We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

502 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central
See the most recent reviews
Showing 500: English reviews
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

reception area not as clean as usual in a Travelodge, needed sweeping out, vending machine out of order, room smelt heavily of a cleaning agent, had to open the window to air the room before I could sleep. Otherwise OK staff pleasant enough, normal Travelodge service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank N7375UZandys
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central, responded to this review

We're truly sorry to learn your experience at our Canterbury Chaucer Central Travelodge and we appreciate you taking the time to leave us your review. We strive to offer our guests a good night’s sleep and an enjoyable experience whilst staying with us. That is why we are sorry to hear that you were not positively impressed by your last...

Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is located a five minute stroll to Canterbury town centre where you will find the cathedral and many other attractions. The rooms are comfortable and the full breakfast is a bargain. The staff are friendly and made our stay even more pleasurable. Thank you. Definately recommend and good for wheelchair users and the less able♿

 Report
Helpful?
Thank werenotstoppingin
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Was pleased with free 24hr parking token handed out! Staff were really helpful and friendly, breakfast was value for money. Worked out to be a great location for as a stop off before catching our ferry in the morning but will definitely return to visit Canterbury properly in the future as it looked like it has more to offer than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Fantastic location, close to all amenities within walking distance. Parking on site available and rooms were a good size and as expected. Unfortunately the beds were so hard as were the pillows. I normally like a firm bed but this one was like sleeping on a lump of concrete and we woke up stiff and in pain, which was shame...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank linzi1966
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Canterbury Chaucer Central Travelodge. We would like to apologise that you did not enjoy our King Size Dreamer bed and will be sure to pass your feedback to the relevant department for you. Thank you for posting your invaluable comments that will enable us to improve the service we offer.

Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights over a weekend. Car parks are accessed down an extremely tight road, and spaces are limited and in typical Travelodge style you have to pay. We received a very warm welcome from the staff at the check in desk, the staff were probably the highlight of this hotel, nothing was ever too much trouble and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ichessx
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. It's great that you found the staff to be welcoming on arrival and that you found your room to be spacious. We aim to provide a comfortable stay to all of our guests so we are sorry to learn that you found your room to be too hot and that your stay was affected...

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2017

Very comfortable room, right temperature. The staff were friendly and the stay was generally pleasant. However, the ceilings in the room were extremely thin so I could hear everything from above which was slightly uncomfortable. But this generally isn't an issue that I've had with previous stays.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank K6699WPsamanthac
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central, responded to this review

Your feedback is very important to us and thank you for submitting your review. We strive to offer our guests a good night’s sleep and an enjoyable experience whilst staying with us. That is why we are sorry to hear that you were not positively impressed by your last stay in our Canterbury Chaucer Central hotel. We will make the...

leeds
Reviewed 3 February 2017

This hotel was a lot further from the train station than google maps made it out to be. I had a ground floor room, very basic even more so than usual travelodges. At one point I'd looked out of the ground floor window to see nothing but trees and no lighting. It just reminded me of some cabin in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neobabe
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with regards to your stay at our Canterbury Chaucer Central Travelodge. We would like to sincerely apologise for the issues that impacted your stay, but we are thankful that your room was clean and comfortable. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it allow us to improve the service...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Good reception,very nice quite room.Very comfy bed,walk across the road and you are in the middle of loads of bars and eating places.Hope to come back again and explore Canterbury some more.So much to see!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephen j
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2017

A great location of hotel very convenient and room was very clean and big..definetly recommend. We stayed here over 5 years ago and I would presume that it has been refurbished and it is so much better now.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank S2202UTannew
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central, responded to this review

We're delighted to receive such positive feedback with regards to your recent stay at our Canterbury Chaucer Central Travelodge and we thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the cleanliness of your room and that you received a high level of service from our helpful hotel team. We will be sure to...

Reviewed 30 January 2017

Used this hotel while working away in the city. It is a walk from Canterbury West station and you do have to pay to park but, less then 5 minutes to city wall, Waitrose around the corner, clean room, hot water from the shower and hot breakfast. If you use Travelodge you know what your getting and ideal for when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel E
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central, responded to this review

We're delighted to receive such positive feedback with regards to your recent stay at our Canterbury Chaucer Central Travelodge and we thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the cleanliness of your room and that you received a high level of service from our helpful hotel team. We will be sure to...

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
1,745 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
682 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel built around attractive old House & retaining Regency appearance & atmosphere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central

Address: 63 Ivy Lane, Canterbury CT1 1TU, England (Formerly Swallow Chaucer Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Price Range: £50 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central Hotel Canterbury
Swallow Chaucer Canterbury
Hotel Swallow Chaucer
Chaucer Hotel Canterbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
Brighton, United Kingdom
over a year ago
New York City, New York
travelling
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The higher the room the better from general road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles steveaC746WC, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try and get a room on a lower floor as there are no lifts and the stairs are steepish !”
 of 5 bubbles Burclee, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Some of the rooms have ensuite sauna's. ask for one of them.”
 of 5 bubbles territt_uk, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“My first floor room was warm and comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles MikeE442, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor to the rear of the building are quieter (12/13 etc.).”
 of 5 bubbles daveandgwenhfs, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5