We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Riverside Hotel

Show Prices
#5 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Riverside Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

953 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Riverside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 943: English reviews
kendal
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Nice location,lovely staff )there was a lovely view of the river,excellent place for short break.Food very good and service ok, we did use the gym and pool in the past was excellent. Thank you I will be back soon.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank vaerny m
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Great review thank you. Pleased you enjoyed all our amenities, food and location. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2013

After seeing many negative reviews on this hotel we were a bit apprehensive coming to stay here for a few days. It turned out to be a very well run hotel, the staff were very helpful and cheerful and there were lovely views from the dining room of the river Kent. Very good position, easy walking distance to the town....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MikeD278
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. I'm happy you enjoyed our location and didn't let a few negative reviews put you off! Thanks also for bringing to our attention about high chairs; we will certainly look into these fantastic sounding new models! Thanks again.

Montrose, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Excellent place for a short break , lovely town and nice people , first day rained a lot but cleared up the next few days. Food very good and service was great,menu had lots of choice for all types, lots of lovely walks to done if required. Hotel has parking for people arriving with cars , but very small area...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Horhay7260
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting this 5-star review, we appreciate it! We all are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments about our food and staff. We hope we will see you again the next time you are in the area for a short break.

Southampton
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Location is fine, not only for Kendal but for car access to all the surrounding beautful places that this part of the country has to offer. Reaching the hotel car park is less straightforward, thanks to the one-way system - I would advise checking this before setting off, as it's not intuitive. After an efficient check-in, the less impressive aspects...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank CaptainPacific
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is a shame that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are working very hard to address some of the issues you raised. We have appointed a new housekeeping manager which is already bearing fruit in regards to the cleanliness of the hotel. I do take issue with the idea that staff...

Midlands
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed here with 2 young children in a family room back in June. Check in was efficient but the location of our room was tricky to get to with a pushchair. The room itself was adequately sized and clean, although decor and furniture is very tired looking. There was a lovely view of the river Kent outside the window...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ruberob
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and for staying with us. I'm happy you enjoyed our location on the River. Thank you for the constructive comments as well; always good to receive feedback like this. Thanks again.

Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Excellent hotel and staff. Own swimming pool and gym - superb facilities and location. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. I had a room overlooking the River Kent and it was lovely hearing thevriver below us. The hotel is in the heart of the town, clean and the staff lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Kathryn S
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for this wonderful, 5-star review! I'm happy you enjoyed our location and thanks for mentioning our staff as well. Hopefully we will see you again.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, Booked an executive twin (2double beds) but when I arrived they had put us in a family room (1 double 1 single) with a wet room/disabled access. I was then told they were fully booked so could not change. Receptionist was helpful and gave us all the info we needed. Good location, literally a 2...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank bridget_jones1
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us and for posting this review. We do have some great amenities here that I'm pleased you mentioned. We do clear away the spiders daily, especially this time of year being on the river and all. We have instituted some new housekeeping policies to address some of the issues raised here on TripAdvisor. It is already...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Friendly, helpful staff - good location for Kendal and the train station. Hotel is 'tired' with rooms and general upkeep not the best. Restaurant food was a hit and miss affair - some dishes were pretty good, others were really poor quality. Simple things such as breakfast, no fresh fruit on offer and the turn over on certain items was...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank BigTLondon71
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for posting this review; it has proven helpful for us. I am sorry that you experienced as many misses as hits, but do thank you for the kind comments about our staff. I am sure with a bit of work, we can easily address the issues you have raised. Thanks again.

hartlepool
Reviewed 19 August 2013

we had no problem finding a parking space. Had a lovely welcome at reception our room was not ready so receptionist put our luggage in a room for us and said we were welcome to sit in the bar and she would come and let us know when it was ready. We only had a short wait and when we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chrishartlepool
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely 5-star review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay, staff will be delighted their efforts are appreciated. We hope to see you again.

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

The location was great, the staff were lovely, the room was huge, pool was perfect for us. However, why do places that accept dogs always seem to be dirty? We had to move the furniture to better position the travel cot, I don't think anyone had moved it to clean in years! Surely that's something that should be done regularly....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Foodies55
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and your 4-star review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay, but want to apologise for the dust issue. Don't blame the dogs though; we'll sort it! Thanks again.

369 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (174)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (86)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (188)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Standard Room (21)
Viewed
Suite (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (75)
Viewed
Twin Room (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
628 reviews
22.7 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
7.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Price Range: £78 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Riverside Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Riverside Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room in the new part of the building”
 of 5 bubbles ssbaby, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Quiet rooms are opposite the river but the rooms also on the front side of the hotel are quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles paulcJ4310PR, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for riverside room. 004 is right on the water”
 of 5 bubbles Gael01, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A view of the river”
 of 5 bubbles 2349Mel, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms next to the bridge are very noisy due to people coming and going from the railway station and passing cars”
 of 5 bubbles TarlCaboto, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5