We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,283: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
 Click to rate
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was our first visit to Winchester and the hotel, what a delight to find that the view from the bedroom window was of the Cathedral and it was only a few minutes walk away and the town centre and museums were quite close.. As for the hotel itself we found that the food was first class, and the bedroom...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Audnam
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Audnam, Thank you very much for letting us know what a comfortable stay you had with us on your first visit to Winchester and that you would certainly visit again. I am delighted that you were pleased with your quiet, clean and comfortable bedroom and found the food to be first class. Furthermore, I am delighted that the team...

Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Before I start this review I want to say that the staff at this hotel are lovely and very efficient so the review I am writing does not reflect the staff that served us at this hotel. This review is purely based on the rooms we received. We booked to double rooms over mother's day weekend and we were slightly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mee2013
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A nice hotel in a fairly central location close to local amenities. Parts are a little dated but overall impression is good. Reception staff not the friendliest I have come across. Room was nice and also had tea/coffee facilities etc

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 147maddy
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 147maddy, Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay and letting us know that you were happy with your room. I am however disappointed that the reception team did not live up to their friendly reputation, please accept my apologies. I will of course share your comments with them to identify why this appeared to be the case....

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel needs an audit for health and safety. Positive feedback: 1) Great location 2) Great staff on reception (although I feel sorry for them for having to deal with the quality of the hotel) 3) Dogs are allowed 4) Amazing views Negative feedback: 1) Mould on the walls inside the bedroom 2) You need to take a course in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James A
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James A, Whilst I am pleased that you had some positive comments about our location, the views and the great reception team, I am sorry that the overall quality of the room and furnishings fell short of the standards our guests expect. I have asked the team to take the appropriate action and attend where possible to the issues...

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely stay at this hotel for two nights celebrating our 45th wedding anniversary, lovely hotel, room very comfortable and had the wow factor of a view the outstanding cathedral, staff polite and very professional at there job could not do enough for us, food was great actually the whole experience was fantastic thank you to every body making our stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irene M
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Irene M, Thank you very much for choosing Mercure Winchester Wessex for your special weekend away. On behalf of the whole team, I offer you congratulations on your 45th wedding anniversary. I am delighted to hear that you had such a fantastic stay and that the team contributed in making your anniversary so memorable. Your very kind words of...

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a small double room and yes they are small but ok for one night, the location is is great, decent car park. The hotel is looking a bit tired around the edges, but clean & tidy and the breakfast was one of the best I have had for a long time! 10 out of 10 to the staff who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Frank B, Thank you very much for posting a review of your recent stay. I am pleased that you found the hotel to be clean and tidy and that the breakfast you enjoyed was one of the best you have had for a long time. Furthermore I am particularly pleased that once again the team have been recognised for...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Worst hotel I have ever been in stayed here for one night never again carpet was thread bare tea making facilities dirty,mould in grouting .we booked it three months in advanced and requested if we could arrive around 12 noon e-mail arrived saying this was ok but when we arrived was told by the female receptionist this was not possible...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pete H
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pete H, I am sorry that your experience was not a positive one, please accept my apologies. I have expressed my concerns with the housekeeping team that they failed to service the room to an acceptable standard and did not clean the tea making facilities as they are expected to. I have asked the housekeeper to monitor this to...

Bakewell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at the Mercure last weekend. We didn't eat, other than breakfast, so I can't comment on the food. In summary, if you're looking for somewhere straightforward which is convenient for Winchester then this may work for you. However I think it's pricey for what it is as it seems more on a par with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clairelfc40
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Clairelfc40, Thank you for taking the time to share you feedback following your recent stay at Mercure Winchester. I am pleased that you found our central location convenient for visiting Winchester and that you were happy with your room. Furthermore I am pleased that the team were all very nice and that you enjoyed a very good breakfast. I...

Cheshire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just back from our weekend in Winchester. The hotel was just what we wanted. it’s a typical Mercure hotel. The hotel staff were really helpful particularly on reception. Two members of our party managed to get a parking space, however space is very limited and closest carparks are short stay only during the day The rooms we had on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anniebea
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear anniebea, Thank you very much for letting us know that our fabulous central location, the large comfortable room and the helpful staff, where just what you wanted for your weekend stay in Winchester. I hope that it won`t be too long before you stay with us again. Kind regards William McWilliam

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I've long been a fan of Accor hotels and this is a nice Mercure hotel. We had a privilege room overlooking the Cathedral. Overlooking? It dominates the view! Not in a bad way though. The hotel staff were efficient and friendly. I liked the large open foyer with its feature glass wall. I like the lounge, again looking out to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vivelafrancetoday
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear vivelafrancetoday, Thank you very much for posting a review of your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that as a fan of Accor Hotels, Mercure Winchester Wessex did not disappoint and that you have no complaints at all about your stay. You might be interested to know that the feature glass wall in the lobby is the work...

173 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (155)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,645 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,008 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#2 of 13 in Winchester
732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4 star hotel with 94 en suite rooms, many with views of the Cathedral. Ideal for visiting Winchester Cathedral, the steam railway and zoological park. Easily accessible via the M3, 15 miles (24 km) from Southampton Airport, 1 mile from Winchester railway station and a 1 minute walk from the coach station. Features five airconditioned conference rooms for up to 100 delegates, Walkers At The Wessex restaurant, Kings Lounge, 24 hour room service, pay parking as well as use of the nearby leisure centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel

Address: Paternoster Row, Winchester SO23 9LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Price Range: £71 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Wessex Winchester Hotel Winchester
Accor Wessex Winchester
Mercure Winchester
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Winchester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A bit more expensive but the executive rooms have outstanding veiws of cathedral and grounds, well worth the wow factor”
 of 5 bubbles 40irenem, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“dont pick a small room”
 of 5 bubbles 673peteh, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for Cathedral view”
 of 5 bubbles , 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a Cathedral view”
 of 5 bubbles MedEngland, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Views of the Cathedral are available”
 of 5 bubbles oscarh766, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5