We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Wykeham Arms

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Wykeham Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

694 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 675: English reviews
Salisbury
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The building is quirky .so that has to be taken into account when assessing the room. The bedroom was comfortable with its own charm,the bathroom large .We liked the fact that water, realcoffee,biscuits were provided. Breakfast absolutely delicious. A bit of street noise but it is in the city!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmc741
Tortosa
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Everything about our stay here exceeded our expectations. From very friendly staff greeting us to excellent food and drink in the restaurant and bar to a large, well stocked and comfortable bedroom with a lovely en-suite roll top bath and a very comfortable king size bed.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Masovera
Jon H, General Manager at The Wykeham Arms, responded to this review

Dear Masovera Its lovely to read this kind of feedback. Thank you so much and do come back and see us again soon. Warm regards Jon Howard General Manager

Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I am a business visitor to Winchester at least once if not twice a year, and involving an overnight stop. I have stayed at other hotels in Winchester, but this is the one for me every time. Attentive staff, friendly and warm atmosphere, characterful, clean and well-equipped room rooms, very comfortable bed. Excellent food and drink. Highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnsonmrmichaelj
Jon H, General Manager at The Wykeham Arms, responded to this review

Dear Johnsonmrmichaelj Thank you for your recommendation. Make sure you pick up your 10% return discount when you stay next time. Best regards Jon Howard General Manager

Croydon
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room, food and service all exceeded our expectations. The Wykeham Arms is in a perfect position to explore Winchester and is one of the most beautiful pubs in a town full of beautiful pubs. Highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank WanderingStar123
Jon H, General Manager at The Wykeham Arms, responded to this review

Dear Wandewringstar123 That's really nice feedback. I will pass on to the team, and we look forward to serving you again. Warm regards Jon Howard General manager

Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The first two nights I stayed in Le Bureau room across the street from the pub, which was very comfortable. On the third night I stayed with my partner above the pub in the Hamilton Room. The name reflects the connection with Admiral Nelson and Emma Hamilton who stayed at the pub during his brief periods ashore. As a Nelson...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Q3329MOstephenm
Jon H, General Manager at The Wykeham Arms, responded to this review

Dear Stephenm Thank you for your review and i'm so glad you enjoyed the Wykeham and its many charms. Warm regards Jon Howard General manager

Sagra
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our stay in the Post Box Room could not have been faulted, large bedroom with comfortable bed, dressing room and large bathroom. Complementary drinks in the small fridge with coffee/tea making facilities also provided. The staff behaviour was very friendly and exemplary, with every request, however small, being treated with a 'can do' attitude. Even though we were only guests...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank J3394WSgeorgec
Jon H, General Manager at The Wykeham Arms, responded to this review

Dear Friends It was our pleasure to serve you on this long stay, and we are glad to hear you had such a nice time. I hope you choose us again on future trips to the area. Warm regards Jon Howard General manager

Henley On Thames
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was an expensive nights stay but I booked it for the location and went on feedback through Tripadvisor. Firstly there's a road closed which made finding the small car park difficult - it would have been good to have known this. Welcome was poor. Room called luxury, really wasn't and overlooked a building site - I was glad we...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank janecY5010KN
Jon H, General Manager at The Wykeham Arms, responded to this review

Dear Janec I'm sorry you found our rooms expensive. We try to stay competitive in the area of Winchester, where rooms can be keenly priced. As for the road closure, I agree that is a hinderance. With all the various platforms where guests can book rooms, it can be quite hard to communicate this. I will review that going forward....

London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a wonderful stay at the Wykenham Arms. It is a very cosy inn with a lovely pub, the rooms were spacious and the service was great. We had complementary cafetiere coffee and ales waiting for us in the room which was lovely.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ambers277
Jon H, General Manager at The Wykeham Arms, responded to this review

Dear ambers277 So glad you enjoyed yourself. Hopefully we will see you again very soon. Best regards Jon General Manager

London, England
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was travelling alone on a short business trip and took the single room. It was small but had everything I needed. A comfortable bed, was as warm as toast, good size tv, small fridge with water and free beer included! I had good Wi-Fi reception in the bedroom. Shampoo, soap etc provided in the en-suite shower room. The breakfast...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephenruston
Jon H, General Manager at The Wykeham Arms, responded to this review

Dear stephenruston Thank you for your kind review. Be sure to return for your 10% discount on your second visit. Best regards Jon Howard General Manager

Williamsburg
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

this historic property is beautifully maintained. The service in general was quite good and the room was very comfortable. We felt very at home. The location is fantastic just around the corner from Jane Austin's last home.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alice H
Jon H, General Manager at The Wykeham Arms, responded to this review

Dear Alice H Thank you for your review. Sounds like our service requires a lift, but on balance im glad you enjoyed the rest of your experience. Best regards Jon Howard General Manager

152 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (127)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,597 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
573 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
973 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Wykeham Arms
Wykeham Arms
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Wykeham Arms

Address: 75 Kingsgate Street, Winchester SO23 9PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Price Range: £97 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wykeham Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Wykeham Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wykeham Arms Winchester
Wykeham Arms Hotel Winchester
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#5 Business Hotel in Winchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Wykeham Arms staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Westbury,Wilts
Liverpool, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Wykeham Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor of annex, called Chapel View. Room was good as described, stairs were long and steep!”
 of 5 bubbles edwardb925, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles 49andrewa, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Avoid this hotel on safety grounds”
 of 5 bubbles brianmI990JG, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Can't help you here, we didn't stay in the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles peejay2013, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay over”
 of 5 bubbles lynnes982, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay