We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Samuel Ryder Hotel St Albans, Tapestry Collection by Hilton

27 Ryder House Holywell Hill, St. Albans AL1 1HG England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (81)
Room & Suite (45)
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 9 hotels in St. Albans
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in the heart of St. Albans, The Samuel Ryder Hotel St Albans, Tapestry Collection Hilton is set in an Edwardian building and features an on-site bar. It has a 24-hour front desk and offers stylish rooms with free WiFi access throughout and 3 private car parks free of charge - contact the property for details and directions prior to arrival. The property boasts a sweeping staircase and a stained glass dome, and the original carved fireplace dating back to 1911 still stands in what was the creator's private office. Each room is decorated in neutral tones and comes with air conditioning, a flat-screen TV and a private bathroom with a shower and free toiletries. Guests can get drinks and refreshments in the bar throughout the day, and order room service for lunch and dinner. There is an array of cafés and pubs serving traditional English food in the surroundings of the hotel. Local attractions include St Albans Cathedral, just a 4-minute walk away and St Albans town centre is a 6-minute walk away. The Roman Theatre can be reached within a mile. Willows Farm is 5 miles away and the Harry Potter Studios are just 7 miles away.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Paid private parking nearby
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Languages Spoken
English
865Reviews21Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 416
  • 316
  • 92
  • 25
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Eveanne D wrote a review 3 Apr
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom31 contributions5 helpful votes
Had a lovely stay at the hotel, we were there for a family wedding and when I told them, they organised to put complimentary drinks and a card in the bride and groom’s room. The staff couldn’t have done enough for us and were so helpful and welcoming. One of the nicest and friendliest hotels I have ever stayed in. Thank you for making the whole experience so comfortable and luxurious.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: There are 3 car parks, all 3 are close by but the 3rd one is a bit longer. When you check in,...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Samuel Ryder Hotel Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Samuel Ryder Hotel St Albans, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Eveanne, Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to know that you had such a great experience at our hotel and we are also glad that the bride and groom liked our little surprise for them. Your detailed feedback and kind words are very much appreciated. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you again in the nearest future. Kind Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
E B wrote a review 1 Apr
England, United Kingdom65 contributions52 helpful votes
This hotel is in a fabulous location, a two minute walk to the cathedral and the town is just a short walk at the top of the road. Our stay was very good, we managed to get a parking spot round the back of the hotel and the gentleman on reception was happy for us to leave our car there the next day. Our room was large and reasonably well equipped (no vanity set or shower cap, English breakfast teabags but no other tea selections). The breakfast was average, another time I probably wouldn’t bother, we had eggs Benedict but it was disappointing to have supermarket thinly sliced packet ham. The staff were excellent and very friendly, someone did make an error on our departure morning though and entered our room in the morning while we were sleeping. We didn’t make a fuss as it was obviously a genuine mistake, I would put the lock across next time and even so, overall our stay was very good and we would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Samuel Ryder Hotel Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Samuel Ryder Hotel St Albans, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 2 days ago
Dear EB, Thank you for choosing to stay with us following your recent visit to St Albans. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and liked the hotel especially our central location. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to improve our services and offerings. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
BritBoyInGA wrote a review Mar 2024
Roswell, Georgia773 contributions427 helpful votes
The parking situation, whilst complimentary (that's a PLUS), is VERY MESSY...... pull in to Cafe Rouge car park, behind hotel, then check with reception if there is a space there that you can stay in, or be given a crudely drawn map to drive around to another car park (where I stupidly ended up in a small courtyard having to do a 20 point turn to get back out :O). My room was very nice, comfortable, and everything worked perfectly; AC/TV/Wifi. I don't think many of the rooms(if any) have a nice view, most overlooking an alley, car park, or back of an adjacent premise. Breakfast was OK, but as a Diamond member I was a little irked at having to pay extra to enjoy the cooked breakfast. Yes, it's 'only' 5GBP, but I didn't feel the continental options were particularly appetizing. What was served was perfectly acceptable, even if it was obvious it was partly cooked hot item that had just been warmed when ordered. I booked months in advance and checked the prices a few weeks before arrival, to find they were almost half of my initial reservation. So I cancelled and re-booked. Keep this in mind when making your booking. I would return at the rate paid, knowing what to expect.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Samuel Ryder Hotel Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Samuel Ryder Hotel St Albans, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at our hotel. Glad to hear you enjoyed some aspect of your stay especially the room and amenities. We appreciate your feedback, as it allows us to improve our services and offerings. Thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
LauraDaveJames wrote a review Feb 2024
Solihull, United Kingdom4246 contributions868 helpful votes
+1
This centrally located hotel has free parking, but it is a bit complicated as there are a small number of places spread over three different locations. We asked for a map to be emailed to us before we arrived, but hit lucky and parked in one of the few spaces at the rear of the hotel. The staff are very friendly, but it didn’t really feel like a Hilton hotel. There is no restaurant, and only a small lounge area which is also used as a very small bar area. The front of the hotel is an historic building, but the rooms are all located in a 1970s type extension to the rear. The shower in our room squirted water from the top which drenched the whole bathroom. It was only possible to use the bath.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Samuel Ryder Hotel Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Samuel Ryder Hotel St Albans, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear LauraDaveJames, Thank you for your review following your recent stay at our hotel. I am pleased that you liked our central location and found our staff friendly. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again in the nearest future. Kind Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Robert L wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Reception staff were extremely friendly and quick to answer questions about taxi/rail service and local restaurant options. Our room was clean, comfortable, with an updated bathroom. The breakfast and lounge rooms, while small, were welcoming. Breakfast selection was not as extensive as other similar properties I've experienced. Overall, a pleasant (two-night) stay. I would certainly stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Samuel Ryder Hotel Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Samuel Ryder Hotel St Albans, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 6 Jan 2024
Dear Robert, Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to read that you had such a great experience at our hotel. Your kind words are very much appreciated and will share it with our team. We hope to welcome you again in the nearest future. Kind Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alan P wrote a review Dec 2023
Luton, United Kingdom89 contributions31 helpful votes
Terrible experience you always receive from Hilton Park a mile from the hotel, no water in the room Over rated and overpriced Nothing special and would have got better value staying elsewhere Extremely disappointed would not recommend Please be advised not to stay here
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Samuel Ryder Hotel Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Samuel Ryder Hotel St Albans, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 6 Jan 2024
Dear Alan, We are extremely disappointed to read your review and it is obvious in your feedback that we did not meet your expectations. Appreciate that our 3rd and biggest free car park is not on-site, but it’s definitely not a mile from the hotel. It’s 0.2 mi to be exact and about 4-5 mins walk back to the hotel. Given our central location, we are very fortunate to have these 3 free parking sites for our guests knowing how expensive the parking fees are in the city centre. Having said that, whilst we offer free parking, guests are always welcome to park elsewhere if they preferred to. As you have mentioned that you felt your stay was over rated and overpriced, I am sorry that it is unlikely that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Debbie O wrote a review Dec 2023
12 contributions2 helpful votes
This is a lovely Hotel but we felt very let down. Paid over the odds for a room for the night, not including breakfast which is fine except after checking in at 3 pm our room was only 15 Degrees and so cold that we couldn't stay in the room. We went down and mentioned and they said that the Heating hadn't been activated or something like that. Considering the room had been cleaned and they were expecting guests it wasn't great. Anyway, 2 hours later it was still so cold but we had to come back as I needed a nap after a long day. It was still only 18 in the room which still felt cold. We mentioned upon checkout and the receptionist said that the Manager would call us. We went home and I called a couple of Days later and spoke to someone they said they would get the Manager to call, but again no callback. I called back a couple of days later and spoke to the Manager who was useless. She almost said that it was our fault that the heating had been turned off. I am a Hilton Member and I don't think I have ever been so disappointed in staying in a Hilton after losing time in a room that we had paid for and not being able to use the room until 5 pm. No Gesture of goodwill or Breakfast was offered on the checkout day prior to us asking to speak to the Manager. You would have had a happy customer if you had acknowledged in some way the inconvenience caused.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Samuel Ryder Hotel Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Samuel Ryder Hotel St Albans, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 6 Jan 2024
Dear Debbie, Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at our hotel. We deeply regret that your overall experience did not meet your expectations and that your post-stay complaint wasn't resolved promptly. We take your comments seriously, and we truly apologise for the inconvenience you have experienced with the heating temperature in your room. Once again, please accept our sincere apologies and we hope we will have the chance to welcome you back in the future. Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paul W wrote a review Nov 2023
Eastbourne, United Kingdom2206 contributions529 helpful votes
Over the years we have stayed in many Hiltons ranging from Hamptons to Conrads. This was our first stay in a Tapestry and I hope it wont be our last. Putting the postcode into our Sat Nav took us right to the front door of the hotel. We parked on yellow lines for a few minutes to unload the luggage and were given directions to a nearby car park which was 2 minutes walk away. Reception was friendly and helpful. Our room was clean, comfortable and reasonably spacious. WiFi worked well and there was a reasonable choice of TV channels. The bathroom was fine with a walk in shower rather than a bath which was fine. Tea and coffee facilities were in the room. We had booked breakfast for 8am and our table was ready for us. We enjoyed a continental breakfast of croissant yoghourt and toast which was complementary thanks to our Hhonors Gold status. The hotel is in a fascinating old building one the offices of local business man Samuel Ryder and is located in the heart of the small city of St Albans. Based on our experience I would highly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Samuel Ryder Hotel Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Samuel Ryder Hotel St Albans, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 6 Jan 2024
Dear Paul, Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at our hotel. We are very trilled to read that your first Tapestry stay was as expected and are also happy to know that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay as well as the efficient and friendly service our staff provided you. It's always heart warming to read such lovely comments. Your kind words motivate us to continue offering the highest level of services and we truly appreciate that. Thank you for staying with us and we really appreciate your loyalty to the Hilton brand. Hope to welcome you again in the nearest future. With Warmest Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
95therese wrote a review Nov 2023
2 contributions
A hard to find car park and inexperienced staff make this not the usual Hilton standard. I was told by a staff member she would come out into the road to show me where the car park was. She failed to arrive so I had to call again after 10 mins + and luckily the lovely Oli took me straight to the car park. If I hadn't have called again I would have been parked in a very dangerous part of the high street and waiting for an unnecessary amount of time.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Samuel Ryder Hotel Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Samuel Ryder Hotel St Albans, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 6 Jan 2024
Dear Guest, Thank you for feedback. Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the parking situation. Glad Ollie assisted you and took you to the car park. Again, we are sorry you did not enjoy your visit on this occasion but hope you will return sometime in the future. Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Wanderlust wrote a review Nov 2023
Worthing, United Kingdom96 contributions45 helpful votes
I came here as I am member of Hilton and I was attending a course near by in St Albans - firstly the hotel signs to the hotel are very poorly signed - after missing the turning about 3 times as it is on a Main road which is difficult to stop and turn into the hotel and having to go round a one way system - the car park had 5 spaces in the smallest of sections, I got the last one and it wasn't until I checked in I was told there is another car park round the corner which was a lot bigger - they do not tell you this explicitly on the website. I ended up leaving the car in the original spot but was going to move it as it had been a horrible day in terms of weather and I wasn't well with a cold - I was hoping to get some dinner only to be told there is no food !! only breakfast- for a Hilton this is unacceptable and I am member so I got 2 bottles of complimentary water - and where the hotel is located if you do not know the area there is not a lot about (I did not want to eat out after driving and not being well) - the hotel said I could order deliveroo to order food and get it delivered to the hotel as I had no choice so ordered of the Uber app Overall the hotel room was sufficent and that's all I can review as mentioned there was no food. As I am due to come back to St Albans due to checking out early from the hotel due to illness (cold) - I have opted to stay at a Premier Inn a little further and drive in instead as at least you know there will be food available and parking - sorry Hilton I will not be staying here in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Samuel Ryder Hotel Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Samuel Ryder Hotel St Albans, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 6 Nov 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us following your recent business trip to St Albans. We really appreciate your loyalty to the Hilton brand and we apologise for not meeting your expectations on this occasion. We are also sorry to hear about the inconvenience caused by the parking situation. Given our central location just a few minutes’ walk from all restaurants and shops, we are fortunate to have 3 free parking sites. Our hotel is the only one in the city that offers complimentary parking. While the car park directly next to the property has limited availability, we provide two additional complimentary car parks within a 4 – 6 minute walk. Regarding the dinner, we do have a small bar menu which you can either order as a room service or eat in the bar and I am sorry that this was not made clear to you on your arrival. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we do hope that we will be able to welcome you again in the future. Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the St. Albans area.
PRICE RANGE
£95 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
comfort hotel st albans, comfort inn saint albans
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Clarion Collection Hotel St Albans City Centre
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHertfordshireSt. Albans
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE SAMUEL RYDER HOTEL ST ALBANS, TAPESTRY COLLECTION BY HILTON - Updated 2024 (St. Albans)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Samuel Ryder Hotel St Albans, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Which popular attractions are close to The Samuel Ryder Hotel St Albans, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Nearby attractions include Locked Escape Rooms (0.2 miles), St Albans Cathedral (0.07 miles), and St Albans Clock Tower (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Samuel Ryder Hotel St Albans, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Samuel Ryder Hotel St Albans, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Samuel Ryder Hotel St Albans, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Samuel Ryder Hotel St Albans, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Yes, free parking, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Samuel Ryder Hotel St Albans, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Conveniently located restaurants include HATCH, Tabure, and Al Farid.
Is The Samuel Ryder Hotel St Albans, Tapestry Collection by Hilton located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of St. Albans.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Samuel Ryder Hotel St Albans, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Samuel Ryder Hotel St Albans, Tapestry Collection by Hilton offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Samuel Ryder Hotel St Albans, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St Albans South Signal Box (0.5 miles), St Albans Hertfordshire England (0.5 miles), and Wheathampstead Railway Station (4.9 miles).
Is The Samuel Ryder Hotel St Albans, Tapestry Collection by Hilton accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.