We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Wykeham Arms

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Wykeham Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

650 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 632: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I visited this great pub exactly a year ago today with a friend visiting from Oz and we absolutely loved it so I decided to go back with another friend this afternoon. Well I can truly say it was even better than I remembered and the staff were so friendly and accommodating. In particular the really great guy behind the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalie C
Morden
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Lovely pub with plenty of character. The staff are very welcoming and helpful. The room we had was beautiful with a very quirky bathroom. The breakfast was delicious and set us up for a day's shopping.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cherylar59
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very friendly welcome with a lovely bar and great breakfasts. Room had a strong smokey smell throughout the stay. Great central location and plenty to do in Winchester for a quiet weekend away. Very friendly staff who were always there to help

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rogerf583
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I've known of the Wykeham for years as my mum lives in Winchester. Been there many a time but never to stay. We were visiting my mum, from California, and decided to stay at the Wykeham due to it being the Wykeham really. Location is great, by the cathedral, easy walking for the town centre, and as I said, it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clyststmary
Heswall
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I couldn't fault this intimate pub/small hotel. Our suite was cosy and beautifully put together. We had all we needed. Staff were friendly and considerate. I was ill during our visit and they couldn't have done more.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank claudiakZ5993KW
Mytchett
Reviewed 1 week ago

Picked the Wykham due to location and being able to park. Read the reviews and we weren't disappointed. The house wine was good value for money and the room very comfortable. Loved the ambience of the pub, staff were very friendly. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 852liannea
Jon H, General Manager at The Wykeham Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. Much appreciated and look forward to seeing you again. Best regards Jon Howard General Manager

Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked this Pub for my Girlfriend and Me, after poping in for a drink earlier in the year, and it was great the staff where spot on, so was the beer and the Food, the mega roast (Turkey,Beef,Lamb) was good, meat tender, Good size and the potatoes and veg equally as good. A Bit on the pricey side so wouldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brendan S
Jon H, General Manager at The Wykeham Arms, responded to this review

Dear Brendan S Thank you for your kind words. Do come back soon. Best regards Jon Howard General Manager

Swindon
Reviewed 1 week ago

The overall experience was very warm and pleasant. Good value for money. A real old world feel and atmosphere with log fires and an abundace of interesting memorabilia. The food was excellent quailty and quantity, tge staff very attentive and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 344alexanderj
Jon H, General Manager at The Wykeham Arms, responded to this review

Dear 344alexander 5 stars really does make my day. Thank you and see you again soon. Best regards Jon Howard General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I decided on a city break to Winchester as we have never been before and picked The Wykeham arms to stay. Lovely pub, warm and cosy with a real wood fire (the smell was just amazing!). We were welcomed as soon as we arrived and even if we were extremely early for check in, they kept our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Labatut S
Jon H, General Manager at The Wykeham Arms, responded to this review

Dear Labatut S Wow. This was amazing to read. I'm so happy for you, and the Mersault is one of my favourite choices on the wine list. An aficionado indeed. I hope you return soon, and I shall be sure to pass on this feedback to the team. Best regards Jon Howard General Manager

Hythe
Reviewed 1 week ago

3 sisters having one of our regular get togethers. Lovely room in the eaves with loads of character. Lots of extra heaters in the room provided comforting warmth .. it is a VERY old inn! Beds were very good just the right amount of support. Bar and restaurant absolutely lovely, open log fires a lovely Xmas tree and best of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank car0lynm55
Jon H, General Manager at The Wykeham Arms, responded to this review

Dear car0lynm55 Hurrah. A triumph. Come back soon. Best Regards Jon Howard General Manager

150 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (125)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,549 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
906 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#2 of 13 in Winchester
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Wykeham Arms
Wykeham Arms
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Wykeham Arms

Address: 75 Kingsgate Street, Winchester SO23 9PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Price Range: £96 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wykeham Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Wykeham Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wykeham Arms Winchester
Wykeham Arms Hotel Winchester
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#5 Business Hotel in Winchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Wykeham Arms staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Westbury,Wilts
Liverpool, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Wykeham Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid this hotel on safety grounds”
 of 5 bubbles brianmI990JG, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Can't help you here, we didn't stay in the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles peejay2013, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay over”
 of 5 bubbles lynnes982, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go to another b&b!”
 of 5 bubbles philipt244, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“rooms on the pub side are noisier until the bar closes”
 of 5 bubbles TxLonestar, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay