We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Falstaff in Canterbury

Hotwire.comUS$92*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$111*
US$92*
Great Deal
US$111*
US$108*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Falstaff in Canterbury
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,035 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Falstaff in Canterbury
See the most recent reviews
Showing 951: English reviews
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After being loyal patrons of the Falstaff for cocktails (we have loyalty cards), we thought we'd try afternoon tea..what a disappointment! When I booked over the phone the chap on the other end said he'd get a nice table in the lounge..hmmm if you consider eating off a table virtually round your ankles nice then it was perfect! The waitress...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank TanyaW1967
Falstaff_Canterbury, Guest Relations Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear ‘TanyaW1967’ We were very sorry to hear about you recent visit for afternoon tea. We generally receive very positive feedback about our afternoon teas so it was of course very disappointing to hear about your experience. We're glad you got in contact with us directly so that we had the opportunity to discuss your experience with you personally. With...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for a conference at the University and it was both convenient for the conference and a great location for checking out the historic city and getting great food. I stayed in a room on the ground floor and had a lovely little patio (I don't think all rooms had patios though).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KokoBear4
Falstaff_Canterbury, Guest Relations Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear KokoBear4 Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review here. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope you'll come and see us again soon. With best wishes The George in Rye

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked in for afternoon tea to part celebrate my 30th birthday. Food was delightful but the staff were slow to react. Didn't acknowledge us when we arrived, they lacked attentiveness to ask for additional drinks despite us trying to get their attention. We ended up going to the bar to pay and leave, to go down the road to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bradman28
Falstaff_Canterbury, Guest Relations Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear 'bradman28' Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We're pleased to hear the food was delightful but we're sorry to hear that service was lacking. We have taken this up with our staff and we hope you'll be kind enough to give us another try in the future. With best wishes The Falstaff in Canterbury

Battle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

great place to stay for canterbury town centre and all the things it has to offer, room was nice and clean , free parking which is very important as canterbury very expensive to park . very nice breakfast and very friendly bar staff

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosebuds1258
Falstaff_Canterbury, Guest Relations Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear 'rosebuds1258' We are delighted to hear that you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed our location, complimentary guest parking and friendly staff. We hope you'll come and stay with us again. With best wishes The Falstaff in Canterbury

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my girlfriend decided we wanted to stay here on Saturday night. We got there at 9 and the doorman told us they were too busy. Which I totally get, but we only wanted to go in and book a room. we walked away and I noticed he let another couple in, so I went back and asked him...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Ritchie M
Falstaff_Canterbury, Guest Relations Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear 'Ritchie M', Thank you for your feedback. If you had been a resident at the hotel, we would have naturally given entry. We are sorry that at the time of your visit, the bar was full to capacity, as was the hotel. We take the safety of our guests very seriously and hope you will come to see us...

Whitstable
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you would like a quiet room ask for wood mill , just a short walk from the main hotel, lovely quiet rooms , the rooms are cosy but could do with a paint , but the bathrooms have been done and look lovely , you can see they are clearly going through a refurb as some doors are painted...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank madandy
Falstaff_Canterbury, Guest Relations Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear 'madandy' We were delighted to read your kind feedback, thank you very much! We hope you'll come and stay with us again next time you''re in Canterbury. With best wishes The Falstaff in Canterbury

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Second time staying here, second time in the annex building. Previously up on 1st floor, this time on the ground floor at outside pavement level. The room was decent, clean and comfortable. It was too warm in it however, which required the window to be left open. And even when shut, the noise from the road (vehicles, emptying glass bins,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sunburst1111
Falstaff_Canterbury, Guest Relations Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear 'Sunburst1111' We were delighted to welcome you back to the Hotel and we appreciate your taking the time to share your experience. We have taken all your comments on board and we're sorry to hear you had an issue leaving the car park. We very much hope you will consider The Falstaff again next time you're in Canterbury. With...

Upminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night, found reception person a little rude. We had asked for an early check in, and had been told if we arrive just after 12 it should be okay. We did this but she said room was not ready, and could not give any idea when it would be ready. Room was attached to the back of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael P
Falstaff_Canterbury, Guest Relations Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear 'Michael P' Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your feedback and pleased you enjoyed breakfast and that service was excellent. We're sorry to hear you were disturbed by a delivery to a neighbouring property. Please be assured that we have taken all your comments on board and that these have been addressed. We...

Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

A second stay here. Our bedroom was comfortable but in need of updating. I believe that other rooms have been modernised. Breakfast was included in the price and was OK. Two slices of bacon would be nice. We would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
Falstaff_Canterbury, Guest Relations Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear 'Dave C' We were delighted to welcome you back to The Falstaff. We appreciate your kind and candid feedback and very much hope you'll come and stay with us again soon. With best wishes The Falstaff in Canterbury

Israel
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

The location of this hotel is great, close to the train station and to the main street but not too loud. Nice breakfast, good wifi connection. The cozy room was a bit small for two people with lugguge, the bed was veru treating loved it!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ma79
Falstaff_Canterbury, Guest Relations Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear 'ma79' We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our convenient city centre location and a good breakfast. Our building dates from the 15th century and as such our rooms are all different shapes and sizes. We're delighted to hear you loved our beds! Please come and stay with us again when we'd be happy to talk through our different...

252 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (228)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (126)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,814 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just metres from Canterbury's medieval West Gate, this charming building dates back to 1403. A former coaching inn, it offers free WiFi and free parking, 2 minutes' walk from the city centre. The Falstaff still retains many original features, including oak beams and an open log fire. Each room has a TV for guests to use, and facilities for making tea and coffee. The hotel offers a cooked to order full English breakfast as well as self service buffet option. The bar offers a range of wines and variety of exclusive cocktails. Canterbury West Rail Station is a 3-minute walk from the building. The city's spectacular Norman cathedral can be reached in less than 10 minutes on foot. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Falstaff in Canterbury

Address: 8-10 St. Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Price Range: £67 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falstaff in Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Falstaff in Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Falstaff in Canterbury staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Falstaff in Canterbury staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room at the back, not on the street”
  • Four poster bed!
smokeAndMirrors64, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back.”
, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Wood mill quiet , main hotel busy with a cocktail bar underneath”
madandy, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Woodmill annex modern and quiet, outlook to courtyard and some parking.”
forester696, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms in The Old Mill are quiet and you can park outside.”
MargaretM277, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
US$92* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$111
Hotels.comUS$108
Expedia.comUS$107
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates