier inn southampton city centre hotel southampton
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireSouthampton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
172
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PREMIER INN SOUTHAMPTON CITY CENTRE HOTEL - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Premier Inn Southampton City Centre hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Premier Inn Southampton City Centre hotel?
Nearby attractions include Titanic Engineer Officers Memorial (0.2 miles), Yates Southampton (0.3 miles), and Fredericks Chocolates (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free internet access.
Which room amenities are available at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Premier Inn Southampton City Centre hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Slug & Lettuce Southampton, Turtle Bay Southampton, and La Tavernetta.
Are there any historical sites close to Premier Inn Southampton City Centre hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tudor House and Garden (0.6 miles), Eling Tide Mill Experience (3.7 miles), and Holy Rood Church (0.6 miles).
Is Premier Inn Southampton City Centre hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Southampton HotelsSouthampton Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SouthamptonHotels near Premier Inn Southampton City Centre hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire