We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Westgate

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winchester
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Westgate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 134: English reviews
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A friendly and clean city centre bar with rooms decorated in the boutique style. The bedding and bathrooms were spotless. Coffee and tea making were provided, however the coffee machine and table were seriously dusty. The general facilities in the room were good, including a large screen TV with choices of channels. The bar downstairs was friendly and the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry L
General M, General Manager at The Westgate, responded to this review

Hi Terry I'm so grateful you took the time to write such a great review and am happy that you enjoyed your time with us. It is very rare that we get loud and intrusive customers but I guess that sometimes comes with Christmas in any bar so apologies for that. As for the coffee well yes that is a...

Alcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

I made a last minute booking at the Westgate, after searching through all the usual hotels for deals. I'd never visited before but what a very pleasant surprise. Great food, lovely staff and really cosy bedroom. Sunday lunch was particularly fab.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SAMAlcester
General M, General Manager at The Westgate, responded to this review

Hello! What a lovely review thank you so much! I'm ecstatic you had a gem of a time here and I hope to see you again. All my best James Moreno

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016

We had a lovely weekend at the Westgate. The design of the pub and rooms is lovely. Really good quality finish, furnishings and soft furnishings. We were on the top floor and the wifi was very good. The location is excellent at the top of the high street in Winchester. Most notable are the staff who are absolutely lovely -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pie12
General M, General Manager at The Westgate, responded to this review

Hey there Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review and I am really happy that the staff looked after you well. They always love to hear it when people enjoy their time here with them! Hope to see you again soon. All the best James Moreno

Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2016

We stayed at the Westgate 1 night for the xmas market. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable.Coffee machine and kettle. Bathrooms spotless too. The food was very nice. The only disappointment was that we all ordered the rib eye, and we were told at only about 8.15, that there was none left....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lally53
General M, General Manager at The Westgate, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you so much for the great review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us for the Christmas market. Sorry that we had run out of steaks, that weekend saw the biggest weekend we had done since opening!! I do hope we get to see you again soon. All my best James Moreno

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Stayed for one night at The Westgate and is of very high standards. Opposite the Westgate is The Great Hall and military museaum. Within walking distant of town with a good choice of restaurants,cafes, bars and the cathedral. There is no parking at the pub, but literally 2 mins walk away is a multi storey car park, which cost £8.00...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 868mimi
General M, General Manager at The Westgate, responded to this review

Hey there A big thank you to you too! What a lovely review and I am so pleased that you had an excellent weekend with us! We all hope to see you again soon. All my best James Moreno

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Choose Westgate as newspaper article rated it as a pub with rooms. Booked a 'Snug Room' reasonably priced but very snug. Young staff very presentable and friendly.Unfortunately the position of our room made it extremely noisy with the traffic, the fire alarm at 3 30am didn't help Food very average and a little overpriced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 305barbara
General M, General Manager at The Westgate, responded to this review

Hi Barbara Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and sorry it has taken me a while to respond. Sadly as we are on the high street if traffic is diverted the noise can carry on late. Also my apologies for the fire alarm, that was just unlucky. I do hope you will give us another...

Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Great hotel and good food /drink,booked a 3 night stay and had a comfort room which was modestly sized but had everything you needed. Recommend for a city break to Winchester as well located and staff were helpful and friendly. Excellent refurbishment and a nice buzz in the bar and food areas. Highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MRANDMRSM61
General M, General Manager at The Westgate, responded to this review

Sorry for the late response but I just wanted to say thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about us. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend us to others. All my best James Moreno

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Not one to normally leave reviews but The Westgate was just that good I need to share! Absolutely amazing food (dinner & breakfast), wonderful staff and the room in the hotel was airy, comfortable and very clean. The manager James couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming. Cannot wait to go back - would recommend to anyone and everyone.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank acathomas24
General M, General Manager at The Westgate, responded to this review

My apologies it has taken me so long to respond especially after such a lovely review. You really are too kind :o) Than you so much and we look forward to seeing you again! All my best James Moreno

Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2016

There are refurbishments and then there are refurbishments. The Westgate Is certainly the latter having been effectively eviscerated and rebuilt on all levels, and it is all the better for it. We stayed at the Westgate prior to this revisioning and were more than pleased with its location (at the top of the hill into Winchester's main street) and its...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teuwsen
General M, General Manager at The Westgate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a great review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us and that it seems you were pleasantly surprised! All the best James Moreno

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We booked very last minute here for two nights, they were kind enough to fit us in and extended our stay when we realised we would be needing a third night with no problems. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming from the moment we arrived. Our room was at the top of the building which would have been overly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennie B
General M, General Manager at The Westgate, responded to this review

Hi Jennie Thank you for the great review and I am happy to hear you had a lovely time. I'm sorry if the shower wasn't powerful enough for you but am delighted you loved the food prepared fresh by our kitchen. I have passed your kind words onto chef and we greatly look forward to welcoming you back again at...

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,592 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
924 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
570 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At the top of the historic Winchester High Street and a mere stone's throw from the legendary King Arthurs Round Table sits the redeveloped, prestigious and good-looking Westgate Pub with Rooms. Here at The Westgate we have gone further than just giving it a lick of paint... A short trot from the bustling city centre we strive to give every guest that walks through our doors the warm feeling of a home away from home. With a good old fashioned helpful bartender attitude, a funky, modern yet British pub kitchen and a light and airy vibe that continues throughout the pub and rooms. We hope you like what we have done as much as we do. We have created a versatile encompassment, ideal for all sorts of adventures that start, or finish, in Winchester. A place for work, rest, fun or families. Team Westgate really thought about the important things in life. A quiet drink, a good old fashioned knees up, romantic dinners, festive feasts, business trips and quiet getaways. This is a very exciting time in this corner of beautiful Winchester. The buzz surrounding the building during the work has been infectious throughout the city and now that we are open, we hope you feel we got it just right. Team Westgate look forward to seeing you and even more to welcoming you back time and time again. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Westgate

Address: 2 Romsey Road, Winchester SO23 8TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Price Range: £85 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westgate 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Westgate staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Manchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Westgate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I believe that the rooms are of a similar quality, simply a different size.”
 of 5 bubbles 467terryl, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Lots of steep stairs to rooms so not good if you have mobility problems”
 of 5 bubbles lally53, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Wifi very intermittent”
 of 5 bubbles 305barbara, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Comfort room on the 3rd floor was good and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles MRANDMRSM61, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“rooms at front have good views but lots of road noise”
 of 5 bubbles minkey_8, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5