We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The White Star Tavern, Southampton

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (215)
Room & Suite (79)
Dining (61)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 6 small hotels in Southampton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
An award-winning hotel, bar and restaurant close to the river on vibrant Oxford Street. Our Beautiful Bedrooms make a wonderful base from which to explore our exciting city.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Business
Languages Spoken
English
749Reviews11Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 430
  • 186
  • 79
  • 37
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
lisa s wrote a review 2 Apr
Loughborough, United Kingdom31 contributions27 helpful votes
+1
My husband and I were originally booked into another hotel for the night and happened to pop into the white star tavern for a drink, we fell in love with the history, atmosphere and ambience and with the help of the lovely manager booked in and cancelled our original hotel. Best decision ever!!! The room we were given was gorgeous, decorated in keeping with the properties history, most comfortable bed, powerful shower and lots of little extras that you do not get in a lot of chain hotels. Multiple USB ports, really good quality, tea, coffee, bags and pods and delicious biscuits. Real milk in the fridge, water and a beer, all complimentary!!!! We also loved that the TV had lots of Apps that you can sign into eg Netflix, Disney so after a long day you can relax with a film. We had one meal and breakfast at the hotel and both were delicious and large portions, they also catered for my gluten intolerance, which was fantastic. The staff were beyond helpful and friendly and appear very proud of their pub and hotel. Hope to return and would recommend to anyone who is visiting Southampton.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from White Star Southampton, General Manager at The White Star Tavern, Southampton
Responded 2 weeks ago
hi Lisa! it was a pleasure having you to stay I'm so glad you changed your mind and stayed with us I knew you would have a much better time! it's more fun on oxford street. now you know exactly where to come and stay next time I'll save your room for you, thankyou so much for writing this so that others can see it too. see you again very soon we hope, Bridget and the whole team xx
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
tcarterhall wrote a review Mar 2024
Waterlooville, United Kingdom18 contributions16 helpful votes
We just spent a night at this hotel. We were going to a gig at the 1865 club, which was literally 300 metres away. Our room, number 14, was great. Very Clean. Large bed. Great shower. We also had food in the evening whilst having a few drinks. Great atmosphere. Really friendly and busy pub, set in a mews with other bars and restaurants. A real gem. Breakfast was excellent. We all commented on the great service. Very reasonably priced.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Rooms on top floor are largest. Room 14 and 15 are the best.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Glenda S wrote a review Mar 2024
Key West, Florida9 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
Our group arrived in Southampton after a transatlantic crossing and decided to stay a few days in the city. The first day, March 25, we were out walking around and found this really cute pub. Upon entering the ladies, Mina and Bridget, made us feel so welcome and let us sit and have a beer until it was time for lunch. We loved the food and the hospitality, we can’t wait to go back! So we did the next day for lunch too, it was that good. I’d recommend this wonderful spot to everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from White Star Southampton, General Manager at The White Star Tavern, Southampton
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello, wow what a lovely review, thank you very much! We really appreciate your comments about Bridget and Mina, all of our staff pride themselves on their friendliness and service so we are so glad that they made you feel very welcome. Thank you for the comments abut food too, I will let the chefs know too as they really appreciate it. We all loved looking after you and can't wait to have you back! Becca and The White Star Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
GMLovelie wrote a review Mar 2024
Southampton, United Kingdom7 contributions4 helpful votes
We booked a birthday meal with our family of 12 for 8.15pm. As soon as we sat down we were told to hurry choosing, as the kitchen closed at 9pm so we did feel rather rushed. The waiters and waitress staff were really pleasant though and food was very good. We ordered more drinks after the meal, but were told by a very intimidating member of staff to drink up as they were closing. This was just after 11pm. On your website it does in fact say the White Star is open until midnight, so we were rather shocked to be rushed like this. While we were finishing our drinks, this particular staff member just stood (with his coat already on) just staring at us with an angry look on his face impatiently waiting for us to leave. We did actually choose The White Star for our night out specifically because the website said it was open until midnight, and decided to book here instead of other restaurants we were considering as they closed earlier. It was really disappointing to end the evening like this. He was very rude and obviously was in a rush to get home early!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from White Star Southampton, General Manager at The White Star Tavern, Southampton
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello, we strongly apologise for your experience last Saturday night and it is a huge shame that you felt like your night was ruined. Unfortunately, as you sat down at 8:45pm we did have to rush your table. Our kitchen closes at 9pm and our chefs work very long hours, therefore, we always advise that you get here on time for such a large table to ensure you have the best experience without feeling rushed. Thank you for the comments about our waiters and waitresses and the food as we do really appreciate this. I am unsure of why we closed at 11pm, as yes we do usually stay open until 12am on Saturday. I will investigate further into this and ensure it does not happen again. The member of staff in question was a contracted security guard, who is not aware of our views on customer service , and as you saw all of our team members are really friendly and we pride ourselves in this. Therefore, this will be addressed with our security guards as we do not want our customers feeling intimidated. Once again, I do apologise for your experience and we would love to have you give us another chance ( next time until at least 12am!) Becca and The White Star Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Northender63 wrote a review Mar 2024
Mornington, Australia10 contributions7 helpful votes
Fantastic place to stay and eat. Booked direct and the pre-arrival communication was very good. I needed a letter sending direct to the hotel and they emailed me to let me know it’d arrived. I requested a room on first floor and was allocated room 1. Very spacious, clean and perfect. Daily cleaning also immaculate. Breakfast very good and staff so friendly. Had dinner one night and although the choice wasn’t extensive the meal was first class. I imagine it could be busy in the surrounding area at weekends I heard no noise. Really good to have a change from a major brand hotel. Definitely first choice if I come back to Southampton.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Helen wrote a review Mar 2024
Southampton, United Kingdom87 contributions53 helpful votes
Better than average set lunch for a networking event - beautifully cooked chicken in a tasty sauce - all served to time, piping hot and efficiently. Restaurants can be surprising bad at serving up a set lunch for 30 people or so but the organisation here was very good. Would definitely attend networking events here again! There is also a very relaxing and spacious bar area for meeting / chatting for the sit down meal. This has been a dependable favourite for many years.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
James S wrote a review Feb 2024
Kansas City, Missouri13 contributions6 helpful votes
I stayed at the White Star Tavern (also a hotel) in February 2024 prior to a transatlantic cruise. I was looking for a place close to the cruise port and something other than a chain hotel for a few days. The price at the White Star was very reasonable and came with many extras, like breakfast. Usually at a chain hotel this means a sad buffet of cereal, toast, cups of yogurt, etc.. At the the White Star, you order off of the menu in their restaurant and your breakfast is custom made and comes with the room every day. After returning, I can say it was better than any breakfast I had aboard my cruise. The rooms are a little small by American standards, but are extremely well thought out and have multiple USB ports for your devices. The bed was comfortable and the room was equipped with room darkening shades, which was important if you're trying to readjust from jet lag. My stay at the White Star was almost perfect and the only negative aspect somehow only adds to the charm of the place. If you have mobility problems, this place probably isn't for you as there is no elevator/lift. The stairs are somewhat narrow and steep and I appreciated a young man named Reese who quite unexpectedly took my bag up 4 floors. They will store your large luggage bags for you and I suggest for a 1 or 2 night stay just packing a smaller one for this purpose. When I return to Southampton I will definitely stay at the White Star again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Pack a small bag for a short stay as there is no elevator/lift.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from White Star Southampton, General Manager at The White Star Tavern, Southampton
Responded 2 Mar 2024
hi James what a wonderful review to read thankyou so much for writing it. it was an absolute pleasure having you here to stay and it makes us very happy when our lovely guests enjoy it as much as we do! hope to see you next time you're on a cruise from southampton you know where to stay now, bridget and the whole team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bar3buddha wrote a review Feb 2024
Burnham-on-Crouch, United Kingdom45 contributions13 helpful votes
Well - I can't recommend this hotel high enough. A last minute booking and firm the warm and friendly meet at reception to a lovely room. I ate in the restaurant and so glad I did - the rib eye was cooked to perfection and the chili brocoli side was a lovely addition. Breakfast was equally as impressive and the friendliness of the staff really sets this place apart from others It's got a lively buzz about it which i teally liked and couldn't hear any noise from the bar to room Highly recommended and definitely will be back Trust me you won't be disappointed
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Try the restaurant- really good and the staff so cheery and helpful Amazing
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from White Star Southampton, General Manager at The White Star Tavern, Southampton
Responded 2 Mar 2024
hey! thankyou so much this one escaped my personal attention ha ha sorry! it was lovely looking after you you're welcome back anytime I remember who you are as I checked you in come back and say hi, bridget and the whole team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Carol g G wrote a review Jan 2024
7 contributions
We stayed a couple nights after our cruise and we’re so glad we chose this hotel! It’s a beautiful, well maintained old building in a perfect location for walking around Southampton.Also, there are many restaurants and shops close by. The restaurant and tavern at the hotel have excellent, friendly and professional staff., and great food and drinks. The owner is always there if you need anything. Highly recommended!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from White Star Southampton, General Manager at The White Star Tavern, Southampton
Responded 27 Jan 2024
hi carol thankyou so much it was a pleasure looking after you! thankyou for taking the time to write about us it helps us so much to spread the word. hope to see you next time you're in town, bridget and the whole team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
BigAlbyC wrote a review Jan 2024
London, United Kingdom56 contributions13 helpful votes
+1
Stayed here as had our office Xmas party reasonably near. Room is upstairs above the pub. Staff nice and friendly and room very clean. Bathroom again, clean. Great coffee maker and facilities. My only gripe is that the milk was off! It was only when I tasted it then I realised it was out of date. That wasn’t pleasant. No phone in room so called their number from my mobile. They were very apologetic and brought up a fresh pint of milk to put in the ‘slightly flooded’ fridge. They also brought up a fresh cappuccino which was a nice touch. Unfortunately this will probably stop me from staying here again. Which is a shame.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from White Star Southampton, General Manager at The White Star Tavern, Southampton
Responded 27 Jan 2024
hi bigalby! don't let it stop you from staying again you loved it it was a genuine mistake and one that will not happen again believe me. we are all allowed to make mistakes sometimes and that was it, no more i promise! it was lovely having you here come back and see us! bridget and the whole team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Southampton area.
PRICE RANGE
£76 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
white star tavern hotel southampton
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireSouthampton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE WHITE STAR TAVERN, SOUTHAMPTON - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about The White Star Tavern, Southampton
Which popular attractions are close to The White Star Tavern, Southampton?
Nearby attractions include Solent Sky Museum (0.2 miles), Southampton Town Walls (0.2 miles), and High Score Arcades Southampton (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The White Star Tavern, Southampton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The White Star Tavern, Southampton?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The White Star Tavern, Southampton?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The White Star Tavern, Southampton?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The White Star Tavern, Southampton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Porters Wine & Charcuterie, Porters Steakhouse, and Bacaro.
Are there any historical sites close to The White Star Tavern, Southampton?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tudor House and Garden (0.4 miles), Eling Tide Mill Experience (3.8 miles), and Holy Rood Church (0.3 miles).