We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kendal Hostel

271 reviews
Save
Traveller (11)
Room & Suite (8)
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good32%
  • Average13%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“bunk beds”(12 reviews)
“free pool table”(7 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Pets Allowed
Laundry Service
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (271)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Kendal Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
129
85
35
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
129
85
35
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrewery arts centrebunk bedsfree pool tablemixed dormginger catfree tea and coffeelake districtresident dogcommunal kitchentrain and bus stationdrying roomcommunal areas arecooking facilitieswood burning stovethe location is perfectrooms are cleanhigh street
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
31 - 35 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights (3 friends), in a private room. The hostel is really cosy, especially the entrance, it seemed to be in a big family house. Everything was really clean, and the 2 people running it really nice and helpful. The hostel...More

Thank Eli1992
Response from hosteljan, Owner at Kendal HostelResponded 7 August 2017

Thanks for your kind comments

Reviewed 4 August 2017

I stayed here while doing Land's End to John O' Groats. The hostel was great value and had everything I needed; secure bike storage, laundry service, drying room, hot shower, comfy bed and a bargain £3 breakfast. It is really close to pubs and shops...More

Thank Cat P
Response from hosteljan, Owner at Kendal HostelResponded 7 August 2017

For someone who had cycled 100 miles a day for the last 5 days it was the least I could do I hope you finished it in a good state of health You did have me worried.

Reviewed 3 August 2017

It's on the main street and close to Tesco, a very convenient location. The rooms and bathroom were clean and tidy. Staff was very friendly and helpful. It was a great and comfortable stay. I would recommend it to anyone looking for value for money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hmchan_carmen
Response from hosteljan, Owner at Kendal HostelResponded 4 August 2017

Thank you very much for your kind comments. It great to hear that the hostel is being kept clean and you had a comfortable stay!

Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

Visited the lakes but wouldn't let the weather dampen an amazing weekend we stayed in this lovely hostel that had an old world charm and stunning character features totally spotless with an amazing family feel largely due to the lovely Jan and Christina the mother...More

Thank 581DENISET
Response from hosteljan, Owner at Kendal HostelResponded 31 July 2017

Thank you very much for your kind comments! We try to keep the hostel as clean as possible and it always helps when the guests clean up after themselves to keep the place clean and tidy. The weather is always so unpredictable but like i...More

Reviewed 29 July 2017

Very nice and unique hostel! We had a private room with en suite toilet!! Breakfast included with little donation! Hosts very appreciable! Unfortunately the walls are very thin and our neighbours were super noisy with music on in the middle of the night..

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 117zoe
Response from hosteljan, Owner at Kendal HostelResponded 30 July 2017

Thanks I appreciate you taking the time to write a review

View more reviews
PreviousNext
15678953
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Breakfast Available
Details
Price range
US$54 - US$95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Family Rooms, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$54 - US$95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Family Rooms, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (11)
Room & Suite (8)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
swjconstruction
25 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from hosteljan | Property representative |
There is the Brewery Arts Centre car park behind the hostel and it has cctv coverage on
0
Votes
peblaarr
10 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from hosteljan | Property representative |
Hi, We do have some very good reviews. I will post some more photos on our Trip Advisor page for you. I can also email some photos to you if you wish to send me an email. Many thanks Kristina & Jan
0
Votes
Room Tips
"If you are someone that gets cold easily, they have spare blankets."
Read review
"The bunks don't havean individual light, so if you like to read in bed before sleep, as I do, then take a..."
Read review
"It's warm at night so open a window."
Read review
"The room has a basin, which it is really practical."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing