We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Lakes Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Lakes Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 94: English reviews
scotland
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Could not park in car park as tow truck in it. On stating such was told " parking only when available hard luck" from Basil who was just out hospital by 2 days on crutches and wearing everything he'd ever eaten down his front. He proceed to abandon me at reception to go talk to the mechanic about his broken... More 

Helpful?
Thank rowantreeme
Andrewd101282, Manager at Lakes Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sir /Madam, Thank you for this review most of which I am afraid is invented and a load of rubbish. You seem to be totally self centered and without any compassion nor reasoning. Let me put into real perspective the events as they happened. Our /my land Rover had broken down on our front car park and the AA... More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we decided to stay further up the hill this time ( we go every year) we paid £70 for a double room, which was a lovely room, not too big, but hey you only sleep there. It was really clean and very cute, tea making facilities in the room. We saved around £50 per room by staying up hill, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank michelle v
Andrewd101282, Owner at Lakes Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for publishing this review . We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and you found everything to your liking and also that you enjoyed your breakfast which is individually perpared and served fresh and piping hot. We trust you will be staying with us again next time you are in the Lakes. best... More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Stayed at lakes lodge as we went to a wedding near by. The room was very average and very small, the breakfast was lovely, but like my husband said, you only sleep in it, which it was a good job we only slept in it as there wasn't room to throw a cat, as they say. The room was that... More 

Helpful?
Thank tracy o
Andrewd101282, Owner at Lakes Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tracy, We have larger rooms in the hotel but you booked a 'budget double room' which is let at a reduced rate since it is only small. There is space to hang your clothes - no need to use picture frames. The building was not built as a purpose built hotel and was only converted about 25 years ago;... More 

Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Lakes lodge is Very close to the railway station in windermere.we visited windermere for the Bank holiday weekend and also booked a day and half tour with lakes super-tours.it was a very pleasant stay with them and the tour also was very well managed.

Helpful?
Thank Arundhati H
Andrewd101282, Owner at Lakes Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Arundhati, Thank you for writing such a lovely reviev we much appreciate it. It is good to know our guests enjoyed our hospitality. Thank you again and we hope we shall have the pleasure of you staying with us again in the near future. Pleased also you enjoyed the tours. Andy More 

Montgomery, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in Rm5, no view. Enjoyed the Supertour very much. The guide is enthusiastic. The lady is very nice and friendly. Food is good. Although we waited for 30 minutes the 1st morning because there's a full house. But she served us at 7:30 am the 2nd day upon request. Room is tidy every day. Didn't expect... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kekejan
Andrewd101282, Owner at Lakes Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr/Ms. Kekejan, Thank you for taking the time to put this review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and your room provided more than expected. Also nice to know breakfast was appreciated. We hope you will book with us again in the future. many thanks Andy More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Basil is extremely rude . Our room was in the basement of the hotel or lower ground floor as he puts it. Room layout was like a concentration camp with single beds in a line and the bathroom was just about fit to wash my dogs in. He gets the hump at breakfast if you dare to ask for more... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve S
Andrewd101282, Owner at Lakes Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sir /Madam, Thank you for taking the trouble to write this review, but I have to say it is quite ridiculous in content and meaning. The room you were allocated was on a floor of the building whereby you could walk out on to the street without going either up nor down any stairs. How this can be classified... More 

Travellers are raving about these Windermere hotels

1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2016

Dates and group: Tue 5th July 2016, 3 nights with breakfast, 4 people in total Location: Excellent location, very close to Windermere train station, the tourist information centre, Booths supermarket, and bus stops, as well as places to eat. There are also two very nice free self-guided walks you can take which start at the station (the Orrest Head walk,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tony B
Andrewd101282, Owner at Lakes Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Well thanks for this review although most of the remarks were positive and some nothing to do with the hotel but more on the surrounding areas and amenities. As for breakfast we try to be as swift as we can in serving people so as not to keep them waiting. However some guests have no conception of this... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2016

Well after reading all these reviews i don't understand if we were staying at the same place. He chap that met us was very welcoming and helpful. The room has everything you need. The location is great and the breakfast was freshly made to order and very tasty. Thanks for a lovely stay!

Helpful?
Thank Simon B
Andrewd101282, Owner at Lakes Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Simon, Wonderful . Thank you very much for your review. It gives us so much pleasure when people appreciate what we do and how we go to great lenths to make our guest's stay as pleasant and enjoyable as possible. We hope we shall see you again soon Once again thanks for staying with us. Andy More 

London
Level Contributor
289 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2016

We were travelling by train and didn't want to lug our baggage across town. So the location was perfect for us, just a two-minute walk from the station. The absolute shortest route from the station platform takes you into Booths supermarket, then out of the side exit and down the car park access road to the High Street and Lakes... More 

Helpful?
Thank rentaquote
Andrewd101282, Owner at Lakes Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sir /Madam, Thank you for your time in compiling this review. I am pleased to reply as follows:- We are not quite sure why you had to go through Booths Supermarket to get us which I am sure is not exactly the shortest route. The room you were allocated has only just been refurbished with new furniture and carpet... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2016

This place is truly awful. In truth I wasn’t expecting much. I’d left my arrangements a little late when organising accommodation for the ‘Fred Whitton’ cycle sportive and this place was all that was left. I requested a parking space and storage space for 3 bikes overnight. I had phoned the owner beforehand to make sure that was ok and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul S
Andrewd101282, Owner at Lakes Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for writing this review but unfortunately we find it quite outrageously inaccurate. Initially someone phoned and asked if we had somewhere to keep a couple of bikes (not six) and we replied we had a garage where we could put them. This you were pleased with and it is where we put all push bikes when... More 

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
#38 of 111 in Windermere
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southview Guest House
Southview Guest House
#24 of 111 in Windermere
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holly Lodge Guest House
Holly Lodge Guest House
#46 of 111 in Windermere
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
All Seasons Guest House
All Seasons Guest House
#64 of 111 in Windermere
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#25 of 111 in Windermere
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#11 of 111 in Windermere
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Lakes Lodge

Address: 1 High Street, Windermere LA23 1AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Price Range: £58 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakes Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lakes Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakes Lodge Windermere, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lakes Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“friends were in room 2 had a lovely front view, we had a back view, and other friends had basement”
 of 5 bubbles 308michellev, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room #4 (for four people) has better lighting than the equivalent room on the lower ground level.”
 of 5 bubbles J7327YJtonyb, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay here if you have bicycles with you (and you hope to store them indoors)”
 of 5 bubbles paulsA4315HD, 9 May 2016 | Read review
“Be prepared for a disappointment, the rooms are small.”
 of 5 bubbles JanetJohn18, 27 Aug 2014 | Read review
“If you are a solo traveller, value for money would be room 9. It is tiny but has everything you would require, including a fridge.”
 of 5 bubbles 272MARGARETG, 19 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay