We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (50)
Room & Suite (11)
Traveller (50)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (9)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
A village pub on the edge of the Lake District National Park, Under new management, Chris and Chloe August 2018. The Herdwick has 5 letting rooms, 1 king , 1 superking/twin , 1 twin 1 double and 1 single . Renowned local chef serving quality local produce, the bar cozy serving real ales lagers and a wide selection of Gins Vodka and other spirits, wine by the glass or bottle. Good off road parking .
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Room Service
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
Newcastle Airport55 mi
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews & more
234Reviews
65Photos
3Q+A
34Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 150
  • 52
  • 15
  • 11
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
Had a celebratory meal here with family - the pub is beautiful with a warm, welcoming atmosphere, the staff were amazing and went out of their way to help us and the food was absolutely delicious - even the most difficult to please member of the group had nothing but good things
Read more
Stayed here for 3 nights in November 2018. Chris & Chloe are the new owners/hosts and they went out of their way to make us feel comfortable,welcome and well fed with consistently excellent meals. We were joined by friends who shared our view and we will all be returning as soon
Read more
This place is very poor and overrated. I'm not sure where those previous people were but it couldn't be that place. Paid extra for the breakfast via booking.com even though the breakfast was included with every room anyway. The food very poor and not fresh. Noise from downstairs
Read more
Response from Chris I, Owner at Herdwick Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
This is the 3rd review you have left for your stay. You have left other reviews on booking.com and our channel manager. 1. You never complained or made a comment whilst here. We are a very busy place but we would always try and rectify any issues there and then or at the very least, before departure. 2. On our channel manager and booking.com you rated us average (even the view of Blencathra was 'average'?) however, 2 weeks later we have become, "just Awful". What have we done since your stay to have changed? 3.As previously stated in response to your booking.com and channel manager reviews, your breakfast WAS included in your stay and we did NOT charge you extra (our breakfast menu is priced for non-guests, which is also stated on the bottom of the breakfast menu). We can send a copy of that and your till receipt (which we can access from our till) should it be needed. Oh the benefits of modern technology, eh... 4 Yes we are a pub and bars can be noisy, we do say the bar is lively, but again, it is a pub and by 'lively' we mean middle-age couples who have a gin and a real ale at weekend. This is hardly Cream! 5 Food? all our meat is from the farm shop 1 mile down the road, fish is from "the Fish Cellar "in Penrith and from "Smailes "in Morpeth How did we get it so wrong for you? We have asked you to confirm what it was that you had so that we can make inquiries into your issues but alas, you have yet to respond. 6. Not clean? Our rooms are cleaned daily and we hire our bed linen and towels from 'Shortridges' laundry service where they are washed, sanitised, dried and pressed. Next time, it might be worth bringing your own- just to be on the safe side?! I don't normally respond to reviews, but it is clear from your 'incessant' review writing that we have upset you. If you were sensible and approachable people you would know that business owners don't ever intend to make a stay unenjoyable... that would be counter-productive. Fortunately for us, it seems (as is clear from our other reviews), that your 'contribution' stands out as being wholly inaccurate. Please don't come again. Best wishes. The Owners.
Read more
We stayed at The Herdwick Inn in October 2018 for 3 nights mid-week. We received a lovely welcome by Chris and Chloe who have recently taken the Inn over, there was a roaring fire going in the massive woodburner in the bar, and we sat down to have a very welcome lunch after our j
Read more
Stayed for 1 night enroute from the south of England to the Scottish Highlands. We (and our 2 little dogs) were made most welcome upon our arrival by Chris & shown to our comfy warm room. Had hearty fine food in the pub and a selection of gins too. Would have been a fine base for
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Gorgeous single room
Photo provided by managementHerdwick Inn
Comfortable Guest Rooms
Gorgeous single room
Gorgeous single room
Mountain view from Room 1 (single-bed)
Previous
What time does the pub open Sat and Sun?
Not sure, suggest you check online.
0 votes
Hi, Allen Chris. What would you like to know about this accommodation? Has it reopened. If so that's great. Stayed here twice before but closed down after our last visit at the end of June
Do you have any parking facilities?
yeah, loads
0 votes
"I don't think there are good rooms."
"Don't think there is a choice"
"Only went for evening meal."
"Both double rooms similar but the room directly at the end of the landing had better views than the room 2 which faces the front."
"Dogs are welcome"
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$102 - US$137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLake DistrictEden DistrictPenrith
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing