We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Lakes Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lakes Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 99: English reviews
Start your review of Lakes Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here on a weekend doing some walking in the lake district. After catching the train, we started looking for the hotel, and then found it almost immediately, it is so close to the train station, but far enough that you don't notice. I was rather apprehensive about staying here after reading the reviews, but was very pleasantly surprised!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
Andrewd101282, Owner at Lakes Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tom, Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. Myself and the staff are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you found the breakfast 'faultless'. The chef is always pleased when her efforts are so much appreciated. Thank you again and we hope we shall have the pleasure of your company next time you...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Decided on a last min weekend away booked at 6pm and arrived at 8pm was greeted by Andy lovely man had a great chat before he showed us to our room was no 2 spacious massive double bed 2 tub chairs tv and fridge tea coffee facilities en suite shower towels and toiletries 2 large windows nice bright room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie W
Andrewd101282, Owner at Lakes Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie and Albert, Thank you for your lovely room. You were great people to talk to and I really enjoyed our chats. You seem to have enjoyed everything we provided for you which makes us very happy. Please come and stay with us again next time you are in the area. best wishes to you both Andy

Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

We had a terrible service this morning. The breakfast is said to be served at 7:45-8:45. We arrived at the dining room at 0745 but no one was there. The Asian woman came downstairs at 8:00am. I was like we were going to catch an early train, the woman was like you didn't tell me the previous day, and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chongxing L
Andrewd101282, Manager at Lakes Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr Chongxing, Thank you for this review but I am afraid it is rather misleading in that firstly you came for breakfast 15 minutes earlier than you had the previous two days. No one knew you had a train to catch. Nevertheless the 'Asian woman' as you refer to her was prepared to get you your breakfast there and...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017

We loved this little B&B!! Andy was very welcoming and our room was so cosy and warm. The location is fantastic as you can walk into the town in about 30 seconds! The breakfast was great and I was especially pleased that there was apple juice as I don't drink orange juice and sometimes you are not offered an alternative....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy H
Andrewd101282, Manager at Lakes Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Lucy, Thank you for this lovely review, we are always so pleased when our guests find everything to their liking. Glad you enjoyed your apple juice for your breakfast. We hope you will stay with us again next time you are in the Lake District. Many thanks Andy. manager

Reviewed 14 January 2017

I foolishly booked this room before reading other Trip Advisor reviews. Grumpy staff, very tired rooms, and deteriorating bathrooms. Andy is very defensive about any comments. Had to be at breakfast between 7.45 and 8.45 am. Arrived at 8.00 am and did not get our breakfast until 8.50 am. With all the fantastic, charming and friendly B&Bs in the Lakes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor K
Andrewd101282, Manager at Lakes Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Thank you for writing this review which is written I am afraid with very little thought. Breakfast is served between 0745 and 0845 for a very good reason in that we run, using our fleet of minibuses, sightseeing tours of the Lake District which must leave on time like all buses , trains , aeroplanes etc. because this...

scotland
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

Could not park in car park as tow truck in it. On stating such was told " parking only when available hard luck" from Basil who was just out hospital by 2 days on crutches and wearing everything he'd ever eaten down his front. He proceed to abandon me at reception to go talk to the mechanic about his broken...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rowantreeme
Andrewd101282, Manager at Lakes Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sir /Madam, Thank you for this review most of which I am afraid is invented and a load of rubbish. You seem to be totally self centered and without any compassion nor reasoning. Let me put into real perspective the events as they happened. Our /my land Rover had broken down on our front car park and the AA...

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

we decided to stay further up the hill this time ( we go every year) we paid £70 for a double room, which was a lovely room, not too big, but hey you only sleep there. It was really clean and very cute, tea making facilities in the room. We saved around £50 per room by staying up hill, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michelle v
Andrewd101282, Owner at Lakes Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for publishing this review . We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and you found everything to your liking and also that you enjoyed your breakfast which is individually perpared and served fresh and piping hot. We trust you will be staying with us again next time you are in the Lakes. best...

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Stayed at lakes lodge as we went to a wedding near by. The room was very average and very small, the breakfast was lovely, but like my husband said, you only sleep in it, which it was a good job we only slept in it as there wasn't room to throw a cat, as they say. The room was that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tracy o
Andrewd101282, Owner at Lakes Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tracy, We have larger rooms in the hotel but you booked a 'budget double room' which is let at a reduced rate since it is only small. There is space to hang your clothes - no need to use picture frames. The building was not built as a purpose built hotel and was only converted about 25 years ago;...

Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Lakes lodge is Very close to the railway station in windermere.we visited windermere for the Bank holiday weekend and also booked a day and half tour with lakes super-tours.it was a very pleasant stay with them and the tour also was very well managed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arundhati H
Andrewd101282, Owner at Lakes Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Arundhati, Thank you for writing such a lovely reviev we much appreciate it. It is good to know our guests enjoyed our hospitality. Thank you again and we hope we shall have the pleasure of you staying with us again in the near future. Pleased also you enjoyed the tours. Andy

Montgomery, New York
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in Rm5, no view. Enjoyed the Supertour very much. The guide is enthusiastic. The lady is very nice and friendly. Food is good. Although we waited for 30 minutes the 1st morning because there's a full house. But she served us at 7:30 am the 2nd day upon request. Room is tidy every day. Didn't expect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kekejan
Andrewd101282, Owner at Lakes Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr/Ms. Kekejan, Thank you for taking the time to put this review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and your room provided more than expected. Also nice to know breakfast was appreciated. We hope you will book with us again in the future. many thanks Andy

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
The Lamplighter
The Lamplighter
#19 of 20 in Windermere
294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Orrest Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Orrest Cottage Bed & Breakfast
#44 of 111 in Windermere
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambridge House Guest House
Cambridge House Guest House
#15 of 111 in Windermere
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
#42 of 111 in Windermere
307 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Elleray
The Elleray
#96 of 111 in Windermere
84 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ellerbrook House
Ellerbrook House
#62 of 111 in Windermere
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Lakes Lodge

Address: 1 High Street, Windermere LA23 1AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Price Range: £51 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakes Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lakes Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakes Lodge Windermere, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lakes Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure that Andy turns on the free wifi!”
 of 5 bubbles eleanork989, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“friends were in room 2 had a lovely front view, we had a back view, and other friends had basement”
 of 5 bubbles 308michellev, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room #4 (for four people) has better lighting than the equivalent room on the lower ground level.”
 of 5 bubbles J7327YJtonyb, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay here if you have bicycles with you (and you hope to store them indoors)”
 of 5 bubbles paulsA4315HD, 9 May 2016 | Read review
“Be prepared for a disappointment, the rooms are small.”
 of 5 bubbles JanetJohn18, 27 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5