We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Oak Hotel

Traveller (49)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (1)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel on the Royal harbour in Ramsgate. Central to all tourist attractions, Restaurants, Bars and pubs. We also have function rooms for hire.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room Service
Dry Cleaning
Golf course
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
96Great for walkers
Grade: 96 out of 100
70Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
48Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
187Reviews
59Photos
3Q+A
49Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 69
  • 61
  • 30
  • 16
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
On arrival on a Saturday afternoon the receptionist apologised in advance for the expected noise levels from the club right next door to the hotel that has a license until 3am. Loud music...people screaming and shouting in the street in front of the hotel all night...boy racer
Read more
Response from Oakhotel66, General Manager at The Oak Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Firstly can I apologise for your bad experience caused by the outside noise on Saturday, Unfortunately being on a busy harbour front we do experience noise that some customers may find it hard to adjust to. We do have quieter rooms in the centre and back of the hotel but they do not unfortunately have the sea view. Apologies again. Ian General Manager
Read more
Very welcoming, friendly helpful staff and comfortable rooms with good facilities. Breakfast alright. Downsides- mattress on the bed was very hard, don't understand this preoccupation with hard beds by hoteliers; Night club next door but one goes on till 3am or 4am depending on
Read more
We stayed at the Oak Hotel on New Years Eve. The rooms are compact but absolutely perfect for an overnight stay. Room was very clean and there is everything there you would need for your stay - Hairdryer, tea and coffee etc. We stayed overnight New Years Eve as we spent the
Read more
Response from Oakhotel66, General Manager at The Oak Hotel
Responded 3 Jan 2019
Thank you for your great feedback and glad you enjoyed your evening, we will keep you informed about our next New Year Party Regards Ian Holmes
Read more
Came here for a friend's birthday party in the hotel function room and stayed overnight in the hotel. The party was excellent, the staff were friendly and the hotel balcony a welcome reprieve from the summer heat. The room was small, but clean and perfectly serviceable with a
Read more
Twin room was no way like photo seen, a stool for bedside table, water coming through light in bathroom, was reported. Carpet filthy, couple of sockets not working, very noisy back room with air conditioning units going all night, we paid £75 for this very small room
Read more
Response from Oakhotel66, Manager at The Oak Hotel
Responded 2 Oct 2018
Thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. You stayed in room 202 which is a twin room, but was not the room shown in our picture gallery on booking.com however is appointed to the same standard. Unfortunately on the evening of your stay we did encounter extreme weather including a deluge of rain which eventually penetrated the main roof of the building causing the water to run through the light fitting and damage some of our other rooms too. The damaged roof has now been repaired and the problem resolved. With regards to the broken sockets, upon investigation a ‘pin’ from a phone charger was found lodged in one causing it to cut out, however when testing the other sockets in the room all the others appeared to be in working order. Our house keeping staff clean every room in our hotel daily and keep a record of any rooms where carpets require cleaning, room 202 had not been reported prior to your stay however following the water damage caused by the adverse weather on the night of your stay, many rooms including 202 are being professionally cleaned. I am sorry that these factors, some of which were beyond our control, lead to you not being satisfied with your stay at The Oak Hotel and if you could contact me on 01843 583686 I will more than happy to discuss options to compensate you for this.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Business Centre & Event Rooms
uitzicht op de haven
uitzicht op de haven met historische schepen
PreviousNext
123
Yes all our rooms have en-suite bathrooms.
1 vote
Do rooms have hair dryers
Yes mine did
0 votes
is it 24hour check out
Sorry I don't know as I only 15 mins walk away and we only use the restaurant. It is is part of a big group locally. Thorley Taverns. Just give them a call and ask
0 votes
"Rooms at the back are quieter, check the mattress"
"Front rooms lovely view but noisy, back rooms quieter but no view"
"No rear room"
"harbour view rooms better on weekdays, avoid fri/sat as very noisy"
"1st floor would be better if you aren't too good on your feet or need to carry heavy bags."
PreviousNext
12345610
PRICE RANGE
US$77 - US$99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
oak hotel ramsgate
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandIsle of ThanetRamsgate
NUMBER OF ROOMS
34
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing