We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Riverside Hotel

Beezon Road Stramongate Bridge, Kendal LA9 6FS England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (459)
Room & Suite (255)
Dining (68)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#6 of 12 hotels in Kendal
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Car park
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Steam room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
1,609Review34Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 615
  • 608
  • 261
  • 80
  • 45
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Veronika N wrote a review 16 Apr
3 contributions
I booked two nights at the hotel, with full prepayment. Unfortunately, my evening train got cancelled, as it often happens in the UK, so I could arrive to Kendal on the next morning. I sent them notification immediately that my train is cancelled and I would arrive in the morning. And you know what - these scammers didnt let me in, even for the 2nd night which was already prepaid! They invented something about my booking terms, but the reality is - they took advantage of the unfortunate situation with trains to rip me off. And then they complained that I was rude with their personnel - for some reason I wasnt very polite when I learnt that they just took my 200 pounds. All the other hotels in Kendal, including Castle Green, Station hotel, when the train were cancelled understood the situation and even return the amounts for the first night! Anyway, I'm happy that I'll never stay with these scammers anymore, besides I've seen the reviews about shabby rooms, dirty pool, and absence of fire alarms. So, I'm more than happy never to appear there.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Choose any other hotel in Kendal. Castle Green is very good.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jenn B, General Manager at Riverside Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
210veronikan, thank you for your 2nd review (last one in Dec about the same booking) please see the same response: although you did try to cancel your booking on the evening of the day of arrival via the third party you had made the reservation with. We do have a 3 day cancellation policy with the third party and unfortunately you are bound by their T&Cs. We did advise you to contract your travel insurers & we would always advise booking direct. Many Thanks
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Graham K wrote a review 3 Apr
Manchester, United Kingdom1 contribution
The hotel to be fair was a typical average 3 star hotel, we booked this for the leisure club facilities. MISTAKE. I have visited many hotels up and down the UK, these are the worst I have come across. Filthy, male changing room, all the showers work, but only 1 is hot. No Shampoo or soap. Grime on the floor and the doors in the showers. Lockers broken. (Not all of them, about half). Dont think the changing rooms had been cleaned for ages. Steam Room, out of order. (Apparently often is). Jacuzzi, got in and immediately got out, cant say why on here. Pool very small. Honestly , I dont think they would pass a health inspection. They need a full power clean. We stayed at the Castle Green the week after what a difference in the leisure club. Please Dont stay here for the leisure club.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ralph H wrote a review Mar 2024
Rainford, United Kingdom7 contributions4 helpful votes
We have stayed here many times over past 20 years and cannot believe how expensive the hotel has become since Covid. As usual the room was very clean and the beds very comfortable and the staff helpful and friendly. . However there was no general information folder resulting in a very cool room. Unfortunately the dining experience in the evening was very poor (I would not recommend evening meals to anyone) and the hot food at breakfast was lukewarm.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
pamsbargains wrote a review Mar 2024
Manchester, United Kingdom305 contributions54 helpful votes
Devastated.Totally ruined my 65th Birthday Celebrations. Booked with this hotel direct to ensure that my husbands disability was catered for. Booked a room on the ground floor to access with my husband's disability scooter. Checked that parking was available for our disability adapted high roofed van. Checked in and luckily viewed the access to the room. Stairs with stairlift down to a lift to access upper rooms. No means of accessing accessible rooms without Stairs! Reception said that we should have been told when making the booking. We were not! Advised to book local Travelodge. We did. Only to discover on arrival that the car park barrier didn't allow high enough access for our disability vehicle. The happy Birthday experience in Kendal which we anticipated, was now dead. Lots of planning. Country pubs. Shopping by foot and mobility scooter without using the car. All for nothing! We went home. Unhappy with no birthday celebrations. Worst birthday ever!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Disability access is not catered for at this hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jenn B, General Manager at Riverside Hotel
Responded 4 Mar 2024
Thank you very much for your review, unfortunately we are unable to locate your booking within our system with the details above. If could you please email us directly with these and we can look in to this further for you. We always direct people to our access statement on our website regarding our disabled access, due to the age of the building we do have multi levels. Many Thanks
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Hawklord_pxr5 wrote a review Feb 2024
Galashiels, United Kingdom874 contributions393 helpful votes
Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Riverside. The location is great, with free parking, and 5 mins walk from train station and town centre. We had a nice river view from our room which was a good size. Would have expected at least a queen bed though, it was only a double. Breakfast was bit disappointing. On the first day it was supposed to be cooked to order but the bacon was so hard it was kneble and had obviously been sitting out for ages. Slightly better when buffet was available but still could have been better. Staff were nice. We didn’t use the leisure facilities or bar. Overall we did feel it was a little pricy compared to other places we’ve stayed of similar quality.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jenn B, General Manager at Riverside Hotel
