We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (217)
360
Panoramas (40)
Room & Suite (45)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Lowest Price When You Book Direct! CLICK HERE to view
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#8 of 16 hotels in Canterbury
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Abbots Barton Hotel is situated in a quiet area of Canterbury and just a 10 minute walk to the City Centre. We have parking which is available free of charge for Hotel Residents. Generally there is not an issue with parking but on exceptional busy days free street parking maybe necessary. The hotel offers traditional facilities with Bar, Restaurant, Bar Food, Room Service and free WiFi. Our staff will endeavour to entertain any special requests wherever possible. The Hotel is accepts pets for a small daily charge.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Radio
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Lowest Price When You Book Direct! CLICK HERE to view
1371Reviews24Q+A1Room tip

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 631
  • 507
  • 152
  • 48
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Christopher L wrote a review Dec 2023
37 contributions7 helpful votes
The hotel is pleasantly situated on the outskirts of the centre in its own grounds. The rooms are modern and comfortable though because of renovations both bar and restaurant were closed. Our major gripe was that we were not informed on checking in that room housekeeping would only be provided on request and we only found out when reading a notice in the lift on the second day of our stay. I don't have a problem with this approach in principle though all other hotels I have stayed in provide the guest with the details on check-in and offer a small incentive if you opt to forego housekeeping.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Y274JKfrancescas wrote a review Nov 2023
46 contributions15 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Booked for a weekend away although live fairly local. The refurbishment is still in progress but we were not interrupted and the new look is beautiful, resembling the interiors of some much higher end hotels I've stayed in. Bed was extremely comfy and how was quiet and relaxing. Breakfast was wonderful- special mention for the very quality options such as delicious Kentish apple juice and proper meat-free options for vegetarians! They had veggie bacon from the brand 'This Isn't' which is a very premium vegetarian brand. Staff were pleasant and the location is great for exploring Canterbury. Definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aiden Strong, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Responded 15 Nov 2023
Hi Francesca, Thank you for this fantastic review. We are so glad you enjoyed a relaxing and comfortable stay at the Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel. I will be sure to share your comments with the team as they will be just as delighted. I am pleased you found or breakfast as deliciously varied as we had hoped. We definitely aim to cater to everyone and seems we have done just that! We are looking forward to hosting your next visit to Canterbury which will hopefully be very soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Elle H wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Spent the weekend back in my home town to see friends and some family. I was a bit apprehensive about staying somewhere on my own but I’m pleased to say I didn’t need to be AT ALL! The staff were so welcoming and helpful all weekend, recommending the best places to go in town and they even have a 24 hour pizza service which I was very thankful for on my first night after travelling down from Scotland (very tasty). I felt very safe staying there and it’s only about 10 mins walk from town which was great! I will definitely stay again and will be recommending to anyone I know planing to visit Canterbury!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: If you’re unsure on great places to go while you’re staying in Canterbury, the staff at reception...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aiden Strong, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Responded 18 Sept 2023
Thank you elleh919 for feedback of your stay here at the Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel. I am delighted to see that we exceeded your expectations and made your stay as warm and welcoming as possible. Fantastic to hear that you enjoyed one of our delicious pizza's also! We look forward to making your next visit just as comfortable on your next trip to Canterbury.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sasha B wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
I booked this hotel for a group booking for us and our wedding guests last September for July this year.. To be cancelled 8 weeks before my wedding and having the stress of finding another hotel... Customer service was awful and gave us an added stress that wasn't needed so close to our wedding date. We should have been told when booking that they was doing a government scheme for refuges and ends June but could go on....
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ben S wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions
A large booking of almost £4000 was made almost a year in advance only to be cancelled 7 weeks before we were due to arrive. They agreed out booking whilst under another contract by the government and was left without any rooms for 38 guests. Just a warning to anyone wanting to book here check first as you may not have a hotel to stay in.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Stella G wrote a review Oct 2021
18 contributions7 helpful votes
Arrived to a very warm welcome from staff member Megan who was so happy in her job. Nothing too much trouble very attentive tea coffee refills lovely home made sandwiches cakes scones. Excellent service excellent food good quality food home made never felt rushed at all. Lovely surroundings comfy seating very warm. You must try this hotel is wonderful.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Cotman, Other at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Responded 3 Nov 2021
Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us and special thanks for the comments regarding Megan - she will be delighted when shee sees the review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Gem wrote a review Oct 2021
Kent, United Kingdom87 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
Friendly welcome by staff but we were the only ones in the whole dining area. Afternoon tea was lovely… and warm scones were so light & delicious! Very traditional hotel, clean & tidy. The sound of refugee children playing outside broke the silence and it was lovely seeing them playing, they also waved us goodbye!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Cotman, Other at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Responded 20 Oct 2021
Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you had a lovely afternoon tea with us and thank you for your comments for the staff, they appreciate it. One correction we do not have refugees with us they are part of the ARAP Government programme which is very different, and they are British citizens. Disappointing of course to see a mark down because of being quiet, but to give a rationale we are winding down our offering as we approach December as we are having the lounges, reception and the bar totally refurbished, sorry if that decision affected your visit. Perhaps see you in busier times :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michelle H wrote a review Aug 2021
Bridge, United Kingdom17 contributions6 helpful votes
My husband and I initially booked this hotel for 3 nights with my 2 dogs. Unfortunately, 2 of the nights were cancelled at the last minute and we had to reduce our stay as we were visiting my grandchildren. There were no other affordable hotels to stay with pets so we had to travel home the following evening. Was very disappointed as this was booked a couple of months ago. However, I was happy with the room in the newly built extension but was sad that it was for only one night. Will still book again as this is a convenient location when visiting my son. The room was a little pricey but our initial 2 nights that were cancelled was more reasonable.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Rayo_101x wrote a review Aug 2021
Liverpool, United Kingdom8 contributions5 helpful votes
Cancelled our reservation due to the Afghan Crisis. Avoid if there is any worldwide crisis taking place. Terrible service from this hotel. We made this reservation in good faith. Cancelling it like this is disgraceful from this hotel. Avoid avoid avoid
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Cotman, Other at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Responded 25 Aug 2021
Thank you for your review. You are 100% correct that we are assisting the Afghan Relocation Programme at present. Not planned of course as I am sure you can appreciate. Probably wise that we won't comment further at present (!)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mark D wrote a review Aug 2021
Birmingham, United Kingdom48 contributions20 helpful votes
Had a two night stay in August. A nice hotel in a great location for visiting Canterbury, the cathedral is a 10 minute walk away. Car parking was plentiful and free. The room had everything we required was comfortable and clean. Staff were friendly and attentive. We didn’t eat at the hotel only because we prefer to eat out. Would definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Canterbury area.
PRICE RANGE
£61 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western canterbury, canterbury best western
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandKentCanterbury
NUMBER OF ROOMS
77
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BEST WESTERN ABBOTS BARTON HOTEL - Updated 2024 Prices (Canterbury)

Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Walrus & Oyster Emporium (0.6 miles), Annie Designs - Silver Ring Workshops (0.6 miles), and Tokyo Tea Rooms (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mr Falafel Canterbury, Notorious BRG Canterbury, and The Corner House Canterbury Restaurant.
Is Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the centre of Canterbury.
Are any cleaning services offered at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Eastbridge Hospital (0.7 miles), St. Augustine's Abbey (0.4 miles), and Westgate Towers Museum & Viewpoint (0.9 miles).