Munstone House Country Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Munstone House Country Hotel

Traveller (128)
Norfolk bedroom
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.0
#8 of 9 hotels in Hereford
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Value

Welcome to Munstone House Country Hotel, your Hereford “home away from home.” Munstone House Country Hotel aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as St Peters Church Hereford (1.8 mi) and St. Francis Xaviers Church (1.9 mi), guests of Munstone House Country Hotel can easily experience some of Hereford's most well known attractions.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV and a seating area, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the hotel.

The property also boasts free breakfast, to help make your stay more enjoyable. If you are driving to Munstone House Country Hotel, free parking is available.

Hereford has plenty of Indian restaurants. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like Marygold Indian, Spice Minister Express Kitchen, and Mowchak, which are serving up some great dishes.

Should time allow, Mappa Mundi & Chained Library Exhibitions and The Churchill Gardens Museum and Hatton Gallery are some popular attractions that are within walking distance.

Munstone House Country Hotel puts the best of Hereford at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Banquet room
Non-smoking hotel
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Room features
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bidet
Walk-in shower
Iron
Private bathrooms
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Quiet
359Reviews1Q+A64Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 134
  • 38
  • 43
  • 50
  • 94
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Charlie wrote a review Jan 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently stayed at this hotel as a means of a stop over whilst I was staying in the area due to work. I stayed for one night and had to check in a little later than desirable. Upon arrival, the stunning setting and beautiful building was something to admire. Though there was nobody was sat at reception ready to greet me, I followed the sign that instructed me to call a number. Once called, a very polite elderly lady greeted me and showed me to my room. She kindly explained what time breakfast and check out is and even recommended local eateries to fulfil my evening needs during my stay. We discussed that I’d be down for breakfast as early as possible as I needed to get away for a meeting. I was handed my keys and the lady went on her way, a wonderfully pleasant lady. The hotel was quaint and quiet, a perfect means to escape the city with it being only a couple of miles from the city centre itself. Which I explored when I went for my evening meal. The room itself was warm and comforting with a stylish bathroom and fresh towels. I fell asleep earlier than normal which is a testament to the relaxing vibe this hotel brings. Breakfast time was a strange albeit a pleasant experience. I was late coming down (in respect to my earlier conversation with the lady from the night before, as my meeting had subsequently been moved delayed). I was one of few guests as can be expected at this time of year and for the fact it was a Wednesday! And so when I entered the dining room, it was empty. All but one perfectly preserved breakfast sitting on the hot plate keeping it warm. With access to freshly brewed coffee and various fresh juices. There was also plentiful amounts of cereals available with fresh milk if that’s what you like. The lady clearly had told the chef or whomever made the breakfasts that I would be down for breakfast early! However I had not come at the time I said I would and so the Breakfast was considerately covered in cling film to preserve its freshness and each ingredient kept separate from one another to avoid anything going soggy! Very thoughtful from the hotel, a refreshing feeling that made me feel that I was looked after during my visit. I enjoyed a delicious and hearty full English breakfast with a fresh coffee, As I departed I had the pleasure of meeting with the owner whom I handed my key as I was leaving. We exchanged few words as I was leaving, but again a very pleasant lady. I would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
megsgambia wrote a review Aug 2020
Wales
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Faulty Towers springs to mind.....
Booked on day for one night, had a choice of suites for £89. One with roll top bath or one with jacuzzi bath. Opted for the jacuzzi bath... Rose Suite.....
nice clean room, bit dusty, with a travel kettle. Corner bath, bit grubby as was around toilet seat. Disappointingly but not surprisingly the jacuzzi function did not work. Luckily very hot water in abundance. Shower over tap was slightly broken.
As mentioned in another review, kept awake by the bright green fire light right above the bed.

Breakfast was being served in a function room looked as if it was getting prepared for a function with cushions and vases everywhere. No tables laid with crockery etc.. one member of staff serving .. awful breakfast choice. Did not see any management around to mention probs. Glad only one night.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Munstone House, Owner at Munstone House Country Hotel
Responded 7 Sept 2020
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, we work hard to try and ensure you have an enjoyable stay. The Rose room you chose is lovely with its beautiful four poster bed.The suite was freshly decorated only a week before your stay and the bathroom was deep cleaned before your stay. I am so sorry you thought it looked grubby. We use small low powered kettles which hold enough water for three cupful's as one of the measures we use to help compact global warming, The jacuzzi has a switch to turn it on and is in good working order, I wish you had contacted a member of staff by reception bell or by telephone, if you were already in your room, and we would have willingly helped. Emergency lights which are fitted in all room are for the guests safety in the event of power failure and have a very small light to show they are charging. We have been made aware that some guests are bothered by this and the glow is now being masked. We have not held functions at Munstone House at all this year, because of co-vid. Munstone House always has flower displays in the restaurant where breakfast is served,. Because of co-vid ,part of our protocol to avoid unnecessary contamination means that no tables are pre laid but are laid for you when you are seated. Breakfast is four courses starting with fresh fruit , then cereal ,yogurt. full English breakfast or your choice, for example poached or scrambled eggs, toast, jams /marmalades, fruit juices, tea and coffee. Your order is taken and delivered to your table. Since co-vid everything is different, and a lot more work for us, but the safety of our guests is of paramount importance.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kathryn W wrote a review Oct 2021
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in Room 6 the Orchid room and paid £89 a night for a 3 night stay.
The lady who checked us in was lovely and explained that the shower door was broken so they had taken it off. The door should have been replaced as the bathroom was very wet after showers. There were 4 steep steps up to the bathroom which we were worried about slipping on after a shower. The sink was very modern but a little impractical as there was nowhere to leave your toothbrush- on top of the loo is unhygienic.
The 4 poster bed in there is beautiful with a very hard mattress (but a bit creaky).
Small things meant we wouldn't return. There was a small hole in the bedding, there was grout missing from tiles in the bathroom, the windows were very dirty, and the hair dryer did not sound healthy - to the lady's credit she said she would have a look when I told her at checkout. We woke up to 2/3 wasps in the room each morning but are u sure as to how they got there.
Initially we didn't know it was continental breakfast and only realised once we had booked or we would have gone somewhere else. Breakfast, in a paper bag, consisted of a cold BLT, orange juice, fruit salad, a yoghurt, a porridge pot, a Brunch bar and a plain and chocolate chip brioche. Whilst we appreciate there was variety, it did not hit the spot for us and we went elsewhere for breakfast for 2 of our 3 days.
I can see why the property used to be used for weddings as it is stunning. Unfortunately, it needs some more TLC, better breakfast and a shower door before we would return.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JSN2000 wrote a review Aug 2021
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Last week whilst travelling down to the county for business our booked hotel cancelled on us so we researched the net and found Munstone House. Requesting bed and breakfast we were offered a double executive suite at no reduced rate. On arrival, what a nice looking building, couldn't wait to get to our room, Felt like we were on a "Scooby Do" mystery, no sign of life and had to ring TWO door bells beside each other to summon someone. HOWEVER the owner met us in the foyer only to take us away from the building to a room located in a separate building underneath where they hold their wedding events.
O - M - G
For those who remember Austin Powers, the room looked like a scene from the film "The Spy Who S****** Me. Not a prude by any means but we just expected a room similar to the main building, clean simple double bed, ensuite.
Get this...
"The Francis Suite Room 8"
Dodgy door lock, clear glass entrance door from outside straight into bedroom, had to keep curtains closed all the time.
All the walls were covered in slightly mirrored glass, mmm ONE WAY GLASS?. Just in case had to improvise including covering mirrors with blankets.
Bed was a standard double bed surrounded with fake leather semi-circled padded pieces making the bed a massive circular bed, but the pads were not secure. Getting on and off the bed was like being on the series "Total Wipeout".
No bedside lamp, but a massive arched floor lamp "Groovy".
Dust was on most surfaces.
Some electric sockets didn't work.
The tea pot had built up tea stains in it.
Bathroom had a weird standalone sink unit with no space for soap or toothbrush, looked more like an up cycled font from a church.
Two ply toilet tissue that was like glass paper.
The breakfast bag, sandwich, yogurt, a pastry, jam, butter, orange juice.
Checking out spoke with the elderly owner and gave my feedback, may as well have told the wall. She needs help with the business or jack it in, will not be returning anytime soon.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don't call this place, better sleeping under the stars,
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carly P wrote a review Jun 2020
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
where do I start, absolutely appalling. when we arrived we noticed the water on the floor in the bathroom by the toilet, i ran the lady who was very unhelpful she said "oh the handy man isn't in until tomorrow, I could put you next door but there's no curtains in there" she came up and said she fixed but it still leaked.
she also asked how many people were in the room I said myself and my husband she said oh you only paid for 1 person, my husband showed her the emai stating there were two of us, but she wasn't having it.
I then noticed there was no iron, or hair dryer, I again phoned the lady her reply "they are in the wardrobe" I told her they wasn't she said I'll pop some up. she didn't even let us know she dropped them up just left them by the door.
The water was running yellow, thick black mould over the curtains, cracks in the walls and the carpet grips were showing.
my husband then contacted booking.com they agreed to give us a refund for the 2nd night as we were not staying.
the lady then rang my husband and said "you want be getting a refund, if you're not happy best you go now"

This place was £84 per night, even the milk was out of date by 3 months!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katie-Jane M wrote a review Feb 2022
United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here last night as a couple. Upon arrival we called a number and were greated swiftly by a lovely lady who walked us through some grand spacious areas and then took us up to our room.
We were in Norfolk suite which was a beautiful large room with lots of matching soft furnishings around a grand comfortable 4 poster bed. The room was clean and contained EVERYTHING you could possibly need! Including an unexpected large television with freeveiw - off this room was an unexpected but excellent modern bathroom which contained a jacuzzi bath and large shower.
This morning we were presented with 'breakfast bags' containing lovely fresh sandwhiches and lots of other choices.
Overall an excellent stay, we will deffiantly be back and recommending to others!

Thank You to the lady that dealt with us and the establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Luce82 wrote a review Jan 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived 12.30 on Christmas day, wondered in and found our table, there was one seat missing so had to get someones attention to bring a chair, after 10 minutes a chair was found which had clearly been outside as there was bird poo on it!! i then headed to the bar to wait 20 minutes to be served drinks!
We went for starters, wasn’t told what the process was so had to find someone to ask, when we finally found the starters half of it was missing, we had pate with no paprika toast, the cured meats was meant to come with vine leaves and ciabatta and again this was served on its own, the only starter that was correct was the seafood!
when i asked the woman in charge she stated its subject to availability. I had to then get someones attention to clear the plates.

Went up to the carvery for mains and well nothing could of prepared me for the complete shambles of this, had to wait 15minutes for turkey, there was no pigs in blankets, green beans, carrots ETC, no veg apart from cabbage as they had run out and had to wait, i ended up with turkey, cauliflower cheese, cabbage, yorkshire pudding and some soggy potato thing and to top it all off had to wait a further 10 minutes for gravy so by this time it was cold, we wasn't the only ones frustrated with this, as the queue was getting bigger!! and to top it all off i had to clear the plates myself.
Paying £381 for half a starter and hardly any mains was appalling, this had completely ruined our Christmas day lunch and we hadn't even gone for dessert yet but i was ready to leave but the kids wanted dessert, so ventured up to the dessert table not expecting much and of course there was hardly anything left, i asked one of the waitresses if anything is coming out and she said yes there will be a wait (AGAIN) the kids had some posh chocolate mousse thing, but after a couple of spoon fulls my 11year old daughter informed me it tastes funny, and yes that's because it has BOOZE in (there was no sign informing this at the dessert table).
After informing the lady in charge about our experience to be told "no one likes to work Christmas day so what do you expect for £65 and all food is subject to availability so we should all be jolly as its xmas" and then to hear one waitress slating me to another waitress when i was stood behind them because i complained is utterly disgusting.
£65 per head for this shambles that completely ruined Christmas day lunch, i would suggest to stay well clear!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rachel C wrote a review Oct 2021
Blaenavon, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I am as honest and brutal as they come and the negative reviews really put me off and worried me after we had booked our 1 night stay. We couldn't have been more wrong to have taken any notice. The elderly lady who runs the house was so welcoming and friendly, showed us to our room, told us about breakfast and where to get food or where to go if we wanted to have a drink and was really kind and friendly. I can only assume that the people who have posted negative reviews previously are expecting too much and are the type who will do anything to complain. Apart from one or 2 cobwebs the room and bathroom were absolutely lovely. High ceilings, lovely heavy curtains and the bed is really comfy too. We had a lovely meal at the secret garden which is a 3 minute walk away and you can come and go as you choose. All I can say is that it's easier to write a negative review than it is to write a positive one. Romantic night away couldn't have been better. Iron in room and hair dryer and soaps and shower gels and kettle etc. Absolutely lovely place to stay and sat nav is spot on. 👌 ❤🥰
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
steve b wrote a review Sept 2021
uk
3.0 of 5 bubbles
On entering there will be a piece of paper with a number on to call. You will then be asked to press 2 bells to speak to someone onsite. Lady appeared and gave us our key to the Duchess suite. The room is very large, nice double bed (though the duvet was way too high a tog for the weather) and good view out of the bay windows. There is a very large bath with a mixer tap acting as a shower head. Breakfast is a bag with a BLT sandwich, porridge, a roll with butter and jam, fruit bowl, breakfast bar, yogurt and chocolate croissant, Lots of food but same BLT every day.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sophie D wrote a review Aug 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Awful, no one was there to meet us despite ringing the bell several times. Rooms were dirty,musty and mouldy and the lock on our door was broken and not secure. The handle to the shower was broken so you couldn't adjust the temperature. On check out again no one was around, it took 10 minutes for someone to come out so we could hand our key back. Breakfast was a sandwich and a yogurt in a takeaway bag, the excuse used was to be covid secure but after all restrictions have now been lifted I don't think this is an excuse to not serve a cooked breakfast. The price also didn't reflect the poor quality of the breakfast, sandwich inedible and the bacon really dry. You should make it clear you don't provide a proper breakfast from the onset. All in all horrendous stay, it feels like they take your money but make no effort to make yout stay enjoyable. Avoid!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Clare H asked a question Sept 2016
Leominster, United Kingdom1 contribution
What's the Christmas party nights like
Answer from Tim F
Chesterfield, United Kingdom82 contributions31 helpful votes
I wouldn't risk it!
Joyce H wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lovely period property "
Read full review
vivien wrote a tip Jul 2023
Helsby, United Kingdom2 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"It was like going back in time to the 50’s"
Read full review
Spurgindavid wrote a tip Mar 2023
Manningtree, United Kingdom35 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plenty of parking and nice ground floor rooms if you don’t do stairs."
Read full review
Philip B wrote a tip Feb 2023
Harrogate, United Kingdom81 contributions74 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Decent parking"
Read full review
Alicia C wrote a tip Oct 2021
Norwich, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"large room"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hereford area.
PRICE RANGE
£88 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
munstone hotel country
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHerefordshireHereford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MUNSTONE HOUSE COUNTRY HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Munstone House Country Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Munstone House Country Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Mappa Mundi & Chained Library Exhibitions (1.9 miles), Hereford Cathedral (1.9 miles), and The Black and White House Museum (1.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Munstone House Country Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Munstone House Country Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a bidet, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Munstone House Country Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Munstone House Country Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Munstone House Country Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Amazing Asia Buffet, Ponte Vecchio, and King Street Kitchen.
Are there any historical sites close to Munstone House Country Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mappa Mundi & Chained Library Exhibitions (1.9 miles) and Hereford Cathedral (1.9 miles).
All Hereford HotelsHereford Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HerefordHotels near Munstone House Country Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire