We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lake House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lake House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

580 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Lake House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 576: English reviews
Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Just returned after a two night stay in room 3. What can I say: lovely clean, warm room with a beautiful view. Breakfast was superb,we were treated like royalty by the two female staff (sorry didn't catch their names).We have stayed at many bed and breakfast/Hotels in The Lake District. The Lake House is certainly one of our favourites!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynniekins B
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review

Well what can I say but thank you for this superb review we will tell the girls at Lake house they will be delighted and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Lake house when you visit Ambleside. Regards Jason Hewitt

Johannesburg
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The Lake House is very pretty and in a great location next to the lake and boat cruises. The room was big, clean and comfortable. Service is good. Breakfast was good with a great view. However, it looks as if some room renovation is coming due. The carpet was a bit worn and the second bed's mattress was like a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VLBJhb
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review feedback is so important, we are somewhat surprised though at your comment about paying attention to detail as we pride ourselves on ensuring our guests have an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us at all times and we are constantly refurbishing this is an on-going process to maintain our high...

Dumfries
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Lake House for 2 nights in January as a little break away before our little bundle of joy arrived in april. The staff where very helpful and the food excellent. Our room was very clean, big and comfortable with a lovely view of the lake. They gave us the ground floor room as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TriciaBruce
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review

We are delighted that you had an excellent stay with us at Lake House we really appreciate the feedback, all the best on your new arrival and hopefully we will see all three of you sometime in the future. Regards Jason Hewitt

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My partner and I were excited about our weekend break in the lakes to breakup a boring January.we weren't disappointed and in room 5 we found a lovely relaxing room,spotlessly clean with fab views and no noise,you wouldn't have known anyone else was there! Despite the soggy weather we had a lovely couple of days. The lake House is perfectly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vicky h
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review

Love your title very appropriate and like you say 'who need sunshine' its sounds like you had a great time despite the weather and we really appreciate the review, thankyou. Regards Jason Hewitt

Storrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed in Lake house for three nights as a gift from my partner for Christmas. beautiful location overlooking the lake. We stayed in room 3, the views from the window were something else! So lovely to wake up to each morning. Our room had the most comfortable bed I have slept in and the bathroom seemed newly refurbished to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmilyandRich
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review we really appreciate the feedback and delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and we look forward to maybe welcoming you back for a future stay. Regards Andrew Hewitt

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My girlfriend and I decided to do something different and stay in the Lakes for New Year. We chose (very last minute) to stay at Lake House and overall we were quite impressed! The place is situated just off the river, about a ten minute walk into Ambleside, with great views of Windermere. As we had booked last minute we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dp46
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review we are pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us but we are sorry to hear that you felt a bit processed. We have mentioned to the member of staff concerned but to be honest she does try hard and really just wants to please everybody. Regards Jason Hewitt

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2014

we stayed at the Lake house for a base to enjoy news eve in Ambleside. The hotel is well furnished. Location is metres away from the Lake shore by the stretch of the term. We did feel somewhat processed on arrival (not really a personal touch) and did not receive the mulled wine until we requested it in the evening....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stejan98
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review we appreciate the feed back and have noted your comments. Regards Jason Hewitt

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

This was our 2nd visit and we were not disappointed. We stayed for 4 nights and booked a hideaway room again as we like being slightly removed from the main building. The room was spotlessly clean and contained everything you could want. We preferred the layout of the hideaway room we had the 1st time we stayed, which was up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate J
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review

Many thanks for this great review we are delighted that you had an enjoyable time appreciating the location and thank you for your kind comments on our outstanding service. We look forward to welcoming you or anybody you have recommended to Lake house in the future. Regards Jason

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The hotel itself was really lovely - great location and the rooms were really clean and well furnished. We booked two rooms for our family - one superior and one standard room. We chose this hotel as we wanted to bring our dog and they advertise as being dog friendly, and indeed the rooms were kitted with dog bowls for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeremys30
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review we really appreciate the feedback but on this occasion we do have to disagree with what you have said, we would never say that dogs can be taken into the dining room where food is being served, we have three places in Ambleside that are all dog friendly and the...

Pudsey
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed here for the first weekend in December! The hotel is in a beautiful position over looking Lake Wndermere. We received a warm welcome from the staff and shown to a very comfortable, clean room! We had only been our room for ten minutes when a knock came on the door and we were presented with mulled wine and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara T
jasonhewitt, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your fantastic review the team at Lake House will be delighted that you had such a good time and we will pass on your kind friendly comments. Thanks again Jason Hewitt

163 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (153)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,624 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
452 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
544 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This family run country house has spectacular views across Waterhead Bay, Windermere Loughrigg Fell and the Langdale Peaks as well as offering stylish, modern and luxurious accommodation. With its country house atmosphere combined with stylish decor and modern luxury touches, not to mention its eighteen gorgeous bedrooms and wonderful raised vistas, Lake House is a perfect place to stay and make your own. Come together in the large, light dining and living area with stunning lake views, or find your own space to relax and escape on one of the lovely reading landings or from the privacy of your large bedroom. Lake House manages to combine grandeur and intimacy in private surroundings for all occasions. Please note, due to the relaxing nature of the building rooms are not suitable for children.Each of the 18 bedrooms are decorated and fitted to the highest standards, all en-suite with TV with DVD, CD players and tea/coffee making facilities. Some superior rooms feature four poster beds and have the best views over Lake Windermere.Traditional Lakeland breakfast is served in the dining room with an array of continental breads, cereals and fruit with wonderful lake and mountain views. Full English is set out for you to help yourself and there are trays for you to take it all up to your room if you so wish - breakfast in bed do it yourself style!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lake House

Address: Lake Rd | Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Price Range: £89 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake House Hotel Ambleside
Lake House Ambleside, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lake House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Lake House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book room 3”
sbro4321, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The lake view room was excellent”
December22-uk, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 10 has fantastic views across the lake”
JamesE49, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 10, at the top of the house (a few stairs) but a wonderful view of Windermere and a 4 poster bed.”
AmandaG613, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 16 is the one to have”
Brownal, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5