We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Kings Arms Hotel

Booking.comUS$114*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Kings Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

440 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Kings Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 438: English reviews
North Shields
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night with the bed, breakfast and evening meal deal. Room was clean, bit small but had everything u need. Was surprised to find that they supplied ear plugs and expected a loud night with it being next door to a night club. We didn't hear a thing so that was good. Not a great selection of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LITTLELIZ02
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review from your recent stay at the Kings Arms Hotel. It sounds like you enjoyed your time with us and I will pass your comments on to our chef regrading our chips. We hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to Keswick. Thanks Leah

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

We had a table booked for Saturday night at 8.30. We were seated and ordered quickly but half an hour after we placed our order the waiter returned to advise my husband that his choice was no longer available. He chose something else to be told 15mins later that his second choice had also finished. At this point I still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

Day Three of the Cumbria Way complete we arrived footsore and tired to be refreshed by two very cold pints of larger. The room was beautifully decorated with a good view of the Moot Hall. The bathroom was a clean and well supplied, earplugs for the weekend, though we heard nothing. The bed was too comfortable, a struggle to leave....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrudiCD
Wooler
Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

We did not stay here although I would! We stayed just outside Keswick but called in here every day for a drink as it has a lovely feel about the place. Staff very friendly. Although it was busy it was a pleasure to be in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marrie700
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2016

Stayed in room 8 facing the main street. Room was comfortable, very clean and room facilities were fine. Location of hotel could not have been better, it was ideally located in the centre of Keswick. Car parking was great, with the hotel providing a permit for the central car park at two pounds per day. Staff were all friendly, polite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank john l
Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

Called in for an evening meal whilst staying self catering in Keswick. We hadn't booked but there was no problem getting a table for four. The food wasn't 'wow' but perfectly adequate with a good vegetarian option (falafel & goat cheese burger). Maybe the sausage & mash could have come with proper veg instead of some crispy twirls which didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JLE41
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

Stayed here overnight. Hotel is on Main Street in Keswick so very central and parking is only £2 a day with their permit. Room was facing the front street. Beautiful double room with modern decor and spacious bathroom. Very pleased with it. Heard noise of people talking when nightclub next door closed but it was not rowdy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Nafferton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2016

Our room (room 6) was on the 2nd floor and it was quite a climb to get to it. The stairs to the 2nd floor are curved and fairly steep but the room, once reached, was spacious and well decorated. The quilts were warm but not so thick that they pinned you to the bed (unlike some hotels). The bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay B
london
Reviewed 24 March 2016 via mobile

The five course tasting menu was spectacular. It actually turned into a seven course meal. The service and knowledge of the staff was excellent . Thus created a special but informal atmosphere. Superb. Worth the 500 mile round trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jim h
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile

Everything you could want in a pub with rooms. Nice bar, friendly staff, decent food (breakfast was particularly nice) and clean comfortable rooms. On the downside it was too hot in the room and opening the window was a mistake as the pub opposite was a bit lively! Bit of noise from the bar but ear plugs were provided in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tracybuxton

98 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (5)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.0 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
723 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
585 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
678 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
592 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly refurbished AA 3 star Hotel right in the centre of Keswick, the Lake District. In the 17th century, Keswick was the crossroads for many of the horse and carriage routes which traversed this part of the English Lake District. The Kings Arms Hotel, a true Coaching Inn of that period, offers the traveller of today the same unrivaled hospitality and friendly service in keeping with its heritage. To stay at the Kings Arms Hotel in Keswick is to experience the legacies, in modern day comfort and luxury, of a true Coaching Inn. A warm and friendly smile awaits you from our well trained staff, whose aim is to make your stay one of many. The air-conditioned, newly refurbished restaurant serves appetising home-cooked dishes such as slow-cooked local lamb joints and the almost-famous spare ribs, beef & Jennings ale pie, delicious hand-cut, home-cooked chips plus mouth-watering hot and cold desserts. After a hearty meal, why not relax in front of the open fire with a drink in the newly-refurbished, cosy oak-beamed bar and watch the world go by outside on the streets of Keswick. With over 40 whisky's and some of the best local ales on tap the choice is yours. Or in the summer months take a seat in the charming courtyard, which is the perfect place to enjoy delicious food and a refreshing drink al fresco. There are 13 recently refurbished bedrooms all with their own shower rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Address: 27 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: £75 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Keswick, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Kings Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Kings Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room at the back as they are quieter. NOTRoom3!!!”
carolandkeithw, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Get a room on the top floor because noise could be heard from the bar.”
V7174WCpeterh, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 8 was OK but on the small side.”
AnnieK779, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are to a excellent standard”
DebraHardy, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the rooms at the front of the hotel.”
sharonjulia, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$114* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$114
LateRooms.comUS$114
TripAdvisorUS$114
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates