We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Elterwater Park Country Guest House

Save
Share
Skelwith Bridge, Ambleside LA22 9NP England
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (93)
Room & Suite (33)
Dining (6)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#22 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Finding an ideal romantic guest house in Ambleside does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Elterwater Park Country Guest House, a nice option for travellers like you.

For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting Ambleside, Elterwater Park Country Guest House is located a short distance from Loughrigg Fell (1.6 mi) and Galava Roman Fort Ambleside (2.3 mi).

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer a flat screen TV, and you can stay connected during your stay as Elterwater Park Country Guest House offers guests free wifi.

The guest house features outdoor furniture. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

While staying in Ambleside, you can check out a popular Mexican restaurant like eS Bar, which is serving up some great dishes.

Ambleside is also home to Wray Castle, a popular castle that is not too far from Elterwater Park Country Guest House.

Elterwater Park Country Guest House looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to Ambleside.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Special diet menus
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Wifi
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Hidden Gem
Languages Spoken
English
295Reviews2Q+A71Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 269
  • 18
  • 6
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Brian B wrote a review Oct 2021
Thirsk, United Kingdom357 contributions142 helpful votes
Elterwater Park Guest House is in a stunning location with wonderful views. We found it the perfect base for a weeks walking in the Lakes. Clean and comfortable with a delicious breakfast to start each day. However, we found their COVID rules a little over the top but couldn't object because you have to pay in advance. Only after you have paid do you find out what the rules are.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Glenn S wrote a review Sept 2021
Benfleet, United Kingdom221 contributions88 helpful votes
Love this place! Bit off the track but oh so worth it! Lovely accommodation and great breakfasts! Lovely hosts who couldn't do enough for us! Highly recommend! Great access local pubs. Unique and lovely!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Stunning views!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Fra B wrote a review Aug 2021
4 contributions3 helpful votes
We have stayed here several times before but under different managements and loved it. The location is amazing. However, we were hugely disappointed with the cleanliness of the room - 2 long black hairs found in the bathroom, the bottom sheet of the bed did not even fit ( too short). The owners could barely acknowledge us let alone speak, other than call our name when leaving our breakfast on a tray on a table for us to collect. We realise that we were still in Covid précaution times but it was a bit much to have to make our own toast and clear our table . At no time did they appear to ask if we needed more milk, tea or anything or to check if everything was ok. Even when visiting a restaurant we got table service so why they were unable to do that in a B&B is totally mystifying. When leaving we had to strip our own beds and put our bedding and towels in a laundry bag. We were so disappointed as for us it was a perfect location but we will not be going there again because of the owners.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Location
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from owner Elterwater Park, Owner at Elterwater Park Country Guest House
Responded 30 Aug 2021
In reading this review there are a number of points which are inaccurate and so it is obvious that the sole purpose of this review is to damage the business so we will be taking this matter further. The Covid policy is clearly stated on the website and emailed to guests at the time of booking. If after reading the information guests are not happy with our policy it is a ‘no brainer’ – don’t book. The reason we have a Covid policy in place which follows Government Guidance is to keep ourselves safe but also to keep other guests safe. Other businesses within a 2 mile radius of us recently have been forced to close for a number of weeks because of Covid. We do not ask guests to clear their table. We have a notice which asks guests to return their trays to a table so that they don’t have to eat their breakfast school meal style from the tray on their table. Toasters is a matter of personal preference. Many guests are happy with this as it is used in most hotels as it allows guests to have their toast to their taste and at a time in the breakfast when they require it. We quite clearly state in our Covid policy that if guests require more tea, milk etc. for their room then they can email or call us, or if at breakfast guests can simply ask. We do ask guests to strip their beds but this is only a request to keep staff safe, but we do not enforce this and some guests choose not to do this. Our approach to running the Bed and Breakfast is ‘light touch’ hosting to avoid Covid. However, we regularly chat to guests outside the farmhouse about their stay and help them to plan their days adventures. After all most people come to the Lake District to get into the Great Outdoors and not to spend all day chatting to the staff. At no point during the guests stay was any attempt made to raise any of the issues they claim to have experienced. It has taken these guests over a month to raise the issue of cleanliness which is unproven with no evidence to back up this claim. We are therefore taking steps to address this slur and all the inaccuracies in the review.
Read more
SD wrote a review Jul 2021
3 contributions
Tranquil location with amazing views/sunsets and stunning walks over the fells from the front door, owners attentive/friendly and unintrusive, quality breakfast (with some fine local ingredients) tailored to your requirements, ample parking, beautiful garden to sit out in, good wifi in the farmhouse, clean/comfortable and well furnished accommodation with sensible covid precautions (which did not diminish our experience). Couldn’t ask for anymore - excellent value for money in our opinion. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Stewart B wrote a review May 2021
Bristol, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
We didn't stay and cancelled our booking because the owners attempted to charge us an extra £15 per night for the twin room if the beds were pushed together to make a double. This wasn't obvious whilst booking and they swore blind that it was. They even used the old chestnut, "You're the only person ever to complain". Their logic was, that if the beds were put together the room was suddenly a King Size room and no longer a twin room and therefore an extra charge is justified. Beware, the extra charge only becomes apparent after you've booked!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: We did not stay but the rooms look decent.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$114 - US$137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
elterwater park country guest house hotel ambleside
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictAmbleside
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Elterwater Park Country Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Elterwater Park Country Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Ambleside Cowhides & Sheepskins (2.6 miles), Easedale Tarn (3.1 miles), and Holehird Gardens (4.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Elterwater Park Country Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and books, DVDs and music available for children.
Is parking available at Elterwater Park Country Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Elterwater Park Country Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fresher's Cafe, The Old Stamp House Restaurant, and Kysty Ambleside.
Are pets allowed at Elterwater Park Country Guest House?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Elterwater Park Country Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Townend (4.5 miles), Rydal Mount & Gardens (2.4 miles), and Brantwood (4.8 miles).