We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Lainston House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lainston House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

994 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 976: English reviews
Start your review of Lainston House Hotel
 Click to rate
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Loved this place, went there with my husband, stayed in one of the cosy rooms which was lovely, it was well decorated and very clean, we had dinner in the restaurant which was fabulous. All the staff were brilliant the perfect balance between professional and friendly, would definitely stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
GW_Lainston, Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your amazing review of Lainston House. The team are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed their friendly and professional approach and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, James Webb Operations Manager.

Gosport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here for a romantic night and it certainly fitted the bill. The room was spacious, comfortable and well stocked. The shower and bathroom was huge. We had the taster menu, one normal and one vegetarian. The food was fabulous. The staff were professional, attentive but not intrusive. The breakfast was tasty and had lots of variety. The grounds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alyson S
GW_Lainston, Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Lainston House for your romantic getaway. It's a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed the tasting menus as well as how professional and attentive you found the team. I will share your glowing review with the rest of the team and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, James Webb Operations Manager.

West Malling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel,great food very attentive staff. We may not have chosen expensive room but we were a little disappointed. As we have visited their sister hotel South Lodge on many occasions & have always had amazing rooms for a similar price we wrongly assumed Lainston House would be similar.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julieQ8695II
GW_Lainston, Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review of Lainston House. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed both the food and the attentiveness of the team, however I am disappointed that the room you stayed in did not exceed your expectations and kindly ask that you contact me directly when making your next reservation so that I can personally allocate...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed at Lainston House for a romantic break - the house and grounds are stunning, the room we had was great (best shower ever) but the whole stay was let down by things that a hotel of this level should get right and by their restaurant/service levels. I would not bother with the restaurant at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AdrianJM
GW_Lainston, Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to read how much you enjoyed staying in our Juniper room but also sorry to read that there were aspects of your stay that lacked attention to detail and that the food was not to your liking. I shall be discussing your feedback with the relevant Heads...

cheshire
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I recently enjoyed a four night stay at Lainston House and had the most delightful time. We had booked the Delft Suite which is more of a very large room than a suite but has the most glorious view over the avenue of lime trees. It was very well equipped with excellent wifi reception. The bathroom was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank slj60
GW_Lainston, Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review of your enchanting stay at Lainston House. I must agree that the views are spectacular as you look out of the windows from the Delft Suite overlooking the avenue of lime trees. It’s a real pleasure to read that the team helped make your stay special by delivering exceptional service and I look forward...

Sutton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to Lainston House for a night away to celebrate Valentine's Day and a birthday. I don't think our experience could have been any better. Lainston House is set high on a hill, approached by a beautiful winding drive and the views from the hotel, in particular the vista from the back aspect to the road, are marvellous. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank belmonttraveller2015
GW_Lainston, Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed review of Lainston House and our Wolvesey Suite. I am pleased to read how much you enjoyed your romantic getaway and that your experience could not have been any better. I will share your wonderful review with all of the team here at Lainston House, especially Olly for his terrific food. We look forward to...

Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A grand country house with superlative staff. Top service without being in your face, nothing too much trouble. Rooms are - country house ish! Stayed in main house so room was large and lofty, warm and cosy too. Dinner was excellent courses look small to start with, but so rich and tasty, you wont leave the table hungry. Nice selection...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josephine R
GW_Lainston, Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of our Grand Country House Hotel. The team will be thrilled to read that you found them to be superlative, providing top service. I will share your kind review with all of the team here at Lainston House and hope to welcome you back during sunnier times. Kind regards, James Webb Operations Manager.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went there yesterday with my daughter and son in law for tea! How on earth they got a five star rating I really don't understand,the only five star about it was the price! Very indifferent food had to find someone to top up teapots, Nobody to welcome us nobody to see us off and toilets disgusting smelt no toilet...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jacqueline S
GW_Lainston, Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Naturally, I was concerned to hear your findings within the hotel as we strive to offer an exceptional product for each of our guests. Your feedback is currently being investigated with the departments in question, once I conclude my findings I will certainly review our practices so that we avoid...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived at Lainston House Hotel and were delighted for the conciege to park our car as it was raining and we had a tedious journey on a Friday afternoon. This hotel is wonderful! We loved the fact after a neat and speedy checking in in front of a huge inglenook fireplace Our room was well equipped and presented with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sallythomson
GW_Lainston, Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your complimentary review of Lainston House whilst attending such a special occasion. It gives me great pleasure to read how all of the departments delivered such a high standard of both hospitality and food and see that you have given a special mention to several of our team members including Erik our Owl. Thank you for your...

England
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for a couple of nights recently. The room was lovely, really didn't feel like you were in a hotel at all. The bathroom, again felt "unique". The staff were all very helpful and friendly and the location is idyllic. On the downside, I think the food is over priced really. Oh, and our room was a long walk to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StayAwayEr
lexie10121 , Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Lainston House. I am pleased to read how helpful and friendly you found the team and I will share your complimentary review with them all. Your constructive feedback has also been noted and I will continue to monitor these areas. We all look forward to welcoming you back again...

398 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (334)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (100)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (138)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
2.4 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,622 reviews
2.7 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.9 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
586 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
937 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Drive through the gates of Lainston House, up the winding drive, you will enter a world where historic charm and contemporary elegance blend seamlessly. This charming 17th-century country house is a luxurious five star hotel, encapsulated in 63 acres of Hampshire parkland. A peaceful drawing room, sumptuous individually designed bedrooms and food created with passion (awarded 3 AA rosettes). The Cedar Bar is the place to relax for a cocktail and the outdoor terrace is even more so for sipping a glass of Champagne or a chilled glass of wine over a light lunch in Summer months. Don't forget to book for Afternoon Tea, a day in the on-site Cookery School or a spot of Falconry, located at the back of our stunning kitchen garden. This is a classic Country House where you can put the world behind you whether it be for a creative meeting, a relaxing leisure stay or a family celebration. Minutes away from the historic city of Winchester and only a short drive from Salisbury, Stonehenge and the New Forest. Visit Jane Austin country, Highclere Castle (home of Downton Abbey), Bombay Sapphire Distillery or a local Vineyard such as Hattingley Valley. The famous River Test is close by for perfect fishing and quaint villages to explore. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lainston House Hotel

Address: Woodman Lane | Sparsholt, Winchester S021 2LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Price Range: £154 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lainston House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Lainston House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lainston Hotel Winchester
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#3 Business Hotel in Winchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lainston House Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Edmonton, Canada
20 days ago
Salisbury, United Kingdom

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Lainston House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in "fuschia"”
 of 5 bubbles alysons726, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I am sure most rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles AdrianJM, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Each room has a personality of it's own.”
 of 5 bubbles slj60, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you smoke, ask for a room closer to the entrance/exit.”
 of 5 bubbles StayAwayEr, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There are no lifts If you are at all physically challenged ask for room on ground floor Our room was large with a very large bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles cindy6543, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5