We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Kings Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Kings Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

416 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 414: English reviews
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Always pop in at least once on a visit to Keswick and always made to feel to welcome with our dog, some places say they are dog friendly then look down at your smelly, muddy but well behaved pooch and turn their noses up. Never happens here ! Food good and Connor behind the bar not only knows his beers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PoochonBob
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PoochonBob Thank you for a lovely review, it's great to hear that you always pop in to see us when you are in the Lakes. We hope to see you and your four legged friend again in the future. Thanks Leah

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We come to Keswick quite a lot but for some reason we haven't been in here before but I think we'll visit regularly in future. The staff were friendly and the restaurant was spacious and comfortable. We had 'king burgers' which we didn't really think through properly because they are huge! Great taste and we couldn't finish ours because there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul Thank you for taking the time to leave a review from your recent visit. Good choice with the burgers, we're well known by visitors & locals for our delicious burgers. It's great to hear that you will return, we look forward to welcoming you back. Thanks Leah

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Called in for our evening meal. Nice atmosphere and friendly staff. We ordered fish and chips, and the Cumbrian tartiflette. The fish and chips were the best we'd had in a long time and the tartiflette was to die for. Will definitely be calling in again next time we are in Keswick.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susan Thank you for a lovely review, we look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Thanks Leah

MANCHESTER
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here as a birthday treat. We were allocated room 14 which was a lovely recently decorated room towards the back of the hotel. You can get a parking disc from reception which allows you to park all day and night in nearby public car park - just don't forget to give it back or it may cost you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SGLEND
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sglena Thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive and informative review, which I am sure future guests will find helpful. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Kings Arms Hotel Thanks Leah

Lancashire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had our Christmas dinner here and all of the courses were very good. The turkey and veg were plentiful. The restaurant is nice and cosy and the staff helpful. We have visited here on many occasions but only had drinks, I would return to eat here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blueblueLancashire
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bluebluelancashire Thank you for a great review and for joining us for your Christmas dinner. We hope that you will come back again to try some of our other delightful dishes, as our menu's change seasonally. Thanks Leah

Varanasi, India
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

Love Keswick. We usually camp but decided as it was the end of October and my partners birthday to stay in a b and b . The king's arms was nice. Clean room, relaxing. The cooked breakfast was good. A bigger fruit selection would've been nice . We would stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moon-faery
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review, following on from your stay in December. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings Arms Hotel. Thanks Leah

Kings Lynn
Reviewed 21 November 2016

having previously visited and eaten at this hotel in their restaurant last year we were looking forward to a enjoyable delicious sunday roast. We were greeted by a very friendly and welcoming young lady who took us to our table . We were all hungary and looking forward to our lunch we skipped the starters and went straight for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rowena N
Leah D, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rowena I'm very sorry to hear that you and your friends did not enjoy your dining experience at the Kings Arms. It's a shame that you have stated that you will not return again in the future, if you had highlighted any problems you encountered with your meals to us at the time, we would most certainly have been...

BASINGSTOKE
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

We had an enjoyable mid-week evening meal for two in the back room of the restaurant at The Kings Arms Hotel in the centre of Keswick. Sarah looked after our needs including ensuring that food allergies were taken care of. Our steaks were cooked just right and served up with a tasty selection of vegetables and chips and the merlot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roger_causon
Leah D, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Roger_causon Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review after your recent dining experience at the Kings Arms Hotel. It's great to hear that you would highly recommend us and you made a good choice with the steaks. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks Leah

newcastle upon tyne
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Cheese and pickle sandwich Menu...hand cut crusty bloomer bread...reality packet sliced. Cheese tasteless and there was a distinct taste of mound on something either the bread or the cheese. Terrible won't be going back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donkeyhat47
Leah D, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Donkeyhat47 I’m sorry to hear that the food was not to your taste, we usually receive very favourable reviews regarding this and always aim to keep standards of food high, all of our meals are freshly prepared with good quality, local ingredients. If you had highlighted any problems with your sandwich to us at the time we would have...

Northumberland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

Just popped in for a pint and a sandwich. Most of the staff are friendly, most! Good selection of beers, but the sandwiches are nothing to write home about, a bit disappointing really. The menu looks quite good and sandwiches are all we had so the rest of the food may be better, but I don't know.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
Leah D, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review from your recent visit to the Kings Arms. I hope that you will not let this one experience put you off returning and trying some of the other dishes that we have on our menu. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Thanks Leah

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
496 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
691 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
650 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly refurbished AA 3 star Hotel right in the centre of Keswick, the Lake District. In the 17th century, Keswick was the crossroads for many of the horse and carriage routes which traversed this part of the English Lake District. The Kings Arms Hotel, a true Coaching Inn of that period, offers the traveller of today the same unrivaled hospitality and friendly service in keeping with its heritage. To stay at the Kings Arms Hotel in Keswick is to experience the legacies, in modern day comfort and luxury, of a true Coaching Inn. A warm and friendly smile awaits you from our well trained staff, whose aim is to make your stay one of many. The air-conditioned, newly refurbished restaurant serves appetising home-cooked dishes such as slow-cooked local lamb joints and the almost-famous spare ribs, beef & Jennings ale pie, delicious hand-cut, home-cooked chips plus mouth-watering hot and cold desserts. After a hearty meal, why not relax in front of the open fire with a drink in the newly-refurbished, cosy oak-beamed bar and watch the world go by outside on the streets of Keswick. With over 40 whisky's and some of the best local ales on tap the choice is yours. Or in the summer months take a seat in the charming courtyard, which is the perfect place to enjoy delicious food and a refreshing drink al fresco. There are 13 recently refurbished bedrooms all with their own shower rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Address: 27 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: £89 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Keswick, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Kings Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Kings Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Did not stay at hotel only used restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles rowenan828, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for lower floor room if you find steep stairs difficult”
 of 5 bubbles amandarM8195JS, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Number 9 was comfortable but up two flights of steep winding stairs”
 of 5 bubbles rochesterrambler, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Look for a different hotel first, if this is all that's left, don't go in room 7. small and noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles darrenw119, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the front of the hotel if you want to sleep soundly.”
 of 5 bubbles Ttaylo3, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay