We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Lyth Valley Country House B&B

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (316)
Dining (43)
Room & Suite (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 12 hotels in Kendal
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Snuggled beautifully between the majestic limestone outcrops of Scout Scar and Whitbarrow Scar, lying in the rolling, pastoral, damson tree-strewn landscape of the Lyth valley, is our luxuriously refurbished 9 bedroom hotel and restaurant. If you’re looking for a place to eat or drink that’s got that something special, or a place to stay that delivers something extraordinary, then the Lyth Valley is it!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Hiking
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Private check-in / check-out
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Room service
Seating area
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family
284Reviews9Q+A58Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 236
  • 28
  • 8
  • 3
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Gary-Sophia wrote a review Mar 2023
Leicester, United Kingdom14 contributions5 helpful votes
Fabulous room overlooking the lovely open countryside. The room was spacious, extremely clean, all modern fittings whilst retaining a great rustic vibe, lovely bed, tea making facilities, wall mounted flat screen tv. Great host who was friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Breakfast was great, cereals, juices, and a full English cooked to order. Thanks for a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There is parking at the B and B. 15 mins drive to bowness.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
M3Traveller wrote a review Feb 2023
Manchester, United Kingdom147 contributions84 helpful votes
Disappointing. Stayed here 3 or so years ago and was looking forward to returning but the experience wasn’t up to scratch. The building is lovely, rooms are spacious, well decorated and clean. The views are also incredible. Unfortunately, that’s where the positives stop. No toiletries and half a roll of toilet paper in the bathroom. Intermittent Sky/Wifi in room. Dirty cups, no glasses and no milk to go with the sparse “coffee and tea” selection. Limited bar selection and self service in a cold, dark “bar area”. Breakfast was underwhelming with microwaved eggs. For the price (£200 a night) we were very underwhelmed and won’t be returning. A real shame.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
cazbgood wrote a review Feb 2023
Clitheroe, United Kingdom220 contributions48 helpful votes
+1
I booked this hotel as a surprise for my husband. We arrived Friday teatime, Phil was waiting for us and checked us in, he explained where the drinks were at the bar and how it worked, filling in the book whenever you took anything and then it would be paid on check out. We were staying in the pheasant room which was beautiful. Although be aware that the bathroom and toilet is open plan so no door. This didn't bother me but I think my husband would have preferred a bit of privacy re the toilet. There was a terrace outside and the views in the morning were brilliant. The room was clean and very roomy. The only thing I will say is when we wanted to get a shower we realised there was no shower gel or bubble bath. There was shampoo and conditioner. We ended up buying some shower gel and bubble bath when we went out on Saturday. The breakfast was more than enough both choice wise and quality wise. We loved the bread that we had, proper doorstop and so tasty.Phil was again on hand to advise on places to visit for dinner and was so helpful. When we returned from our walk on Saturday I had a bath in the beautiful roll top and it was perfect. We love the lakes but we prefer places that aren't over populated so this was perfect for us. Would definitely come back again and highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Gemmadobey wrote a review Feb 2023
Prudhoe, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Excellent stay at this lovely B&B. We stayed in the Fox Den room, views are to die for, so lovely to wake up to such a beautiful landscape. Room was immaculate, breakfast which was included was plentiful and top quality. We were warmly welcomed and have absolutely no complaints! We would highly recommend for a quiet night away!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The location of this hotel is around 15 mins from Kendal centre, only small basic toiletries...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Yasmine1973 wrote a review Oct 2022
Rossendale, United Kingdom27 contributions6 helpful votes
A great little find. Lovely, spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated rooms with views onto rolling hills and farmland. It makes a great base for exploring the south Lakes and we were given such a warm welcome. Will be returning with family and friends again. Thank you for an amazing weekend at Lyth Valley Country House - I feel thoroughly refreshed & recharged!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Plenty of parking and despite it being on the road, the rooms are perfectly peaceful.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Tommy C wrote a review Aug 2022
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom11 contributions
+1
Honestly if you want couples get away this is the place ! Clean fresh and tidy! We stayed in one of the tents and they was very cool! Free fire wood available aswell. Phill was so helpful and genuinely a nice bloke. We will be coming back to rent the whole place out we liked it so much and even considering getting married here! Phil thank you so much for our stay!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Nearest town 15 minute drive with lots of restaurants and bars! Also boat hire available at...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sian C wrote a review Oct 2021
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom9 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We stayed for 3 nights as a short honeymoon break because our original trip was cancelled. Communication from Keith before arrival was much appreciated, with detailed instructions on how to find our room incase we arrived after they'd left (which we did!) No problem finding our room and we were thrilled with the space. The Robin room was like a suite so there was plenty of room for the two of us and it was a perfect base for trips to Kendal, Bowness, Windermere, Ambleside and Hawkshead. We also enjoyed evening meals at nearby pubs each night, all within a 10 minute drive. Breakfast each morning was brilliant and set us up for the day - fruits, yogurts, cereals and also full English options. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
mariabarnes wrote a review Sept 2021
Northampton, United Kingdom1003 contributions163 helpful votes
Very pretty location. We had The Fox room which was spotless and tastefully furnished. The bathroom was beautiful with free standing bath. Great breakfast. Added bonus of an honesty bar for use. Very friendly people. Thanks to Phil and the team.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Does not do evening meals. Good pub a few miles away
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lindsay M wrote a review Sept 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Would certainly NOT recommend this place. We had a hen do booked here for 14 people. It was booked months in advance. All activities booked an paid for. To be told 3 weeks before that they have double booked the place on their booking system. Not very apologetic at all and only solution was to send some air b&bs alternatives. Now we are having to rearrange a full hen do as there is no where available at this late a date. Terrible customer service!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lyth Valley Info, Owner at Lyth Valley Country House B&B
Responded 3 Sept 2021
Here at the Lyth Valley we would like to apologise for what has happened regarding your booking ,this is entirely down to our booking agent for over booking the property . so sorry for any inconvenience they have caused you . we are in the process of taking on all our bookings direct as our agent has now upset to many people . sorry again Lyth Valley
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lucy Wilson wrote a review Aug 2021
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom55 contributions30 helpful votes
We were contacted by Sykes holidays 4 days before our stay to let us know it was cancelled. We had checked a couple of weeks earlier if everything was okay, to which it was. So it was a surprise they cancelled. We were given no information as to why it was cancelled. We managed to go somewhere else (not in the Lake District). Very disappointed as it was our honeymoon and we had it booked since late last year. Only good thing was we got our money back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Lyth Valley Info, Owner at Lyth Valley Country House B&B
Responded 3 Sept 2021
Here at the Lyth Valley we would like to apologise for what has happened regarding your booking ,this is entirely down to our booking agent for over booking the property . so sorry for any inconvenience they have caused you . we are in the process of taking on all our bookings direct as our agent has now upset to many people . sorry again Lyth Valley
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kendal area.
PRICE RANGE
£897 - £1,540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictKendal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LYTH VALLEY COUNTRY HOUSE B&B - Updated 2024 Prices (Kendal)

Frequently Asked Questions about Lyth Valley Country House B&B
Which popular attractions are close to Lyth Valley Country House B&B?
Nearby attractions include Michael Coates Clay Shooting (4.1 miles), Wreay Syke Alpacas (4.7 miles), and Lake District National Park Guided Walks (4.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Lyth Valley Country House B&B?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Lyth Valley Country House B&B?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Lyth Valley Country House B&B?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lyth Valley Country House B&B?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pedro's Casa, Cafe Olive Kendal, and Thai Kitchen In Lakeland.
Are there any historical sites close to Lyth Valley Country House B&B?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Blackwell - The Arts & Crafts house (4.4 miles), Levens Hall (3.6 miles), and Sizergh Castle (3.1 miles).
Is Lyth Valley Country House B&B accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.