Responded 4 Mar 2024
Thank you Hawklord_pxr5 for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed the location of the hotel, we are very handy to the train station and town centre. I will pass the comments regarding breakfast to our chefs. Many Thanks Riverside Hotel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nicola g wrote a review Feb 2024
23 contributions8 helpful votes
Lovely hotel. Views of the river made it. The only issue we had was they only issue one card per room and there are no staff passed 10pm. My husband unfortunately lost the key and we had a nightmare trying to get in as there where no staff passed 10pm. We got back at 10.10. We retraced our steps and luckily somebody had picked out card up in a bar. Disappointed there was not an emergency number to contact. Good hotel not good there were no emergency contacts. Admit our fault the key was missing but never had this issue before where no staff were there.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jenn B, General Manager at Riverside Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you Nicola g for your review, please be assured we do have staff on site during the night in the event of an emergency. We have a number to call which is displayed on the front door and on reception. These details are also given upon check in. We are pleased you found your key. Many Thanks
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
sharonpalmer35 wrote a review Feb 2024
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom5 contributions10 helpful votes
Stayed here for 2 nights over valentines and it was great. Room lovely and clean. If you are going to stay make sure you get a room with a view of the river… our room was ground floor and felt like I was on a boat the river is right outside your window. Bar was ok with bar food. Although restaurant was not open… but as I said they do good menu in the bar so it was not a drama. Breakfast was great and plenty to choose from. Staff was lovely to. Would definitely stay again..
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jenn B, General Manager at Riverside Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you sharonpalmer35 for your lovely review. We are very lucky 51 of our 58 rooms overlook the River. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay. Many Thanks
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Veronika N wrote a review Dec 2023
3 contributions
Carefully read their reservations rules before booking. This is the most customer unfriendly hotel I've ever seen with the most ridiculous reservation rules. I couldn't come for the first night because of train cancellation, which you often have in the UK. When I was going to come on the second day, they said my reservation is cancelled and they wont let me in, at the same time, they took the whole payment for the whole reservation period. So, if you have a several day booking and not able to come because of emergency, they neither let you in, nor return you anything. Just an example, when similar situations happened with my other reservations in Kendal, the hotels shifted my stay, or fully refunded, or in the worst case, just let me stay the remainder. This hotel just basically robbed me. Yes, it's their rules, but these rules are aimed at robbing customers and take advantage of their emergencies. Then, after basically robbing me they accuse me of being rude with the hotel personnel, without mentioning that their customer service has been rude and competely unhelpful with me as well. It's funny to expect that someone would be polite with you after you behave like thieves.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jenn B, General Manager at Riverside Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
210veronikan, thank you for your comments, although you did try to cancel your booking on the evening of the day of arrival via the third party you had made the reservation with. We do have a 3 day cancellation policy with the third party and unfortunately you are bound by their T&Cs. We did advise you to contract your travel insurers & we would always advise booking direct. Many Thanks
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paul F wrote a review Oct 2023
Grangemouth, United Kingdom53 contributions28 helpful votes
Was visiting Kendal for the weekend and stayed here. Initially booked due to the location- easy to get to, plenty of parking and only 5-10 minute walk into town. Lovely views of the river. Didn’t have any issues. The hotel was nice and clean. Food and drinks were fine and staff were brilliant. We had dogs with us on the trip which were accommodated without any hassle. Ideal.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
T3603TAkathrynm wrote a review Sept 2023
Oban, United Kingdom2 contributions
The reception staff were exceedingly helpful and our dog was made very welcome. Both bedroom and bathroom were clean and functional. Breakfast was freshly cooked. We didn't eat in the restaurant or use the bar.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kendal area.
PRICE RANGE
£94 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictKendal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
58
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RIVERSIDE HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Riverside Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Riverside Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Quaker Tapestry Museum (0.1 miles), Outside In Kendal (0.10 miles), and Kendal Museum (0.08 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Riverside Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Riverside Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Riverside Hotel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Riverside Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pedro's Casa, Cafe Olive Kendal, and Corner 124.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Riverside Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Riverside Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the centre of Kendal.
Are any cleaning services offered at Riverside Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Riverside Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Riverside Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Riverside Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Levens Hall (5.0 miles), Sizergh Castle (3.4 miles), and Lakeland Museum (0.5 miles).